Bents Garden & Home
3.2 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Bents Garden & Home Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom50 reviews

Ratings by category

3.3Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 50 reviews matching the searchSee all 52 reviews

Not a bad place to work, just very busy and unpleasant customers

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Not a bad place to work, just very busy and unpleasant customersNice staff canteen and good staff events.Pay felt unfair at times as my department was always busy whereas other staff are being paid the same to fluff up cushions.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bents Garden & Home

25 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.I was pleased to read that you liked our colleague bistro and enjoyed our colleague events; I must agree we really do have love the bistro is lovely and we do love to celebrate with each other.However I was upset to read of your experience and I will be certain to look into this further with our senior leadership team.We always try to complete an exit interview with all of our colleagues when they leave and we think this is a great way of communication. To help us gain a better understanding of your concerns it would be great if you are willing to give more feedback, please email us on jobs@bents.co.uk.All the best for your future.Katherine BentHead of HR

Family business is all a façade

You have to buy your own uniform, very low wages and shifts are changed at their will. Employed at so many hours contract but only work those hours when the store is busy, Christmas and summer, then your hours are halved with no warning. Unable to use your personality with the customers in the dining area, staff in each department are on edge as they are constantly watched.Such a high turnover of management and staff, constantly recruiting for each department ….store is busy which is great as the shifts go quickly. Fellow staff are brilliant, they just don’t stay very long.
Was this review helpful?

Insights into Bents Garden & Home

Based on 9 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Fair pay for job
  • Time and location flexibility
  • Ability to learn new things

No support from higher management

Working at bents was great working with a nice hard working team. as for my position I had no support and was treated with no respect. It was very busy had no staff and complaints every day clad to move on to better job avoid restaurant areas if you want to work there.

Pros

None

Cons

Long hrs no support
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bents Garden & Home

8 December 2021
Thank you for your review.I was disappointed to read of your recent experience within dining, this is not how we would want any of our colleagues to have felt. Being a leader within dining it is also sad to feel that you did not have the support . I will look further into this with the senior management team to review this further. As you are aware there is a national shortage on catering colleagues which as a business we are also experiencing and are doing our upmost to attract and retain some exceptional colleagues. However I do agree with your comment regarding working with a nice hard working team…I must agree we really do have great colleagues.We always aim to conduct an exit interview with colleagues when they leave and I believe this is a great way for us to understand your concerns further. It would be great if you are willing to give more feedback, please email us on jobs@bents.co.ukWe wish you all the best for the future and are staying safe.Katherine BentHead of HR

It was alright

The job was okay, but was quite boring at times. The sales system was also outdated meaning that it was very difficult to process sales. However, the culture was really good and it was always really nice around christmas time.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bents Garden & Home

8 December 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.It was lovely to read of your experience regarding how you felt with our culture, as we do strive to create a great working environment and the culture of our business is something we are exceptionally proud of and are pleased that this has come through to our colleagues.Thank you for bringing the points to my attention regarding some of our systems and difficulty in processing sales, I will review this with our management team.Once again thank you for your review and all the best for the future.Katherine BentHead of HR

Minimum wage and bad management

Minimum wage for stressful shifts. Management don’t care about you. Really really strict with simple things like they wouldn’t let us swap shifts. Wouldn’t recommend
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bents Garden & Home

6 September 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write your reviewI was saddened to read part of your review as a point you raised is against all that we want for Bents. We believe the colleagues are at the heart of the business and are continuing to work hard to achieve this, so I’m really sorry that your experience did not meet what we have and continue to set out to achieve. I will be working with the senior team to look into the point raised.Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and we wish you all the very best for your future.Katherine Bent.Head of HR

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Family company !

Sells itself as a caring family company, couldn’t be farther than the truth . Basic contracted hours but they expect staff to work way over these hours, late night finishes then back in on an early next day. All for minimum wage

Pros

10% discount that rises to 20% after a probationary period

Cons

Lots of heavy lifting, more like warehouse work without the pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bents Garden & Home

6 September 2021
Thank you for your review.I was really upset to read of your experience; this is certainly not how we would want our colleagues to feel whilst working for us, we pride ourselves on being a family run business and would always want our leaders to be demonstrating this. I will be sharing your comments with our managers and senior team to review this further.It would be great if you would get into contact with us, as when a colleague decides to leave we always aim to conduct an exit interview. This is a great way for communication and to help us understand your concerns further. Please email me on jobs@bents.co.ukI wish you all the best and hope you are staying safe.Katherine BentHead of HR

Past paced but decent place to work

I worked in the housekeeping department, colleagues from all departments are lovely. Most management is very helpful however select few who do nothing all shift but if I stop to breathe they have a go. Long shifts especially during Christmas, but that is to be expected. Housekeeping/Potwash department is stressful to work in, either too many colleagues in everyone’s just stood about or not enough so you’re rushed off your feet all shift. Overall nice place to work, just be prepared for Christmas period.

