ao.com
2.7 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

ao.com Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 244 reviews matching the search
See all 276 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
If you’re over the age of 30 prepare to feel like a fish out of water. Very ambitious people who are looking to move up the ladder. Management very inconsistent and totally dependent on which team you’re in.
Pros
On site Starbucks
Cons
How long have you got?
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Unless you want to work for free I wouldn’t bother. You don’t get paid when you start at eg 6am and they’ve not loaded your van till 8 so you’ve lost two hours and then when you’re late back they don’t pay you even though it was their fault you set off two hours late in the first place. They don’t provide any equipment which isn’t safe in terms of handling goods. They will fine you if a customer makes a complaint even with no evidence just their say so. They give you work and then they cancel it so if you’ve employed your drivers mate your then paying them and not getting paid yourself. Honestly it’s really shocking I’m surprised such a big company has not been fined by HMRC or something for how they treat staff.
Pros
Weekly pay
Cons
Long hours free labour
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Larkhall avoid the place in charge there worst place ul ever come across promise everyrhing just get u in then treat u like a peice of dirt honestly dont no how they get away with it
Pros
Two person crew
Cons
Liars treat eveyone like dirt
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Highly unprofessional people to work with, couldn’t even spell organise! Office staff are a bunch under qualified little hitlers. Can’t handle a little stress at busy time, a don’t want to hear a thing you have to say.
Pros
None
Cons
Disorganised rogues
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The job is very easy, nice if you have a regular crew mate who you get on with. The wages are decent too. Shame about the stuck up bosses and dodgy crew leaders.
Was this review helpful?
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
STAY CLEAR From this place over worked and under paid then when they are done with you they make up a reason to get rid of you (damage to customers house) (damage to appliances) etc etc
Pros
None
Cons
Disrespectful every day
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I worked there as a gas engineer installing cookers, fridges and other built in appliances l. You’re pretty much your own boss, I love the traveling involved
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Really bad management dont care about drivers or any other workers, you will be out of a job in no time for no reason at all, I had covid stopped isolating and was hoping to go back to work but nope I didn't have a job to go back, this is why this company have crews self employed
Pros
No pros
Cons
Everything is bad
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Really awful business practices/micro-management. Made to feel like a child and not a responsible adult. Training was great but once on your team the management is awful, disrespectful and not supportive. Typical call centre politics- if your face fits you will progress but nothing to do with your effort,skills or experience. Only apply if your a yes-man and your willing to brown nose.
Pros
good training
Cons
very stressful calls and abusive customers, bad management
Was this review helpful?
Official response from ao.com
21 January 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We pride ourselves on our positive culture at AO, so I’m disappointed to hear this wasn’t your experience. We’d appreciate the opportunity to investigate this further, we have an independent and confidential whistle-blowing service, available for both current and past employees. The contact number is: 01204 672 601. All the best, AO 
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Avoid this warehouse at all costs. in fact avoid any part of AO.comThey are only good at one thing and that is making themselves look good to the outside world, with big fancy buildings that look great on the outside but are poor on the inside from the standard of upkeep to the way management treat staff. Free snacks are a cheap alternative to wages and the novelty soon wares off if you are fussy you wont want to touch most of it. A horrible atmosphere where staff are not cared about. The only bonus for me is the four days off between shift patterns.Staff turnover is high.
Pros
None
Cons
Awful place to work
Was this review helpful?
Official response from ao.com
21 January 2021
Thank you for sharing your review. We're disappointed to hear that you’re not enjoying your time at AO. Without specific details, it's difficult to comment on the particular areas you've raised concerns, though as a company which is renowned for its incredibly positive culture, we’re shocked to learn this isn't your experience. We have an independent and confidential whistle-blowing service, available for both current and past employees - if you've had a particular issue which wasn't resolved, we'd really like for this to be fed back so we can investigate please. The contact number is: 01204 672 601. All the best, AO
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
1 star is even a compliment towards tnem. I worked in thatcham ao mobile. Absolutely terrible place to work, if you have any sort of mental health issues they’ll make them 1000X worse. The management have absolutely no clue what they’re doing and have no idea how to actually run the place. Overall I would rather eat poo than work for AO ever again! JR would be so disappointed if he knew exactly what the thatcham depot was like.They give you the “work life/home life” balance but that’s absolute nonsense All your work goes very un appreciated. If you don’t fit the managers standards of “pretty” then they do not like you.Simply AVOID.
