Arnold Clark
Happiness score is 47 out of 100
3.3 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Arnold Clark Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom716 reviews

Ratings by category

3.0Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 716 reviews matching the searchSee all 738 reviews

Really poor work life balance, but have huge potential to earn noney

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Company HR team is poor and corrupt, sweep all issues under the carpet as its just easier for them. Company do really push you to progress and are really good for that, but the culture is cutthroat and toxic at times
Was this review helpful?

Good pay but rest is terrible

The job is great and easy as long as you have good eye for detail, and can be fast paced. Management threaten staff regarding overtime. So if you work here opt back in the 48 hours WTR and they can’t force you by law. I loved the job as I have and always will be passionate about cars but for me just not here, I was there nearly 3 years and saw Over 40 staff come and go, And you are just a number as the managers will say they can replace you just like that and if you don’t do what they want they also tell you not to come back as you don’t have a job on Monday because you refused the weekend, Some staff make your day good but then others will lie, act like babies and sit there on there phone taking there time while your then having to pick up the slack for them as if all cars ain’t done managers make you stay until they are and that could be anything until 8-9pm. It’s all about the money they can get and hitting target numbers not about the respect for all staff, if you want that respect go be a salesman there treated a lot better than the rest. Also managers watch you on cameras to check your working as that’s what they pay you for but there actually meant for security as we was all told. Be very careful don’t let the pay make you do a job your gonna hate.

Pros

Good pay

Cons

Everything else ( I mean it )
Was this review helpful?

Insights into Arnold Clark

Based on 116 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Trust in colleagues
  • General feeling of work happiness

It WAS a great place to work.

When I started, it was a great place to work, good laugh in the showroom with customers and management and paid fortunes! Then covid hit and it was the best thing that ever happened for Arnold Clark! Changed the commission structure massively to better then, branch restrictions on when you can speak to customers and commission deductions. Started off loving the job and left hating it.
Was this review helpful?

Disgraceful company

Would never work for them again, you can not do valets properly the way they do them, it's rush rush rush, no wonder why they have lost so many franchises, they don't care about customers, 15 cars they want you to do a day a proper valeter does between 2-3 with a proper polish not just Shammie

Pros

When it's 5:30

Cons

Worst products management are a waste
Was this review helpful?

Company looks after it's employees.

Some recently introduced policies aid with maintaining a decent work/life balance. Remuneration is above average and the company has a policy of promoting within and recognising people's hard work.
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Family based

They are considerate when it comes.to family and there are plenty of benefits aswell as courses to ascertain qualifications. Good hours and very good rate of pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

17 May 2022
Hi, Lynne here.Thank you so much for your wonderful review, it is fantastic to see that you are enjoying your time with Arnold Clark and making the most of our benefits. It is also brilliant to see that you feel supported, especially when it comes to family matters – we are after all a family-run business!I am also very happy to see that you mentioned a good rate of pay, we strongly believe in rewarding our employees for their hard work, which is why we offer one of the best benefit packages in the industry and flexible work hours across the entire Group.Thank you for your hard work!Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Focuses on the employee

Arnold Clark is an amazing place to work, from the environment to the benefits. There is so much focus on not only the customers needs but our needs as employees. I have never worked in such a supportive environment.

Pros

Salary, benefits, work environment
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

17 May 2022
Hi, Lynne here.Thank you so much for the fantastic review! It is wonderful to see you are enjoying your time with Arnold Clark so much, and making the most of what we offer, including the benefits which we are very proud to say are one of the best in the industry.It is also excellent to see that you have a positive and supportive team working with you – we strive to create a nurturing environment for our employees so they can develop their careers as they want to. That’s why we offer access to over 350 free training courses so they can learn new skills and drive their careers forward.Keep up the excellent work!Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Cut throat

If you don’t make the cut you’re out the door. Health problems, they don’t want to hear about them. It’s a good job with good people. Just wish they’d spend a bit more time helping staff that become unwell
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

17 May 2022
Hi, Lynne here.First things first, thank you for your review, feedback like this is vital for us a business to grow and continue to support all our employees. I am sorry to hear that you felt that you weren’t being supported by your team during health problems – our policy is to ensure that no employee is discriminated against, and that includes those who suffer from health problems that might affect their work. If you would like to discuss this further, please come talk to us at The People Team, we’re here to offer impartial and practical advice to help fix any problem.Thanks for your hard work, and I wish you all the best for the future.Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

great place to work

iv been working here for about 3 months now and i love it such a fun friendly place to work all staff and mangers have been a great support as iv been learing the job i would definitely recommend to work for arnold clark its the best job iv had
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

