Arnold Clark
Happiness score is 44 out of 100
3.2 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Arnold Clark Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom676 reviews

Ratings by category

3.0Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 676 reviews matching the searchSee all 697 reviews

Great team, directors don’t listen.

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Overall the branch is fantastic! Great fun team who are successful. Things could be improved in aspects of the business If directors took more note of what staff said and why they leave. Some directors stubborn and do not listen to staff and are out of touch with the day to day roles. Some things that affect pay are out of the control of the individual so I would see this as unfair (I am not commission based so does not affect my wage) overall though benefits are good and job is fun offering variety each day. Hours are too much and difficult to get finished on time due to the customer facing nature, so work life balance isn’t great.

Pros

Great team and managers, good pay and benefits

Cons

Hours, Directors don’t listen, Sales expected to work overtime without pay to deliver cars.
Was this review helpful?

Potential to be a good place but...

Management at all levels are egotistical bullies. I had 3 general managers of which only 1 was a good manager. The other 2 would make your life very difficult. The managers above them would also send out abusive emails on ridiculous things.

Pros

Commission could be good.

Cons

no work life balance, working up to 12 hour days, coming in on days off, holidays were 'a sign of weakness'
Was this review helpful?

Notts bodyshop

This is a honest review of the Nottingham branch to keep it short and simple.- No care for mental health, worked like a horse (hence why in 2 odd years I’d seen 10+ people go)- long hours made to work Weekends in rotation- Supplied with good enough equipment and PPE- Most staff were friendly did feel very close - Constantly watched by management ‘get it done or your not going home’ attitude

Pros

Discounts on servicing and repairs Newish bodyshop

Cons

Long hours management Favouritism
Was this review helpful?

Can make a decent living if you are willing to devote all of your time (and days off).

The actual job itself I have no complaints about, can be enjoyable at times and there can be a team spirit, however, if you're looking to make big bucks be prepared to devote ALL of your time and headspace to the job. Great job for someone without kids or a partner but not so great if you do. Varies wildly from branch to branch, if you've not got anything to lose give it a bash, but don't expect to be making their advertised "average OTE" unless prepared to devote all of you to the job.

Pros

£500 off of any car. Software system is second to none

Cons

Long hours, late nights, and expected to come in on days off at times. Management have a god complex.
Was this review helpful?

Rewarding

I work within a busy department that works with all branches, I have learned that every branch has different needs, however all working for the same goal - to help our customers and achieve this to a very high standard. The Management show this and transfer their enthusiasm throughout, they are also very helpful when help is required, especially to staff like myself who have only recently joined Arnold Clark. The hardest part of my job is to ensure that all tasks are completed within a suitable time limit as a lot of my work is with 3rd parties and I have to rely on them. I really love the team feeling, the rapport we all have and how we all help each other when required.

Pros

Making new Friends and the Hot Chocolate in the Hub

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Good place to work

Overall a good place to work, but there can be a culture of micromanagement from senior management, which makes my day to day job more difficult when I feel I need to question things. However, support is given from said management when needed and you are listened to.

Pros

Good employee benefits

Cons

Never feel switched off from work.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

15 December 2021
Hi, Lynne here. Thanks for your feedback – it sounds like you’ve had quite a mixed experience so far. Firstly, it’s great that you’ve mentioned our benefits – we believe it’s very important to reward our employees for their hard work and dedication, that’s why we now offer one of the best benefits packages in the automotive industry! We recently introduced a new flexible working policy to improve our employees’ work-life balance – if you feel this still needs improved, or if you would like to talk about any other issues, please contact the People Team who can offer help and advice in the strictest confidence. Keep up the good work! Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

The work itself was quite satisfying and rewarding but very stressful. Would make a difference if managers knew how to do their job properly.

It is an okay place to work if you feel like tearing your hair out everyday of the week. I cannot stress this enough how poorly run the place was by management. I received minimal proper training from mentors or managers. Don’t get me wrong if there was better management and support I reckon it would be a great place to be. Overall work was good but getting the correct jobs to fill out job cards to send away for review was a nightmare as the job diversity wasn’t huge so finding certain tasks to complete the sheet was difficult. If you can push past the first year or mainly emptying bins and cleaning then the job is OK. If you’re looking to jump straight into working on motors find another apprenticeship.

