Brakes Group logo
Brakes Group
3.1 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Brakes Group Employee Reviews for Driver

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

2.9Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 37 reviews matching the searchSee all 525 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Good payed job but a fast pace

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Its a good company to work for but can be put under presure to get drops off at times if ur strugling they do get drivers out to help you though multi drop to start was getting average some easy days then few hard ones 10 t0 12 drops then went to 18 to 20 started gettin 2 much in end
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

3 June 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We strive to be a good employer and we acknowledge that the job can be challenging and hard work - we're working on modernizing systems to help improve things. Our Brakes drivers are the best in the business, and their hard work is greatly appreciated.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Pay is good but work life balance is terrible

Management is an absolute joke, Brilliant internal opportunities looser is one depart gets a higher position in the other department nightmare!!! Pay rate tricks you to come in through the door but working conditions are appalling.

Pros

Good pay

Cons

Aloooooot
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Worst job I’ve ever had

Worked at the Newark branch for around a year, 95% of drivers unloaded their vehicles on breaks, this concerned me as they’re working on schools especially where my kids go to school! The loads are loaded with no thought of efficiency or for the drivers welfare, routes are thrown together to mess about people who the office don’t like. The lads an some tsd’s are sound but others are jumped up idiots on a power trip. Brakes is the single worst company I’ve ever worked for an if dvsa really started looking at the break times an the fact that drivers are working on breaks an all while being recorded on the security cameras!!! Not an ideal working environment when most folks just want to work an go home

Pros

None

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Truth of Brakes

Yes it is hard work hence the pay level, Management are always there to talk to as are all the other drivers . If you are looking for easy money then do not come to Brakes but if you are willing to work then i would say its probably the best company in this area of trade

Pros

The day is usualy in your hands

Cons

Can be long days and stressful
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

10 March 2021
Thank you for your positive review! We're glad to hear that you enjoy working with us and have experienced good management. The work can be hard and days can be long and we thank you for your commitment
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Good job, hard work

If your not scared of hard work Brakes is for you, head down and get on with it attitude will see you through most days. Good wages Excellent benefits Some days can be very challenging and long hours On the flip side this evens out over a period as short easy days come along just as often
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

3 June 2020
Many thanks for sharing your views and taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience at Brakes. It can be hard work, but we are pleased to hear that you have a good balance. Thanks for your hard work!

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Very hard place

The work is very hard depending on the route you get the management don't care about you or any problems you may have they just want you to do the work at whatever cost even if that means you doing 15 hours every day drivers are so stressed the work though there lunch break
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

31 March 2020
The job can be hard work, and it isn't for everyone. Our management teams have the best interests of our colleagues at heart and we take health and well being seriously. We work hard to balance this with the need to provide a service. We are sorry to hear that you didn't feel that you experienced this.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Do not go there.

Very very hard job....If you need help management is last place tol find it. If You are new is even harder. Old drivers and " managers friends " are treated differently.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

31 March 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave comments. The job can be hard work, but the teamwork we see throughout our depots generally makes things a lot easier. It's a shame that you haven't experienced this. We treat everyone with fairness and would like to hear more details so that we can look into this. Please email resourcing@brake.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Honestly

Lots of handball ,lots off pulling pallets on slopes and rough ground ,no site risk assessment stuck in the 70s lots of pointless paperwork DON'T GO
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

20 March 2020
The driver job is Brakes is a hard one - yes lots of handball, some pallet work and not always a flat, smooth ground to unload on at our customer sites, but we work hard to make it better and are currently going through a modernisation programme to improve things (although we'll never be able to fix the flat ground issue!) Additionally, we do have full risk assessments at every site. The health and safety of our staff is of utmost importance to us.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Good place to work if you dont mind doing the work

Brake is a good place to work. You can start as early as 4:30am and be finished by 2pm. You might here drivers saying they finish at 8pm, but are they actually putting the effort in to do the work, or are they just money grabers taking the overtime. Average amout of drops is around 14/15.

Pros

Afternoon finishing
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

20 March 2020
Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you enjoy working at Brakes. It can be hard work, and we thank you for your commitment :-)
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great place to work...

Worked here 2 summer contracts. Great place to work. Mon-Fri. Some late finish times due mainly to distance and some early finishes. Management very approachable...
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

18 October 2019
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’ve enjoyed your experience at Brakes! We hope you come back for another summer.

Jobs at Brakes Group

Driver positions
See more jobs
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

avoid

Transport management is poor at best. there is no understanding of mental health and if you annoy one manager, all the others will make it a personal mission to make life hard for you. the hours are long and very early starts. there is a sense that you will only ever be a number and if you want to progress then you need to be a personal friend of the top depo bosses

Pros

the money is ok

Cons

long hours, lack of care from management, no regard for family life or mental health.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

22 May 2019
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down we know that the key to our business success is our colleagues, we take the health and wellbeing of our colleges very seriously - we run regular mental health workshops and chats and have recently won an award for our commitment to this so would be very keen to hear more about this issue so that we can investigate further. We also believe in fair opportunity for all and have robust processes in place to ensure that everyone gets access to opportunities - Please provide further feedback to resourcing@brake.co.uk so that we can look into this
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Anon review

Been a driver for 5 years now , I can honestly say its the most settled I have ever found it , great team of managers and great lads and girls in the department....