17 May 2022
Hi, Lynne here.Thank you so much for the amazing review, always brilliant to see five stars! It sounds like you are settling into your role well and enjoying a healthy and positive work environment, something we strongly promote throughout the Group to ensure that our employees can thrive in their roles. Keep up the great work!Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

fab team to work with

I started working at Blackpool Renault/Dacia in January 22. I was made to feel welcome immediately and now feel part of the team. My role is the Customer Experience Host, welcoming guests into the showroom, guiding them to where they need to go and to make drinks for them if requested. I am also on hand to chat to the guests at all times to help them feel at ease and to try to build a rapport with them if they feel they want to chat. I also take calls to help out when the staff are busy dealing with customers or on other calls and pass on messages to the relevant staff members. I am learning every day, picking up information by listening to my colleagues. My Manager is lovely and has an open door policy which means you are able to speak with him at any time about anything. My job role is full time, but we are able to use flex time if we need to finish early for any reason or if we need to have a late start, this flex time does not need to be worked back and you are paid for the flex hours. We also have free health care and many benefits/discounts.This is the best job I have ever had and I love going into work every day chatting with customers if they wish to chat to me. I no longer have the stress I had in previous jobs.My colleagues are like a family and I have recently been told that I am now part of the family. I have even been completing overtime because i'm happy to help out, something I haven't wanted to do in any previous job.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

17 May 2022
Hi, Lynne here.Thank you so much for your glowing review! It is fantastic to hear that you are having such a strong and positive experience with Arnold Clark. It sounds like you are a wonderful fit and a credit to your team, well done!It is also brilliant to hear that you are making the most of our new flexible work hours, we know how important it is that employees are able to make time for the things that matter most to them and for everyone to enjoy a healthy work-life balance.Keep up the fantastic work!Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Productive

Arnold Clark is a fast paced workshop with plenty of work to do throughout the wether it be customers cars or sales cars you also get your own ramp workshop is also fully heated which is great throughout the winter months

Pros

Overtime and other benefits

Cons

Work every other weekend
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

10 May 2022
Hi, Lynne here.Thanks for your review, it’s wonderful to see that you are enjoying our benefits package, one of the best in the industry, and are making the most of your overtime payments.We understand that the hours can sometimes be long for technicians and that you’re required to work some weekends, however, we have tried to alleviate this by introducing flexible working across the Group to give our employees a better work-life balance. I also hope our range of benefits, such as free health care, access to our employee wellbeing hub ‘Space’, extensive training and progression opportunities make up for this. Keep up the fantastic work!Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Zero work life balance

Don’t be fooled by the good reviews, notice the majority are from current employees because they are asked to do “good” reviews to try filter out the bad ones, same with the branch Google reviews.Franchise managers hound you with emails throughout the day shaming individuals who haven’t invoiced enough money, completely demotivating and demoralising people.Targets/ bonuses available to try identify and sell work on almost every car that comes in to the workshop regardless of what it’s coming in for.Absolutely zero work life balance. Very rarely finish on time. Need to work 6 days a week. They try make it out that you get a good holiday allowance but no other industry do you need to work the same amount of hours.Pay isn’t great, only can be if you hit all your bonuses and even if you do they will look for any reason not to pay you it.Very stressful environment, constantly understaffed and overworked.Managers within branches are mostly decent it’s the ones above who seem to try make a make a name for themselves.Lots of long serving staff have left recently after being sick of the way the company treats people. After covid we were constantly told “you’ll not get a job elsewhere” I guess they were wrong.The people team will probably comment on this saying that I should have spoke to them… they are only there to protect the directors so don’t be fooled by that either.

Pros

Colleagues that I’ve worked with over the years.

