CVS Group
3.0 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

CVS Group Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 112 reviews matching the search
See all 119 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
As a RVN with CVS for a few years, i can safely say, it was not a good experience. From graduating, it took almost 8 months for CVS to acknowledge this and amend my contract.They pride themselves in career progression, but every time you asked for CPD, courses or training, you are shot down. For a company that make huge profits, they grudge giving out full wages, and will find any excuse not to pay your full salary allocation. Work life balance was poor to say the very least! And salary did not reflect the number of hours, effort or emotional fatigue you put into your employment. Staffing was always an issue. I don’t think CVS realise how poorly staffed most practices are, and yet push for more and more things to be done. After working a 9 hour shift... I finally get lunch or any sort of break. ... when I get home that night. From personal experience. And experience of other employees of CVS, if you have any sort of mental health issues, as soon as they catch onto this, beware. You are treated VERY differently. If you seek help for this, they will use it against you in any way possible. Looking back at my time there, it is now obvious that they work their employees into the ground - this practice in particular.This experience has put me off working with a CVS practice. You are just a number.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CVS Group
26 January 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are very sorry to hear about your experience while working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, so we would be happy to learn more regarding your review and how we can improve as a company. Please do reach out at recruitment@cvsvets.com to discuss any time. Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The job role itself is fun and exciting, the people I work with are amazing and feel they're my friends for life. Patient care on a good day is rewarding and the vets are always approachable. Unfortunately the same cannot be said in regards to senior roles and management. They themselves scold us for poor patient care and advise us to always strive for greatness but I feel I cannot approach them about how bad it is to manage the workload with the little staff we have. We have lost nurses and they haven't been replaced, which I can appreciate recruiting nurses is difficult in the current crisis. But they continue to double op and not consider how many nurses we have in on shift, leaving patients to recover without any checks and causing burn out for the employees. It would be the most suited practice for myself if management stopped increasing our workload and provided actual care for the nurses that work non-stop. What I have learnt so far is you cannot rely on other team members if you feel patient care has not been a priority. It is sad that I have to say goodbye to some really good friends.
Pros
Exceptional colleagues and a nice environment (on a good day)
Cons
No real rewards, poor pay and refusal to update wages when doing 4 nurses jobs at once
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
CVS and my practice support me to meet my potential. Cpd is actively encouraged and inspired. Applying for courses is easy too - we have our own portal!I used to work for a privately owned clinic which was then bought out. Since the conversion I have developed into a Head Nurse role and I can see there are other opportunities for career development which I find exciting as many other companies dont offer these career opportunities to RVNs. CVS pay well also!CVS actively seek opinions for how to provide a better service and work life ratio which includes a meeting of all the representatives from each clinic. Its a way to get our voice heard. I have no plans from changing my employment.I would say if someone is unsure about working for CVS to get in touch with a practice and ask the company!
Pros
Developments
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CVS Group
23 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Worked at Head Office in Diss in the finance department. It is the lowest paid place that I have ever known yet the expectations are highly unreasonable and when there were problems the Managers done a disappearing act and it was left to staff to work out themselves and some of those were incompetent back stabbers. Spent half of my time taking calls from customers, clients and regional practices that hadn't been paid. Anyone who had an opinion about how to improve things were not liked by the department management because it made them look like the bad management that they clearly are. Promotion was non existant if you weren't willing to bend over and kiss a**e.... Turn over of staff was high for all of the above reasons. Worst place I've ever worked
Pros
Some colleagues were friendly
Cons
Low Pay - Very Poor Management - Unrealistic Expectations
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CVS Group
22 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are very sorry to hear about your experience while working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, so we would be happy to learn more regarding your review and how we can improve as a company. Please do reach out at recruitment@cvsvets.com to discuss any time. Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Great place to work with a competitive salary and great company benefits and a wide perk variety. The team I work with are fantastic and incredibly compassionate. CPD allowance snd support and encouragement to develop with opportunities to progress
Pros
Wide support network, good work life balance, good hours
Cons
Can at times be difficult to get through to the right person to help, can sometimes be difficult to get maintenance support on site if needed
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CVS Group
15 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have worked for many corporates within the profession, but CVS is the first one where I feel the support from company every day. As a leader I have the opportunity to make a difference within my team and the profession as well.My colleagues are hard working and passionate individuals who put the pets first.I love the daily challenges of complex clinical cases and being able to support my colleagues and bring the best out of them.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CVS Group
15 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have worked for CVS on and off since 2007 I left for a short period and returned. The company is great to work for they offer so much training and development and I feel really care for what you want to achieve. I’m lucky enough to be in a senior practice management role and they allow me to run my practice how I want to. We have had investment in buildings, systems, equipment and people that we have needed and every step is supported! Having a huge company to turn to for advice is fantastic if you don’t know something or just want someone to bounce ideas of they are just a call away! I would not want to work for any other company it’s not an exaggeration to say I love my job and the company make my role fun and rewarding albeit a bit stressful at times!
Pros
Cpd, expertise, good work life balance, excellent career progression
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CVS Group
11 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have only been employed for a month but already feel valued and appreciated. My colleagues on site are excellent. The support I have had from my peers and managers across the group has been brilliant.Early days yet but I love my job and look forward to the challenges ahead. I worked for another vet group for a number of years and my experience to date here is superior across the board
Pros
Given free reign but know the support is there if needed
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CVS Group
3 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Official response from CVS Group
4 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
CVS Group is by far the best company I've worked for. My team and wider colleagues are so supportive and I always feel as though my ideas are heard and listened to. I am always being encouraged to challenge myself, whilst fully being supported by my manager. I definitely see my career at CVS as lifelong, and I've already met some fantastic people along the way. I have also noticed that everyone, including exec management, really do care about their people and their wellbeing. We have amazing initiatives and management take the time out to check on their colleagues and see how they're really doing. I never feel like a 'number' and am never treated as such.
