DHL
Happiness score is 52 out of 100
3.7 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

DHL Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 2,829 reviews matching the search
See all 19,434 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I think everywhere where every you go is always the same. Either you got very poor management or bad people. Unfortunately this two things are most important to be happy coming to work but most likely we go because we need to pay bills and support ourself and family . There are not many companies where you are so fortunate to love the job, people and place. I think we always can find what we want if you want to look for perfect job.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
A few good people lol., don't go If you want training or progression, gets slayed by the hauliers you work with , pathetic guidance to help you work
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours no extra pay or thankyou
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Very poor management mostly Eastern European. Didn't know what they were doing from one day to the next.Avoid at all costs.Also very cold to work in and equipment constantly breaking down.
Pros
Learn polish
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I won’t recommend at all. Bad management, not very easy job. Even if you are doing your target before the hour ends, they ask you to do more and more. I was treated differently because I was hard worker and Romanian. I come out from this company with excessive stress and depression. Be careful what you choose!
Pros
Training, you will learn a lot of thinks
Cons
Bad management, lifting all around the shift
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Not the place to work as a young female. Not only are the men at this job rude, they are predatory and will make advances towards you, and they will intimidate you. A typical day at work, if you cannot carry heavy loads, will end up with you being very tired. You will be required to do a lot of work for not enough money. The day is very long and the managers do not help.Managers are also predatory and are not encouraging. The most enjoyable part of the job is leaving it. Some days it took hours to get home because of the time.
Pros
Canteen
Cons
Long hard hours that aren't worth the money
Was this review helpful?
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Promoted agency before contracted staff. Bullying managers. Incorrect shared PPE. Rates set way to high for products picked. Cold uncaring managers. Poor uniform allocation.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
if you are a bum licker then great - you will fit in, if you have medicalproblems after sick pay you will be let go.i worked 12 yrs total, 7yrs on the same route due to my anxiety but they did not care and after 8 mths off sick due to them wanting to rotate me, they let me go - i loved my job but not dhl.
Pros
plenty of overtime, but moaned at, if to much
Cons
poor upper management, life skills
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
If you value your days off don't bother the warehouse is run on annualised hour contract where as they can call you in at anytime or send you home so you don't know if your coming or going and if you like your weekends off don't bother your likely to get a Wednesday and Thursday off or Sunday and Monday
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Annualised hours, rubbish shift patterns, development managers who haven't a clue
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Generally it's good no major concerns until it gets to productivity. They will claim you aren't fast enough and that your not meeting targets, but they will not inform you of what said targets are. This seems to be tactic by management to get the best out of there employees but merely puts undue stress on them. In my personal experience they will ask unqualified people to take on task they are not qualified for even after being informed by the them that they are not capable. They will also give unqualified staff responsibilities that they shouldn't have.
Pros
General staff are nice
Cons
Management. Orginization. Strange operating procedures. If you need anything (login for IT services, or id to access the site it takes weeks). A high potential for human error.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Company reputation can take you as far as it can take you. Wrongly assessed depot. Not fit for purpose. Randomly choosen menagement without basic knowledge and relevant experience. Overall very, very poor experience. Looked like set up to fail. Such a shame.
Pros
Funds spent on employees extras.
Cons
Too many to list.
Was this review helpful?
Help us improve!
Is Indeed your favorite place to learn about companies?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Friendly and fair Good moral and good management Enjoyed my time working for DHL. Preferred the ore 9 work less multi drops but great place too work early starts early finishes good for work life balance
Pros
Good pay if self employed
Cons
Better too be employed for permanent
Was this review helpful?
