Brakes Group
3.1 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Brakes Group Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 497 reviews matching the search
See all 510 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Been working for Brakes now for four years at Reading.I find the work very hard stressful and very exhausting.Early starts 0430 is very hard.Never got used to this times but it's a job and earning me a living.No work life balance.Always tired at home which is a worry to my personal life.Would love to have a shift starting later.Perhaps 0600 for example.Management are good to talk to.Not bullies.They do have time to listen to your concerns.But nothing changes.Job would be great if you could start a little later and have regular routes that you know.Planners mess you around to much.Not knowing were you are going all the time isnt fun.Brakes are a good company to work for.Negatives:Route planningEarly starts.Positives: Later startsRegular routes
Pros
Security nice people
Cons
0430 am start times. Route planning
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brakes Group
10 March 2021
Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your experience of working for Brakes. We're pleased to hear that have experience good management and that you are comfortable talking about concerns. Due to the nature of the work, the start times are very early and route planning can be tricky - we're looking at technology and a number of things to help make this easier
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Management and team leaders have got to be the most devious and untrustworthy people that I have ever worked for, Would not trust them with whatever they said It's pick rate or nothing or if you are a friend of any manager you will get the easiest of jobs whilst others struggle
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brakes Group
6 April 2021
Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time at Brakes.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
My five yrs a brake was not a nice experience some horrible management decisions and insults did not care about anything accept picking up pay Cheque at end of month .. work load is horrible lots of lugging of heavy tins and Sacks can affect body and mental health as witnessed many’s drivers struggling due to uncaring management.. give this place a wide birth life’s for living not working for brakes
Pros
Not bad finishing times but got to work for it
Cons
The place will never change
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brakes Group
6 April 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're sad to hear that you didn't enjoy any of your 5 years working at Brakes. The work is hard and can be heavy and it isn't for everyone. We work hard to care for all of our colleagues physical and mental wellbeing, we're sorry that you feel your management were uncaring. Thank you for your 5 year commitment
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Management tell you total lies , like yes we're taking you on , only to be passed to another agency, had allready done probation period but still made me go on another agency, managers are forcefull and don't seem to know how 5o talk to there staff decently
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brakes Group
6 April 2021
Thank you for your review. We don't pass people on to agencies - that isn't how it works. We have little control over what agencies do with their staff but we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with them.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Management care more about £ and sales, not a care about the wellbeing of their staff. They do not care if you need support. 1000% would NOT recommend brakes as a company. Wouldn’t even waste your time. Bonus is almost impossible to get as targets are ridiculous.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brakes Group
6 April 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry to hear that you didn't feel that your wellbeing was cared for. The health and wellbeing of our colleagues is one of our main priorities and we have many initiatives and a whole host of support available for colleagues.
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Yes it is hard work hence the pay level, Management are always there to talk to as are all the other drivers . If you are looking for easy money then do not come to Brakes but if you are willing to work then i would say its probably the best company in this area of trade
Pros
The day is usualy in your hands
Cons
Can be long days and stressful
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brakes Group
10 March 2021
Thank you for your positive review! We're glad to hear that you enjoy working with us and have experienced good management. The work can be hard and days can be long and we thank you for your commitment
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Generally a good company as a whole as I've seen various depots operating however ....over the time I worked there it has gone from a friendly upbeat place to arrive at work to somewhere that stresses you out every single day , managers and other admin staff have changed and so has the trust and teamwork between drivers and office staff , very much a them and us attitude right now. I would say Upper management need to be more hands on with the office because your message of mental health awareness clearly does not resonate with some of your DSM 'S , which in turn is the reason you are losing long term, experienced , very hard working drivers ....so you managers and TSD 's who think your smart and clever ? You are the opposite and shooting the company as a whole in the foot....but that's what you do . Good luck to the lads that are sticking with it because you will need it .
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Some insecure idiots
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brakes Group
10 March 2021
Thanks for taking the time to feedback to us on your experience of working at Brakes. We're sad to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us. The health and wellbeing of our colleagues is our priority and we are sorry that you felt you didn't experience this.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Friendly people, hard job It’s alright for beginning job. You can grow up in this company. Any problem can be discussed with the management but it doesn’t mean that the problem it’s going to be solved
Pros
Cheep product for staff, good teams
Cons
Cold, heavy products, a lot of broken stuff around the warehouse, licking pipes
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brakes Group
10 March 2021
Thank you for your positive review! We're pleased to hear that you enjoy working at Brakes and that you have experienced a fun and friendly environment. It can be hard work and we thank you for your commitment
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Terrible routes. If you return half an hour before your shift ends they will send you on another run. Twice they took me within 15 minutes of my maximum hours!
