CVS Group logo
CVS Group
3.1 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

CVS Group Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

3.2
Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 122 reviews matching the searchSee all 130 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Really enjoy working for this company

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
I have worked for cvs for almost a couple of years now. I have gone from a receptionist to a PCA/auxiliary in a short amount of time, and now working towards being able to do student nursing. I had not worked In a vets before, but had worked with animals for years. This company and this emergency practice, along with my management are helping me move up. I also find they are very big on mental health, we have mental health first aid and many options to get help. Don’t get me wrong improvement can always be done, sometimes the job is very stressful (we are an emergency vets after all) and we can be under staffed at times. But our management are always trying to get cover when it’s needed. The team are a great bunch and always very helpful. We always try to make people feel welcome and included.

Pros

Great team and learning opportunities

Cons

Long hours and can be stressful
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great company to work for

Very supportive environment. Big on mental health. Take covid very seriously and look after staff welfare. Encourage CPD and career progression. Great company.

Pros

Support, funded CPD, career progression encouraged.

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Stressful No Support

Im very upset on how I have been treated working for cvs this is due to management mainly at my particular branch. I cant comment on Cvs as a whole but my branch was the worst place I have ever worked. There was no support at all from managers they don’t respect you at all and aren’t professional. They have made me so ill and I dreaded going into work everyday it was unbearable. Other colleagues were also very rude and treated you very disrespectfully and managers didn’t care or take it seriously. They have literally driven me out of the door and its so sad as I love working as a Receptionist in a Vets as thats always what I have loved to do in my previous jobs. This Vets is the worse I’ve ever worked no structure they pay you so poorly to do horrible hours and the company are all money orientated. High staff turn over and they just treat you like a number. High managers are awful not approachable at all plus they aren’t there half the time it looks as if they make their own rota up. The mangers would never praise you for your hard work but would always say something negative and nitpick such silly things to bring up and give you unnecessary logs which really knock your confidence as its always such negative feedback. They have literally made my life a misery for the last 2 years I’ve been so unhappy and I’m so glad I have escaped from there finally as I couldn’t take it any more. Im disgusted with how I’ve been treated and would never recommend this particular branch to anyone. They also show favouritism to the rude members of staff and allow them to get away with speaking - 

Pros

Working around animals

Cons

Stressful, Poor Management, Poor Pay
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Not supportive

Worked for 3 weeks and was made to feel so stressed I had a mental breakdown meaning I had to take day off work. When I returned the next day instead of speaking to me about this and asking why it happened I was told I no longer had a job and had to leave. Not good for a company who I was told were big on making sure their staffs mental health was important
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Career progression

I have been working for CVS for almost 7 years, in this time they have supported me in training as an Animal Nursing Assistant, to train and qualify as a Registered Veterinary Nurse, and now I am the current Practice Manager. I am lucky to have such a supportive team and I genuinley love coming to work every day. I look forward to continuing my career progression within CVS and giving others the same opportunities that I have been given.
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Supportive and people-centred workplace

Have worked for the practice for 16 years and as part of CVS for 3 years. We continue to work to a high clinical standard, have day-to-day clinical freedom, with the support of head office. CVS have invested heavily in the practice. Yes there are targets but they relate to good animal care and are sensible and achievable. Remuneration is good, with bonuses regularly paid to all staff. CVS is actively working hard to put its staff at the core of its business.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

The best company I have ever worked

I have 20+ years of experience in the veterinary industry and I can easily say that CVS is the best company I have ever worked for. I never feel that I am part of a 'big corporation' because almost everything is decided on the ground level, in the practice. The team is superb; hard-working, conscientious, friendly and fun colleagues and I am supported by my peers, my line manager and the colleagues in Support Office.The practice is busy with lots of interesting, challenging and complex cases. It is not for the faint-hearted, I admit, but if one wants to achieve great things, it is a place to be.

Pros

Great support, stimulating environment, interesting and challenging case load.

