Brakes Group logo
Brakes Group
3.1 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Brakes Group Employee Reviews for Telemarketer

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

2.9Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 26 reviews matching the searchSee all 525 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Fast pace but well supported

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
I have enjoyed working with customers in a fast paced environment. There is a strong sense of family within teams and managers provide a good support network.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

3 July 2020
Thank you for writing a thoughtful review. We are glad that you have experienced great team work and supportive managers - having a culture that matches our values and creates the best working environment for our colleagues is very important to us!
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great Place to work

From the moment I walked in I had a great introduction. Very friendly trainer and very welcoming team. Training was in-depth with plenty of time to learn at my pace. The trainer was always checking in with us to make sure I felt comfortable. Once out of training we were welcomed into my new team. There is lots of fun in the office. Loads of games and incentives. There are targets to hit but I expected that as it’s a telesales job. My manager is very supportive and has regular catch-up and 121s. I was hesitant after reading the reviews on here but I’m glad I took the leap and joined. Loads of perks here like staff discount and loads of food samples. All in all, I feel valued here as an employee. My only criticism is the lack of training facilities. No training room and a little cramped.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

6 December 2019
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. The key to our business is our commitment to not only customers, but to our colleagues too. Activating the power of our people through great inductions and on-going training is one of our core priorities, it’s great to see that this is translating into our induction process and being felt immediately when you start a career with Brakes. We strive to provide an environment where our colleagues feel they’re valued, treated fairly and respected and we’re glad that you feel this way! 
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Fast passed

Some lovely people, requires hard work but fully supported by team leader. The harder you work the more rewards you get. Fantastic staff discounts on produce. Would work there again.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

6 December 2019
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciateyour input and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience working with us. If you have any further feedback to share please email us atresourcing@brake.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Telesales advisor

Management are unfair and biased, you are just a number to them. Duty of care is non existent. Majority of team leaders spend the day eating the free food samples leaving advisors and Seniors to do all the work.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

22 November 2019
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience working at Brakes. We are committed to providing a healthy, safe and respectful working environment for all of our colleagues and we do not accept any behaviour that does not reflect this - Please email resourcing@brake.co.uk so that we can investigate further
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Dont do it .

Vile place to work , management are ruthless and training is a joke . So many colleagues go off sick with stress . Brakes need to look at the culture in Deeside or they will never have a stable workforce
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

22 November 2019
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down, the key to our business is our commitment to not only our customers, but to our colleagues. We're sorry to hear that you didn't experience this - please provide further feedback to resourcing@brake.co.uk

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Driven

Sometimes what you do is never enough. You must have plenty of drive in this place otherwise it’s no good. Management poor - Ok. Other work colleagues great. You can all relate to each other. That’s about it.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

14 November 2019
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d love to learnmore about how we can improve. Please email resourcing@brake.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Don’t work there management are bullies

When I started over 2 years ago it WAS great!! Now management are bullies and don’t really no anything it’s always the other staff helping because management haven’t got a clue how to help or use the system they just sit and natter all day while there is 100+ calls waiting to be answered. In the last 2 years I have never seen that amount of people leave and new starters leave. I would avoid unless you want to be monitored when to go to the toilet or judged because you want a holiday. If you are going for a job in transport don’t full of bullies and Management that couldn’t plan a route if you gave them a million pound over all run by bullies and managers that haven’t got a clue. They do what ever they can not to pay bonus but you have to work your a** off to try get targets in that you don’t get appreciated for they just want more and more nothing is ever good enough but you will still be expected more. If you want your sanity don’t work at brakes.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

18 October 2019
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you aren't enjoying your experience working at Brakes. We take the health and wellbeing of our colleagues extremely seriously and respect at work is hugely important to us and we would not accept any behaviour that does not reflect this - Please email resourcing@brake.co.uk so that we can investigate further
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Nothing is ever good enough!

Treat staff unfairly, nothing is ever good enough, management is disgraceful, put too much pressure on staff with targets etc. All money driven, don't care about their employees, just a number to the business.

