Brothers of Charity
Happiness score is 52 out of 100
2.9 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Brothers of Charity Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 101 reviews matching the search
See all 141 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Used to be a good company to work for, however over recent years the management changed. It's now a bullying culture, when the clients you are caring for are put second by management and penny pinching is rife. I could not support the company any more. They have investors in people, no idea how. Morale is low, staff turnover huge. Many leave within first month.
Pros
Nothing anymore
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Rota was constantly being changed, my diary had 3 different coloured pen times because the rota was done in pencil by the manager and kept getting changed My diary and work duties was all over the place. I was on a sleep over in Newton-le-Willows, had a phone call of a manager to say I was on duty in St Helen's. If they kept the rota right in the first place there would never be such confusion. I felt as I was being victimised.
Pros
Free cinemas
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Just love getting an email where Brother of Charity is preaching up like it’s employer of the year for giving staff a 1% pay rise. It’s embarrassing, every year it’s the same copy and paste drivel about the company’s financial struggles. Brothers clearly isn’t struggling that much with the multiple vanity projects wasting large amounts of money this year alone. I needn’t mention the senior managers large pay packets, expensive company cars and general excessive wastage of the charities finances. There is only so long you can ignore support staff before they up and leave, without us you are nothing. Pay us a decent wage.
Pros
None
Cons
Naff pay, naff management, lies and incompetence
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Support workers sacrifice so much, we miss Christmas, birthdays, weddings and family events to care for the service users. No thanks or appreciation at all, they just want more and more. Minimum wage is an insult to the sacrifice, especially when it’s working for a disorganised, shambles of an organisation.Pay us a wage we can actually live on! This would go some way to stemming the flood gates of people leaving this organisation.
Pros
None
Cons
Wage and appalling senior management
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
ALL STAFF TOLD BY TOP MANAGEMENT TO GO TO ALDI IF YOU WANT TO EARN A DECENT WAGE! Just about says it all for the company! Demoralising! Inadequate training packages! Will employ staff that are very inexperienced and are doing the job because it’s a job!??
Pros
Fantastic tenants and support workers
Cons
Poorly paid! Long hours! Poor work life balance
Was this review helpful?
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Support workers sacrifice so much, we miss Christmas, birthdays, weddings and family events to care for the service users. No thanks or appreciation at all, they just want more and more. Minimum wage is an insult to the sacrifice, especially when it’s working for a disorganised, shambles of an organisation.Pay us a wage we can actually live on! This would go some way to stemming the flood gates of people leaving this organisation.
Pros
None
Cons
Wage
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
terrible wages for what staff have to do! the management not always caring say staff are to caring !! what else they supposed to be! argh! overall worst paid company worked for!
Pros
good free on site courses!
Cons
poor pay!
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Want to be not appreciated and worked to death for minimum wage? This is the job for you. Think they need to get acquainted with the living wage foundation.
Pros
None
Cons
Rubbish pay
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brothers of Charity
4 January 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your desire to help us improve and your comments are extremely helpful to us. If you would like to discuss things further, please contact our HR team on: info@brothersofcharity.org.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Due to COVID staff including myself have no idea where we are working from day to day. They also ring you late at night around 21:30 to give you a shift in a place you have never worked and no information given about the needs of the house/service users in the area. No support via managers if you have a emergency they make it to be your fault
Pros
The people we look after
Cons
Long hours, unsure where working
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The culture has changes and new team worked hard to set up new standards and get a work life balance. Lots of training and courses available to process in health and social care. Good team in place to work with.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
No respect exists, managers rule by fear.They coverup mistakes they make, and if they can’t do that they shift the blame onto support staff. I can’t stress enough how much you should avoid working here, if you value your mental health just don’t. The poisonous culture is so deeply engrained I don’t think it will ever change. Rock bottom minimum wage, to be treated like garbage, just isn’t worth it.
Pros
None
Cons
Minimum wage, no respect.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brothers of Charity
9 November 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your desire to help us improve and your comments are extremely helpful to us. If you would like to discuss things further, please contact our HR team on: info@brothersofcharity.org.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Bullying culture comes from the very top person. Staff humiliated and shouted at. Person at the very top targets people regularly, fear culture. Morale is being ruined by top person. Organisation has a brilliant ethos, pity about the person at the top.
Pros
Ethos of caring for vulnerable adults is admirable but leader is antithesis of this ethos.
