British Heart Foundation
Happiness score is 69 out of 100
4.1 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

British Heart Foundation Employee Reviews for Retail Sales Associate

Review this company
Job Title
Retail Sales Associate402 reviews
Location
United Kingdom402 reviews

Ratings by category

4.1Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 402 reviews matching the searchSee all 4,553 reviews
bhfvolunteerfoundationshopheartcharitytillstock

Great place

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Great place to work or volunteer as I do the management are the best I've ever worked with makes it enjoyable to come in every week volunteering there makes me feel like I'm making a difference in the world
Was this review helpful?

Very good workplace

Really enjoy working here, flexible hours, work as much or as little as you want. Can work on the shop floor or work upstairs behind the scenes, tagging and steaming.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from British Heart Foundation

12 August 2022
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review of your job with us in Whitehaven. We are happy to see that you find the work varied and flexible. Thank you for sharing our journey to fund life-saving research. All the best, BHF Recruitment

Insights into British Heart Foundation

Based on 465 survey responses
What people like
  • Feeling of personal appreciation
  • Inclusive work environment
  • Time and location flexibility
Areas for improvement
  • Fair pay for job

Poor

Very bad management and lack of help. Little and inadequete training with managemet responsibility despite being in a retail assitant role making the job very stressful to work at.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from British Heart Foundation

5 August 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your job with us in Surrey. We are disappointed to read your comments. If you would like to discuss any aspect of your role with us in confidence, please contact us on recruitment@bhf.org.uk. We wish you all the best, BHF Recruitment

Fun workplace

I loved my time there. Job wasn't too taxing, putting stock out, taking in delivery, using the till etc. Only left as got a better paid job elsewhere and more hours.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from British Heart Foundation

12 July 2022
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review of your time with us in Newcastle. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your job and maybe even gained additional experience and skills during your time with us. We wish you all the best for your future. BHF Recruitment

not a very fun place

the company has its pros, but most the time you're not really doing much. most the time you're just wondering around the place, hoping a job would come about. most my colleagues just sat there talking and i was just trying to find some work.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from British Heart Foundation

27 April 2022
Many thanks for leaving your comments, I'm sorry to hear you don't feel your gift of time was utilised as well as it could have been. If I can help further and you have any feedback on how we can improve things, I'd love to hear from you in more detail so please do email me on; vaadvice@bhf.org.ukKind regards Clare (Volunteering Team)

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

No Work life balance

Management are poor as they:- Come and go as they please (including their lunch)- Don't care about your availability (they put you on days you specified you cannot do)- Don't do anything in the morning i.e give any tasks until they leave then they dump a million tasks on you that could of been done beforehand- Give you tasks/ responsibilities that are their job and they can't be bothered doing eg. volunteer management, training, induction process AND MORE- No training whatsoever but then blame you for doing things incorrectly- Doing absolutely nothing when left by themselves but then become the most productive people when the area manager is around- Get given the rota when they can be bothered doing it which is one days notice - Go against the pricing policy and returns policy- Probably steal a lot of the stock as they never put anything through the till and they don't allow anyone else to go through the stock - Talk rubbish about everyone including the area manager behind their backsAnd many more...I hope the area manager is reading this because the managers need to be replaced as they don't clearly add any value.Good part of the job is the pay, the workers and how relaxing it is minus the managers.

Pros

Hour Lunch Good pay

Cons

Poor management
Was this review helpful?

Stressful workplace but fulfilling in the short term

Volunteers at BHF work on their own schedule, you work when you want to for as long as you want to.Work is hands on and strong volunteers are often involved in heavy lifting.Till staff are expected to stand for most of the day, an uncomfortable chair is provided but caused ankle pain after long hours.Colleagues and other volunteers are stand up saints, regional management is not.

Pros

Fulfilling

Cons

Often stressful, sometimes uncomfortable, always on feet
Was this review helpful?

Official response from British Heart Foundation

8 April 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. If I can do anything to help to make your volunteering time with us more comfortable, please do reach out to me on vaadvice@bhf.org.uk and I will do my best to help.Kind regards - Clare (Volunteering Team)

Nice and relaxed place

Was boring at times as not a lot of customers would come in but staff are nice and was always supporting and making me learn about the store. The experience overall was calming.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from British Heart Foundation

4 March 2022
Thank you for leaving such a nice review about our staff and also your learning in our shop in Birmingham. We wish you all the best for your future adventures. BHF Recruitment

Depending on staff a good family fun environment

Volunteering in the Hartlepool store I became rather close to the staff in there. My tasks in the store where varied and different. Depending on the day depends on what happend.

Pros

We would get our bus fares back.

Cons

If we were quiet once everything was done there wasn't much else to do.
Was this review helpful?

Nice place

Good staff nice place to work relaxed. Habe fun with the staff nice range of products. You when u want to as much as you want to. Staff frendly they come and go. No pay but fun.

Pros

Fun tine

Cons

No pay
Was this review helpful?

Better to be a volunteer than staff!