Official response from DHL
1 March 2021
Hello,Your positive comments and review is greatly appreciated! It's very nice that you considered your work experience to be a good one in terms of work-life balance and compensation. These are key areas in our path to being a Great Place to Work!Your feedback is very useful for Jobseekers looking for opportunities in indeed. Thanks again for your review and for the effort and dedication with us. Good luck with all future projects! Take care!Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
After having just under a years experience in office work, I applied for DHL and was excited when I was able to start due it being a large corporation, despite the tedious joining process. After a few months of joining, I had a pleasant experience up until Christmas period and thereafter, which was the busiest period yet. Instead of supporting us during these busy times, DHL felt it appropriate to cause further stress by threatening jobs as we were not reaching sales targets. Which they further made difficult to do in January by reducing the clients we could target but still expecting the same results. On multiple occasions, health of employees was being ignored and companies KPIs were being given more importance and so would not recommend to others working here.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from DHL
1 March 2021
Dear colleague, We appreciate that you took the time to share this review with us. We are very sorry that your experience decreased during your time with the company. We regret that confusion and a feeling of insecurity were created during a very busy and stressful period of the year. The points you highlight - no support, job insecurity and employees not heard - should be be properly evaluated on site and any problems that arise should be solved in a constructive cooperation in close communication with superiors and with your human resources department. We are fully aware how difficult it can be - especially when the pressure of work is high, conflicts arise or unpleasant decisions have to be made. This requires a high degree of openness and willingness to approach each other, but only with the joint effort of all stakeholders this can be solved. Only doing this we will become better as a company. We hope that this will help in increasing your feeling of working for an employer which cares for the employees, because this is what we emphasize the fullest. Take care and stay safe. Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Not paid enough to work with dangerous prisoners. We are told we are not in any danger, even though plenty of DHL HMPPS employees have been assaulted. Management cares more about kpi's than their staffs well-being and safety.
Pros
Good working hours
Was this review helpful?
Official response from DHL
19 February 2021
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to evaluate us as an employer. We regret that your experience with us as a warehouse team leader has not been 100 % satisfactory.We are very sorry that you didn't feel supported by your management in your challenging working environment. We hope that you have shared your concerns with your local human resources department to create awareness on the situation. Your points of indication can only be correctly assessed on site and any problems that arise should be solved in constructive cooperation in close communication with superiors and the the local human resources department.We wish you all the best for your future and that you and your loved ones stay safe!Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I am very grateful for my job at DHL and I enjoy it very much I work hard to achieve great lamps for DHL so they can succeed at such a crucial time in this current climate with covid etc I will continue to do so if possible
Pros
Pleasant place fun
Cons
Approach to tasks from others needs work
Was this review helpful?
Official response from DHL
29 January 2021
Dear colleague,We are very honored with your positive comments and the 4-stars rating you give us. Your commitment and trust make possible our outstanding performance in such difficult times for all, it is much appreciated!We are grateful for having employees like you who understand the importance on working on continuous improvement actions and providing feedback to peers and supervisors to keep our high standards for customers and employees.Your positive remarks regarding our benefits are actually in alignment with our purpose to providing the best possible compensation to our employees at all levels. This is why we offer competitive salaries and many benefits to add value to our company as an Employer!Keep up the good work and watch out for development and growth opportunities!Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Great team, great company. Training is first class, advancement opportunities everywhere. They value the staff and treat everybody fairly. Really recommend working here.
Pros
fabulous canteen
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?
Official response from DHL
28 January 2021
Dear colleague,We are greatly honored to receive the maximum rating for your experience as a Manager. Motivated leaders like you are key to maintaining a friendly and positive work environment. Thank you for that!As you probably already know, one of the best attributes of DHL is its people and we are happy that you enjoyed working together with your colleagues, as one, during your time with us.Learning and advancement opportunities are available in a wide range of options for all levels, such as virtual webinars or Instructor lead training, coaching sessions with leaders or in-the-job activities. All of them make us grow and development. We hope you make the best use of these learning and we wish you the best in your future professional steps.Keep up the good work and stay safe!Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Very hard manual work but the pay was great and I got in with everyone.Lots of walking and standing on your feet. I always wanted to work 4 nights instead of 5 as the 5 took over my life.Management selection seems to be who you know, not how hard you work and that got me down.
Pros
Friendly staff, good money
Cons
Hard work, poor management choices
Was this review helpful?
