Busy Bees Nurseries
3.4 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Busy Bees Nurseries Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 476 reviews matching the search
See all 518 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
When I first started busy bees I absolutely enjoyed my time. As time went by i found Busy Bees just wasn't for me. It felt like I was on the ipad more than being with the children and that just wasn't why I wanted to work for busy bees.
Pros
Training courses
Cons
Long hours, stressful and your not heard.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I work at the Balbrough chesterfield nursery and the derby bishops drive nursery. the management is amazing at both the nurseries, the staff are welcoming and friendly and the children are lovely. Also, they give you lots of opportunities to advance and train.
Pros
management, staff and progression opportunities
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Horrible place to work, bad management who constantly slag staff off behind their back, always made to feel bad if you were ill, mental health was taken as a joke with staff being constantly mocked and not believed. Staff were played off against each other making it very clicky place to work. Overworked and unpaid with massively big differences in pay for same titled job. Generally a horrible company to work for all they care about is numbers and having the most nurseries and the most children crammed in even if it means children constantly being moved around to fit ratios making them unsettled. Spend all their money on buying more nurseries rather than taking care of the ones they have. We were constantly on spending freezes meaning not being allowed to buy well needed resources for the children instead staff used to buy it out of their own money. Do not work for this company, you will be unappreciated, over worked, underpaid and left feeling horribly depressed.
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, underpaid, bad atmosphere, bad management
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Terribly lazy staff, rude management, long hours and poor pay. No respect received and no appreciation. Busy bees priority is profit and profit only. They were unable to manage covid bubbles effectively resulting in an outbreak. Terrible business. Stay away.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Busy Bees Nurseries
29 March 2021
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to review Busy Bees. We are sorry that you feel we are not following our Core Values of Care / Service / Quality / Value. If you feel this is something you would like to discuss further, please contact me on victoria.barker@busybees.com so I can help to improve things.Thank you, Victoria
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Working for Busy Bees was very rewarding and I blossomed as a early years educator while working for them. They offer so much training to help you advance in your field.
Pros
Training to further your education
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Busy Bees Nurseries
29 March 2021
Hi, Thank you for your review about Busy Bees, we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experiences with us and our future employees. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed working with us. It is people like you that help Busy Bees give every child the best start in life.Thanks againSarah
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Great place to work lovely people good management fair pay. Great hours and good work life balance. Very rewarding job cooking nutritional food for the children
Pros
Coffee
Cons
Not permanent
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Busy Bees Nurseries
22 March 2021
Hi, Thank you for your review about Busy Bees, we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experiences with us and our future employees. We are happy to hear that you enjoy working with us. It is people like you that help Busy Bees give every child the best start in life.Thanks againSarah
Official response from Busy Bees Nurseries
22 March 2021
Hi, Thank you for your review about Busy Bees, we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experiences with us and our future employees. We are happy to hear that you enjoy working with us. It is people like you that help Busy Bees give every child the best start in life.Thanks againSarah
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Bullying culture, staff are unsupported and under appreciated. You never knew what time you finished and senior staff couldn’t get paid, just time back which you couldn’t take as always busy. Management clicky and talked about staff unkindly behind their backs. Ridiculous in-house audits which were a million times worse than ofsted. Ridiculous amount of key children per staff member, high workload, no time out for senior staff.. list is endless. Don’t work here.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to mention.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Busy Bees Nurseries
16 March 2021
Hi, We are sorry to hear about your experience with Busy Bees. Our mission is to deliver high quality childcare and exiting opportunities for learning that give every child a head start as they prepare for school. Thank you for all that you have contributed to our children, despite your current feelings. Thank you for letting us know about how you feel and we will strive to do better because of this feedback. Kind Regards,Jenna
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Lovely staff who work hard despite a huge lack of resources and support from management. Most staff felt very under appreciated and sadly those at the top have no idea of what it’s like to actually work in one of their settings. I would not work for a big chain again....