Pros

Good wages good working environment

Cons

None at the moment
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

2 May 2019
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience at Brakes are have noticed the changes we have made to improve and settle things. If you have any further feedback to share please email us atresourcing@brake.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Portbury Recipe For Success

Open site with settled team. Sack them. Bring in a couple of managers from smaller sites to completely ruin things and disengage all drivers and other staff Get rid of them Hire 2 more managers who don't know the business in the slightest but who think they can reinvent the brakes wheel Repeat. Place is a joke. People under too much pressure, numerous, staff suffering with stress and anxiety, nasty poisonous atmosphere in the offices. Avoid.

Pros

None

Cons

Hours, workload, work life balance
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

29 April 2019
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry that your experience hasn't met your expectations. We’d be keen to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. If you would like to share more, please email resourcing@brake.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Haha haha

Warning... Warning... Warning... Hazardous to your health company... Be warned or you will regret ever stepping foot near this toxic company. If it was possible to leave a zero point score I would!

Pros

Handing in your notice to quit...

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

3 April 2019
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience working at Brakes. We take the health and wellbeing of our colleagues extremely seriously. We’d be keen to hear more about your experience so that we can investigate further. Please email resourcing@brake.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Avoid Avoid Avoid

Spent two days at Brakes Tamworth recently as an relief driver for another firm. Hateful place, ignored by staff whilst waiting to load, told to go to one place to load by one staff member then another told me to go somewhere totally different. Hard, heavy lifting, delivering heavy boxes, drinks and cans into school canteens and restaurants with no offer of help from any customers at all. A lot of customers were kebab shops on High Streets with the obvious parking problems too. If you like pulling your back out, being treated like dirt and being worked like a dog, this is the place for you. There a far far better places to work than Brakes,don’t waste your life here.

Pros

It’s a job.

Cons

Long hours, extremely physical and frustrating work.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

3 April 2019
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d love to learnmore about how we can improve. Please email resourcing@brake.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Don't care about the drivers

Management only care about getting the job done, even at the expense of the drivers health and well being. Drivers opinions are not listened to and bad organization makes what could be a very good job into a very hard one.

Pros

Company benefits ie cheap food. Good wage.

Cons

long hours and disregard from management.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

3 April 2019
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry that your experience hasn't met your expectations. We’d be keen to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. If you would like to share more, please email resourcing@brake.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Current Employee

Working in Tamworth Depot since 2017 as Food Service and is a nightmare, Logistics is easier then Food Service. I start at 5:00 a.m and finish at 17:00. You get at least plus 18 Drops a Day and can reach up to 30 drops. Avoid at all cost unless your lucky to get into Logistics. Logistics Driver and Food Service Driver get the same salary which doesn't make any sense. Will be leaving Brakes soon

Pros

Salary

Cons

Workload
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Really bad place to work tamworth

Management haven'tgot a clue .turn over of drivers just alone 100-150 a year .nobody can do anything right always try to find things to put you down.you are always in the wrong even when your right .company is run like a circus.

Pros

Driving

Cons

Brakes
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Started Good got a lot worse

Typical day has just changed - now want me to work a 13 hour day followed by a 10 hour day - minus breaks of course, and like to point out my contract is 9.5 hours a day and this is over.I managed to stick this out for over a year for the experience now am leaving for better pastures - which honestly wont be hard.The management depends on the person you deal with. They don't care about health and safety and happy to harass you, make you miss job interviews and generally bully you. The drivers are actually good guys pretty much all at their limits - routes are now all heavy and bust and they still expect more.

Pros

The drivers and customers are great

Cons

Pretty much everything else - too much stress for what they pay and offer
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

If you are a "Yes man " with a brown nose this is the job for you

If you like back breaking work in all weather whilst trying to achieve the impossible 18 - 26 heavy daily drops and doing on average 13- 14 hour shifts a day ( 5am start - 5pm finishing plus travelling time Home) then this is your dream Job. Your average day Will be spent trying to plan a route you don't know in an area you don't know, your lorry will be so badly loaded and full that you will spend so long looking for each individual item on your 5 sheets for one drop. You are expected to complete your route no matter and if you bring a genuine concern to management it gets the usual fob off and told to " do your best " you will be delivering to school's, pubs, restaurants and any other place you can think off. The management changes more than the weather and most driver's last about 14 months before they quit or are fired. You have camera's in and out your vehicle and are monitored 24/7 no eatting or drinking etc in lorry.if your face fits and the management like you then you get a easyer day and finish about 13:00 otherwise it's 17:00 finishing after you have qued for an hour to debrief then que again to cash up. Then you get to do it all over again the next day... The pay is good tho, but you do sweat blood earning it

Pros

Pay

Cons

Everything else
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

run by second rate transport managers and shift managers

Working for brakes Tamworth is a complete nightmare managers are second rate bullies who pick on an on experienced workforce some drivers do long hours choosen few short hours. If you complains they will make your working day even worse. Some of the younger workforce are treated like dogs. I would never set foot in this disgusting place again and as for the hr team what a bunch of mindless sheep with no backbone.

Pros

leaving

Cons

managment hours bullying and all other aspects of working for brakes tamworth
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brakes Group. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1

Based on 525 reviews
5
113
4
133
3
90
2
47
1
142

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.0Job security/advancement
2.7Management
2.8Culture

Compare Brakes Group with

  • Companies
  • Brakes Group
  • Employee reviews
  • Driver