DHL
Happiness score is 50 out of 100
3.7 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

DHL Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom3,299 reviews

Ratings by category

3.5Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 3,299 reviews matching the searchSee all 21,719 reviews

Insights into DHL

Based on 600 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Support from manager
  • Trust in colleagues

Ok workplace

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Decent job, good simply to get by. Repetitive work but supportive co-workers.Especially at Friday/Saturday/Monday, there can be too much work to carry out and sometimes does feel like we're not getting paid enough for this
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

13 May 2022
Dear colleague,Your great review makes us very happy! We would like to thank you for your confidence in us as an employer and for the effort you invest in the company.What is indeed a challenge is the fact that activities like that of an operator are not different every day and there is a lot to do, especially in times like these. However, we are continuously working on optimizing this to relieve our employees as much as possible. Each employee should receive remuneration that is tailored to his or her work. We are sorry that you felt your remuneration was unfair. We would be happy to talk to you again personally and learn more about your situation. Feel free to contact your human resources department and share your experiences or suggestions for improvement with them. Thank you again for the important service you provide every day.Warm greetings Your DHL Team

Too much emphasis on selling!

The procedures and practices made it impossible to give good customer service and help the companies customers without breaking the rules. Management were more interested in your selling capabilities than treating existing customers well. Staff were unable to take breaks etc without notifying management and chided if they were 30seconds late getting back to the queue of calls that seemed endless.

Pros

You had to work from home due to lockdown

Cons

Not enough training and experience wasn't a good thing to have!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

17 May 2022
We always strive to create the best possible working conditions for our employees. We continuously strive to improve our technology, internal processes, and working conditions.Your satisfaction, as well as the satisfaction of our customers, is our priority. The fact that you felt the training was inadequate is a concern and something we will look into.For this reason, we do everything we can to optimize the working environment and work-life balance of our colleagues. Of course, this doesn't always happen at the same speed everywhere, but we're working on getting a little better every day.We wish you the very best for your future and hope you will soon find what you are looking for in your working environment.Your DHL Team

Warehouse operative

Great company .lovely staff and employees. Everyday was fun. one of my favourite places that I have worked at . A company that really care for staff .
Was this review helpful?

Very Demanding heavy going with the highest drop i had into the 50s. try and find out for yourself!

The whole job is really hard and challenging with very big demands. Trying to get basics for your job regarding gloves for example? I would not go back for any amount. No drug or alcohol tests for drivers which was very concerning due to an experience!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

13 May 2022
Hello,We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience as an employee of DHL with us. We are fully aware that work can be very stressful, especially at these special times. For this reason, we do everything we can to continuously optimize the working environment and work-life balance of our colleagues. And if it doesn't always happen at the same speed everywhere, be sure that we're working on getting a little better every day.Therefore, we are recruiting and hiring new employees continuously to be able to process the large volumes of shipments worldwide.We are sorry that we have not given you, as an employer, the appreciation you deserve.Thank you for your dedication and loyalty during the time you spent with us. All the best for your future projects.Best wishesYour DHL Team 

Lovely place to work

Worked within a small team who were all very friendly. At times would have to work fast to hit target, the managers are very considerate of colleague input.

Pros

The pay is very well

Cons

Lack of resources at times
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

12 May 2022
Dear colleagueThank you very much for your 4-star rating. It shows us that you experienced working with Deutsche Post DHL as a positive experience. We are exceptionally satisfied that your group is characterized by solid cohesion. A great working climate and colleagues who treat each other reasonably contribute to a concordant working day. As a company, we would like to advance this in the most credible way.It is important to us that the superiors in our teams always have an open ear for their employees to clarify possible problems in an individual, personal discussion. We are pleased that you feel that you are in good hands with your manager. As a rule, we offer reasonable and competitive compensation packages in all markets in which we operate. We always aim to offer our employees attractive compensation packages within our possibilities.Thank you again for the service you provide every day!Best wishes,Your DHL Team 

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Hard and Stressfull

No simpathy from anyone from office. Expect to do 2 runs everyday. The hardest part is to unload very havy loads with broken pallet trucks and all by yourself. Company don’t follow any risk assessment and trainners follow driver time by time to check if doing the job right.