Pros
Lovely staff
Cons
Lack of resources, lack of support, lack of understanding from management
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Busy Bees Nurseries
22 February 2021
Hi, We are sorry to hear about your experience with Busy Bees. Our mission is to deliver high quality childcare and exiting opportunities for learning that give every child a head start as they prepare for school. Thank you for all that you have contributed to our children, despite your current feelings. Thank you for letting us know about how you feel and we will strive to do better because of this feedback. Kind Regards,Jenna
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Minimum wage yet expected to work a lot harder than your pay grade. They’ll leave you on your own in a room with 16 odd children all day and claim it doesn’t matter because the other staff member is still in the building. Get told your hours on a Friday for the following week making it impossible to make plans for days off. Expect you to work 10 and a half hours with only half an hour dinner!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Busy Bees Nurseries
15 February 2021
Hi, We are sorry to hear about your current experience with Busy Bees. Our mission is to deliver high quality childcare and exiting opportunities for learning that give every child a head start as they prepare for school. Thank you for all that you contribute to our children and if you would like to discuss these feelings, I would ask you to speak with your Centre Director. Thank you for letting us know about how you feel and we will strive to do better because of this feedback. Kind Regards,Jenna
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I worked as a bank staff, travelling to different busy bees nurseries. It was okay but every nursery just had the same atmosphere, not much learning for the children, management leaving and not a very stable team so children would be unsettled or confused at times, a lot of pettiness and bitchiness within the work place as mostly women working there, squabbling and taking sides etc, not a very professional work place to be in as I couldn’t wait to leave. Some of the employees were nice to talk to but just not my favourite company to work for. Good for a little pocket money but the hourly rate isn’t enough.
Pros
An hour lunch.
Cons
Bank staff- travelling far to a different busy bees site.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Busy Bees Nurseries
9 February 2021
Hi, We are sorry to hear about your experience with Busy Bees. Our mission is to deliver high quality childcare and exiting opportunities for learning that give every child a head start as they prepare for school. Thank you for all that you have contributed to our children, despite your current feelings. Thank you for letting us know about how you feel and we will strive to do better because of this feedback. Kind Regards,Jenna
Help us improve!
Is Indeed your favorite place to learn about companies?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I began Busy Bees as an apprentice and continued up the ranks to a Room Manager. I feel that the management are easily contactable and and very understanding. During the Coronavirus, it is a stressful time but everyone is working as a team and is dealing with everything that is thrown at them. The food given to the children is amazing, and I believe they eat better than me! I love how the company uses an 'online journal' where we plan, send activities and do assessments and these get sent directly to the parents, where they can also comment. This means they do not need to wait till parents evening or the end of the day to know how they child is doing within the nursery. If you choose the 40 hour contract, you work 4 long hour days with a day off, or 5 shorter days which suits some people. Overall, this is the best work place I have worked in, and would recommend to anyone who has a passion for childcare.
Pros
Free Lunches, only working 4 days, progression within the company
Cons
small staff room
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Busy Bees Nurseries
9 February 2021
Hi, Thank you for your review about Busy Bees, we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experiences with us and our future employees. The past few months adapting to new COVID guidelines has been challenging and I am glad you feel we have done all we can. We wouldn’t have been able to do this without you. Thanks againJess
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Any job working with children is going to be stressful, but seeing the difference you’re making in children’s lives makes it worthwhile. Management are always there to listen and take things on board, provided you are doing your job to the best of your abilities. As someone with SEN, I’ve received nothing but support and care from everyone around me.
