Call-In Homecare Ltd
Happiness score is 58 out of 100
3.2 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

Call-In Homecare Ltd Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom61 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 61 reviews matching the searchSee all 64 reviews
officecaresupportlongstafftraininghouryear

Happy

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
I have worked at call in homecare for over 2 years. I enjoy visiting my service users and the variety of my role. I struggled doing personal care for a while but soon realised it was about the service users needs and making sure that they feel looked after and if us carers didn’t support them, sadly they wouldn’t be able to live in their own homes. I feel supported in my role and happy to be part of call/in homecare team.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Call-In Homecare Ltd

30 August 2022
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us this positive review - it really means a lot to the team. We understand that the personal care may be challenging so offer continual training to support. It is great to hear you understand the importance of supporting our clients and allowing them to live in their own homes. Thank you for your continual support and hard work.Best wishes, Lois Adamson - Communications and Social Media Manager

Lovely job but very tiring

Lovely working with people who appreciate you long hours good pay overtime always available discounts and benefits better job if you have a car rather than walking

Pros

Lovely job

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Call-In Homecare Ltd

12 September 2022
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave us this glowing review. It is so lovely to read you enjoyed working with us. On behalf of all the Call-In Team, I'd like to wish you the best of luck with all future endeavours. Best wishes,Lois Adamson - Communications and Social Media Manager

Insights into Call-In Homecare Ltd

Based on 16 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Trust in colleagues
  • Overall satisfaction

Great place to work

Since joining the company, I have felt welcomed and supported. They provide you with the necessary tools to be able to do your role. The training has been great, with time to learn in between / take notes and making sure the ground work is in place. Looking forward to continuing to work for the group.

Pros

Great working environment

Cons

none
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Call-In Homecare Ltd

30 August 2022
It is wonderful to read you have loved working within the finance team at Call-In. It is particularly nice to hear you found our office training of a high standard, equipping you to do your job so well.We hope you continue to love working with Call-In. We are delighted to have you!Best wishes, Lois Adamson - Communications and Social Media Manager

Reliable company -

I have worked for the company for over 15 years, I have loved job security, good training experiences, having a contract, flexibility, set shifts, overtime always there if needed. Found everyone to be helpful and supportive if you ask for help.Very fast paced due to it being homecare but enjoyable

Pros

Secure contract, plenty work

Cons

can be long hours due to having four days on then four off
Was this review helpful?

Great Clients

I have worked on a few runs whilst at Call-In and all the clients are great. Appreciate the support and love to have a chat. Office are supportive and there is always plenty of overtime. Full training and shadow shifts given so I felt supported to start my job as I have never done care before. Shadowing 'buddy' was very supportive and answered any questions whilst we worked. Good staff. Good communication with the office.

Pros

clients, supportive, wellness programmes, store discounts
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Call-In Homecare Ltd

29 August 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review. We completely agree that all of our clients are brilliant and really make the job! Our training department are delighted to know you found the support in starting this career of such a high quality. Thank you for your work with us. We hope you continue loving the job.Best wishes,Lois Adamson - Communications and Social Media Manager

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Flexible Working, Good Management

I enjoy working in the community. My shifts are flexible around my university schedule and can change weekly if needed. Office are understanding and supportive of development in my career. Clients are lovely and appreciate the support. Days can vary as you complete a wide range of tasks for clients from personal care to medication. Would recommend to anyone looking for a flexible career in care.

Pros

Flexible Working, Supportive Office, Lovely Clients
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Call-In Homecare Ltd

29 August 2022
Thank you for this wonderful review. We fully agree that flexibility is a core element of the perfect job, allowing you to work whilst also enjoying your studies. It is brilliant to read you feel supported in this career and have been accommodated by our office team. On behalf of all the team, we wish you the best of luck with you studies and want to thank you for your work with us. Best wishes,Lois Adamson - Communications and Social Media Manager

Supportive and engaging environment

I love working for Call-In Homecare, the environment is supportive and welcoming. I really enjoy having the opportunity to meet so many different people in recruitment and working together with the services to find the right people for the role of care assistant.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Call-In Homecare Ltd

29 August 2022
Thank you for leaving us this brilliant review. Your support in creating a great team of care assistants is sincerely appreciated by all of our office team, fellow care assistants and service users. Again, thank you for this review and your continued brilliant work. Best wishes,Lois Adamson - Communications and Social Media Manager

Amazing workplace with amazing Colleagues

Since starting with Call-In Homecare I have been supported with my role, have already benefitted from personal development offers and enjoy every day I attend work. Managers are supportive and take time to check in on you during your shifts. Lots of opportunities for career development.