Pros
None.
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from ao.com
21 January 2021
Thank you for sharing your review. We're shocked to hear about your experience and would appreciate the opportunity to investigate further as this doesn’t sound like the positive and supportive culture we pride ourselves on. We have an independent and confidential whistle-blowing service, available for both current and past employees - if you've had a particular issue which wasn't resolved, we'd really like for this to be fed back so we can investigate please. The contact number is: 01204 672 601. All the best, AO
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The management team are shocking, no support when needed then pulled up on things which are done incorrectly. When asking for advice you are made to feel like you are massively inconveniencing them! No coaching or on going support ,when asking for it you are in the wrong and causing them an issue. You are also expected to work for free after your shift ends and you are still dealing with a call or one comes in at the very last minute with no time in lieu or payment for the time you have to stay over.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from ao.com
21 January 2021
Thank you for your review. We work hard to help everyone broaden their skills and head down a career path that’s perfect for them so we’re disappointed to hear this isn’t your experience. We have an independent and confidential whistle-blowing service, available for both current and past employees - if you've had a particular issue which wasn't resolved, we'd really like for this to be fed back so we can investigate please. The contact number is: 01204 672 601. All the best, AO
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
horrible place to work too much hours less pay, unorganised and unsociable hours and dont provide any tools required to do the jobs its one of the worst companies to work for
Pros
none
Cons
long hour less pay j
Was this review helpful?
Official response from ao.com
21 January 2021
Thank you for your review. We’re always looking for ways to improve so appreciate your feedback. Please email driverdisputes@ao.com with your crew ID and confirm whether you hold a contract with us or contract via a multi crew or whether you are employed so that this can be investigated in more detail. All the best, AO
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Absolutely no idea what they’re doing. Do what they want for their benefit. Couldn’t give less of a po*p about customers. Just their wages. Selfish bunch
Pros
Awful management
Cons
10/10 snacks
Was this review helpful?
Official response from ao.com
3 December 2020
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We're disappointed to hear you had a negative experience at AO. Without specific details, it's difficult to comment on the particular areas you've raised concerns, though I am confused to hear you say that management don’t care about our customers as making sure our customers are the happiest is one of our core values as a business. We have an independent and confidential whistle-blowing service, available for both current and past employees - if you've had a particular issue which wasn't resolved, we'd really like for this to be fed back so we can investigate please. The contact number is: 01204 672 601. All the best, AO 
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I was here when it was Expert Logistics and in the earlier days it was an ok place to work. The atmosphere started to change around the time it became AO logistics. Seen many good people come and go who were good at their jobs and bought skills and knowledge to the company, but the people at the top do not care. It really is take it or leave and management do not want to change. The turnover of staff is high and skills are lost, the answer now is just promote anyone who can put up with the place.I have only hung in here because the shifts worked in with childcare, but I'm off soon too now circumstances have changed. I cannot wait.
Pros
Nothing anymore
Cons
Place has changed too much. Seen a lot of good people leave.No support for staff.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from ao.com
26 November 2020
Thank you for your review. As a company which is renowned for its incredibly positive culture, we’re disappointed to learn of your issues. We’re always looking for ways to improve so we’re shocked to hear you felt management wasn’t listening. We will pass on our feedback but if you have a particular issue which wasn't resolved, we have an independent and confidential whistle-blowing service, available for both current and past employees. The contact number is: 01204 672 601. All the best, AO 
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I worked at the Croydon branch for quite some time, the drivers work well over 48 hours a week because they are classed as "self employed" and not necessarily on the books like that. So they are often over tired, and exhausted, so it makes your 13 hour day at work, that bit more tiring. They expect you to carry out up to 12/13 installs in a day, and there is no account as to how many stairs and and how much traffic you may be faced with along your route. If it hits 6pm, and you still have 3 installations left, there is no point phoning management, as they will only say "it is not every day, try get them done and if you have any problems just give us a call". When you phone management, all they care about is that you find parking, or get it up those stairs and get the job done. Justine/ Justice who is based around most of the southern branches, in charge of a lot of the self employed drivers he pays cash in hand to, is always throwing out charges to his drivers even though they do not provide any training for their job role what-so-ever, and skimming any bonuses or compliment tips the company offers for the engineers, and taking them for himself, with no evidence for his drivers as it is cash. Also beware, they have been targetted and have had a lot of thefts recently, should you happen to fall victim to such a crime, they will terminate your contract with them there and then without question, regardless of the period of time you have spent with them, even though the situation is out of your hands.
