Brakes Group logo
Brakes Group
3.1 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Brakes Group Employee Reviews for Warehouse Worker

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

2.9Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 119 reviews matching the searchSee all 525 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Brakes

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
I was at that time.the last agency worker there, due to the C19 outbreak and me having a cough of unknown source I was surplus to requirements. I am unsure if i would have been there had this not happened. In general it is a good place to work and in general I felt they had my wellbeing in check.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

7 August 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The well being of our colleagues is incredibly important to us and we're pleased to hear that you felt this
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Good pay Extremly hard work Poor management ! Avoid

Would never recommend anyone to work in the warehouse here. The pay is attractive which gets you through the door but the high turn over of staff is clear when you do. Extremely hard work none stop expected to do overtime every day with no option to not and short notice. Management are rude and poor and speak to you like a idiot and have no clue what’s going on. Unless you have been there years you get treated like garbage put on the harder jobs, made to clean at end of shift whilst the long serving employees sit in the canteen ect. Start at 7pm paperwork and work not ready to start until 8:30 most days so you spend first hour cleaning. Due to the delayed start you are told you have to stay over with no notice and to top it off wages are always short ! You get your basic every month but overtime hours seem to go missing come the end of the month ! Poor company would not recommend or go back !

Pros

Pay

Cons

Short notice overtime, extremely hard work back breaking, rude/poor management, dirty environment
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Fast paced low pay

Always made to do overtime or threatened with your job if you don't when you finish your shift your forced to different shift work for nights that you don't know or trained to do then get pulled in for disciplinary when things go wrong

Pros

Full time

Cons

Always forcing ot then tell you to get another job if you decide you dont to do it
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Discusting dirty place

Management tell you total lies , like yes we're taking you on , only to be passed to another agency, had allready done probation period but still made me go on another agency, managers are forcefull and don't seem to know how 5o talk to there staff decently
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

6 April 2021
Thank you for your review. We don't pass people on to agencies - that isn't how it works. We have little control over what agencies do with their staff but we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with them.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Bad management hinders a good job

Working here you will have support at first but in time the management will turn on you, bully you into doing overtime, target you if they don't like you. You will only get on well here if your face fits and you say yes to everything. If you have a medical problem you are not helped you are targeted to the point where you want to leave.

Pros

Discount on products

Cons

Bad management, bullying and harassment is rife, poor equipment, no support.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

9 October 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you aren't enjoying your experience working at Brakes. We take the health and wellbeing of our colleagues extremely seriously. Bullying and forced overtime is not something we accept as a company. To enable us to investigate these allegations and act accordingly, please report using an appropriate forum by raising issues with HR.

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Do not work here!!!

If you don’t ever want to be at home or see your family then this is the perfect job for you, with anything up to 2 hours overtime everyday, and bullying and harassment From management if you dare say no to doing it! The job in itself is actually quite easy but down to poor management who haven’t got a clue what they are doing and next to no equipment to use makes it difficult.

Pros

The wage, when they get it right!!

Cons

Expected to do overtime everyday regardless of your wellbeing or home life!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

7 August 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience. We're sorry to hear that you aren't enjoying working with us. We do not tolerate bullying or harassment in any form and would be keen to hear more. If you speak with us then we are able to investigate - please pick up with your HR rep in the first instance.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Decent pay decent hours

Job is a decent one would not be looking for another job if it wasn't for the bad man management. I love the job itself and always out perform my daily quote as I like to lead by example

Pros

Pay hours working as a team

Cons

Bad managment
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great place

It was a great place as everyone got along and supported each other I had gained qualifications Everyone was taken as they was there culture Nothing was hard as it was all a fairly great pace to work The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting great people
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

7 August 2020
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time working with us
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Love to work at Brakes, only looking for work because they have to cut some jobs

Have 14 years of experience on warehouse job and like to find a job similar,love my job only need to change because they need to cut some jobs on this difficult time of covid 19
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

3 July 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really wish Covid-19 hadn't led us here. Make sure you speak with your line manager or HR - we have a lot of outplacement support available with advice and guidance to help you secure new employment. We will do all we can to support you through this challenging time.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

stressful and fun

hard work grafting always /long hours stressful/never got the rewards u worked for always going round in circles management never help u out no one to one

Pros

none

Cons

management terrible
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

22 June 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It can be hard work and is certainly a challenge. We acknowledge that this isn't the right job for everyone, and we offer a very competitive total rewards package to reflect this.

