DHL
Happiness score is 51 out of 100
3.7 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

DHL Employee Reviews in Birmingham

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
Birmingham172 reviews

Ratings by category

3.5Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 172 reviews matching the searchSee all 23,171 reviews
lorryparcelcanteenwarehousedrivercolleaguepickingprogression

Good staff and nice working environment

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
The team leader was really friendly and a nice person. They helped you if you needed help and would support your during hard times. It has very strong security so no danger was happening

Pros

Free parking

Cons

Breaks are really short only 30mina
Was this review helpful?

Not a great culture

Not a great culture, can’t speak for the sites in its entirety however my particular site has terrible management and poor staff morale. Senior management is poor, limited experience and knowledge in people management.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

24 November 2022
Hello,You took the time to thoroughly rate us, and you voiced your displeasure loudly. That is regrettable, and we deeply regret it.Our goal is for you to feel respected and valued by us, and that we are an employer of choice for you in good and bad times, which was not the case at your Tyrefort location.We expect our managers to be role models for employees across the organization.A great leader will make a team productive, motivated, and happy. Successful managers are critical to propelling a company forward by motivating existing and new employees, as well as retaining and recruiting top talent.The fact that you felt the management was inadequate is cause for concern, and we will investigate. Of course, this doesn't always happen at the same rate everywhere, but we're getting better every day.We wish you the very best for your future and hope you will soon find what you are looking for in your working environment.Your DHL Team

Insights into DHL

Based on 1,264 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Support from manager
  • Trust in colleagues

Pays the bills, bus be prepared for brick walls

It's a fast paced environment, and there are plenty of training options, but moving up is a Nightmare especially if they Overfill with Agency workers.Warehouse work is long hours and Various lifting of parcels but there is support from the team.Operational wise; hours are too long, wok can be OVERLOADING & you leave everyday dreading coming back which does carry over into the AM.Management is questionable at the best of times and very "YES" oriented and scared to say No to drivers, Advancement is near-impossible & Don't even consider a Social life during the weekdays, you won't get one.You won't get any forms of a social life as said earlier and trust me you feel the impact, the Hours again are Overkill & don't even think about looking for the next step (I.E. Supervisor) they old lot in those spots are Stubborn & will work till death!Only pro is they do offer a good-ish pay but in the current work when you have Royal Mail striking every week, they could boost employees pay, especially when they send emails out bragging how much the company has mad (and trust me the Staff DON'T see any of it come back to them, unless your customer Service who are Useless at best)
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

20 October 2022
Dear colleague,Thank you for your input. We are sorry to hear that your experience at our site in Birmingham has been far from satisfactory so far. Being a administrator is a demanding position and very important to our business operations.Among our ranks, there is a desire to continuously improve every part of our organization, including the routes and work distribution. For this reason, we rely on our employees to come forward with constructive criticism and improvement feedback. Feel free to contact your manager or HR colleagues to talk about these topics.Nevertheless, thank you for all your hard work and effort so far. You make a difference by connecting people and improving lives!We wish you and your loved ones all the bestYour DHL Team

Relaxed workplace

Good place to work at supervisor is a good man doesn’t be to pushy just asks if you can do a favour and if u can u earn more I would recomend this job

Pros

Goodie box for the drivers

Cons

Heavy parcels
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

4 October 2022
Hello,We appreciate your honest feedback - thank you!As a company, DHL highly values all of its employees, no matter the level in the organization, because we are all integral to making the big yellow machine operate as smoothly as possible. We are happy to hear that you found your Delivery Driver position straightforward and that you were comfortable with asking and receiving help from your supervisor when needed. Those are great qualities in a workplace!We hope you enjoy your future projects,Your DHL Team

Always looking over your shoulder

Just interested in getting awards they do not care about their workforce forced to go on brain washing courses to tell you how essential they are to everyday living great contract to work on if it weren't for the people in charge

Pros

None

Cons

Untrustworthy
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Good prospects

Felt appreciated and enjoyed working here. I’m pay not great. Understood about my family work life balance and offered me flexible working hours. Very fair company
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

29 August 2022
Dear colleague,Thank you for your positive review - we genuinely appreciate it!We are grateful that you have given recognition to our flexibility as an employer and the satisfaction with your life balance. This is something we intend to offer every employee in the company.In regards to the salary, DHL offers competitive compensation and bonus packages to its employees. HR colleagues and recruiters can discuss with you the details of a certain salary range or value proposition for each job vacancy.All the best to Birmingham,Your DHL Team

ignorant

not appreciated for doing job of 2 people and certain people still want more, some people think they're in charge but they aren't, being taken for granted working 6 mornings a week need a payrise to reflect what i do there.

Pros

early start and finish

Cons

taken for granted
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

20 August 2022
Dear colleague,Your feedback and review mean a lot to us. We regret that you have felt as taken for granted, this certainly doesn't represent our vision and aim as an employee-centric company. Our strive is to become an Employer of Choice and make our workers feel valued and cared for.Please reach out to your local HR colleagues to provide more detailed feedback and have an open discussion about it.Hopefully the experience in your site in Birmingham will begin to improve shortly and with your constant feedback we can make sure to progress in the right direction.All the best to you and your loved ones,Your DHL Team

Pay

For as hard as you work and for the profits this company is making over the last 2/3 years pay is really bad. DHL will tell you quarterly how good they are doing financially but still as a billion dollar machine they don’t pay great.