Pros

Satisfying work

Cons

The rest of the job, Poorly run, Lack of proper training, Poor support for apprentices, Money could be better for the amount of labour.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

15 December 2021
Hi, Lynne here. Thanks for your feedback – I’m sorry your experience with us wasn’t a more positive one. We’re very passionate about offering exciting new opportunities to young people, as they’re integral to the future of our business – and our apprenticeship scheme is central to that. We pride ourselves on offering our apprentices excellent training and mentoring, while we also recently launched our Apprentice Improvement Programme which gives them control of their earnings for the first time with the chance to increase their wages based on their performance. It sounds like you didn’t get the experience we strive to offer all of our apprentices, and I’m sorry we couldn’t rectify this during your time with us. I wish you all the best in your future career. Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

A company that lives its values

I have recently started with Arnold Clark and my experience has been entirely positiveEveryone I have spoken to is really friendly and welcoming. The company’s culture is extremely supportive and it is clear that this is company that acts in line with its stated values in everything it does

Pros

Working culture, supportive environment
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

15 December 2021
Hi, Lynne here.Thank you so much for writing such a fantastic review of your time with us, it sounds like you’ve had a great start to your Arnold Clark career! I am so happy to hear that you’re finding the work culture so supportive, as we strongly believe in creating a welcoming environment for everyone to enjoy their work. I’m sure you’ll agree that a positive and nurturing work space makes all the difference, and it’s so wonderful to hear that that is the case.Keep up the great work, and welcome to the Arnold Clark family!Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Very poor bodyshop area manager

Very poor bodyshop management, expected you to everything ,from booking jobs in ,repairing cars ,delivering cars and involving, and still get dump on .

Pros

Holidays, pay

Cons

Very stressful
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

26 November 2021
Hi, Lynne here.Thanks for taking the time to write your review – feedback like this is the best way for us to grow as a business and we truly appreciate it.I’m glad to hear that you listed your pay and holidays as positives of your time with us. We are very proud of the fact we offer one of the best packages in the industry and give our employees many ways of improving their pay through incentive schemes and reward programmes.I am, however, deeply saddened to hear that you had such a poor experience with management. We want all our employees to feel valued in their work and never to feel like they are being taken for granted. Please know that we at the People Team are here specifically for situations like this, and to always know that we can offer impartial and confidential advice for anyone in need. I wish you the best of luck in your future career path.Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Joke of a company

Where to begin. Management treat you like you are nothing. Salesmen try to hide damage on cars before the customer leaves then blames said customer. HR and the so called "people team" are only management protection as I was told by a sales manager. No training offered to me after a year of being there. Get treated like dirt but expected by management to cross time and space to do favours for them. All this company represents is liars and thieves and they wonder why staff turnover is so high. Never get listened to unless you are "in" with management and the blame gets pushed on everyone other than who is truly to blame in any circumstance. Absolutely disgusting company and management, vile pieces of work. Horrible useless company. Valeter? More like do some valeting but mainly your job is to drive cars to customers houses to save us paying for transport and line management's pockets with bigger bonuses. Ridiculous company to work for and to be a customer to.

Pros

Nothing at all, not one tiny thing.

Cons

Everything you could possibly think wrong with a company, is wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

26 November 2021
Hi, Lynne here.First of all, thank you for taking the time to write your review. I must say that I am extremely disappointed to hear that you had such a poor experience with us and can only emphasise that the work environment you described does not represent our core values as a business.I am particularly worried to hear that management told you that the People Team are only here for ‘management protection’. Please be assured that the People Team are here to help everyone in the business and to offer impartial and confidential advice to everyone who needs it.I am also saddened to hear that you weren’t offered proper training or any opportunities to progress your career. We at Arnold Clark pride ourselves on offering access to thousands of online training modules across a wide spectrum of topics – we want our employees to take charge of their career and develop it in the way that they wish.I’m sorry that we were unable to help you during your time with us, but please know that the People Team are here for anyone who feels like they are not being heard.Best of luck in your new career path.Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Stay clear

This is one of the worst companies i have ever worked for.When i was offered the job i had heard the horror stories about this company and i went in with an opened mind and sadly they were right.The sales manager is rude, patronising and just not a pleasure to work with.No support, when asked got a role of the eyes and a huff, was advised i would get to shadow people and learn the ARNOLD CLARK WAY....but that was never gonna happen and it didnt.Had customers comment on how bad and rude the sales manager was and they even asked how could i work with the person.Only blessing that there was 3 sales people i got on with.Definitely a culture if your face fits then you are ok, i know management will say different, but what would i expect Just wouldnt actually recommend working for them at all.Not surprised now that the salesmen had mentioned how many people come and go at that branch.

Pros

Cant say of any

Cons

Bad and rude management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

5 November 2021
Hi, Lynne here.I’m very disappointed and disheartened to read some of your comments. This is not the kind of experience we want our employees to have at our branches, and I’m very sorry that this happened. Our aim is to create a welcoming and supportive environment at all branches across the Group – please be assured that the People Team is here to offer impartial advice and support, in the strictest of confidence. I’m just sorry we were unable to rectify your situation before you left. I wish you all the best in your future career. Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Good work atmosphere

For me it was one of the best motor trade companies I have worked with! They get you Involved with the day to day running with think customers Groups and ideas on charts advents to get involved in if you like!The work loads can be large but I had plenty of support from my body shop area manager and enjoyed working there!