Pros

Plenty overtime

Cons

Long hours, poor mantained working tools
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

12 May 2022
Hello,Thanks very much for sharing your feedback with us through this review.We regret that you were not satisfied with your work at our company during your time with us as a driver.At DHL, we strive to provide our employees with the best working conditions and remuneration to make them feel valued by us. We comply with all applicable local laws regarding working hours, including overtime, rest breaks, and paid vacation. Whenever these or any other guidelines or policies are violated, we encourage our employees to reach out to their senior leaders or local HR teams so this can be investigated. We sincerely apologize for the unfair treatment you received.Thank you for your dedication and loyalty during the time you spent with us.Your DHL Team

Slow paced, boring work.

Job advertised as fast paced environment couldn't be further from the truth, its a slow paced boring job and to top it off wages are always wrong. Management cant do there job properly don't reply to anything you ask, if for some reason it does get busy line manger freaks out, staff stress out and people walk out all the time its so dysfunctional.

Pros

Clocking out at the end of a shift.

Cons

Clocking in' makes no difference still don't get paid properly.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

12 May 2022
Hello,We have carefully read your detailed feedback and we are very sorry that you are not 100% satisfied with DHL.At DHL, we strive to provide our employees with the best conditions and remuneration to feel valued. We comply with all applicable local laws regarding working hours, including overtime, rest breaks, and paid vacation. Whenever these or any other guidelines or policies are violated, we encourage our employees to reach out to their senior leaders or local HR teams so this can be investigated. We sincerely apologize for the unfair treatment you received, and we will strive to do better in the future by ensuring that all employees have a route for escalation when something isn't right. We wish you all the best in the future and thank you for your efforts.Your DHL Team

Corrosive atmosphere

Very poor staff and management. Communication non-existent. Training was very difficult to get. Staff lazy and disorganised. Wage slip very difficult to understand and often wrong. Holiday booking process was a joke.

Pros

Close to home

Cons

Poor organisation
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

12 May 2022
Hello,Thanks very much for sharing your feedback with us through this review.We regret that you were not satisfied with your work at our company.The fact that you felt the training was inadequate is a concern and something we will look into.It is important to us that supervisors in our teams always have an open ear for their employees to clarify possible problems in an individual's personal conversation as quickly as possible.Our cooperation is characterized by mutual respect, openness, sincerity, and a common understanding of trusting cooperation - to achieve maximum productivity, creativity, and efficiency.It is very important to us that our employees feel comfortable in their working environment and with their team.Among our ranks, there is a desire to continuously improve every part of our organization, including the routes and work distribution. We wish you the very best for your future and hope you will soon find what you are looking for in your working environment.Your DHL Team

Avoid this place

I worked here for less than a fortnight as it became too stressfull.The job itself was easy until they started to move us around to sections we had no experience on. I was put on a production line by myself handling heavy goods and alcohol at a very fast pace. It was really stressful and the hours were long with short breaks. Barely anyone spoke English so it was hard to understand simple instructions which made me feel guilty for getting things wrong.

Pros

Decent pay Free transport

Cons

Long hours Short breaks Language barriers Stressful
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

9 May 2022
Hello,Thanks very much for sharing your feedback with us through this review. We regret that you were not satisfied with your work in our company. At DHL, we strive to provide our employees with the best conditions and remuneration to make them feel valued by us. We comply with all applicable local laws regarding working hours, including overtime, rest breaks, and paid vacation. Whenever these or any other guidelines or policies, are violated, we encourage our employees to contact their senior leaders or local HR teams so that the matter can be investigated.We sincerely apologize for the unfair treatment you received, and we will strive to do better in the future by ensuring that all employees have a route for escalation when something isn't right. We wish you all the best in the future and thank you for your efforts.Your DHL Team

Very good company

Very good company , I like it all, the management and other driver are all doing very well, no cons at all. Good salary and good pension , I just love it , suggest to everyone .
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

9 May 2022
Hello,You make us proud with a 5-star rating! Thank you very much for being a part of our DHL family and for your efforts to make our company the world leader in logistics. Fantastic to hear that you are so passionate about your work and that the management is very supportive. That is how it should be!We encourage managers to be aware of stress in the workplace and take steps to combat this before it gets out of control. Feel free to contact your human resources department and share your experiences/ suggestions for improvement with them. We wish you all the best and thank you for your excellent work during your time with us!Warm greetings Your DHL Team

