A & D LOGISTICS
2.6 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Working at A & D LOGISTICS: 23 A & D LOGISTICS Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom23 reviews

Ratings by category

2.1Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 23 reviews matching the searchSee all 24 reviews

Decent with some teething issues

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Fairly easy and chilled out, but with room for improvement from the office, mainly in terms of communication. Jobs come one at a time rather than letting you know in advance, which can be annoying. Especially when it’s getting late and another job comes up. You’ll end up going to the same few places and there are a lot of days where you’ll only be driving 2-3 hours, with the rest sitting around doing nothing. Container work so very little load interaction. Easy enough work, just gets boring. Fellow drivers are a great group of guys and will help you out.Hours are usually okay, however you can get a mad couple of days where you’re out for 13-14 hours.

Pros

Great starting place for HGV career

Cons

Communication is missing sometimes, can be long hours and a lot of waiting around
Was this review helpful?

Official response from A & D LOGISTICS

18 January 2022
We appreciate your feedback and review, thanks.The comments you made are a good reflection of the nature of container work. All your comments made we strongly try to explain through the whole process from Application to Induction so drivers are fully aware of the nature of the job. Unfortunately we are generally only able to give one job at a time for various reasons including not knowing the condition of the container until it has been inspection after unloading.It's encouraging to hear your comments about the good team of drivers we have as we continually look at ways of improving positive teamwork.We take on board your comments about communication and are looking into areas such as this with an Employee Survey to address any issues.Thanks for your review and we look forward to continuing to work with you, do always feel free to speak to us, we value constructive comments and are keen to help employees understand the whole process if you would like to see what happens in other departments.

Not great

Paid overtime which is good but they can never tell you an exact finishing time when doing this. You are asked to work "late" with no specific time given which makes work life balance not so good.

Pros

Paid overtime

Cons

Unspecified finishing times
Was this review helpful?

Official response from A & D LOGISTICS

16 December 2021
Thanks for your review and comments. You'll be aware of the nature of the Logistics and Transport Industry with it also having to be very reactive to circumstances and requests, internal and external which can lead to unpredictable demands. Even more so in these current times.We always try to give the best information where possible and continually look at ways of improving. As a current employee do speak to your manager, we appreciate any suggestions and input into making the working environment better.

Not recommended

Your just a number management don’t careless they have no sense of loyalty and run you daft every Friday without fail wouldn’t recommend working here

Pros

Is none

Cons

Your just a number nothing else
Was this review helpful?

Official response from A & D LOGISTICS

7 October 2021
Thanks for your review, we always welcome constructive criticism.We try to treat everyone fairly and with respect, this is something thats important to us and an area we have focussed on to make A&D a good place to work.The transport industry is going through massive challenges at the moment with driver shortages and customer requirements which exceed our capacity. This makes it hard to predict working hours sometimes and again, its someting we are aware needs to improve.I hope you enjoyed some parts of your time with A&D, it would be good to hear from you and discuss whether your issues were over a short period of employment or if you were employed for a substantial period of time.We wish you all the best for the future.

Like most ups and downs mostly ups though

Ive worked with this company twice before and my wages rating is from when I worked with them before Laid back easy to work for company not hard pushed at times can be stressful with jobs changing but that happens everywhere tbf Good place to start off your career as they always take on new passes work force in yard and drivers are decent guys will help you out when needed My only main problem would be the communication between the office and drivers does cause alot off tension I never really had a problem but seems to be an issue with most

Pros

Good workforce relaxed

Cons

Communication between office and drivers
Was this review helpful?

Official response from A & D LOGISTICS

30 September 2021
Thanks for your feedback and good comments.Regarding the wages we have recently been able to increase these, offering an attractive package for drivers.

Easy going work environment

Perfect place for new drivers to get some experience or experienced looking for easier work life. Nights out for those wanting them or Monday to Friday Dayshift, own truck unless it’a off road for any reason however workshop have a quick and efficient turn around times. Easy container work with the odd day on curtains doing general haulage.

Pros

Relaxed environment
Was this review helpful?

Official response from A & D LOGISTICS

30 September 2021
Thanks for your comments, it's good to hear positive feedback from current employees.

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

I enjoyed e every minute

To me this is a great place to work if you are a new driver they will give you an opportunity if you are older like myself they will also give you the opportunity to work with them. the work for me was mainly local but I was starting to get more nights away which was enjoyable. This work is not for everyone alot of sitting around or at the other end job after job and kept busy all day my only gripe was not getting enough nights out but that was because I hadn't been there a long time. Very few jobs in the world I would go back to and this is one of them the owners were great to work for, the operations manager was good to work with and the planners were also fair to me when allocating work. The workshop is second to none the manager of the workshop is hands on and always available to phone if you had a problem and the yard Marshalls and mechanics were all great people. Please read all reviews and take with a pinch of salt as the drivers own enemy is the driver.