Jobs at Brakes Group

Warehouse Worker positions
See more jobs
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Brakes

A good company led by bad egotistical managers more interested in doing nothing and taking liberties with staff,a friend code seems to operate ,and a culture of informing managers of minor indiscretions so as to move forward,if you have an opinion on a matter you are totally ignored,sickness and absence policies are a joke,so basically until they sort out the middle management dont bother antteam leaders i
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

3 June 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience working at Brakes. We work hard to ensure that we have a respectful culture at Brakes and are sorry that you feel you didn't experience this. Our sickness and absence policies are extremely fair and sick pay allowance is very competitive within the industry.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Work hard and you'll see benefits

Some management are hard to win over, but above all its a decent place to work. Being a team player is a must in order to hit targets, especially in busy periods for wholesale food companies.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

3 June 2020
Thank you for your review! We try hard to ensure that we have a good working environment for all colleagues, even though the work can be hard at times.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Fast Paced work space

General Warehouse duties to sweep bays and keep the warehouse clean when theirs a spillage. Also I had a daily routine to sweep all the bays first then all the walkways. Going round on a lollop truck collecting rubbish like wrap and cardboard. Using a cardboard and wrap crushing baler crushing down cardboard and wrap when the baler is full.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

20 March 2020
Thank you for your review! Keeping our warehouses clean and tidy is a busy but very important job - thanks for your hard work :-)
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Good company to work for

I started to work half a year ago and very afraid that it will be difficult because didn't have work experience in a warehouse. I was very surprised, how professional and good are managers and leadership policy. Managing support and understanding makes work easy and stress-free. Very professional, communicative and attentive is the trainer, who provided all the necessary information and training. He is always interested in staff issues ready to help and provide support. A very good place to work, a good salary and good benefits. Good managers and management. But still, there are workers who are constantly dissatisfied with everything. I strongly recommend this company for work.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

18 February 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write a thoughtful review! We appreciate hearing about your experience and are glad to learn that you enjoy working with us. We're really pleased to hear that you have experienced great training and plenty of support - we aim to make sure that everyone has the best start in their career at Brakes :-)
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Keep away

Bad and rude management ... use bully tactics to get there own way... forced to do overtime... if you don’t you become a target just the same happens when you stand up to them....
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

11 February 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience working at Brakes. We do not force any overtime nor do we have a culture where we penalise colleagues that can't work overtime. Bullying and rudeness is not something we tolerate on any level - these are serious allegations and we would like to investigate further- Please email resourcing@brake.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Breaks

They are Really bad to work for the lollp wheel had a chip in it so was bouncing around the whole shift and the lollps are that old there not safe mangers are rude and make stay later if the picking hasn't finished worse company in coventry
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

6 February 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience working at Brakes. We take the health and wellbeing of our colleagues extremely seriously and have one of the best Health and Safety records in the industry. Respect at work is also hugely important to us and we do not accept any behaviour that does not reflect this - Please email resourcing@brake.co.uk so that we can investigate further
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Liars

Bad money worse management constant lies about money, contracts etc no sympathy you aren't allowed any time off even if a family member just died they only care about the customers not there workers
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

6 February 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From the top down, the key to our business is our commitment to not only our customers, but to our colleagues. We have a very fair and supportive absence policy and a transparent and honest approach in all that we do. We're sorry to hear that you didn't experience this - please provide further feedback to resourcing@brake.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Not a good place to work

Having worked there for 12 years got into a habit/rut but there is no chance of furthering yourself... very bad management... either you do as your told or they will make your life difficult.... horrible place to work
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

20 January 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, and thank you for your commitment and hard work over the past 12 years. We work hard to ensure that Brakes is a great place to work and we're always keen to learn more about how we can improve. Please email resourcing@brake.co.uk if you would like to share any additional feedback
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Stoned Management

Job is good for stop gap but not forever as too much walking. Can be very cold environment or very warm and you are timed on your work. Hours are very long and no overtime payed. They don't pay sick pay and the g2 manager is on drugs with burns on his hiviz.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

18 December 2019
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our warehouses are multi temperature, stocking ambient, chilled and frozen so it can get hot and cold, which is why we provide all appropriate PPE. We do have a sick pay policy - please contact your depot HR to find out about the terms of this. Brakes has zero-tolerance to drug use and we do not accept any behaviour contrary to this - please email more details so that we can investigate fully - resourcing@brake.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Good place to work

Very competitive and fast paced place to work good for overtime of you want plenty lots of heavy lifting and order picking wages are good once you get a contract which van take ages
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

22 November 2019
Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed working at Brakes. We appreciate your comments.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Modern day slavery

Basically without any notice you can be asked in the last minute to stay 2 to 3 hours longer, if you refuse you will be threatened to be fired. Pick rate hard to achieve. Reach truck drivers driving with fork in the air past pickers what managers see but do nothing about it. Money good. People stay here only because of the money.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Brakes Group

14 November 2019
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience working at Brakes. Forced overtime and the threat of being fired is not behaviour we accept - please email resourcing@brake.co.uk so that we can investigate further

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brakes Group. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1

Based on 525 reviews
5
113
4
133
3
90
2
47
1
142

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.0Job security/advancement
2.7Management
2.8Culture

Compare Brakes Group with

  • Companies
  • Brakes Group
  • Employee reviews
  • Warehouse Worker