Pros

Good pay, friendly staff
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

19 October 2021
Hi, Lynne here, Thank you for leaving such a glowing review of your time at Arnold Clark – there’s nothing better than seeing five stars across the board! Our employees are at the heart of everything we do – that’s why we believe it’s so important to get you involved with initiatives like Think Employee where we can listen to your feedback and implement positive changes across the group. I appreciate that the workload can be demanding at times, but I’m glad to see that you had plenty of support from your management team – this is exactly the kind of supportive environment we want to foster at Arnold Clark! I’m sure you’ll agree that having a good team around you makes all the difference! Thank you so much for your feedback and I wish you all the best in your future career.Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Great environment and team. Great benefits.

Working within the recruitment team it is fast paced and a great atmosphere. This is in part due to the team but also due to the variation in the role. Always dealing with different managers, candidates and situations which keeps you on your toes. It's a great buzz. A growing business even within the pandemic which gives me comfort knowing that I am coming into a new role. The roles on offer to job seekers are excellent and there is a lot of managers in the business who have started in other roles and made their way up. progression is clearly important. Great benefits like discounts, retail offers, AC discounts, training and private healthcare.

Pros

great benefits, amazing team, great culture

Cons

none really
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

21 September 2021
Hi, Lynne here. Thanks for leaving such a positive review of your current role! I’m delighted to hear that you are enjoying your position as Recruitment Advisor – I’m sure you’ll agree there are lots of exciting things happening in your department at the moment. Firstly, I’m glad to hear that there’s a great atmosphere in your team – this is exactly the kind of positive and supportive environment we strive to create. I’m also delighted to see you mention our opportunities for progression – it’s true that many of our managers have worked their way up from other roles in the company. We want all our employees to feel like they can learn, develop and progress in their roles and enjoy long, happy careers at Arnold Clark. As you’ve mentioned, we also offer one of the best benefits packages in the automotive industry with generous discounts, private healthcare, training and more. Our employees work hard and we want to make sure they are rewarded for this. We are a growing business and I’m so delighted we have you along for the ride! Keep up the good work. Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Great team work

Only been here 60 days and it is definitely physically challenging however there is a great team work ethic from management to staff.Could definitely do with an extra colleague as this is a very busy branch.The wage isnt the worst but given the nature of the role i feel that a starting rate of 10.00 an hour would be fairer.Great sense of satisfaction when the customers compliment us on the standards we deliver and you see the transformation in the vehicles coming back in to going out again.Everybody really helpful, communication is good, open door policy from manager which is appreciated.I feel well supported with my training and that everyone has been supportive of me being the new person.

Pros

Team work ethic

Cons

weekend working
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

21 September 2021
Hi, Lynne here. Thank you very much for leaving such a comprehensive review of your time at Arnold Clark – and five stars across the board! I’m delighted to read your comments and I’m so happy that you are satisfied in your role. Communication is one of our five core values and it’s very important to us that our employees feel heard. We want to encourage conversation at all levels of the business so I’m glad that you have built good relationships with your colleagues. It’s also great to hear that you’ve been able to take advantage of our huge array of training opportunities – we want all employees to develop and progress in their roles and this kind of supportive environment is exactly what we strive to create. I understand that, especially at the moment, we are short-staffed in some areas. We are, however, already taking steps to help alleviate this pressure by bringing in more hires and offering more rewards for our employees who are working these extra hours.Thank you very much for your excellent feedback and I hope you enjoy a long, happy career with us. Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Shocking work culture

Terrible work life balance, leads allocated upon how much the managers likes you. Toxic work environment and minimal pay but expect the world from their staff, only benefit is the training.

Pros

Training

Cons

Long hours, pay, management, work life balance, the list goes on.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

21 September 2021
Hi, Lynne here. I’m really disheartened to read some of your comments. This is not the kind of environment we want to create at Arnold Clark and I’m sorry you experienced this. We want all our employees to feel supported in their roles which is why we now offer one of the best benefits packages in the automotive industry. We believe it’s very important to reward our staff for all their hard work and we are firmly against showing any undue favouritism. On the other hand, I’m glad you made the most of our huge array of training opportunities. Please be assured that the People Team is always here to offer advice and support in the strictest of confidence. I’m sorry we couldn’t rectify these issues during your employment with us. Thanks for your feedback and I wish you all the best in your future career. Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

No private life

I worked there for several years and there is no support from management. The Work life balance is horrendous work Saturdays and Bank Holidays and expected to stay behind even though you start earlier. Not appreciation there at all.