Pros

Great place to work

Cons

Low basic rate
Was this review helpful?

Official response from A & D LOGISTICS

18 May 2021
Thanks for your detailed review and comments. It’s encouraging to hear. As a company we always try to treat people fairly and with respect. In regards to the rate of pay we are in the process of finalising an improved rate and structure, which will also include the opportunity of a regular bonus based upon Driver Targets being met. We wish you all the best.

Very Poor

Pay is Very poor and they want as many hours out of you as possible. Even telling you to reduce your rest!Then when you say no they say there will not be a shift for you.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from A & D LOGISTICS

12 April 2021
We would be happy to discuss your comments with you. Our pay rates are stated within the advert and also confirmed at the interview along with the nature of the job and hours. Sorry for the perception you had, our policy and values would not adhere to this.

Poor place to work

Poor place to start off class one career, attitude was all wrong after first 2 weeks. Agreed at interview to only 2 nights out due to young family, never learned great deal, learned more after they canned me for not being a yes man like most of people,

Pros

Non

Cons

Long hours then kill out overtime with a couple hour shift on Fridays
Was this review helpful?

Official response from A & D LOGISTICS

11 February 2021
We have always been happy to take on and work with new drivers where appropriate, many staying with us but are sorry to hear how you felt. Being open to nights out can mean that due to the nature of Logistics unexpected ones arise, we understand the effects this can have. We take on board your comments and wish you all the best going forward.

Garbage

Not organised. Spent most of my time trying to look busy. I ended up a good painter. Workload was just too sparse.some days doing nothing, long long days.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from A & D LOGISTICS

13 August 2020
We're sorry to hear this was your opinion but would be keen to discuss if you wish to contact us through our website. Aware most of this year has been an incredibly challenging time for everyone.

Lovely people

Took me on as a new driver, everyone from the interview to the office staff and other drivers were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful. Was given plenty time to train until I was comfortable on my own and always had someone helpful and supportive on the phone

Pros

Helpful, friendly

Cons

Hourly raye
Was this review helpful?

Official response from A & D LOGISTICS

13 August 2020
Thanks for your comments, appreciated. We aim to provide a good working environment.

A good company to work at

Respect and quality in your job is rightly looked for, makes a change these days. Get a chance to make a difference if you want. Good place to work, the guys in charge actually do care and do a good job in a tough industry.
Was this review helpful?

Hellhole

Planners are complete joke and have cost company a large contract due to favouritism to certain drivers and lack of common sense, upstairs management couldnt care less about drivers or any issues drivers highlight.

Pros

Very easy job

Cons

Pathetic salary and lack of respect from management and planners
Was this review helpful?

Very good

Class 1 day shift/nightout driver. Mostly container work with the occasional curtain sider work. Great work you get your job and left alone to carry it out. No stress total respect for the trust they have. Over all great company to work for
Was this review helpful?

Good company

A &D is good company to work for. They respect workers. They provide all necessary gears. Good working environment with the best coordinators.Well organised.
Was this review helpful?

Terrible

Terrible place to work. Expect u to work every hour and you have to do it to make a half decent wage. Constantly watched and made to tip on break. Always on the phone chasing u up.
Was this review helpful?

Welcoming

Really welcoming, provide you with training great bunch of guys working there. Don’t believe what you read on here. Good vibe around the place. cleanish work. Time and half paid after 45 overtime available.
Was this review helpful?

Terrible

Very dangerous place to work have you working in rain with a 230v mig welder.Run you into the ground every day.Wages always wrong and take extra holidays off you when you have a holiday.
Was this review helpful?

Exciting employee

Don't go! Worst company every expect a lot from a driver with little pay all about themselves best of friends when things go right but will hang you out when things go wrong they expect you to sweep containers out but don't supply brushes so when I get s rejected they blame the driver unacceptable long hrs and no finishing time also dictating when you shld eat I'm only there because I have no fuel costs I wouldn't recommend anyone comes here drivers never stay

Pros

None

Cons

Plenty
Was this review helpful?

1 star

1 star

1 star

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at A & D LOGISTICS. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 24 reviews

Ratings by category

2.1 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
2.2 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
2.4 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
2.3 out of 5 stars for Management
2.6 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare A & D LOGISTICS with

  • Companies
  • A & D LOGISTICS
  • Employee reviews