Pros
Good shift pattern
Cons
Long hours, unsupportive management staff, fast to get rid of their employees, terrible driver training.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Avoid at all costs one of the worst companys ive ever worked for i would never go back again nobody is interested in your safty training is very poor drivers seem to get the blame for everything weather its your fault or not a very very bad pay
Pros
None
Cons
The list is endless
Was this review helpful?
Official response from ao.com
25 November 2020
Thanks for your review, we’re disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your experience driving as a subcontractor for AO and we certainly take the drivers’ safety very seriously. If there’s a particular case that you felt was unfairly dealt with, please can you email driverdisputes@ao.com with your crew ID and confirm whether you held a contract with us or whether you contracted via a multi crew so that this can be investigated in more detail. Thanks - AO
Official response from ao.com
25 November 2020
Thanks for your review, we’re disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your experience driving for AO and we certainly take the drivers’ safety very seriously. If there’s a particular case that you felt was unfairly dealt with, please can you email driverdisputes@ao.com with your crew ID and confirm whether you held a contract with us or whether you contracted via a multi crew so that this can be investigated in more detail. Thanks - AO
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Only for the desperate. Do not leave a job to come here. Not a great atmosphere, very top show and the culture is nothing like how they portray themselves. Good people don't tend to stay long. This company does not take well to feedback. Staff seem to have little motivation or care for their work or the company and this is reflected in the end product, needless to say I wouldn't purchase anything from AO.com having seen what I have.
Pros
Easy to park
Cons
Too many to fit in this space
Was this review helpful?
Official response from ao.com
17 November 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we’re disappointed to hear about the negative experience you had at AO. Without specific details, it's difficult to comment on the particular areas you've raised concerns, though as a company which is renowned for its incredibly positive culture, we’re shocked to learn this wasn't your personal experience. We have an independent and confidential whistle-blowing service, available for both current and past employees - if you've had a particular issue which wasn't resolved, we'd really like for this to be fed back so we can investigate please. The contact number is: 01204 672 601. All the best, AO 
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Being an older colleague I was sceptical, however having worked in call centre/customer services all my adult life, i worked with many young people. Everyone I have met have been lovely and outgoing, as am I. Such a happy office to work in, yes there are complaints but its customer service, that's what it is about. At the moment it is so busy but the days go so fast, the floor walkers are so helpful as are my managers, Ive been with the company for under 6 months so ask me again in 6 years
Pros
Happy atmosphere, free goodies and drinks, lots of games and prizes
Cons
A bit more pay would be nice
Was this review helpful?
Official response from ao.com
11 November 2020
Thank you for your glowing review. It’s great to hear you’re enjoying your role here and we think our AO’ers are pretty awesome too. That’s because we make a point of hiring super lovely people, like you! All the best, AO.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I'm very interested in this jobNice place and good cooperation with friendsNot rushing people or staff to fast working, all staff have a good cooperation
Pros
Take break
Cons
12 hours
Was this review helpful?
Official response from ao.com
11 November 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it’s great to hear you enjoy the role and working within your team. All the best, AO.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have worked in warehousing for over 15 Years. This place was a joke.Always looking for someone to blame, don't answer back if it's not your fault, you are expected to be a scapegoat in this poorly run operation.No care for workers unless you are a management pet. High staff turnaround, but that's no surprise.Do not be fooled by how this company looks on the outside it is just a charade.
Pros
Too mant negatives to notice
Cons
Just an awful company to work for
Was this review helpful?
Official response from ao.com
20 October 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review however we're disappointed to hear about the negative experience you had at AO. Without more information, it's difficult to address any specific concerned but as a company which is renowned for its positive culture, we’re shocked to learn this wasn't your experience. We have an independent and confidential whistle-blowing service, available for both current and past employees - if you've had a particular issue which wasn't resolved, we'd really like for this to be fed back so we can investigate please. The contact number is: 01204 672 601. All the best, AO 
  1. Employee reviews