Pros

Supportive Work Environment

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Call-In Homecare Ltd

29 August 2022
It is brilliant to read such a positive review - thank you for taking the time to leave it. Our team always go above and beyond to help each other and I'm very glad you've found this since starting. We hope you continue enjoying your career at Call-In. You are a brilliant addition to the team!Best wishes,Lois Adamson - Communications and Social Media Manager

Diverse workforce

I enjoy working with Call-In homecare as each day is different, I get to meet lots of different people.As with every home care provider there is challenges but working with a dedicated management team helps greatly, they are always there to support and are not scared to roll their sleeves up and help.

Pros

meeting lots of different people and helping people live independently in their own home.

Cons

long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Call-In Homecare Ltd

29 August 2022
Thank you for leaving us this review. It's great to read that you enjoy working with us. We agree that the diverse workforce and each day being different are two wonderful elements of the job! Our management team are also delighted to hear you find them supportive. Thank you for your work with us - we appreciate you. Best wishes,Lois Adamson - Communications and Social Media Manager

Great team.

Been with call in for 6 years Great management in the West Lothian area they go the extra mile for their staff. Always plenty shifts and overtime when needed.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Call-In Homecare Ltd

26 August 2022
Hi, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this great review. We are delighted to read about the great management and your job satisfaction. From the West Lothian team and myself, thank you for your 6 years of work with us - we appreciate everything you do for our Service Users and team.Best wishes,Lois Adamson - Communications and Social Media Manager

Excellent Company that feels like family

I have worked for Call-Inhomecare for nearly 3 years and it feels like family. My clients feel like my family also. The Management team are excellent and always are there if I even need just chat. They have made my job easy and I love it. I wish I had done this years ago. I have also had the opportunity to do my SVQ Level 3, which I have since completed. Amazing company to work for. Love the support I have received.

Pros

Good wages
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Call-In Homecare Ltd

29 March 2022
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this great review. The team are delighted to hear how much you are enjoying the role and feel at home with us at Call-In Homecare - this is always a priority. Additionally, congratulations on completing your SVQ3. Thank you or your continued support.Best wishes,Lois Adamson,Communications and Social Media Manager

Decent place

Loved working here. Used to do 4 on 4 off which meant you knew your hours. Always worked in my area I started in, very consistent but sometimes they’d need a favour but a decent place to work

Pros

Rota is great

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Call-In Homecare Ltd

29 March 2022
Thank you for leaving us this kind review. We are glad you appreciate the merits of operating a 4 on 4 off shift pattern. We believe all of our team members' time is incredibly valuable. We wish you the best of luck with everything in future, and thank you again for taking the time to support us with this review.Best wishes,Lois Adamson,Communications and Social Media Manager

Horrible company to work for

Constantly phone you to cover shifts but get treated horribly if you don’t do it , carers working 12 days 12 hour shifts but no thanks for it , you have to travel on 2 buses to get kit

Pros

No pros

Cons

Long hours Not worth the pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Call-In Homecare Ltd

3 February 2022
Hello. Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - we appreciate your honest feedback. I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time working for Call-In Homecare. We strive to ensure all our team feel valued. If you are comfortable doing so, we can discuss this further. Please contact me at loisadamson@call-inhomecare.co.uk.The team and myself wish you the best of luck with current employment and the future.Kind Regards,Lois Adamson,Communications and Social Media Manager

Help to do SVQ3 and training

Call-in lets you do your SVQ3 when you work for them, this is very helpful for a career in care. Also, they gave me a few days training before starting and let me follow carers at work to help me get started. Happy in job atm.

Pros

training help

Cons

can be tiring
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Call-In Homecare Ltd

25 January 2022
Thank you for leaving a review - very happy to hear you enjoyed both the training and the job. We love being able to offer our carers development opportunities. Thanks for your hard work!Best wishes,Lois Adamson, Communications and Social Media Manager

Not a career

Pay ends up being very poor and varies week to week as you aren’t paid travel time and sometimes as much as half an hour travel between clients. Can work 7am - 9pm days and not even paid 10 hours. No consideration that people are relying on steady income. Very little office support, not valued.

Pros

Clients all great

Cons

Long hours for little pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Call-In Homecare Ltd

21 January 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I've passed on your feedback to the relevant teams who forward their thanks for feedback also. If you would like to discuss this further with me or share more detailed information, please contact me at loisadamson@call-inhomecare.co.uk.Best Wishes,Lois Adamson,Communications and Social Media Manager

Great Refer a Friend Scheme

The company offers a £300 refer a friend scheme which is good. After telling my friends about my wage and 4 day working pattern, lots of them were interested in working at Call-In. Win-Win!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Call-In Homecare Ltd

1 February 2022
Hello, thank you for leaving this review. I'm delighted to hear you've made use of our £300 refer a friend scheme. Wishing you and your friends the best of luck in the role.Best wishes,Lois Adamson,Communications and Social Media Manager

Full training and helpful team members

I'd never had a job in care before so the training was helpful. Now I feel confident in my work, management helpful too if i have a problem. Long shifts but love the service users and get 4 days off which is good.