Pros

Free water

Cons

Bad pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

21 July 2022
Dear colleague,Thank you for taking the time to rate our company. We regret that your experience as an Operation Op was less than ideal.Positive outcomes for you, your supervisor, and the organization as a whole should result from good supervision.It is not only a good idea, but it is also very healthy to provide free drinking water at work. We are delighted to accomplish these in your case.Each employee should be compensated appropriately for his or her work. We regret that you felt your pay was unequal. We would be delighted to speak with you again and learn more about your situation. Please contact your HR department and share your experiences/improvement suggestions with them.Nevertheless, thank you for all your hard work and effort so far. You make a difference by connecting people and improving lives!Stay safe, and please let us know if there is anything we can do to assist you.Warm greetings to BirminghamYour DHL Team 

Opportunities if you make the effort

Started as an operator 2013 and am now an FLM have worked in several areas and various shift patterns building a good reputation among my peers and reports. It’s lower level management,and you can succeed if your committed and consistent. The moneys not bad some days can be a bit hectic and you get to manage all types of people, some of who can be awkward for the sake of it but on the whole the benefits outweigh the costsI actually really enjoy it

Pros

Holiday purchase, training, overtime

Cons

Heavy union presence, occasional petty employees
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

13 June 2022
Dear colleague,You make us proud with a 5-star rating! Thank you very much for being a part of our DHL family and for your efforts to make our company the world leader in logistics. Fantastic to hear that you are passionate about your work and that the management is very supportive. That is how it should be!If you want to advance in your career, show employers that you are working toward your full potential.Without you and all the other colleagues, we would not be the company we are today. A positive working environment provides several benefits for both employees and employers. Knowing your employees’ skills and behavioral styles is essential for maximizing efficiency, and every manager knows that communication is the key to a productive workforce.Let’s celebrate the fact that we can accomplish great things when we work As One.Thank you for being part of the big yellow family. A warm greeting to BirminghamYour DHL Team

Great place to work, great hours, great people.

Great place to work, the sort team was some of the best people I've ever worked with, hard work but the time flew byManager didn't listen about how large my work load was and I ended up injured other then that best place I've ever worked.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

10 May 2022
Dear colleague,You make us glow with pride receiving your remarkable 5-star rating. We are delighted that you have such a great time with our big yellow family. Reading your review gives us the confirmation that we are doing our job of taking care of our employees and appreciating them very well. In recent months we have already worked intensively on the topics you mentioned to increase employee satisfaction.Of course, this doesn't always happen with the same speed everywhere, but we're working on getting a little better every day. Thank you very much. You are part of this foundation that keeps our company standing not only in good times but also in challenging times.Take care and stay safe. Your DHL Team 

Productive

Best job I ever had . People ,management,all staff are friendly and supportive always helpful . Strongly recommended to anyone who wants to start he's career in logistics.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

26 April 2022
Hello,Wow! Thank you a lot for your excellent 5-star review! We are very happy to see that you have found DHL to be the best work experience of your life. This definitely shows that we are indeed a Great Place to Work.Our employees are our most valuable asset and their satisfaction is of the highest priority to us. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors and that you continue to enjoy being part of DHL,Your DHL Team

Not for the long haul

I joined as a graduate on a scheme whilst the pay was decent from straight out of uni, you did pretty much stay on that unless you were in a good close relationship with contract management. Little to no advancement unless wanting to work in HR or Operations, after 3yrs I moved on as my line manager made it clear there was no room for me to further myself. A sad harsh reality, but showed more character of them than me. Build your own network when you work here, you’ll need them to gain any further knowledge or contacts as each contract is in its own bubble.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

8 April 2022
Hello,We appreciate that you took the time to leave us your positive review.Your feedback allows us to continuously improve, which is why we value it so much.As a rule, we offer reasonable and competitive compensation packages in all markets in which we operate. We always aim to offer our employees attractive compensation packages within our possibilities.Our business success depends above all on the commitment and know-how of our employees. We are always willing to offer our employees opportunities for further training and development and to extend these to all our employees within the scope of our possibilities. We wish you all the best for your future professional career and personal life. Take care and stay safe. Your DHL Team 

Not good

Terrible management no sense of who is in charge run bad to far to travel no one cares about well-being safety practices at not followed poor environment for health

Pros

Nothing

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

24 March 2022
Dear colleague,Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback.We take every case extremely seriously. In DHL we strive to provide our employees the best conditions and remuneration to make them feel valued with us. We comply with all applicable local laws regarding working hours including overtime, rest breaks, and paid vacation. Whenever these or any other guidelines or policies are violated, we encourage our employees to reach out to their senior leaders or local HR teams so this can be investigated. We sincerely apologize for the unfair treatment you received, and we will strive to do better in the future by ensuring that all employees have a route for escalation when something isn't right. Stay safe, and let us know how we can help in case you need support. Best wishes,Your DHL Team 

Picker

Worked for both agency and DHL Never had any problems or issues just got on with work. Busy environment time goes quick. Management are not very professional and hardly speak to you can make you feel isolated.

