British Heart Foundation
4.1 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

British Heart Foundation Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 4,262 reviews matching the search
See all 4,318 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
You get out what you put in with the BHF. There are opportunities for advancement if you are willing to work hard. Good atmosphere and generally good people to work alongside. Varied and interesting roles available at all levels. And all for a worthwhile cause.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
You work many hours and dont really get a lunch. You end up staying after hours to close down shop get up extra early to open shop. Adding to an extra 10 + hours of unpaid work a week.
Pros
Charity
Cons
No lunch long
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I absolutely loved this job and my team but could not continue to do it any longer as I was beginning to become depressed and so disheartened with the charity. From what I understand little has changed since I left. Constantly micro managed what shop managers should be doing piling on pressure to a job that is already physically and mentally draining. I understand retail is all about targets but there were so many KPI's to adhere to in this role that you constantly felt under stress and pressure to do better and better and all of the shop managers I spoke with felt that nothing was ever good enough. You were encouraged to take on volunteers but often these may be people of varying levels of capability and you were given no support in managing this type of person. It is not like a normal job where you simply recruit more staff. Similarly you were often under pressure to have a certain level of stock out or for that stock to be managed in a very specific way which may not have suited your shop or its customers but again you were not listened to because they just wanted to tick a box. They did not realise that you were not a normal store that could rely on deliveries of quality merchandise on a regular basis. You had to work with what you had and if you have been given the independence to do so they might have seen better results. Often managers did do things their own way with positive outcomes but feared getting 'told off' by an area manager. And finally the absolute obsession they have with making the staff work every sunday or public holiday INCLUDING Boxing Day and Easter - more...
Pros
Volunteers were lovely
Cons
Long hours. HO Management did not listen to the shop managers needs at all.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Volunteering for British Heart Foundation is great way of gaining confidence, didn’t realise how in depth running a Charity shop was, hard work, but worth while, also you meet people from different walks of life, throughly recommend joining, if only for a few hours a week.
Pros
Free cups of tea, and biscuits
Cons
As a volunteer can choose hours and preferred days
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
12 April 2021
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your review and that you would encourage others to join our team of hard working volunteers. As you've experienced, there is so much that goes into running our charity shops and we simply couldn't do it without you - THANK YOUClare - Volunteering Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I learned a lot of thing in the British heart foundation, with steam the clothes and checking the size. The job is too easy in the workplace. I really enjoy working as part of the job.
Pros
No
Cons
£0 for only volunteers
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
12 April 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments, I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed some aspects of working as a volunteer. If you have anything you'd like to add or how you feel we could improve our volunteers experience, please do contact me on vaadvice@bhf.org.ukClare - Volunteering Team
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Great place to work. I only work there as a volunteer for a few months. Always busy but managers/supervisors and colleagues are very considerate and looks after your welfare which is inspiring. There are managers though that have some attitude which I consider demoralising but you need to stand your ground. After all, there will always be challenges in a workplace. It's just up to you to adapt and discern which battles to pay attention to.
Pros
Workload is manageable.
Cons
Some colleagues are not easy to get along with, arrogant
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
12 April 2021
Thank you for your review. It's so lovely to read that you found the care of our BHF shop colleagues so inspiring. Retail can be challenging in lots of ways but I find your words on how to adapt to these (battles) equally inspiring - thank you.Clare - Volunteering Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
BHF gave me my first experience of working. The management team were fantastic and I made a lot of great friends. I was very sad to hear they closed our local shop.
Pros
All fares reimbursed
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
12 April 2021
Thank you for your review and sharing your positive experience of volunteering for the BHF. Its lovely to read you also made lots of friends. It is always sad when difficult operational decisions lead to shop closures and we never make these decisions lightly as we do understand the impact they have on staff, volunteers and communities.Clare - Volunteering Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I had really good experience at British heart foundation. I was working there as a customer service and some other services. The people who work with me in that place were very good and really nice. They all very helpful and very well behaved also really friendly. I am really pleased that I worked at british heart foundation.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
9 April 2021
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. We are glad to hear you found your time with us a good experience. We wish you all the best for your next adventures. Recruitment Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Over worked and underpaid. More like a retail shop than a charity. Targets to reach each week which puts pressure on paid staff. Lack of volunteers which makes more pressure.
Cons
Lunch breaks don't exist
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
9 April 2021
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your time with us in our Leeds shop. If you wish to discuss any issues with us in confidence, please contact us on careers@bhf.org.uk. We wish you all the best! Recruitment Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I volunteered at the shop in Derby and then they decided to close it. It was the best shop in Derby, the management was friendly and worked well as a team. It was a nice place to give my time to but they just got rid of it. The other shops team is not as nice and don’t manage as well. I wouldn’t recommend giving your time to them.
Cons
Closing good shops
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
12 April 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts on the recent closure of one of our Derby shops. It's always so hard for us to make these operational decisions as the BHF really does understand the effect any closure has on its community of staff, volunteers and customers. We understand it can be difficult to move to a new shop. If you'd like to expand further on your experience in strict confidence, please do email me at vaadvice@bhf,org.ukClare - Volunteering Team
We want to help you find great companies. Help us be the best!