Pros
Good money.
Cons
"management"
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brakes Group
10 March 2021
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time at Brakes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I worked here from when the Brake Brothers owned the company for many years.., but when it was sold and the Americans got in.. its been all about money, not the wellbeing of employees, no investment in training, terrible management. If your face dont fit you'll never get anywhere in this company. The HR dept isn't there for employees either.. and no action ever taken off the back of a complaint or an exit interview (which you have to request!) I resigned from this company, after having my confidence and self esteem shattered, despite year after year of giving everything and striving to improve. My Mental Health start to spiral after so many PDRs saying I was promotable to never actually ever get there, with goalposts always set out of reach. There are actually other companies better to work at.. that understand the formula "Invest in, support, care, trust and listen to your workforce makes for Happy Employees that feel like respected human beings = Giving Company full Commitment and a dedicated workforce. I was astounded how much I had actually been expected to do at Brakes for my salary compared to what I now earn at another large company for less hours I get paid so much more, less stress and am respected for my skills.
Pros
Discounted Food!
Cons
Too long to list
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brakes Group
7 December 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take the well-being of of our colleagues extremely seriously, and this is reflected in all of the support and initiatives that we have in place and on offer for colleagues to access 24/7. We are sorry to hear that you feel that you didn't experience this and didn't enjoy your many years at Brakes. We wish you luck in your new role.
We want to help you find great companies. Help us be the best!
Do these reviews help you learn more about working at Brakes Group?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Nice people to work with relaxed place to work as long as you got your job done worked well with team and got work done was treated fair with the rest of the work team...
Pros
Good fair team to work for.
Cons
For me long for me to travel for just 4hours work.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brakes Group
2 November 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time working with us, and felt part of our team!
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I recently resigned/was told to leave Brakes. My issue? Refusing to deliver frozen food (including meat and poultry), that had been thawed out for several hours in a truck with a faulty fridge unit (re-frozen at the depot and sent out again) and was well out of range - it would have been completely wrong from a safety and moral perspective.When I phoned in from a customer site and said I couldn't deliver the food, I wasn't asked why I thought it would be wrong, or why I'd formed this opinion - I was simply told that it had been signed off from above and to deliver it. There is no way this would have been signed off if the correct temperature readings from the food probes and the correct times had been reported. After I refused to make the delivery, I was left in the middle of the countryside in 35 degree heat to make my own way home and never heard from Brakes again other than receiving my P45. As far as I'm aware this incident was never investigated - as I've never been contacted by anyone at Brakes about it. I doubt I will be after this review either. In addition, the vast majority of drivers at the depot work through their breaks - it's common knowledge but nothing is ever done about it - it would be very very easy to clamp down on this, as each truck has several 24/7 recording cameras on it (just make sure the time is set correctly on the recorder and compare it to the driver card records). If you do take your breaks and keep to speed limits, you get constant sarcastic comments on how late you get back to the depot.No support, no training, constant sarcastic comments, - more...
Pros
There is a measure of camaraderie amongst drivers.
Cons
Very chaotic depot with only lip service paid to health and safety.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brakes Group
7 December 2020
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience working at Brakes. There are some concerning allegations here, which do not reflect the experience we would want for our colleagues, or how we work at Brakes.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Brakes used to be an ok company to work for now it doesn’t support it’s employees at all after many redundancies due to covid their attitude is all about brakes basically if you have a family that comes second I’d you decide to work for brakes than you commit they control your week so you could work any days out of 7 your hours can change to which when you have a family to also take into account doesn’t always work they also forget at weekends you would like to spend time with loved ones they do not care if your sick forget being paid if you need doctors appointment that’s fine take it unpaid as they won’t pay you for just that hour no matter how much you are committed to this company it’s all take take take
Pros
Discount on food
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brakes Group
26 November 2020
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time working with us. Covid changed the landscape for Brakes and many business, it is a challenging time and we have had to ask more from some of our colleagues over this period, especially those that were directly involved in delivering the essential food boxes to the shielding population - we applaud all of their hard work, and are very proud of their response to the crisis
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
This is were hgv drivers go if you want to kill your body hard work is an understatement,with this job eventually your body starts to pack up and when that happens your out of a job.at the end of the day your health is more important than money
Pros
None
Cons
Everything about brakes
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brakes Group
26 November 2020
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with Brakes. It's true that it can be a hard job and this isn't for everybody. We have a number of well-being and health resources for our colleagues
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Working here you will have support at first but in time the management will turn on you, bully you into doing overtime, target you if they don't like you. You will only get on well here if your face fits and you say yes to everything. If you have a medical problem you are not helped you are targeted to the point where you want to leave.
