DHL
Happiness score is 51 out of 100
3.7 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

DHL Employee Reviews in Coventry

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
Coventry77 reviews

Ratings by category

3.5Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 77 reviews matching the searchSee all 23,171 reviews
lorryparcelcanteenwarehousedrivercolleaguepickingprogression

It bridged a gap in employment

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
What can I say about this contract, it was enjoyable but it was an organised train wreck it was rewarding for the work we were doing and the opportunity I had for training was reasonable. I was offered a chance to change departments after working carefully and closely with the new department in helping them streamlining the warehouse stock. The new department were A Fantastic team to learn from and work alongside just it was unfortunate that a error took place that scuppered my chances due to an oversight from management. however the department was lead by some of the best management I’ve had the pleasure of working with . Overall the contract served its purpose
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

20 October 2022
Hello,Thank you for sharing your feedback.We are striving to improve our management organization. Being organised is a key challenge for any business in a competitive market. However, often the best source of organising is actually within the company itself – the employees.Everyone is different and we know that. It’s not about changing who people are, but encouraging and helping them to be the best versions of themselves, sharpening their strengths while understanding where they can advance. That is why your input is so valuable to us.Thank you for your dedication and loyalty during the time you spent with us, all the best for your future projects.Warm greetingsYour DHL Team

Just a number

Worked there nearly 10months . No uniform . Management threating and no skills . Just like the positions given to their friends . More and more hours given with no pay increase . Just a number for these guys
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

23 December 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your time in our company. Favoritism causes awkward and biased situations and is frustrating when your work ethic and devotion to your company continually go unnoticed while your coworker receives praise or special perks for what you perceive as less effort. We wish you all the best for your future and hope your professional and personal projects will be successful.Your DHL Team

Insights into DHL

Based on 1,264 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Support from manager
  • Trust in colleagues

Pays no good

The work is VERY DIFFICULT ( a lot of heavy lifting) so it requires a satisfactory pay. The pay doesn’t match the level of difficulty in there. I will not really recommend it unless you are strong af.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

20 August 2022
Hello,Thank you for your input. We are sorry to hear that your experience was far from satisfactory. Indeed, being a Warehouse Operative is a physically demanding position and very important to our business operations. It is hence crucial that our employees there get all the support and appreciation they need, and this includes a fair compensation. We always try to do better, to continuously improve every part of our organization. Please do reach out to your local HR department for any clarification or discussion regarding your compensation. We hope in the near future your experience improves and we can earn a better rating from you. We wish you and your loved ones in Coventry all the best,Your DHL Team

Avoid this place

I worked here for less than a fortnight as it became too stressfull.The job itself was easy until they started to move us around to sections we had no experience on. I was put on a production line by myself handling heavy goods and alcohol at a very fast pace. It was really stressful and the hours were long with short breaks. Barely anyone spoke English so it was hard to understand simple instructions which made me feel guilty for getting things wrong.

Pros

Decent pay Free transport

Cons

Long hours Short breaks Language barriers Stressful
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

9 May 2022
Hello,Thanks very much for sharing your feedback with us through this review. We regret that you were not satisfied with your work in our company. At DHL, we strive to provide our employees with the best conditions and remuneration to make them feel valued by us. We comply with all applicable local laws regarding working hours, including overtime, rest breaks, and paid vacation. Whenever these or any other guidelines or policies, are violated, we encourage our employees to contact their senior leaders or local HR teams so that the matter can be investigated.We sincerely apologize for the unfair treatment you received, and we will strive to do better in the future by ensuring that all employees have a route for escalation when something isn't right. We wish you all the best in the future and thank you for your efforts.Your DHL Team

Alright Work for PCR packing

It was alright work and the people were nice but when you didn't have enough resources around for everyone to get it began to get stressful yet boring quick.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

30 April 2022
Hello,Thank you for your honest and constructive feedback. Your experience as a warehouse Operative is valuable as you play a key role in the day-to-day operation of our company. You make possible that DHL achieves our mission of connect people, improving lives! Thank you for that!Your hard work was appreciated. If you would like to join us for a similar or an entirely different role feel free to check available positions in your area: https://careers.dhl.com/All the best,Your DHL Team

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

warehouse operative

Working in DHL is happy. People are nice and friendly. The pay is good, managers are easy going and kind. But there is no good management at all, policies keep changing.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

30 March 2022
Hello,Thank you for your input. It makes us happy to know that you are happy working at DHL in your Coventry site. Indeed, being a Warehouse Operative can be a demanding position but we are glad that you take it the best way and keep a positive attitude towards the work. In regards to the management topic you mention, please be aware that we strive to provide our leaders in the organization with all the necessary tools for them to take proper care of their teams and take the decisions that ensure we keep our great performance, as well as the employee satisfaction and engagement. Feel free to discuss this feedback with your direct supervisor so that the appropriate measures can be implemented.We wish you and your loved ones all the best,Your DHL Team

Good place to work

Fast paced environment, management pretty good, a lot of opportunities to make overtime. If you want to progress you just need to be a hard worker and show them that you're willing to learn more, they'll be happy to train you and answer all your questions. The payment is not too great but at least the break was paid. Overall I'll recommend.