Cons

Long hours that are not for everyone.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Supportive and progressive company

I have worked for CVS for 9 years as an RVN, Head Nurse and Now Practice Director. Throughout this time I have felt supported and encouraged to progress. I have been funded through advanced qualifications and rewarded for my hard work. There is a path for progression for everyone and clinical excellence is encouraged.

Pros

Many perks such as sharesave, enhanced maternity, productivity bonus and annual leave buy/sell options.

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CVS Group

1 April 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

A great company and great values!

I've worked here for nearly 6 months and I'm really enjoying my time in the organisation. CVS is great, very supportive, excellent teams to work alongside and they encourage everyone to share their ideas!! They promote work-life balance and the company really appreciates the effort that everyone makes. If you're willing to get involved and be part of all the projects and initiatives that are underway, then this is a great company to work for. Highly recommend.

Pros

great sharesave scheme!

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CVS Group

22 March 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Supportive and helpful environment

CVS are a fab company to work for, they provide the right balance of support and freedom and their employee care is second to none. Would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for work in the veterinary field.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CVS Group

15 March 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC

Jobs at CVS Group

See more jobs
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Encouraging work friends but poor management

The job role itself is fun and exciting, the people I work with are amazing and feel they're my friends for life. Patient care on a good day is rewarding and the vets are always approachable. Unfortunately the same cannot be said in regards to senior roles and management. They themselves scold us for poor patient care and advise us to always strive for greatness but I feel I cannot approach them about how bad it is to manage the workload with the little staff we have. We have lost nurses and they haven't been replaced, which I can appreciate recruiting nurses is difficult in the current crisis. But they continue to double op and not consider how many nurses we have in on shift, leaving patients to recover without any checks and causing burn out for the employees. It would be the most suited practice for myself if management stopped increasing our workload and provided actual care for the nurses that work non-stop. What I have learnt so far is you cannot rely on other team members if you feel patient care has not been a priority. It is sad that I have to say goodbye to some really good friends.

Pros

Exceptional colleagues and a nice environment (on a good day)

Cons

No real rewards, poor pay and refusal to update wages when doing 4 nurses jobs at once
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CVS Group

1 March 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are very sorry to hear about your experience while working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, so we would be happy to learn more regarding your review and how we can improve as a company. Please do reach out at recruitment@cvsvets.com to discuss any time. Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

CVS and proud!

CVS and my practice support me to meet my potential. Cpd is actively encouraged and inspired. Applying for courses is easy too - we have our own portal!I used to work for a privately owned clinic which was then bought out. Since the conversion I have developed into a Head Nurse role and I can see there are other opportunities for career development which I find exciting as many other companies dont offer these career opportunities to RVNs. CVS pay well also!CVS actively seek opinions for how to provide a better service and work life ratio which includes a meeting of all the representatives from each clinic. Its a way to get our voice heard. I have no plans from changing my employment.I would say if someone is unsure about working for CVS to get in touch with a practice and ask the company!

Pros

Developments

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CVS Group

23 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Avoid - avoid - avoid

Worked at Head Office in Diss in the finance department. It is the lowest paid place that I have ever known yet the expectations are highly unreasonable and when there were problems the Managers done a disappearing act and it was left to staff to work out themselves and some of those were incompetent back stabbers. Spent half of my time taking calls from customers, clients and regional practices that hadn't been paid. Anyone who had an opinion about how to improve things were not liked by the department management because it made them look like the bad management that they clearly are. Promotion was non existant if you weren't willing to bend over and kiss a**e.... Turn over of staff was high for all of the above reasons. Worst place I've ever worked

Pros

Some colleagues were friendly

Cons

Low Pay - Very Poor Management - Unrealistic Expectations
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CVS Group

22 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are very sorry to hear about your experience while working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, so we would be happy to learn more regarding your review and how we can improve as a company. Please do reach out at recruitment@cvsvets.com to discuss any time. Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Mostly an amazing place to work

Great place to work with a competitive salary and great company benefits and a wide perk variety. The team I work with are fantastic and incredibly compassionate. CPD allowance snd support and encouragement to develop with opportunities to progress