The majority of the management only care about themselves, often at the expense of the staff who are treated like expendable commodities. There's zero room for progression unless you're an expert suck up - it's all about who you know not what you know - and the management above store level are even worse.Worked there for two years and I that time had five store manager, four assistant managers and three warehouse managers, all in quick succession.

Pros

It's an easy job

Cons

Inconsistent hours & pay, no progression, condescending management, no stability or respect for staff
Was this review helpful?

Official response from British Heart Foundation

16 February 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your time in our Wrexham store. We are disappointed to read that you felt there was no progression for you. If you wish to discuss any of your observations in confidence, please contact us at careers@bhf.org.uk. We wish you all the best for your future. BHF Recruitment

Fun Workplace

I like it a lot and it help me get a lot of good working experience Great place to work the workforce are a great team and really pull together when needed. Good home work life balance.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from British Heart Foundation

16 February 2022
Hello, thank you for your time to leave a review of your time in our shop in Barnsley. We are happy to read you found the experience useful and rewarding. We wish you all the best for your future adventures. BHF Recruitment

productive and lively workplace

you can sometimes be with people from different lifestyles to yourself there also to help a charity shop meet a busy schedule,it has paid workers ,volunteers important .You are usually there as a volunteer for 4 hours the management making the decisions about what clothing to sell following protocol at all times.sometimes it can be difficult depending on local news etc,yes you can buy discount clothing on 25% DISCOUNT that that is NICE

Pros

travel expenses are paid and tea/coffee offered without cost

Cons

n/a
Was this review helpful?

Fun and Friendly working evironment

I have worked here for over 2 months and it has been a very good experience, as a 17 year old this was the perfect work experience, I have learnt so much about work ethic and serving customers. I would recommend this to anyone who wants something to add to their CV or just to help out a charity that has a good goal.

Pros

Short hours

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Productive but tiring

Working at BHF was a good experience as I was able to contribute in helping the society. However, it is was very tiring and the hours were long.I would recommend as at the end of the day ,it is for a good cause.

Pros

Helping society

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from British Heart Foundation

26 November 2021
Thank you for taking the time of leaving your review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed some parts of your time with us in Liverpool. Thank you for sharing our journey! We wish you all the best for your future adventures. BHF Recruitment

Fun workplace

Volunteering at the British Heart Foundation was a really lovely experience. It wasn't a really fast place job, there were times were you can just rest and relax, but that doesn't mean it never got busy, it mostly got busy during the weekends or late on weekdays but it was never a problem because there are always enough staff on-site to help every customer. I also learnt new skills while working there. Not only was I able to learn new skills, but I also met a lot of new people, everyone was usually friendly from the Supervisors to the Staff to the Customers. it was always a thrilling experience working at British Heart Foundation
Was this review helpful?

Best place

I worked at this shop for 2 years and it was the best experience. No two days there were the same and there was always something exciting happen. We were always laughing.

Pros

Management

Cons

Customers
Was this review helpful?

Excellent workplace

British heart foundation is a place that is really good to work I have learned so much since the start of my volunteering I now know everything there is about the place from the gift aid donations and logging them and tagging them and steaming the clothes and putting them out.

Pros

Feeling comfortable

Cons

No cons
Was this review helpful?

Official response from British Heart Foundation

15 July 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. It's great to read that you have been able to gain experience and skills and are enjoying being in our shop in Callander. All the best - BHF Recruitment

An excellent, positive and supportive organisation to work for.

Have learnt much about the charity, store health & safety, stock management, merchandising, customer service, and warehouse/stock working. Since returning after the 1st lockdown, have got well used to all the new common Covid social distancing, safety and hygiene regulations of course, like all retail and customer service organisations, when able to open.I really enjoy working with the positive store team; paid and other Volunteers.

Pros

Flexible days/hours - as a Volunteer anyway.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from British Heart Foundation

12 March 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review! We're happy to see that you've been able to gain skills and experiences in our store in Portsmouth. We hope you'll have a great journey ahead with us and continue to help beat heartbreak forever! BHF Recruitment Team

Brilliant place to work

Thoroughly enjoyed my time there learned lots and gained new experience staff & management brilliant 10/10 always on the go and storing things people bring in

Pros

Always kept busy and happy to teach you

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Busy but fun

I am a volunteer but treated as full time staff love my time spent here.Management considerate and always there to help. Interesting and varied work, a nice place to be.

Pros

Flexible hours

Cons

Unpaid
Was this review helpful?

Official response from British Heart Foundation

17 February 2021
Thank you for your positive comments, its lovely to read that you feel such an integral and important part of the team.Kind regardsClare - Volunteering Team

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at British Heart Foundation. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 4,553 reviews

Ratings by category

4.1 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.0 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.5 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.9 out of 5 stars for Management
4.0 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare British Heart Foundation with

Learn about British Heart Foundation in popular locations

  • Companies
  • British Heart Foundation
  • Employee reviews
  • Retail Sales Associate
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?