Pros
People, workplace culture
Cons
absolutely nothing
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CVS Group
28 January 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Official response from CVS Group
1 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Official response from CVS Group
4 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Official response from CVS Group
3 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I joined CVS Group late 2020 and love it. The whole company are so supportive. I joined in the middle of the pandemic and have always felt welcomed, included supported and secure. Management is great and are always there to help if required. I also feel included in every aspect of my role with CVS Group which can be rare for new starters sometimes! We are all remote workers currently and at not one point have felt alone I feel this is so important for so many!
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CVS Group
26 January 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
There is great team work at CVS and we take great pride in what we do. The clinical teams on the front line are quite amazing, doing incredible things for our animal patients.
Pros
Team work, great pride in what we do, amazing clinical teams on the front line
Cons
long hours, lack of clear branding or identity across the business
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CVS Group
26 January 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work! We also value your feedback regarding what we can improve in terms of branding and identity, so please feel free to reach out at Recruitment@cvsvets.com to discuss at any time. Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
CVS is by far the BEST company I have ever worked for. Whilst being a large corporate, they make every single individual feel like a valued employee, and not just a number ( as others do). They have a great support network-Not only do they care about your mental well-being, but they want you to be happy in your role. They are focused on giving the best animal care alongside making sure all employee's are happy. Great benefits, good salary, brilliant colleagues and overall a fantastic company to work for.
Pros
Great benefits
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CVS Group
26 January 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Since starting in mid-December I have been made to feel part of the team. A positive experience from the moment I applied for the job.My role requires me to liaise with colleagues throughout the business and since day one, everyone I've interacted with has been so welcoming and supportive.
Pros
Friendly atmosphere, professionalism, staff wellbeing.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CVS Group
26 January 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
My time with CVS has been consistent change for the better with support throughout the difficult period working under Covid regulations. I feel a very valued member of staff and i believe the company genuinely care about the wellbeing of their employees. I have no negatives and enjoy every minute of my role.
Pros
Respect and freedom to contribute to the group success.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CVS Group
26 January 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Everyone wants to work and they all enjoy their jobs. This creates a very enjoyable work atmosphere. All staff are willing to help each other out. The company is stiving to be the best, with this positive changes are happening which will only help with future development for CVS.
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CVS Group
26 January 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Unprofessional colleagues, didn’t make me feel welcome at the beginning so didn’t feel I fitted in from the get go. If anything they made me feel stupid for making little mistakes or asking questions. I was given the worlds worst jobs. Didn’t feel valued as a member of staff, colleagues were very rude and spoke about each other as they left the room. Bad mouthed clients and partner surgeries too so a very unfriendly atmosphere in my opinion. One girl spoke very nastily to a poor cat which was the final straw of me handing my notice in. No flexibility although I told them beforehand I worked two jobs. I would find myself upstairs pretending to do training in the office on the computer as I felt so uncomfortable each day. And much much more...Not a nice place at all. Don’t bother !!! Worst place I’ve ever worked! Do not recommend!
Pros
The animals, veterinary experience.
Cons
Long hours, rubbish pay, unreliable payroll/HR, rude and unwelcoming staff.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CVS Group
26 January 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are very sorry to hear about your experience while working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, so we would be happy to learn more regarding your review and how we can improve as a company. Please do reach out at recruitment@cvsvets.com to discuss any time. Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have been employed with CVS for five years and have had 3 different roles. Things are advancing and developing all the time offering lots if opportunities to develop your career. There is a focus in personal development and there are lots options for all levels and roles. There is a genuine culture of valuing employees and wanting to offer a career for life.
Pros
Good benefits
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CVS Group
26 January 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I've worked for CVS for 2 years, I came from another national corporate who was retail focused and brought in none experienced former retail managers and the values were lost. CVS are focused on the best animal care and helping their employees succeed to help grow the business. They're true to their values. They have a good support network especially supportive of those with poor mental health. Great benefits, good salary altogether a great company to work for.
Pros
Staff discount, flexibility, support network.
Cons
Don't have any
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CVS Group
26 January 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I worked here for just over a year. It requires tough skinned people due to the abuse from clients and no back up from management. I was forced to leave as not comfortable around a certain vet after being cornered. I did raise a grievance but noone in CVS took it seriously and did not see the severity of the situation like everyone else did outside of the practice. There isn't mental health support for any colleagues either.
Pros
an hour lunch
Cons
Bullying
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CVS Group
26 January 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are very sorry to hear about your experience while working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, so we would be happy to learn more regarding your review and how we can improve as a company. Please do reach out at recruitment@cvsvets.com to discuss any time. Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Management are bullies,I think they get the job on how horrible they are, you can never do enough for them they just pile more workload on you, they will make your life a misery if your face don't fit, many staff take time off with stress, they make life so unpleasant to force you out. The vets get paid bonuses on the amount of money they make. I loved my job before CVS took over, but they bullied all the old company's staff out, so glad I got out of there
Pros
The animals
Cons
Management, regional managers, pay, breaks
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CVS Group
26 January 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are very sorry to hear about your experience while working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, so we would be happy to learn more regarding your review and how we can improve as a company. Please do reach out at recruitment@cvsvets.com to discuss any time. Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Please avoid, company is very money orientated, every month they check how much you earned for the company and send you feedback which has nothing to do with clinical skills.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from CVS Group
26 January 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are very sorry to hear about your experience while working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, so we would be happy to learn more regarding your review and how we can improve as a company. Please do reach out at recruitment@cvsvets.com to discuss any time. Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
  1. Employee reviews