Pros
Discount on products
Cons
Bad management, bullying and harassment is rife, poor equipment, no support.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brakes Group
9 October 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you aren't enjoying your experience working at Brakes. We take the health and wellbeing of our colleagues extremely seriously. Bullying and forced overtime is not something we accept as a company. To enable us to investigate these allegations and act accordingly, please report using an appropriate forum by raising issues with HR.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
If they had a better management team it might work never take feedback and don't pay you any over time and don't let you take the time back just about the customer
Pros
Decent wage for standard hours
Cons
Treat you like rubbish
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brakes Group
2 September 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry that your experience didn't meet your expectations. We actively encourage feedback, and in the appropriate forum we are able to act on it. Our colleagues and customers are at the heart of everything we do and we regret that you feel you didn't experience this
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Treated like a number and not a humanH&S only exist when they need it to for auditsThey will break the working time regulations by forcing you work well over the hours (for free) stated in the working time regulations 1998 and the lie about it to stay within the law, I wonder if they actually know these regulations at allThe directors do not care about individuals and the CEO (Hugo) just lies to employees on his roadshows, everyone below him are his puppetsThere is zero home work life mix, it's their way or no way Government rip off using furlough (job RETENTION scheme) to pay redundancy notice
Pros
Pay
Cons
No payment for extra hours worked, poor communication, from senior manager (GM) and board members
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brakes Group
9 October 2020
We are sorry to hear that you feel this way. We wish you luck in your future endeavours.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Brakes have a unique way of running. Can seem beneficial at first but it’s their way or no way. Managers are treated more like supervisors/wardens rather than someone that could put in new positive idea. Long service staff are stuck in the ideal of when they first started 20 odd years ago unable to move forward with modern way of running
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brakes Group
2 September 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input. We actively encourage ideas and opinions from all of our colleagues, including managers. We would expect our managers to bring new innovative ways of doing things. We 're sorry to hear that you feel you didn't experience this.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Great people and culture With lots of long length of service Changes due to COVID but great relationships with customers New technology to keep business at forefront of industry
Pros
People
Cons
Salary for new starts
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brakes Group
2 September 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Brakes Warrington has the makings of a good place to work, if only the senior management realised it. Unfortunately you are not allowed an opinion. But if you say yes then you will go far. One decent shift manager in transport. The other 3 along with the transport manager not up to the job.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Poor senior management team at site
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brakes Group
2 September 2020
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We value all of our colleagues views, ideas and opinions and have many ways in which colleagues can share things with us. We regret that you didn't feel this.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
My time at Brakes was brief as I was on a fixed term contract. There were aspects of my role I really enjoyed and would loved to have learnt more. I think Brakes should make more of an effort to modernise, i.e. dual screen computers for admin staff (to increase output), try and commit to a paper free environment and simpler processes. The biggest turn off about Brakes is there is a number of team leaders who are borderline sociopathic and appear to get away with unnecessary warped behaviour talking to others like complete s###. There is a clique and a bullying culture. I think this is down to complacent warehouse behaviour and I know from experience that if they behaved like this at another company they would be sacked on the spot. Its hard to approach management because again its just a biased and complacent attitude to the little egotistical environ. Like they say can't teach and old dog a new trick.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Bullying culture
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brakes Group
2 September 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry that were aspects of your role that you didn't enjoy. We committed to a paper free environment a number of years ago and we are currently going through a full modernisation programme across our business. Respect at work is hugely important to us and we do not accept any behaviour that goes against our code of conduct. We're sorry that you felt that you didn't experience this. Bullying is a serious allegation, and is something that we do not tolerate. If reported in an appropriate forum, we are able to investigate further and take appropriate action
  1. Employee reviews