Cons
humiliation, bullying, fear culture all caused by the person at the top.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brothers of Charity
16 October 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your desire to help us improve and your comments are extremely helpful to us. If you would like to discuss things further, please contact our HR team on: info@brothersofcharity.org.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Recently started my new role and loving it, I have not worked in care before and was a bit nervous but the training has been great and I have the support I need and work in a great team who work together and feel part of a family. Overall great start.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have worked at Brothers of Charity for 11 months and love my job. Brothers of Charity has the individuals that they support at the heart of everything that they do. I feel supported by the teams around me in the office I work in. The ground at Lisieux Hall where i am based at well maintained and scenic, you can go for a walk and sit outside on grounds on your lunch and breaks. Fantastic Company to work for !!!
Pros
Work Life balance
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have worked here for 6 months and only seen passionate people who work hard. Yes they set high standards and expect the best from you as everything we do is for the people we support and everything we do has an impact on their lives
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I really enjoy my Job, I have been with the company for just short of 12 months, I feel I am making a difference to peoples lives. I have a great work life balance and feel supported by the teams around me. I am based in the Chorley office, Lisieux Hall is a very scenic area, you can enjoy the ground on lunch and breaks. Brothers of Charity truly cares about the Individuals they support and the clients are at the heart of all the company does.
Pros
Great work live balance
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Staff morale meeting recently, in this meeting a senior manager on 50k a year told minimum wage support staff she wished she could give us a pay rise but she cannot. Told us we shouldn’t be in this line of work for the money. Well I have a little to say on that, In the last 6 months all the area managers have received a 6k pay rise, lower managers a 2k pay rise. Managers have even received large bonuses. What did the minimum wage support staff get? A cheap bag of rubbish the company overstocked on and needed to get rid of. The managers must really be laughing at support staff, while they do half the work and reap 90% of the reward while telling us if we want more money you shouldn’t be in this job, It’s just a pure insult and a slap in the face.
Pros
None
Cons
Terrible management
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brothers of Charity
14 September 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your desire to help us improve and your comments are extremely helpful to us. If you would like to discuss things further, please contact our HR team on: info@brothersofcharity.org.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
There is Nothing in the world that will prepare you for this culture, uncaring toward clients and bullying toward all staff. Lots of comments about how bad the managers are but even they are bullied and very afraid for their own future and welfare. Social care is about empathy, understanding and providing a caring service that values all people, if those are your values avoid this company as it will bring you nothing but stress and disappointment. Sweep the streets, deliver takeaway food, sell the big issue but whatever you do avoid this terrible terrible company. You will be bullied, failed probation if it suits, mind games are endless. You’ll be told how amazing it’s all going to be but not told why it’s such a mess now. It’s nothing but a car crash of a disaster that ruins very good and hardworking people. Avoid it and don’t be drawn in to the dark side of social care, while you’ll think you can make a difference believe me you won’t. The whole company is a worry to any self respecting professional with any degree of professionalism, a total sham that’s full of pretence.
Pros
None
Cons
Dire
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brothers of Charity
14 September 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your desire to help us improve and your comments are extremely helpful to us. If you would like to discuss things further, please contact our HR team on: info@brothersofcharity.org.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
It is time that the company is investigated. They give staff little or no support. They have a blame culture second to none. Management offer no help and blame everyone except their own ineptitude.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brothers of Charity
20 August 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your desire to help us improve and your comments are extremely helpful to us. If you would like to discuss things further, please contact our HR team on: info@brothersofcharity.org.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Management are bullies (would name names but don’t want to get sued) I was dismissed right after taking 12 unpaid weeks off to look after dependants, apparently that wasn’t the reason but who knows, also WAS NOT paid unpaid holiday pay after leaving and being completely ignored now so going through with a claim with the union I’m glad I stayed with after dismissal
Pros
None
Cons
Awful management
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brothers of Charity
14 September 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your desire to help us improve and your comments are extremely helpful to us. If you would like to discuss things further, please contact our HR team on: info@brothersofcharity.org.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Don’t care about staff , management appalling. As long as you put the hours in your amazing but those who can’t due to childcare etc are treated terrible . If u report “favourite staff “ you are the the one that gets the back lash even if you are reporting bullying / abuse . Worse place ever worker
Pros
None at all
Cons
Absolutely everything
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Brothers of Charity
10 August 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your desire to help us improve and your comments are extremely helpful to us. If you would like to discuss things further, please contact our HR team on: info@brothersofcharity.org.uk