Pros

None

Cons

Nothing is ever good enough
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

3 April 2019
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience working at Brakes. We are committed to providing a healthy, safe and respectful working environment for all of our colleagues and we do not accept any behaviour that does not reflect this - Please email resourcing@brake.co.uk so that we can investigate further
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Awful

Management don’t care about the staff, upper management are rarely involved and when they are, they couldn’t care less. Everyone in the office is depressed/hate their job because it is so sales driven now and people are constantly going off with stress. No one listens to the staffs concerns and there have been over 30 people leave in the last 6 months. Do not apply.

Pros

Staff sales

Cons

Everything else
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

3 April 2019
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience working at Brakes. We are committed to providing a healthy, safe and respectful working environment for all of our colleagues and we do not accept any behaviour that does not reflect this - Please email resourcing@brake.co.uk so that we can investigate further
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Not the Best enviroment

not enough training throwin into the deep end and expected to swim on your own some nice people but dont get to interact with a lot of staff due to 2 seperate teams
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Good

Good place to work and fairly easy to manage work/home life. You will learn a lot about food. Management are not bad at all. Most enjoyable part of the job is probably the discounts on food/drinks etc.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Pushy Telesales

Unachievable targets make working here very difficult. You are pressured constantly by management who do not operate in a professional manner. Hours are good.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Joke

Great pay but the managers will literally cancel breaks at the drop of a hat an every single person in the place are all ripping the back out of each other 24/7 even the managers
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Busy and Productive

Working for Brakes is an ideal place of work if you like to keep busy. A good advantage for working for Brakes is you are always communicating with different customers from different parts of the Country. Helping your customer choose the correct products is important.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

fun place to work

8.30 to 4.30 monday to friday no weekend speaking to people on the phone spoke to a lot of very nice people made of lot of new friends over the years working there
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Vast imrpovement needed

Brakes was once a great place to work but now the bigger they have got the less they do for their workers. Seems everyone now are classed as multitask workers as we are all doing everyone else's job with no extra pay/thanks from higher management. Head office are full of broken promises and the telesales we all feel are classed as second class workers within the company. We are all first point of contact for our customers and speak to our customers on a daily basis with excellent relationships and build this on every call but this does not get the recognition we deserve, we can honestly say that in our office we have never lost a customer due to telesales. The hardest part of this job is consistently doing your job to a very high standard and seeing other departments (sales force) getting the rewards, very low moral throughout at this time. The higher management do show their faces at times and people do get the chance to speak to them but although points are raised this is normally the last we ever hear from them. We have never heard so many people at this time saying that they no longer liking what they are doing. Brakes need to start listening and maybe recognising that reps and telesales are equal when it comes to their customers.....
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Wanting something part time

Wanting something part time and are unable to offer this at the current time so looking for a change in retail I like my job and only want to leave because I want part time
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

was the greatest office i have worked in

as much as i write and say i can never say enough about how great the managment were and how helpful , they were like my second family and i enjoyed every day while working with them .

Pros

salary

Cons

none
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

A Company who doest care.

I have worked for this company for many years, as with a lot of other staff. I was sure we all thought we had jobs for life but that was until April this year when the people at the "top" who make all the decisions decided they no longer needed a call centre at Runcorn, so its was bye bye to 85 loyal staff. Pound sign's and greed have taken over this company, its such a shame. In the past I would of recommended this a place to work, but now I wouldn't.

Pros

Great Office to work in.

Cons

Disillusioned Management at the Top.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Made a lot of friends, will miss my customers too

Worked at brakes for many years, seen a lot of changes-senior management haven't got a clue- seem to employ new directors all too often who are clueless! they make too many changes - the new one being supposedly state of the art multi temp depots, Warrington depot really struggling to cope, drivers not happy & walking out, customers not at all happy with the service. Been made redundant twice by this company, won't be returning for a third time, they lie about job security, the pay is poor, would not recommend working for brakes

Pros

Made a lot of friends

Cons

Poor pay, lied to about job security for years
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great place to work

telesales adviser having your own customer and create new accounts maintain a great level of customer service and care through every call due to the needs of every customer.daily targets to be achieved ,call reviews .Answer any queries in the correct manner ,product knowledge essential.

Pros

great working hours

Cons

going to be made redundant
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brakes Group. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1

Based on 525 reviews
5
113
4
133
3
90
2
47
1
142

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.0Job security/advancement
2.7Management
2.8Culture

Compare Brakes Group with

  • Companies
  • Brakes Group
  • Employee reviews
  • Telemarketer