BaxterStorey
Happiness score is 54 out of 100
3.3 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

BaxterStorey Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom326 reviews

Ratings by category

3.3Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 326 reviews matching the searchSee all 364 reviews
storeybaxtercateringcheffreelunchcolleaguekitchen

Work with great team

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Ok company to work for . You get drinks and a free meal . But quite honestly you are just a number within the company and the pay is awful for the amount of work involved .
Was this review helpful?

Great company

Well I've worked for 3 catering company and they are definitely the most professional. Management are very professional, polite and look the part. Good career if you want to progress. Low wages though.
Was this review helpful?

Insights into BaxterStorey

Based on 107 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Support from manager
  • Trust in colleagues

Encouraged to use initiative

As an independent catering company, each site is different and 'tailor-made' to the client. Employees are encouraged to use their initiative and while there are company guidelines, you don't feel that you are dictated to on how to do your job. Creativity is encouraged and they genuinely take care of employees work-life balance. The 'Monday-Friday' gig is great for anyone in the hospitality industry!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from BaxterStorey

22 September 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we are delighted that you are having a positive experience and enjoying being creative in your role. Best Wishes The People Team

Good and professional work place

The company should pay good enough for the hard work what we do as configuration assistants setting up meeting rooms moving the furniture around the building and helping with all big items deliveries . Our setup during events. Management should do something to add extra persons for working full time with us
Was this review helpful?

Official response from BaxterStorey

24 August 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, if you would like to discuss your concerns further please speak to your manager or contact us on peoplesupport@baxterstorey.com Best Wishes The People Team

Awful company to work for

Absolutely the worst company I've worked for.Communication is dire Didn't get the right wages for 3 months and I don't mean a few pence.Had to get the union involved no communication from the management, no apologies nothing. Put more work on you so doing 3 peoples jobs no extra money of course Management looked down on you horrendous people .

Pros

Nothing

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from BaxterStorey

24 August 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we are always concerned to hear when a former employee has not had a positive experience. Please contact us on peoplesupport@wshsupport.com to discuss your concerns further. Best Wishes The People Team

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Amateurs

No one in my management team has a clue how to organise and lead a team.Overworked till breaking point on busy days because they get no additional help as trying to save money and profit that was lost during the pandemic.That is after already half team was made redundant.I never wanna work for this company again
Was this review helpful?

Official response from BaxterStorey

10 August 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are always concerned when former employee's have had issues and would like to discuss this further, please contact us on peoplesupport@baxterstorey.com Kind Regards The People Team

Great Job but lack of Management

It’s all about how I look, my numbers and that I don’t have to do the covering as Account Manager. No induction, no handover and no training apart from your internal company online training. You have to figure everything out yourself. What are the policies? What are the procedures or processes? Utilised my full client budget for labour but team gets send away to other sites without asking or letting the general manager know. You never know what you walk Into or what today brings as email, call or message from your account manager. The account manager will make sure that he/she looks perfect on the books but cutting corners and temporary fixes on the P&L are stressful and make no sense!

Cons

Management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from BaxterStorey

13 July 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are of course always concerned to learn of any employee's who were not happy in their role. We have a number of policies and procedures that you should have been made aware of. Please contact us directly on peoplesupport@baxterstorey.com to discuss your issues and so we can look into this further. Many Thanks The People Team

Total lack of care towards employees.

My unit was amazing, everyone knew everyone and the culture was one of family. However, this was far outweighed by the attitude and lack of good management skills from Baxterstorey. When informed I required help, I was told none would be forthcoming. Baxterstorey used to be a company that cares for employees. However, this has changed and you are now just a number.

Pros

None

Cons

Low pay no appreciation from manager.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from BaxterStorey

29 June 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we are always concerned to receive a review highlighting issues that you have found. Please could you contact your People Manager or email us directly to peoplesupport@baxterstorey.com so that we can look into this and discuss with you properly. Many Thanks The People Team

Fun working

Good place to work. All staff are friendly and helpful. Manager also help the staff . Love to work at Baxterstorey. Have good benefit. Rota is given 1month in advance so u can balance ur work and personal life.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from BaxterStorey

29 June 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are delighted to hear about your positive experiences with us and glad that you are enjoying your role. Kind Regards The People Team

Great company that promote within

Having worked for baxterstorey for over 6 years in different contracts, I have seen many setting and worked within many roles. Always felt supported and training is always a strong focus. Felling part of a time and support to advance in my career. Yes the work is hard, yes it can be stressful but also rewarding
Was this review helpful?

Official response from BaxterStorey

1 June 2022
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We are always delighted to receive positive feedback from our employee's. Wishing you all the bestKind Regards The People Team

Only care for money

Don't offer any support for mental illness. Long hours. Rude staff and mangers. Have to go to the toilet when not in service. Very physical work ......

Pros

Free food

Cons

Unpaid break
Was this review helpful?