Pros
Social events, room for career advancement
Cons
Hours can be long from time to time
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Busy Bees Nurseries
2 February 2021
Hi, Thank you for your review about Busy Bees, we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experiences with us and our future employees. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed working with us. It is people like you that help Busy Bees give every child the best start in life.Thanks againSarah
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Undervalued by management, not a good place to work especially if you have children of your own as this place will not accommodate your needs as a parent. Manager is a manipulative bully. No resources available for the children, most the toys have been donated by parents. Long hours as most of the time you have to work over due to shortness of staff. The most enjoyable part of the job for me was spending time with the children, although at busy bees, planning and paperwork always took over as the planning was very long winded and repetitive, this could have been simplified as I’ve worked in other nurseries where planning is a lot easier and less time consuming
Pros
None at all
Cons
Long hours, stressful
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Busy Bees Nurseries
2 February 2021
Hi, We are sorry to hear about your experience with Busy Bees. Our mission is to deliver high quality childcare and exiting opportunities for learning that give every child a head start as they prepare for school. Thank you for all that you have contributed to our children, despite your current feelings. Thank you for letting us know about how you feel and we will strive to do better because of this feedback. Kind Regards,Jenna
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Childcare is generally a terribly paid field of work and Busy Bees Nurseries are no exception. Don't be fooled, they care more about profit than they do about the children in their care and definitely more than they care about their employees. My manager is lovely and I'd work with her forever if I could, but to the wider company you are just a dispensible worker bee, only there to make them money and not ask questions.
Pros
Not working weekends
Cons
Terrible pay, no benefits.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Busy Bees Nurseries
25 January 2021
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to review Busy Bees. We are sorry that you feel we are not following our Core Values of Care / Service / Quality / Value. If you feel this is something you would like to discuss further, please contact me on victoria.barker@busybees.com so I can help to improve things.Thank you, Victoria
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
TERRIBLE. My issue is not with the nursery I worked at. The team was lovely. It is the management and head office. You'll be lucky to get your 3rd month of correct pay. Payroll are terrible. This went on for years. You are not allowed to speak to HR or payroll unless you are a manager. When you leave they make mistake after mistake. Many ex employees owed money. Badly run organisation. Pay is terrible, they say they have benefits, but good luck finding one that's actually any good. They come across and brag like a 5* restaurant and actually you'd get better from a fast food chain. Don't fall for the charm. It's a trap. You will regret it.
Pros
Your own team.
Cons
Incompetent Management and poorly run
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Busy Bees Nurseries
13 January 2021
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to review Busy Bees. We are sorry that you feel we are not following our Core Values of Care / Service / Quality / Value. If you feel this is something you would like to discuss further, please contact me on sarah.smith@busybees.com so I can help to improve things.Thank you, Sarah
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I work at Busy Bees in St Andrew's Ridge and have done for an extended period of time now. I love the team that I work with, they are my second family. We as a team have all really come together during this unprecedented time and I couldn't be prouder of my work place. The staff, the children, our parents and my manager (we couldn't have done it without her) have all been fabulous. I love getting up and going to work just to be around such kind, caring staff as well as our lovely children/families. If you are looking to work in a nursery this one is definitely a great place to start and we will welcome you with open arms. If you are new to childcare and a bit unsure about how to get into a nursery setting you should definitely get in contact with our nursery Manager, she is the most supportive person and will make you instantly feel at ease!
Pros
Supportive staff team and manager
Cons
You have to really love your job because unfortunately we don't get a huge monthly wage
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Busy Bees Nurseries
30 December 2020
Hi,Thank you for your review about Busy Bees, we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experiences with us and our future employees. We are happy to hear that you enjoy working with us. It is people like you that help Busy Bees give every child the best start in life.Thanks again,Sarah
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I first started my busy bees journey a couple of years ago and was made to feel so welcome from the get go. The staff are lovely, hard working and friendly and show fantastic care towards the children. The manager of my nursery has helped push me to do things I didn't think I could do and has been so supportive through out, for that I am so very grateful!Even through these difficult times, the nursery staff and children have adapted well and is still a fun and engaging environment. I recommend working at St Andrews to all :)
Pros
Great friendly team and Manager!