Pros

Plenty of new skills to learn.

Cons

N/a
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

14 March 2022
Hello, Wow - thank you for such a fiery 5-star review! It's great to see that you have loved your time with DHL and would recommend us to others as well. This is what we want to be: an Employer of Choice and a Great Place to Work for everyone! Thank you for all the hard work you have done for us! We wish you all the best in your future endeavors, Your DHL Team

Not a nice company especially based at Solihull

Poor place to work especially for your mental health as no one seems to care about that witbing the work place especially based at Solihull, my advice is steer clear and don't be fooled by the good pay

Pros

9 peice breakfast for £4

Cons

Poor management and too clicky and very bad for your mental health
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

26 January 2022
Dear colleague, Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us through this review. We work continuously to offer our employees additional benefits. In our opinion, this is an important form of appreciation. We are pleased that you have received it so positively and have been able to use it to your advantage. We regret that you feel that the management does not have an open ear for employees. We are always looking to improve our management organization in terms of employee feedback and we invite you to make suggestions for improvement. An open and transparent discussion is important to us. We are sorry that we have not been able to achieve this in your case. We would be happy to learn more about your personal experiences. Feel free to contact your human resources department and share your experiences/ suggestions for improvement with them. Stay safe and let us know how we can help in case you need support. Greetings to Birmingham Your DHL team

Nice

Not bad place to work stressfull like any warehouse. Christmas time the money was really good. I met couple nice colleagues there I also develop a bit my English.

Pros

Good pay

Cons

a bit far, bad management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

17 February 2022
Hello, Many thanks for this 3-star rating! We are pleased that you feel sufficiently valued in our company. We are always keen to offer our employees appropriate remuneration. We put great emphasis on the fact that our employees feel comfortable in their working environment. A realistic schedule that is adapted to the employees should always be part of the work planning. Good work planning is part of a well-functioning working day and helps to reduce stress. That also has a positive effect on private life. We are pleased that we succeeded in achieving a balance with you. We wish you good luck and lots of success with your future projects. Warm greetings to Birmingham! Your DHL Team

Si

Full of back stabbing sneaks trying to either progress by belittling others or sucking up to the management. Some of them double crossed each other in order to take the lions share of overtime. Also very clicky and probably the most selfish workforce I have ever had the misfortune to meet. Pay is good but environment is awful.

Pros

Good pay

Cons

As previously stated.
Was this review helpful?

Agency

Was working for a agency for 5 years while all the women and office staff was getting full time contracts poor management just a number never go back 👍

Pros

Non

Cons

Poor management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

1 November 2021
ello,Thank you for your input. We are sorry to hear that your experience at our Birmingham site was far from satisfactory. Indeed, being a Reach Truck Driver is a physically demanding position and very important to our business operations. It is hence crucial that our employees there get all the support and appreciation they need, especially from their management. We always try to do better, to continuously improve every part of our organization, including the managerial structure. For this reason we rely on our employees to come forward with constructive criticism and improvement feedback. Nevertheless, thank you for all your hard work and effort while working with us - we sincerely appreciate it.We wish you and your loved ones all the best,Your DHL Team

Productive

I worked long 20 years I had good job experience there good management, good team workers never had any problem I received positive feedback each time ,after corona pandemi I was bit concern about health issues I decide resign from company it was hard decision but,health serious important, for me after resign, I take long holiday to Turkey .
Was this review helpful?

Terrible place to work

DHL are a terrible company to work for, long days with no appreciation from the management I had to leave because of stress.I am a lot happier now working for Tesco.

Pros

Non

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Great lads to work with, but the management are clueless

Been working at DHL in hams hall (archers yard) and as drivers we've been screwed over on wages that's the main priority for management is to find away of cutting cost and they always aim towards drivers wages but not their own. Great lads to work with and the brilliant banter but we all feel the same regarding the management. It's a shame because it was a well relaxed yard to work in but since we lost our transport manager last year its gone down hill, with that it just shows your are only a number nothing else

Pros

None

Cons

Management, wages
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

30 June 2021
Dear colleague, Thank you for your input. We are sorry to hear that your main troubles lie with the different management. With DHL being a global company, sometimes it gets a bit hard to follow up on individual cases. Nevertheless, we are happy that you had enjoyed the management structure before as well as that you are still enjoying the work environment. We value our drivers very much, and their feedback/suggestions are always appreciated. In case supervisors are not responsive to your needs, we advise reaching out to senior management or the relevant HR department. That way, suggestions and issues still get formally noted, but more importantly, addressed. We wish you all the best in your career,Your Employer Branding Team

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DHL. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 23,171 reviews

Ratings by category

3.5 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.5 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.3 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.2 out of 5 stars for Management
3.5 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare DHL with

  • Companies
  • DHL
  • Employee reviews
  • Birmingham