Pros

Wide support network, good work life balance, good hours

Cons

Can at times be difficult to get through to the right person to help, can sometimes be difficult to get maintenance support on site if needed
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CVS Group

15 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Autonomy, team work and high standards of care

I have worked for many corporates within the profession, but CVS is the first one where I feel the support from company every day. As a leader I have the opportunity to make a difference within my team and the profession as well.My colleagues are hard working and passionate individuals who put the pets first.I love the daily challenges of complex clinical cases and being able to support my colleagues and bring the best out of them.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CVS Group

15 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Forward thinking progressive work place

I have worked for CVS on and off since 2007 I left for a short period and returned. The company is great to work for they offer so much training and development and I feel really care for what you want to achieve. I’m lucky enough to be in a senior practice management role and they allow me to run my practice how I want to. We have had investment in buildings, systems, equipment and people that we have needed and every step is supported! Having a huge company to turn to for advice is fantastic if you don’t know something or just want someone to bounce ideas of they are just a call away! I would not want to work for any other company it’s not an exaggeration to say I love my job and the company make my role fun and rewarding albeit a bit stressful at times!

Pros

Cpd, expertise, good work life balance, excellent career progression
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CVS Group

11 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Very happy in my short time here

I have only been employed for a month but already feel valued and appreciated. My colleagues on site are excellent. The support I have had from my peers and managers across the group has been brilliant.Early days yet but I love my job and look forward to the challenges ahead. I worked for another vet group for a number of years and my experience to date here is superior across the board

Pros

Given free reign but know the support is there if needed
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CVS Group

3 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC

Official response from CVS Group

4 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Best company I've worked for by far

CVS Group is by far the best company I've worked for. My team and wider colleagues are so supportive and I always feel as though my ideas are heard and listened to. I am always being encouraged to challenge myself, whilst fully being supported by my manager. I definitely see my career at CVS as lifelong, and I've already met some fantastic people along the way. I have also noticed that everyone, including exec management, really do care about their people and their wellbeing. We have amazing initiatives and management take the time out to check on their colleagues and see how they're really doing. I never feel like a 'number' and am never treated as such.

Pros

People, workplace culture

Cons

absolutely nothing
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CVS Group

28 January 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC

Official response from CVS Group

1 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC

Official response from CVS Group

4 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC

Official response from CVS Group

3 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Supportive and Friendly workplace

I joined CVS Group late 2020 and love it. The whole company are so supportive. I joined in the middle of the pandemic and have always felt welcomed, included supported and secure. Management is great and are always there to help if required. I also feel included in every aspect of my role with CVS Group which can be rare for new starters sometimes! We are all remote workers currently and at not one point have felt alone I feel this is so important for so many!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CVS Group

26 January 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great people, doing amazing things for animal healthcare

There is great team work at CVS and we take great pride in what we do. The clinical teams on the front line are quite amazing, doing incredible things for our animal patients.

Pros

Team work, great pride in what we do, amazing clinical teams on the front line

Cons

long hours, lack of clear branding or identity across the business
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CVS Group

26 January 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work! We also value your feedback regarding what we can improve in terms of branding and identity, so please feel free to reach out at Recruitment@cvsvets.com to discuss at any time. Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Brilliant company to work for!!

CVS is by far the BEST company I have ever worked for. Whilst being a large corporate, they make every single individual feel like a valued employee, and not just a number ( as others do). They have a great support network-Not only do they care about your mental well-being, but they want you to be happy in your role. They are focused on giving the best animal care alongside making sure all employee's are happy. Great benefits, good salary, brilliant colleagues and overall a fantastic company to work for.

Pros

Great benefits
Was this review helpful?

Official response from CVS Group

26 January 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us, we are so happy to hear that you have had a positive experience working at CVS Vets. We value all of our current and former employee's feedback, and will be highlighting this to our teams to keep up the great work!Kindest Regards,CVS Group PLC

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CVS Group. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1

Based on 130 reviews
5
51
4
17
3
1
2
21
1
40

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.2Job security/advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture

Compare CVS Group with