Cons
Not being paid millions
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Busy Bees Nurseries
30 December 2020
Hi, Thank you for your review about Busy Bees, we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experiences with us and our future employees. We are happy to hear that you enjoy working with us especially through the difficult recent months. It is people like you that help Busy Bees give every child the best start in life.Thanks againSarah
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Don’t even bother with Busy Bees. They don’t care about the children or staff. They just think money money money. We expressed safeguarding concerns but no one cared, concerns weren’t even logged or written down. Staff constantly over worked and when expressed their issues, management couldn’t care less. You are expected to do paperwork on top of looking after and supporting the young children but are given no support or time to do so. There is meant to be training, however I don’t think they know what training is. Rules are followed when the management decides to. Never got any praise for any work that we did do at the nursery. It is such a shame that a ‘global multi million company’ is letting so many people down, maybe a little bit of respect and appreciation would prevent staff leaving after a short period of time.
Pros
The kids were lovely.
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Busy Bees Nurseries
30 December 2020
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to review Busy Bees. We are sorry that you feel we are not following our Core Value of Care. If you feel this is something you would like to discuss further, please contact me on victoria.barker@busybees.com so I can help to improve things.Thank you, Victoria
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Busy bees are always introducing new training all the time which helps each member of staff grow. Over the coronavirus they couldnt have been more supportive and everything has been working so well. The children are always happy and thriving and the iconnect system we now use makes all communication with parents even easier over Covid.
Pros
Inclusive training, well working teams
Cons
Hours can be long depending on what contract
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Busy Bees Nurseries
30 December 2020
Hi, Thank you for your review about Busy Bees, we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experiences with us and our future employees. The past few months adapting to new COVID guidelines has been challenging and I am glad you feel we have done all we can. We wouldn’t have been able to do this without you. Thanks againJess
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I am finding my experience working for busy bees to be an uplifting and rewarding one where every employee,parent and child are treated with respect and compassion. I am a keen learner and there is a vast amount of support to maximise your potential in the job role of an early years practitioner. The company has lots of training courses, idea sharing and practice strategies are kept all in one location which is easy to access. In my setting we have a fantastic team atmosphere which strives to deliver the best experience for the children. I would highly recommend to anyone seeking a career in child care who enjoys being part of a hard working team. I have previously experienced anxiety however since joining the company I have felt completely supported and my passion for child care has grown. Being able to be a part of a child's learning and development journey is a privilege.
Pros
Supportive environment
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Busy Bees Nurseries
30 December 2020
Hi, Thank you for your review about Busy Bees, we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experiences with us and our future employees. We are happy to hear that you enjoy working with us and hope this continues for a long time yet. It is people like you that help Busy Bees give every child the best start in life.Thanks againSarah
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
If working in a nursery expect long hours, fast pace, lots of work to do and never enough time to do them unless in your own time. You will need to manage your time well, often you have to do observations while in the room and trying to watch over all the children, as well as changing the environment, planning, the daily jobs and engaging with the children. There is a lot of staff covering other rooms and swapping about which l did not like, being over ratio in the morning while things being sorted or waiting for staff to come in. Management were supportive at times but often just doing what they can, pressures from above enforced on them too. I didn't like the shared management as they all managed in different ways and would speak to you when you didn't do it right but you were only doing it the way the other member of management had said gets frustrating and confusing. Not always good communication. Thousands of policies to read through (literally policy for everything) and vla training at home which is not paid for. The day out training is good but can be cancelled or called back if low on staff. The company expect you to live for them and will expect you to go in on evenings or weekend if they want you to, will give you toil for this, but you will only get this back when they have enough staff. For me l did not enjoy working here, worked very hard all of the time, worked at home and my days off trying to get everything done. Never seemed to be good enough. Was highly stressful all of the time, lots of SEND children or children who needed support taken on but never given - more...
Pros
Training opportunities if wanting to achieve qualifications, ideas via the iconnect system
Cons
Long hours, stressful, hard work, lots of work and no time to get it done, have to multi task really well, expect to be moved around different rooms.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Busy Bees Nurseries
30 December 2020
Hi, We are sorry to hear about your experience with Busy Bees. Our mission is to deliver high quality childcare and exiting opportunities for learning that give every child a head start as they prepare for school. Thank you for all that you have contributed to our children, despite your current feelings. Thank you for letting us know about how you feel and we will strive to do better because of this feedback. Kind Regards,Jenna