Pros

Lovely colleagues, free parking, employee benefits.

Cons

Long hours, rude customers, stressful at times.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bents Garden & Home

1 July 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.I was pleased to read you found lovely colleagues within Bents and I must agree, I do believe that our colleagues have amazing behaviors and skills and I am pleased they helped make your experience enjoyable. I have noted your concerns in relation to the working hours and will feed this back to the management team.We hope you are staying safe and all the best for the future.Katherine BentHead of HR

Good fun

It can be a good place to work I think the management have no management skills they've just been given the title talk down to you change your shift all the time all about making money no health and safety all about management as much use as a chocolate fire guard.at the moment in time The role trying to prove there better than each other

Pros

Discount

Cons

Children as management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bents Garden & Home

22 March 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.I was disappointed to read of your experience whilst working at Bents; this is certainly not the experience we would want any colleague to feel. I have shared your comments with the senior management team and will review these further.We always aim to conduct an exit interview with colleagues when they leave and this is a powerful way of communication to help us understand your concerns further. It would be great if you are willing to give more feedback, please email us on jobs@bents.co.ukWe hope you are staying safe and all the best for the future.Katherine BentHead of HR

I worked at bents winter food market

I worked at bents mr bents and all his sister ware really nice people I had no problem with my job My main concern was people who stood around noticed when you may have slowed down But apart from that I use to see the majority of the bents come in the shop and Speke to you Absolutely fantastic pleasant experience indeed

Pros

Very friendly

Cons

Some right lazy people who get away with murder
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bents Garden & Home

1 February 2021
Thank you for taking your time to write your review.We are passionate that we put colleagues at the heart of our business and I was glad that you had a pleasant experience. I will be feeding back your concerns you have raised in your review with the management team. I was pleased to read you had a fantastic experience within our winter food markets.All the best for the future.Katherine Bent.Head of HR

Boring

The work day was boring but the shifts where short. The managent would ignore younger employees. Some fellow staff members where rude. However, my team leader was welcoming and helpful.

Pros

good pay

Cons

boring shifts. Terrable managers.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bents Garden & Home

22 January 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.I was disappointed to read of your experience whilst working at Bents; this is certainly not the experience we would want any colleague to feel. I have shared your comments with the senior management team and will review this further.However, it was lovely to hear how your team leader helped you through your time here at Bents.Once again thank you for your review and all the best for the future.Katherine BentHead of HR

Productive and Hard Working Organisation

I did my workplace here and loved every minute of it. They have massive aims for the company. lovely staff and want to help everyone progress. Working at the company was good they have a wide range of roles and it was enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bents Garden & Home

22 January 2021
Thank you for your kind review.It was lovely to hear of your experience, especially that you loved every minute of it and we are really pleased that you were able to join us for your work experience.All the best for the future.Katherine BentsHead of HR

productive and fast-pace work environment

It was a productive and fast-pace work environment. it wasn't the best job, it was good as a start place after school but the only enjoyable factor was the people I met there. Management where very strict and in some cases unprofessional.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bents Garden & Home

22 January 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.I was disappointed to read parts of your review; this is certainly not the experience we want any of our colleagues to have and feel whilst working for Bents. I will be picking up your comments with the senior team to discuss further.However, I was pleased to hear you found your colleagues helped to make your experience enjoyable.All the best for the future.Katherine Bent.Head of HR

Worklife

nice people, poor prospects, not a good wage, good Christmas party bad traffic outside Bents, Poor management, no scope for progression, long hours, ha
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bents Garden & Home

14 April 2020
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. I was really disappointed to read parts of your review; this is certainly not the experience we want any of our colleagues to have and feel whilst working for Bents. Although I was pleased you enjoyed our Christmas Party, we do love having our annual Colleague events. We agree the traffic can be congested, we have raised a number of times with the local Council and the regular roadworks don’t help. We always aim to complete an exit interview when a colleague leaves and this is one of our most powerful ways of communication and beneficial to help us understand further your concerns, if would be great if you are willing to give more feedback, please email one of the HR team on jobs@bents.co.uk. In the meantime, we hope you are staying safe and wish you all the best. Katherine Bent Head of HR

Awful company

They say there a family run business but they treat you like that your dirt on the bottom of their shoes. They fired someone over milk once. If your not an original staff member then you won’t get treated like part of a team . The bents themselves speak to you like your lower than them. They are really ruining the family name in the way they treat people . Avoid this place at all costs !!!!