Do these reviews help you learn more about working at British Heart Foundation?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I felt wanted and needed in my work environment and the atmosphere was very welcoming and positive, any instructions that were given were also very clear with a nice tone
Pros
Calm
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
9 April 2021
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. We are pleased to see that you found included and some fun in your work in our shop in Long Eaton. We strive to be an inclusive and diverse workplace. Thank you for sharing part of our journey. We wish you all the best for your future. BHF Recruitment Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I was working on the admin desk at BHF furniture and electrical store. My role involves taking collections and donations from customers over the phone. I had to ensure the items donated are in a saleable condition before completing a docket which included all the items for collection. I also had to manage the call by contacting our self employed drivers whenever necessary in case any customers had any enquiries or updates or cancellations.
Pros
Friendly and hard working team environment
Cons
No vending machines
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I was here 2 weeks and honestly they couldn't care less whether you are there or not. Boss is constantly unavailable and shift runner is also constantly unavailable.
Pros
Reclaim bus and lunch
Cons
Standing
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
23 March 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are disappointed to read your comments about your work in our store in Halifax. If you wish to discuss any of your experiences in confidence, please email us at careers@bhf.org.uk. We wish you all the best for your future. BHF Recruitment Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Have learnt much about the charity, store health & safety, stock management, merchandising, customer service, and warehouse/stock working. Since returning after the 1st lockdown, have got well used to all the new common Covid social distancing, safety and hygiene regulations of course, like all retail and customer service organisations, when able to open.I really enjoy working with the positive store team; paid and other Volunteers.
Pros
Flexible days/hours - as a Volunteer anyway.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
12 March 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review! We're happy to see that you've been able to gain skills and experiences in our store in Portsmouth. We hope you'll have a great journey ahead with us and continue to help beat heartbreak forever! BHF Recruitment Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
British Heart Foundation (reatail shop) is a very productive place to work, Paid staff and volunteers works in perfect team harmony. Does not tolerate any form of discrimination. We all work with a common goal of raising money to beat heart break forever.
Pros
You manage your own time.
Cons
Every day is a busy day.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
12 March 2021
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're happy to see that you like working in Headington and find that our teams work in harmony, which is in great parts due to you as Manager, so thank you! We wish you continued success with us and your shop team! BHF Recruitment Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I relaise there was so much to the British heart foundation than I thought to how they raise funds to what they do with the funds its not just a charity its much more
Pros
Great team work always something to do
Cons
Would have liked to have had a job after as this was volunteering .
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
5 March 2021
I'm so pleased to read that you enjoy your time volunteering for the BHF! And you're quite right, lots more does go on behind the scenes to raise vital funds to reach our ultimate goal of beating heartbreak forever. Thanks so much for giving us your valuable time to volunteer for us.Clare - Volunteering Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I really enjoy volunteering for the British Heart Foundation in Braintree, Essex.The Manager and Assistant Manager have invested a lot of time in training me, as I had no previous experience. This has resulted in me getting a job in retail, without their help I do not think I would have achieved this.I still enjoy volunteering for the shop, and look forward to going back when restrictions allow
Pros
Good and positive working environment
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
5 March 2021
This is brilliant news! Congratulations on your paid role within retail. We can't wait to welcome you (and all our hardworking BHF Volunteers) when its safe to do so.Thanks so much for sharing your storyClare - Volunteering Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
They staff and management was absolutely amazing and they helped when things got tough when my depression got bad they still kept me going when I had to have a feed weeks of because I was in hospital they would keep in touch with me and making sure I was doing okie
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Really nice place to work and lovely people to work with good team morale flexibility on hours it is a brilliant company to volunteer for would recommend to anyone who's got free time to volunteer
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
22 February 2021
Thank you for sharing your positive BHF Volunteering experience and for encouraging others to join our fight to beat heartbreak forever. Clare - Volunteering Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The British heart foundation was very helpful to me because they helped me gain confidence and to gain experience in those three years I was there. I learned a lot when I was there the hardest thing was that I was always on the which kept me determined and hardheaded the typical day for was when I would be on the go by helping as many people as I could
Pros
Great experience
Cons
I could choose my own time to start and what time I could finish
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
26 February 2021
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review about your experience in Erdington. We're happy to see that we helped you gain confidence and learn new skills. Thank you for being part of our journey to beat heartbreak forever. We wish you good luck for your future! BHF Recruitment Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
You’re a number. No one wants to listen especially if you have a problem. You can very often be left grossly understaffed. SOME area managers are incompetent and looking for an easy ride, they don’t want to put the hard work and the effort in and are more than happy to slag off their subordinates in order to make themselves look good... or at least try to. People are promoted by how well they’re liked not their skills or experience or ability. If you have an idea you’re often shot down. The company itself is going backwards with technology. New tech makes store manager roles obsolete because they can’t access info they need to run the business. It’s a very clique culture... your face fits... or it doesn’t... Worst thing is health and safety... 60+ year old volunteers expected to carry heavy furniture up multiple flights of stairs. Warehouses insufficient in size and regularly overstocked but you’re told to get more stock all the time. Physically demanding would be ok but this can be brutal... as one person said it’s the heart foundations heart patient farm!
Pros
Reasonable work life balance but don’t ask for a weekend off
Cons
Health and safety is none existent...
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
12 February 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience working in one of our stores. We are really disappointed to hear the points you raise about management, staff and technological development. If you are keen for this to be investigated further, or feel that you have not been given the sufficient support, please contact us on careers@bhf.org.uk. Recruitment Team