Official response from DHL
27 January 2021
Hello, Thank you for taking your time to evaluate our company.In DHL we strive to provide our workers the best possible conditions and friendly work environments to continue our path towards being an Employer of Choice.Fair treatment among our colleagues is one of the basic principles we pursue in our company. We are sorry that you experienced this differently. We are always looking to improve our management organisation in terms of employee feedback and we invite our employees continuously to make suggestions for improvement. An open and transparent discussion is important to us. We emphasize to our employees to feel free to contact their human resources department and share your experiences/ suggestions for improvement with them.Best wishes in all future professional challenges and personal projects. Keep safe!Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
As FCSA you must do everything: deal with tracking parcels, bookings, sales...Total chaos, plenty of managers and few staff; no proper support or training. Stressful environment, 3-4 times per day emails with sales, sales sales. They don't have dedicated queues for different actions, customer screaming they are paying too much on hold, short breaks, no time between calls, you don't know who to approach from HR if you have a problem, pro-rate of the holidays is not when you want, is when THEY want.One day, for example, was 6 managers/spvr and 4 executives on the office....6 managers.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Short breaks, lack of training, managerial chaos
Was this review helpful?
Official response from DHL
28 January 2021
Hello,We appreciate your transparent feedback regarding your experience as a Customer Service advisor. Your comments are very important to define the improvement actions required in this workplace. We strive to have realistic and fair work schedules on all our levels and we will continue to work to ensure this. We advise our employees to openly discuss topics related to workload to find the best solution. We will continue to work with our leaders and employees to ensure all feedback is considered and that the best possible work environment can be offered. We regret that in your case we couldn't meet your expectations.Hopefully you will find what you are looking for soon and your experience with DHL will be useful! Good luck!Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The management sucked didn't have any respect for the employees they were shouting and making fun of us. They don't follow the safety rules for the heavy objects nor for the coronavirus. Dirtiest place bad management not good payed. Oh and the way they send peoples things they just throw them even if they are fragile or food it's crazy!!!! Don't go! Not worth to loose your health and mind there
Pros
Non
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?
Official response from DHL
29 January 2021
Hello, We're sorry that you lived a not satisfactory experience working for our company. We deeply regret your expectations concerning management were not met.After all, you emphasize some serious points - lack on safety procedures, rudeness behavior towards employees and the handling of shipments - can only be properly assessed on site and any problems that arise should be solved in constructive cooperation in close communication with superiors and human resources departments. We are aware how difficult it can be, especially when the pressure of work is high, conflicts arise or unpleasant decisions have to be made. This requires a high degree of openness and willingness to approach each other, but this can only be resolved through the joint efforts of all those involved. Only in this way can we as a company become better.We are very thankful for your efforts and dedication despite the challenges you faced. Best of wishes for your future, your professional and personal next steps. Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Working here it's OK evry day it's different. Money is Good and they let you get on with your job.They lack little bit on communication but overall the management and admin staff are friendly and helpful. The only dawnturn is that you don't know in advance if you are going to have a long or short day ahead.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from DHL
28 January 2021
Hello,Thank you for this great review, we are very pleased that you felt appreciated and supported during your time with DHL.We encourage a two-way open, honest and respectful communication policy within our company. Should our employees have any questions, doubts or points of improvement, they can always contact their management or human resources department Thank you very much for your dedication during the time you have worked for us. All the best for your future.Best regards,Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Enjoyed working,with helpful colleagues. I have enjoyed my 10 years with DHL,and I was having a good experience. Management was high level, very happy to be there.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from DHL
28 January 2021
Hello, We are very happy to receive your 4 star review and to know that you have been part of DHL for 10 years!We are delighted that you had such a memorable time with our big yellow family. Reading your review gives us the confirmation that we are doing our job of taking care of our employees and appreciating them, very well. Thank you very much that you were part of this foundation which keeps our company standing not only in good times, but also in challenging times. We wish you all the best for your professional development and hope that you and your family remain secure in these difficult times!Your Employer Branding Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Enjoyable when I first worked there, but soon became a difficult place to work at when younger employees joined as they were always looking to get one over experienced staff because they thought they knew better.Willing to tell tales to management to get what they wanted and had no respect for experienced staff.
Pros
None
Cons
Younger staff favoured by management.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from DHL
29 January 2021
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to evaluate us as an employer. We regret that your experience with us as a warehouse operative has not been 100% satisfactory.It is very important to us that our employees enjoy coming to work. Bullying at work is therefore a behavior that we as a company will not tolerate under any circumstances. We are sorry that you have had negative experiences in our company in this regard. We hope you have shared your concerns with your human resources department, only by sharing information we can make improvements.Thank you for your dedication and loyalty during the time you spent with us, all the best for your future projects.Your Employer Branding Team
  1. Employee reviews