Cons

No work life balance, work over 50 hours a week. No care for staff, everyone is just a number.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

28 April 2022
Hi, Lynne here. Thanks for leaving this review – your feedback is important to us. I’m sorry that you didn’t have the positive experience we strive to create at Arnold Clark. We are a company built on family values and we assure you that our employees’ wellbeing comes first. We understand some of our departments have been under stress recently due to staff shortages, particularly the Service department. However, we’re working hard to rectify this with a strong recruitment drive and the introduction of new flexible working approaches. We hope this will alleviate some of the pressure on our current employees and encourage a better work-life balance so that they have time for the things that matter most to them. We also now offer one of the best benefits packages in the automotive industry to reward them for their hard work – including bonus incentives, access to private healthcare, life assurance, generous retail discounts, an enhanced holiday allowance and more. As well as the support offered by the People Team, we also have a number of platforms such as Space and Silvercloud which offer various tools and resources for those struggling with their physical or mental health. I’m sorry that your experience at Arnold Clark wasn’t more positive – I wish you all the best in your future career. Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Avoid Avoid Avoid

Previous reviews say it all really. Disgracefully poor leadership in I.T right to the top over past few years. There are better companies out there that have much better people looking out for you. All the good staff have left.

Pros

Good office layout

Cons

Middle and sen IT managers who have been there for a long time.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

5 April 2022
Hi, Lynne here.I am so sorry to hear that you had such a negative time working with Arnold Clark, especially in regard to your experience with management. Please know that the People Team are always here to help with advice under the strictest of confidence if you every feel that you are not being recognised for the hard work you are putting in – I’m sorry we were unable to help remedy this while you were with us.I wish you all the best in your future career.Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Waste of time

Don’t bother, you will never get appreciated in this company unless you work 7 days a week and 12 hours a day. Majority of 5 star reviews here have been done by management to bump up the company score.

Pros

None

Cons

Long hours, poor pay, bully managers
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

5 April 2022
Hi, Lynne here.First things first, thank you for taking the time to write your review. It’s important for us as a business to hear feedback like this so we can develop and improve things for our employees.I am extremely sad to hear that you felt unappreciated in your role, Arnold Clark strives to ensure that every employee feels valued and their hard work is recognised; that’s why we offer one of the best benefits packages in the industry and provide access to hundreds of free training courses and our mental health support platform ‘Space’.Also please know that we maintain a zero-tolerance policy in regard to bullying, and that if you ever feel you need more support, the People Team are here to help with impartial advice under the strictest of confidence.I’m sorry we couldn’t remedy your situation while you were with us, and I wish you the very best for the future.Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Worst Company In The Motor Trade!

This is the worst company I've ever worked for. The middle tier management are nothing but bullies, the HR team will discipline staff based on what area management tell them to do! They expect you to work 50+ hours per week as a minimum and if you don't you'll be on their "list".
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

5 April 2022
Hi, Lynne here.Thank you for taking the time to write your review; feedback like this is very important for us to develop as a business. I am so sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with Arnold Clark, please know that we maintain a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to bullying within the business, especially when it involves management.I wish you all the best in your future career.Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Check Out The Branch First Not All The Same ?

Very Little Paperwork Un Like The Independent Garages, Best Deals For Customers With Good After Sales Products Like Service Plan’s Etc. Working With A State Of The Art IT System. I Would Not Put You Of Working With Arnold Clark, Just Stay Away From The Motor Stores And Fiat Elgin Branch !

Pros

Earn A Decent Living

Cons

A Lot Of Bullies And Liars Out There
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

5 April 2022
Hi, Lynne here.Thank you for taking the time to write your review, feedback like this is vital for us to develop as a business and improve work conditions of our employees.While it is lovely to see that you found some good positives during your time with Arnold Clark, such as the lack of paperwork and state-of-the-art IT system, I am saddened to see that your experience was overshadowed by the poor behaviour you mention. We have a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to bullying of any sort, especially when it involves management. While it seems we were unable to remedy this situation for you while you were with us, please know that the People Team are here to offer help and advice under the strictest of confidence for anyone who feels that they are not being properly supported. I wish you all the best in the future.Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

So Far So Good

60 days in and my only complaint really is traffic to and from work.There are days when it is hectic and you feel as if there is too much to do, then other days where you struggle to keep yourself busy. Both situations can be difficult to handle, on the one hand am I being judged for not doing enough when it is busy, and then, will I get in trouble for not doing enough when it is quiet. This can be a bit stressful for a new employee.Thankfully they are a good bunch at this branch and they help and advise if you need it.Overall everything is great and I am glad I joined Arnold Clark.