Pros

Job stabilty

Cons

Long lours no.pribate life
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

21 September 2021
Hi, Lynne here. Firstly, I’m very sorry to hear you didn’t have the positive experience we strive to create at Arnold Clark. We believe it’s very important to ensure all our employees enjoy a good work/life balance and that they are rewarded for all their hard work. Yes, we are understaffed across certain areas in the business at the moment but please be assured we are already taking steps to alleviate the pressure by bringing in more staff. The People Team are always here to offer advice and support in the strictest of confidence – I’m just sorry we couldn’t rectify these issues during your time with us. Thanks for your service and I wish you all the best in the future. Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Management

MANAGERS always have a way to do you over and never seem to want to help unless it benefits them need to pull holidays in months in advance for 1 day off (funeral) that you will never know that’s going to happen most of the time

Pros

Non

Cons

Long hour bad pay MANAGEMENT
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

21 September 2021
Hi, Lynne here. I’m sorry that your experience with Arnold Clark wasn’t a more positive one. We want to foster a helpful and supportive environment for all our employees and I’m sorry to hear this wasn’t the case. We know that, especially at the moment, we are short-staffed in some areas, which can lead to extra pressure on others to work longer hours. We are, however, already taking steps to help alleviate this stress by bringing in more hires and offering more rewards for our employees who are working these extra hours.I wish you all the best in your future career. Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Great guys to work with

Great group of guys but the managers are a joke higher up the company and they don’t like it if u answer back And don’t jump when they say so and also if your face fits or have friends In the right places u will go far if not u stuck and not going to have job long

Pros

Good group of guys

Cons

Got paid off why on sick for an injury that happened in there
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

2 September 2021
Hi, Lynne here.Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for your time with us at Arnold Clark. I’m sorry you didn’t have a more positive experience, but I’m heartened to hear that you got along with your colleagues.As to your con about sick pay, we offer a good number of sick days for our employees which have in fact been bolstered this year to help address COVID. I’m sorry to hear that this wasn’t the case with you, and that we at the People Team were unable to help rectify it.Wishing you the best of luck in your future career.Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Extremely stressful

All about targets and making money.Unfair structure on who is paid bonus.Too much pressure put on accounts team from other departmental managers to hit targets for them to achieve bonus.

Pros

Great relationships with colleagues

Cons

Very stressful
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

2 September 2021
Hi, Lynne here.First things first, thank you for taking the time to leave this review of your time at Arnold Clark. I’m so glad to hear that you were able to develop strong relationships with your colleagues, we want to develop a strong and nurturing work environment for all our employees, and I am glad to hear that you were able to find comradeship during your time with us.I am, however, disheartened to hear that you found your position so stressful, or that you felt that there was undue pressure put on to your department. We offer our branches the chance to earn bonuses based on Group performance in order to help develop good working relationships between the departments, but we always want our employees to enjoy a healthy work/life balance. We at the People Team are specifically here to help our employees with situations like these, and I’m sad to see that we weren’t able to rectify this for you.I wish you all the luck for the future. Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

A job

Don’t,Just don’t ,really don’t ,am no joking don’t ,the only positive I can think of if you don’t listen and consider trying to gain employment with this company is ,think of the worst decision you’ve ever made in life and then push it down to the 2nd worse

Pros

Finishing a shift

Cons

Starting a shift
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

2 September 2021
Hi, Lynne here.Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to see you didn’t enjoy your time with us. Please know that we at the People Team are here to support our employees with whatever problem they may have. I’m sorry to see that we were unable to help you with your problems and wish you luck for the future.Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Productive and fun place to work

Arnold clark is a great place to work great staff to work with amd a great manager the company's benifits system is the best in the industry and there people team will go the ends of the earth for you the incentives for the valet team are great and the new job progression for valeters is a great thing a valeter can becone a qualified mechanic or parts advisor i may have left because of my own stupidity but the people team did everything they could but I would return in a heart beat to work for arnold clark thanks for the 4 years and maybe one day I can return

Pros

Benifits, wages, people team

Cons

It is what you make of it
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Arnold Clark

2 September 2021
Hi, Lynne here.Thank you so much for your wonderful review; it is always wonderful to see 5 stars!I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and I’m even happier to see you mentioning the ability to progress your career as one of the main positives. We are very proud of the support system we have for our employees and offer everyone a huge range of training programmes for free. We want our employees to be able to take charge of their own career and develop their skills how they want to.I’m sorry to hear that you are no longer with us, but hopefully we will be able to welcome you back one day!Lynne McBurney, Group Head of People

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Arnold Clark. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2

Based on 697 reviews
5
229
4
117
3
114
2
66
1
171

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job security/advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture

Compare Arnold Clark with

  • Companies
  • Arnold Clark
  • Employee reviews