Pros

None

Cons

Endless
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bents Garden & Home

9 March 2020
Thank you for your review. We are always disappointed when a colleague leaves the business and I was really saddened to read of your experience whilst working at Bents; this is certainly not the experience we want any of our colleagues to feel whilst working at Bents and this does not represent our family values or leadership behaviours. I would like to reassure that we haven’t ended anyone’s employment in regards to milk, so I apologise that this has been wrongly informed to you. I’ve shared your comments with our Senior Team and Management Teams to review further. Once again, we are really sorry that you have left feeling so aggrieved. We always aim to complete an exit interview when colleagues leave and this would have been beneficial to help us understand further your concerns, it would be great if you are willing to give more feedback, please email Kim Orson on jobs@bents.co.uk if we are able to complete this with you. All the best for your future. Warm Regards,Katherine Bent

It was a great experience, the staff helped me and gave me good advices. I had the opportunity to communicate with customers and see how it really is

I worked there for my work experience The staff gave me advices and I understood how it really is to dedicate yourself and communicate with customers.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bents Garden & Home

14 January 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It was lovely to read of your review, and we are really pleased that you were able to join us on your work experience and you had a great experience. I will be pleased to share your review with our Clothing Department too. All the best for your future and thank you again. Katherine Bent

Great Opportunities and work life balance

- Amazing development schemes within the business. - You feel like part of the family here and you are a person not a number. - Great work life balance for family with young children. - Lots of work benefits.

Pros

Work life balance, Development, Work Benefits
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bents Garden & Home

14 January 2020
Thank you for your kind review. The points you raise are really appreciated, we do value that we put colleagues at the heart of our business. We look forward to continue working alongside you. Warm regards, Katherine Bent

Family run

I really enjoyed my time here,I started as a Christmas temp and was kept on. I worked my way up to supervisor in the restaurant. Expect hard work,fast pace and hectic Christmas which starts in October.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bents Garden & Home

14 January 2020
Thanks for leaving us a review, it was lovely to hear of your experience. I agree, our Dining areas are very fast paced with lots of hard work, but also with lots of fun. Thank you again for your lovely review, and we would like to wish you all the very best for your future. Warm regards, Katherine Bent

Terrible place to work

Don’t work here just awful management don’t know what they are doing and rotas change all the time. High staff turnover unapproachable family who run the business. Terrible pay with no incentives they want a lot of work for nothing in return.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bents Garden & Home

14 January 2020
Firstly let me apologise for the delay in my reply, and thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I was understandably disappointed and saddened to read of your experience as this goes against everything that we aim to achieve for our colleagues. I will be picking up your comments with our Senior Team. I would like to thank you for your honest review, and wish you all the very best for your future. Warm regards, Katherine Bent

Great place to work

I really enjoy working at Bents - it’s a none pressurised sales environment and this way you are able to really give the best every day. The people that work at Bents are amazing, and the management and leaders make you feel relaxed and always give you the time to chat with them. Bents has an exciting future which I’m glad to be part of.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bents Garden & Home

15 October 2019
Thank you for your review. It was lovely reading your review, we have been working really hard to get things right so I loved your honest review. We look forward to a great future together, and please do keep letting us know how we are doing with our Engagement Surveys and the Breakfast with Matthew communication sessions. Thanks, Katherine Bent

A pleasant atmosphere to work in

Became too remote for my location. Would have liked more consistant hours and maybe worked in a different section to suit my personality more. I.E the restaraunt which be more of an active role.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bents Garden & Home

15 October 2019
Thank you for your review. I have noted your concerns in relation to the working hours, and will feed back to our Retail Leaders. We are always happy to internally move colleagues especially if their skillset was more aligned to another part of our business. If your situation was to change in the future, please do reach out and we can have a look at opportunities within our Dining team. In the meantime, we’d like to wish you all the very best. Thanks, Katherine

Do not apply for a job here

Worst place I have ever worked management is very unprofessional and treat their employees like they don’t matter and with no respect not worth the hassle apple elsewhere a number of people left whilst I worked there and I only worked here 4 months

Pros

Nothing

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Bents Garden & Home

15 October 2019
Thank you for leaving us your review. I was really saddened and disappointed to read of your experience, this is far from what we set out to achieve with our colleagues. I will be taking the time to go through your review details with our Leadership Team. Once again, I’m so sorry of your experience and would like to wish you all the very best for your future. Thank you, Katherine

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Bents Garden & Home. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 52 reviews

Ratings by category

3.3 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
2.9 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
2.8 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
2.8 out of 5 stars for Management
3.1 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Bents Garden & Home with

  • Companies
  • Bents Garden & Home
  • Employee reviews
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?