Pros

There are a range of benefits, too many to mention.

Cons

Travel time, although, if there was no traffic it wouldn't be an issue.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

5 April 2022
Hi, Lynne here.Thank you for your wonderful review! It sounds like you are fitting well into your new role.I’m sorry to hear that your commute is causing you some stress, situations like this are why we introduced flexible work hours across the Group so you can take more control of your work hours. If it is still a problem, feel free to talk to your line manager or anyone from the People Team, and we should be able to help.I’m very happy to hear that you are enjoying the benefits we offer our employees, ‘too many to mention’ has to be one of the best descriptions for our benefits package! A few I would like to highlight though would be the access to hundreds of free training courses to help our employees develop the skills they want to drive their careers forward, our fantastic mental health platform ‘Space’, and, of course, the flexible work hours we offer across the Group.Thank you for your work and keep up the great job!Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Hard work

A really good jobGood peopleGood managementSalary could be betterA current driving licenceGood customer service private and corporate a very large company with plenty of opportunities
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

5 April 2022
Hi, Lynne here.Thank you so much for that fantastic review – five stars across the board! It sounds like you’ve been making the most of your time with Arnold Clark and are taking advantage of some of the excellent benefits we offer our employees, such as access to hundreds of free training courses, giving you control of your career and allowing you to develop the skills you want.It is also wonderful to see you enjoyed working with your colleagues; we always want to promote and nurturing work environment and a good team supporting you can make all the difference.Keep up the good work!Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Arnold Clark car and van hire

Not a very pleasant experience working for Arnold Clark.As a lot of these car hire places, Europacar, Enterprise etc. Under pressure to get cars and vans on the road. Not always cleaned, checks carried out. Paid ok, weekend work required, Saturday and Sunday.

Pros

Vouchers

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

5 April 2022
Hi, Lynne here.First things first, thank you for taking the time to write your review, feedback like this is vital for us to improve as a business.I’m so sorry to hear that you didn’t fully enjoy your experience with us; I am happy to hear that you did feel that you were properly rewarded for your hard work though and that you enjoyed the vouchers and discounts we provide our employees as part of our benefits package, one of the best in the industry.Thank you for your hard work and best of luck in your future career.Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Good place to work, great team of people

I have only been here a few months but already I feel part of the team, the guys I work with are hard working but funny too.Its a relaxed atmosphere the management know what needs to be done, they asign the tasks fairly and keep us on track so we all achieve. Its a great company with a great history and legacy, take a chance come and work here, there are great prospects here, its a company with family values at its core and I like that feeling of inclusion.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

5 April 2022
Hi, Lynne hereFirst things first, welcome to the Arnold Clark family, and thank you for writing such a wonderful review! ItIt is fantastic to hear that you are enjoying your new role and that you are fitting in well. I am especially glad to hear that you are getting on well with your colleagues, a good team supporting you is so important to create a nurturing work environment.I am also happy to hear that you feel there are good prospects to improve with Arnold Clark; we offer one of the best benefits packages in the industry, with access to private healthcare and our mental health support platform ‘Space’. We also offer hundreds of free training courses to all our staff, giving them control over their career, allowing them to learn the skills they want to drive their careers forward.Thank you for your hard work!Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Miles better than working for my previous company.

I have only been employed with Arnold Clark for a couple of months now so I don't really have an in depth account of employment with the company.I am finding it fun less stressful and the money is by far better than my last job with another major scottish motor group and it feels like a bigger more professional company.Something I am not used to in my role as a driver is bonus it is going to make a massive difference when I get it this month as we all know the cost of living is on the increase so I am so happy I am getting this little bit extra.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

5 April 2022
Hi, Lynne hereFirst things first, welcome to the Arnold Clark family! Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, it looks like you are fitting in well and enjoying your new role!I am so glad to hear that you feel that your situation has improved with Arnold Clark, especially regarding the bonus. We are extremely proud of the benefits package we offer our employees (one of the best in the industry), especially in giving them the ability to take charge of their earnings through multiple initiatives and, of course, the bonuses they can earn over the year.It sounds like you are a credit to your team, keep up the good work!Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Arnold Clark. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 738 reviews

Ratings by category

3.0 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.3 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.3 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.0 out of 5 stars for Management
3.1 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Arnold Clark with

  • Companies
  • Arnold Clark
  • Employee reviews
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?