British Heart Foundation
4.1 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

British Heart Foundation Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 4,284 reviews matching the search
See all 4,341 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
i highly recommend volunteering here, for people of any age! the staff and volunteers are so welcoming and friendly and you’ll make so many friends. if you are looking for work experience to put on your CV this is the perfect place to learn things like using a till. the shop can get busy but there will always be someone to support you.
Pros
friendly staff, opportunities, staff discount
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
A typical day at work for me was steaming the clothes The management seemed friendly at first then I got fired for no reason it was for nothing the hardest part of the job was not getting paid.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Didn’t get paid so that was the worst part. I would have stayed if it was a paying job because I loved the place and the people. Nice easy days and got to chose when I had my lunchs
Pros
Lovely people / staff
Cons
Volunteer so didn’t get paid
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
such a boring job, they dont care about the well being of the staff having them and volunteers working in warehouses with no ventilation in the middle of summer was so unbelievably hot it was unworkable, felt like i was going to collapse several times
Pros
none
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
18 June 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Obviously, we are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy working at BHF in Kent. Should you wish to discuss anything in confidence, please contact us on careers@bhf.org.uk. We wish you all the best for your future. BHF Recruitment Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Everyone is so helpful and kind that it fit right in immediately. I recommend to a friend and they got the job immediately, they are willing to hire all the time and are always looking for volunteers. It's not paid but this is understandable and for someone my age struggling this is great experience.
Pros
Fun environment
Cons
Unpaid
Was this review helpful?
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I look back on my work experience with British Heart Foundation, it was a typical day as normal and I learned some retail skills. The management and workplace culture were great.
Pros
Lunch breaks
Cons
Not free lunches
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
British heart foundation is a place that is really good to work I have learned so much since the start of my volunteering I now know everything there is about the place from the gift aid donations and logging them and tagging them and steaming the clothes and putting them out.
Pros
Feeling comfortable
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
If you like being used by area management you will be fine ....they use you with offers of a management roll if you do the job for 6 months then give it to someone else this happened to me twice then made redundant then another management job came up did not even get a interview if you want to get on in this company you have to be friends with area manager and dont have your own mind
Pros
Sundys off
Cons
Long hours with no extra pay
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Working for BHF was one 9f the worst job experience I've had, the management was unpleasant and rude to all staff and customers they spent their time using fake appeasement and also tried to make me look homeless when I have a perfectly good home and good income.
Pros
Large charity
Cons
Worst experience
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
It was a great place to work within the shop and with the volunteers. But higher positions are not very nice or understanding. They are patronising and condasending. It is a charity shop yet they run it like a proper chain store. There is too many expectations too high of budgets and targets and they are not happy when these are not met. You bust your gut for the company and all you get in return is a kick in the teeth. The higher management have no regards for it's staff just how much they can make and how good you can make them look.
Pros
None
Cons
Overlooked and overworked
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
2 June 2021
I'm very sorry to read your comments. I'd really like to try & put things right and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feelings and experiences in more detail. If this is something you feel able to do, please get in touch on vaadvice@bhf.org.uk in strictest confidence.Clare - Volunteering Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
A nice place to work at. I met real good people when I was there. It was brilliant I was only doing a volunteering work.No payments. I enjoyed working with them
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
2 June 2021
Thank you for taking the time to add your comments on your volunteering time with the BHF. I'm so pleased you had a brilliant time!Clare - Volunteering Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Hi BHF I have volunteer now for about two months on shop floor I just want to say if anyone wanted experience in retail the BHF would be the place to go I also worked in the warehouse today and I got to say I enjoyed working in the warehouse it really good fun you have a laugh the work can get hard and can be really heavy but that’s the job I guess. 😜
Pros
Fun people to work with and free drink
Cons
There isn’t a con
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
2 June 2021
Thank you for recommending BHF volunteering as a way to gain valuable retail experience & its lovely to read that you are being shown different areas of how the store is run.Clare - Volunteering Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
It was a pleasure to work with the British heartfoundtion, all were fantastic, friendly and welcoming. There were all different ages and all happy in their jobs, i would recommend having a go at volunteering.
Pros
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
2 June 2021
Thanks so much for your positive feedback & sharing your BHF volunteering experience. We simply couldn't do it without you! Thank you.Clare - Volunteering Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
new things to do every shift, the people were very friendly and helpful when I was stuck, I was praised for how well I did my jobs in the allocated time slots
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
7 May 2021
Thanks so much for volunteering for us at the BHF. I'm so pleased you had such a varied experience during your shifts and everyone was helpful if you needed a little guidance.Clare - Volunteering Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Interesting and accommodating staff. You can easily see the passion to help people out there in the staff. The environment is conducive and learning is made easy by the staff.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
20 May 2021
Hi there, thank you for leaving a nice review about your time with BHF Old Kent Road. We are happy to see that the passion for our cause and to help people shone through in your experience. We wish you all the best for your future adventures. BHF Recruitment Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I feel this job would be good if I was told the information I want like I asked is this job a paid job or voluntary but no one said anything I just would like to know that as I don’t want a volunteer job I would like a paid job to pay for my needs abd I vacancies do this job if fmshown what to do I am currently in employment at present just looking for light work
Pros
Like working with people
Cons
Breaks and pay
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Excellent customer service, Secure Fire Exit Doors, Positive atmosphere, friendly staff, friendly work colleagues as well as clean and safe to use storage room
Pros
Readable company sign
Cons
noise pollution
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The wages is basic and would suit those new to work, new to the country or retirees.The tasks are varied, full English speaking needed to answer phones and complete documents and to price items.
Pros
Discount on donated items
Cons
Pay minimum or living wGe
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Able to assist customers in a comfortable setting, and make their time in store enjoyable. Giving advice on how to donate articles to further enjoy the worthy charity.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
20 May 2021
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a great review of your time with us in Cosham. We are happy to see you enjoyed your time with us and wish you all the best for your next adventures. BHF Recruitment Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
A fun and enjoyable experience with kind and friendly staff with a feeling of self worth and a sense of belonging and the Knowing you are helping people
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Sometimes dealing with difficult customers
Was this review helpful?
Official response from British Heart Foundation
7 May 2021
Thank you so much for your review and the valuable time you have donated to the BHF. I'm so pleased volunteering gave you such a feeling of self worth & you had a feeling of belonging.Clare - Volunteering Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
If your looking for a easy job to start on or to get work experience BHF is perfect, the shifts are consistent, management is responsive and friendly with priority for staff health. They take on volunteers which I was but my family both mother and nan worked in BHF and my mum still working their although another shop. Staff and volunteers talk while working with the ability to have a tea when needed. The 2 main downsides are pay as its a charity lower profit charity even for manager rates its not a lot and people in management tend to stick around for awhile so progression is difficult. If your a smoker you may also find it hard as being a charity based on heart conditions smoking is a no go for brand reputation so on breaks you will need to remove anyclothing or items related to BHF and not be near the premises while doing so. Although when on a walk to buy a sandwhich/meal deal its not that much of a problem.
Pros
Friendly staff, Good management, easy shifts
Cons
low pay, potential hard days with deliverers or shoplifters which are common
Was this review helpful?