Good pay, but payroll is dreadful

The managers were great, the work was a bit boring and was hard to balance social life when working on rotational shifts. Payroll was terrible,loads of problems with pay.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

9 May 2022
Hello,Thank you very much for your feedback. The experience of our employees and the constructive and critical reports help us identify areas of opportunity and implement needed changes.The superiors in our teams must always have an open ear for their employees to clarify possible problems in an individual, personal discussion. We are pleased that you feel that you are in good hands with your manager. We are fully aware that work can be very stressful, especially in these times. For this reason, we do everything we can to continuously optimize the working environment and work-life balance of our colleagues. And if doesn't always happen with the same speed everywhere, be sure that we're working on getting a little better every day. Best wishes in all future professional challenges and personal projects, we hope your experience with us can be of use. Warm greetings Your DHL Team

Excellent work environment

Good to work for Dhl. The benefit is great. The company is currently going through different phases of reconstruction at individual contracts. Hence, employee are experiencing lots of uncertainty. The pros however outways the cons.

Pros

Job security

Cons

Work life balance is missing.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

9 May 2022
Dear colleague,Your 5-star rating is proof that we are doing the right thing to be an Employer of Choice.We work continuously to offer our employees additional benefits. In our opinion, this is a form of appreciation. We are pleased that you have received it so positively and have been able to use it to your advantage.The issue of workload is, especially in the current situation, an issue that has a high priority. We strive to improve the working conditions for our employees within the scope of our possibilities and enable a good work-life balance. Good work planning is part of a well-functioning working day and ensures that stress is reduced. For this reason, we do everything we can to optimize the working environment and work-life balance of our colleagues. Of course, this doesn't always happen with the same speed everywhere, but we're working on getting a little better every day. Thank you for your ongoing efforts and dedication to us.Take care and stay safe. Your DHL Team 

Decent

Good place to work with good staff. Nice canteen with varied food. And left alone if you have a decent boss. Very big on health and safety. Hated if ever off sick

Pros

Nice food

Cons

Take it personally if off ill
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

4 May 2022
Hello,We want to deeply thank you for your feedback but more importantly for you crucial work as a Warehouse Operative. You make it possible for DHL to connect people, improving lives, day after day.Your highlight of our employee benefits reflect our goal to retribute fairly our employees at all levels, this can be done by a combination of competitive salaries, strong benefit packages and respectful guidance and support from your leaders. We hope your experience at DHL can be of much use in your future endeavors and wish you all the best,Your DHL Team

Good place to work

Always been flexible to my needs (childcare).Good management who was always there to speak to if needed, and helped with any issues.Only leaving due to site closure.

Pros

Flexible
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

4 May 2022
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review on Indeed - we sincerely appreciate it!Also, we are grateful that you emphasized some major points of our company culture - employee engagement, positive leadership and flexibility. This is truly at the core of what we are and what we do. Since you miss working for DHL, please check out our career website and the most recent vacancies in your area here: https://careers.dhl.com/global/en. We hope you will find something of interest to you and that you will rejoin us again soon.All the best to you and your loved ones in Castleford,Your DHL Team

Bad

Stressful like nothing else and never been paid correctly yet !, no one communicates and managers Carnt manage, wouldnt recommend anyone to go here as will bring nothing but stress

Pros

None

Cons

Hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

4 May 2022
Dear colleague,We regret that you haven't had so far the experience that you were expecting. Ensuring that our employees receive their fairly earned salaries and payments at the right time is a priority to us, as we want to retribute you and make you feel valued for the work you do on a daily basis.Please reach out to your local HR office or to senior leadership in case the issues with the payment persist. We will continue to optimize our delivery routes and manage our teams to enable a balanced distribution of the workload. Wishing you to soon experience improvements in these situations that you mention, all the best to Hebburn,Your DHL Team

Below minimum wage

If you are employed directly by DHL you get paid a decent hourly rate, but if you are unfortunate enough to be working for a subcontractor you will be paid less the minimum wage. I only worked here because I was desperate and that I got made redundant from my last employer.

Pros

Work colleagues are brilliant to work with.