Pros

Full training and helpful managers

Cons

Long shifts
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Call-In Homecare Ltd

18 January 2022
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to hear you found our full training helpful - I've passed your note of confidence onto our training and operations teams. Best wishes,Lois Adamson,Communications & Social Media Manager

service Users the best. company not so.

Did a walking run, was supposed to be 5mins in between. Was given service users that were over half an hour walk away, when I complained & said that’s an hour of unpaid work, they said get the bus, keep your tickets & you’ll be refunded. The buses on my route meant I would have to get 2 buses there & 2 buses back, but your next service user you were given 5mins to get there!!!! Think they had too many Service users & not enough staff to cover. All together worked 12hrs & only got paid for 7 as the rest was getting from 1 service user to the other.

Pros

Service Users were lovely.

Cons

Long hours, only get paid the time in Service Users homes not travelling.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Call-In Homecare Ltd

13 January 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - we really value your opinion. I'm sorry you experienced logistical issues with our operations. If you are comfortable is discussing this further, please contact me at loisadamson@call-inhomecare.co.uk. It would be great to raise this with the relevant persons internally. Best wishes,Lois Adamson,Communications and Social Media Manager

Hard going and rubbish management!

The most honest review I could give, at the start they will be your best friend, extra nice you feel so appreciated and like you have someone to go to if you need help, few months down the line, you need to call 20 times to get through for help or advice, the friendliness disappears if you don’t agree to work ever hour under the sun, will put you into clients with no information on what needs done, you’ll never receive a well done or your doing great, money looks okay but when you have lots of gaps in between visits and are only paid per visit and not hour it doesn’t work out great! Clients are lovely but very fed up never knowing who’s coming in the door, due to high staff turn over and being moved a lot. A lot better places to work for.

Pros

Lovely clients

Cons

Under appreciated, long hours, hard to get support from managers.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Call-In Homecare Ltd

13 January 2022
Thank you for your honest review - it helps us improve our team support at Call-In Homecare. I'm sorry you had a poor experience. Communications is an area we are continually aiming to expand, with progress across the board. I'd like to extend this conversation if you are willing to give more feedback. Please contact me at loisadamson@call-inhomecare.co.uk if you are comfortable doing so.Kind Regards,Lois Adamson,Communications and Social Media Manager

Avoid as a very last option.

The hourly rate was not paid if you were on foot as opposed to motor from each client seen meaning that if you walk from one client's house to another as their carer, you are not paid for your traveling time.

Pros

work you might be recognised

Cons

Long hours, some you will not be paid for.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Call-In Homecare Ltd

13 January 2022
I'm sorry you've had a negative experience with working hours. We operate a 4-days work and 4-day rest policy to ensure our team have sufficient time to recuperate between shifts. Thank you for your working commitment.If you are comfortable doing so please contact me at loisadamson@call-inhomecare.co.uk so we can explore additional support options. I look forward to hearing from you.Best wishes,Lois Adamson,Communications and Social Media Manager

Management unprepared, worst I've ever worked in my life

You start by waiting more than 15 days after the interview, then you need to take a 3-day course at the company and with a theoretical test where you are at the company's disposal but you are not paid for any day. (They should re-evaluate that) They usually put you in the worst Run that nobody wants to do, even if you don't have any previously experience. The WORST thing is the “management” that is unprepared and is not interested in meeting your needs, only meeting their own goals, which in the long deadline does not work in any company. That's could be the reason they're looking for many employees, for a time, many do not accept to stay too long.Runs pretty tiring, customers are pretty nice. You’re not be paid for being at the company's disposal all day (around 12/14 hours) you are only paid for the minutes inside the client's home and you DO NOT receive for the displacement. Hourly value meets the market.

Cons

Long Hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Call-In Homecare Ltd

13 January 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review us - your feedback is very valuable. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your experience working for Call-In Homecare. We uphold high standards of staff training and support. If you would like to share more of your thoughts on how this can be supported, please reach me at loisadamson@call-inhomecare.co.uk. Looking forward to hearing from you.Kind Regards, Lois AdamsonCommunications and Social Media Manager

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Call-In Homecare Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 64 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.5 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.3 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.2 out of 5 stars for Management
3.2 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Call-In Homecare Ltd with

Learn about Call-In Homecare Ltd in popular locations

  • Companies
  • Call-In Homecare Ltd
  • Employee reviews