Official response from BaxterStorey

1 June 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are always concerned to hear of any issues you have faced and would encourage you to contact us on peoplesupport@baxterstorey.com Many Thanks The People Team

Great company to work for... Management were very helpful

I worked for BaxterStorey for over 2 years but was unfortunately made redundant due to covid 19.I loved my job and felt very passionate about the company. The higher management for our area were great, so helpful and approachable.The job itself was hard work at times but we had a great team and some fab fun. The hours fitted perfectly with family life.Such a great company, I've even applied to work for them again 🤞🤞
Was this review helpful?

Official response from BaxterStorey

18 May 2022
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are always delighted to receive great feedback from former employee's. We hope to see you back in the business again soon! Best Wishes The People Team

work hard for minimum wage

I have been working in MK quadrant - Do not waste your time and avoid the company, poor managment, zero benefits, work hard and get national minimum wage, pay for your xmas party, no support from menagers ...

Cons

low pay, no support
Was this review helpful?

Official response from BaxterStorey

4 May 2022
Good Afternoon, Many thanks for providing us with this feedback, we are of course always concerned when a team member doesn't have a positive experience. If you would like to discuss your concerns further please contact us on peoplesupport@baxterstorey.com. Kind Regards The People Team

Lovely customers

I love all the people here and they are amazing at making you feel welcome! They are always able to work around you as best they can, they shadow you for as long as you need in order to make sure that you are confident

Pros

Free lunches and very good at working around you and your life
Was this review helpful?

Official response from BaxterStorey

4 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are always pleased to hear when a former employee had a positive experience. Best Wishes The People Team

Great colleagues, poor management

Just like any place of work if your working with the right people it’s fine. Just too many times though you are having to work with disinterested incompetent staff. You are constantly paid wrong with no direct link to hr for any issues. Also no chance of promotion.

Pros

Free meal if you work over a set period of hours.

Cons

No chance of promotion.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from BaxterStorey

20 April 2022
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are always concerned to hear if an employee doesn't have a positive experience and encourage you to contact us on peoplesupport@baxterstorey.com so that we can follow the correct procedures with any pay issues. We do have a wide range of career progression opportunities across the business so please contact us on the above email so we can provide you with this information as well Kind Regards The People Team

Awful

Absolutely awful to work for.No training is given to new starts, the staff are lazy and disorganise, management is a joke, no support given, there has been stuff stolen and nothing has been done about it.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from BaxterStorey

6 April 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are concerned to hear these claims and ask you to contact us on peeoplesupport@baxterstorey.com asap so we can begin the process to look into these issues for you. Many Thanks The People Team

Not fun and stressful

Management was poor and a bully head office wasn't interested in helping in them situations if I could rate 0 stars then I would Worse job I ever had and put my love of cooking off
Was this review helpful?

Official response from BaxterStorey

6 April 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We take claims of bullying very seriously and ask that you contact us on peoplesupport@baxterstorey.com so that we can manage this situation through the appropriate internal process and ensure a thorough investigation takes place. Best Wishes The People Team

Hard working job

I worked in a kitchen with 2 other staff. We all got on which is essential for a small working environment. However the work was hard and fast going and all that for minimum wage. I left because I couldn’t afford to stay with that pay, you really do work super hard and get no help from management. All they do is visit and bring more work to you without asking is there anything that can help you out with.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from BaxterStorey

6 April 2022
Good Morning, We appreciate you taking time to leave your review and we appreciate the feedback. If you would like to send us more information on your concerns please email peoplesupport@baxterstorey.com Kind Regards The People Team

Avoid Avoid Avoid

Low pay, contracting company with the purpose of saving the employer money which means you're effectively worth nothing. No sick pay, basic holidays, no confirmed role or decent pension. Exploitation of staff by different company branches with different names so they can claim ignorance and give different privileges to certain staff.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from BaxterStorey

23 March 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It is very concerning to read these claims and as you are a current employee we ask that you contact us on peoplesupport@baxterstorey.com asap so we can provide you with a copy of your contract and look into these claims for you. I would like to point out that all employee's have sick pay, holiday and pension included in their employment terms so it is concerning that you are not aware of your entitlements. We look forward to speaking with you soonBest Wishes The People Team

good place to work

a lot of fun, management very helpful and look after employees. no stress and no pressure, very good place to work. good chance to work for one of the best in catering.

Pros

free lunch, friendly management

Cons

nome
Was this review helpful?

Official response from BaxterStorey

23 March 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We are pleased you have enjoyed your employment with us. Best Wishes The People Team

Nice place to work

I enjoyed working here for the most part. I only really saw my line manager daily, the higher-ups would pop in now and again. The staff were really friendly and you got free staff meals.Unfortunately not many of us kept our jobs after lockdown.

Pros

Free lunch, quick close-downs

Cons

Sometimes a bit of lone-working was required.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from BaxterStorey

4 March 2022
Good evening, Thanks so much for taking the time to give us your feedback which is must appreciated. We are sorry to hear of the pandemic affecting employment at your site but so pleased to hear you had a positive experience with usHave a good weekendThe People Team

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BaxterStorey. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 364 reviews

Ratings by category

3.3 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.1 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.0 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
2.9 out of 5 stars for Management
3.1 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare BaxterStorey with

Learn about BaxterStorey in popular locations

  • Companies
  • BaxterStorey
  • Employee reviews