Cons

Very poor wages and no pension plan
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

10 May 2022
Hello,We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your time working for DHL.We are pleased that your team has a strong sense of unity. A pleasant working environment and colleagues who treat one another fairly contribute to a pleasant working day. We want to spread the word as widely as possible.DHL strives to provide the best working conditions and remuneration to our employees so that they feel valued by us. We follow all applicable local labor laws, including overtime, rest breaks, and paid vacation. When any of these or other guidelines or policies are broken, we encourage our employees to contact their senior leaders or local HR teams so that the matter can be investigated.We wish you the best in future personal and professional projects and hope you will soon find what you are looking for in your working environment. Best wishesYour DHL Team 

Very stressful and bad management

Terrible management it’s run really badly and don’t care about their workers at all and try to puss you for goals wich isn’t realistic and bad equipment

Pros

None

Cons

Very stressful bad management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

10 May 2022
Hello,We appreciate that you took the time to leave us your review.DHL expects its managers to serve as role models for employees across the Group, not only motivating them but also demonstrating how their work helps the company achieve its goals. The promotion of this management style is a recurring theme in all development initiatives.We regret that you felt that the management did not have an open ear for employees. Stress is undoubtedly one of the biggest problems faced by the modern workforce. In recent months we have already worked intensively on some of the topics you mentioned.We wish you much success and satisfaction in your next job. But most of all, thank you for all your efforts and patience. Best wishes,Your DHL Team 

A corrupt place where management creates unnecessary positions for their friends and family.

If you start working there, you are immediately assigned to one of the groups: the chosen one and those who are have to do the job. It depends a lot on your background.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

10 May 2022
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback helps us to improve continuously, which is why we particularly appreciate it. We are aware of how important it is for employees to work together within a team and the company as a whole. It is therefore all the less pleasing that you have had to experience the opposite with us. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your time at our company.Thank you for your dedication and loyalty during the time you spent with us, all the best for your future projects.Stay safe, and all the best.Your DHL Team 

Alright Work for PCR packing

It was alright work and the people were nice but when you didn't have enough resources around for everyone to get it began to get stressful yet boring quick.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

30 April 2022
Hello,Thank you for your honest and constructive feedback. Your experience as a warehouse Operative is valuable as you play a key role in the day-to-day operation of our company. You make possible that DHL achieves our mission of connect people, improving lives! Thank you for that!Your hard work was appreciated. If you would like to join us for a similar or an entirely different role feel free to check available positions in your area: https://careers.dhl.com/All the best,Your DHL Team

Fast pace robotic humans

You are just a number, and you must keep working at a very fast pace. You must keep up with the line of parcels else you are not good enough to work here.

Pros

None

Cons

Work until your fet bleed
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

12 May 2022
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedbackWe are sorry that you were not satisfied with your time at our company and that the work was stressful.In recent months we have already worked intensively on some of the topics you mentioned to increase employee satisfaction.Of course, this doesn't always happen with the same speed everywhere, but we're working on getting a little better every day.We sincerely apologize for the unfair treatment you received, and we will strive to do better in the future by ensuring that all employees have a route for escalation when something isn't right. We wish you all the best in the future and thank you for your efforts.Best wishesYour DHL Team

Nice shift

Good place to work but high turnover of staff, mostly the fact of mandatory flexi almost every day so really can't plan your day. Apart from there sometime they can be quite stressful with hitting targets

Pros

Bonus

Cons

Flexi every day
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

10 May 2022
Dear colleague,We are deeply thankful for this 4-star rating! Your feedback helps us continue on the right track regarding the positive aspects that you highlight. In particular, we are happy to know that you enjoy the work with DHL. When a workspace is unhealthy, it impacts employee retention. That makes employee turnover inevitable, which places additional stress on your business.Let’s explore the benefits of working toward a better work-life balance with your manager. Feel free to contact your manager and share your experiences/ suggestions for improvement in terms of work.Stay safe, and let us know how we can help if you need support. Warm greetings to Maidstone! Your DHL Team 

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DHL. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 21,719 reviews

Ratings by category

3.5 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.5 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.3 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.3 out of 5 stars for Management
3.5 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare DHL with

  • Companies
  • DHL
  • Employee reviews
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?