Pros

Break paid, good management

Cons

Sometimes the workload can be overwhelming
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

22 March 2022
Hello,Thank you very much for your 4-star rating. It shows us that you experienced working with Deutsche Post DHL as a positive experience. That is great.Thank you for giving the management such a positive assessment. We are constantly striving to improve our management organization and are pleased that our initiatives are well received by our employees.Fantastic to see your interest in developing your professional skills within the company. We are always willing to provide opportunities for additional training and development to our employees and to extend these to all of our employees within the scope of our capabilities. As a result, we are even more pleased that you have already taken advantage of these opportunities.Thank you for your dedication and loyalty during the time you spent with us, all the best for your future projects.Warm greetings!Your DHL Team

Fast paced environment and very demanding. Good for active people

Very good environment for someone who is very active and is looking for new challenges. Nice and very supportive colleagues (most of them). Loads of trainings and opportunities, if you know how to use them.

Pros

Colleagues
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

2 February 2022
Dear colleague,Great - we love your 4-star rating! Reading your review, your former DHL location was effectively a "Great place to work".Thank you for giving the management such a positive assessment. We are always striving to improve our management organization and are pleased that our measures are so well received by our employees. It is part of our corporate philosophy to offer our employees individual opportunities for advancement within the company. We greatly appreciate that you have taken advantage of these opportunities.A good working atmosphere and colleagues who treat each other fairly contribute to a harmonious working day. As a company, we would like to promote this in the best possible way. With your support, we will continue the good work. Thank you for being part of the big yellow family. Stay safe and healthy! Your DHL Team

It’s bad as it gets

Worse management with no employee respect. They make us work like personal servants. I work in DHL Ryton Coventry UK and I would never ever recommend anyone to join there
Was this review helpful?

Dhl coventry life sciences

No equality in place, bad management. No respect you get treated like a number bad workers like greggory bad flm and managers need more training for them

Pros

Good salary good pension scheme

Cons

Bullys. Bad management
Was this review helpful?

Terrible place to work

Not the place to work as a young female. Not only are the men at this job rude, they are predatory and will make advances towards you, and they will intimidate you. A typical day at work, if you cannot carry heavy loads, will end up with you being very tired. You will be required to do a lot of work for not enough money. The day is very long and the managers do not help.Managers are also predatory and are not encouraging. The most enjoyable part of the job is leaving it. Some days it took hours to get home because of the time.

Pros

Canteen

Cons

Long hard hours that aren't worth the money
Was this review helpful?

Never good enough.

Generally it's good no major concerns until it gets to productivity. They will claim you aren't fast enough and that your not meeting targets, but they will not inform you of what said targets are. This seems to be tactic by management to get the best out of there employees but merely puts undue stress on them. In my personal experience they will ask unqualified people to take on task they are not qualified for even after being informed by the them that they are not capable. They will also give unqualified staff responsibilities that they shouldn't have.

Pros

General staff are nice

Cons

Management. Orginization. Strange operating procedures. If you need anything (login for IT services, or id to access the site it takes weeks). A high potential for human error.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

17 March 2021
Dear colleague,It’s fantastic that you took the time to share your insights with your potential future colleagues. This is exactly how we as employees can shape our future teams and participate so that DPDHL is an Employer of Choice in the future. We regret that you felt that the management did not have an open ear for employees or that the tasks weren't distributed the best way within your team. We are always looking to improve our management organization in terms of employee feedback and we invite you to make suggestions for improvement. An open and transparent discussion is important to us. Feel free to contact your human resources department and share your experiences/ suggestions for improvement with them. Thank you for the terrific job you have throughout this crisis. Your team spirit, your passion, and your dedication to living our purpose – Connecting people, improving lives – have helped put us where we are today: Strong to face the future together. Stay safe and stay healthy! Your Employer Branding Team

Poor at best.

Unfortunately although it says DHL above the door, it couldn't be any further from a standard DHL site. The depot management have no interest and the equipment in the depots is old and mostly faulty. There's a culture of my senior manager does not care so why should I.The health and safety is woeful and its all about the parcels and not the people. I was hoping for better thing's when DHL took over, but there's a serious lack of investment into the equipment for the depots to function properly. The only positive is the pay is good for driver's. The rest is just poor and frustrating.

Pros

Pay.

Cons

Poor health and safety, don't care culture.
Was this review helpful?

Reputable company, terrible workplace.

Poor leadership from management lead to constant face-to-face or over the radio intimidation tactics, which demoralised staff on a daily basis. Senior management have no understanding of technology and are detrimental to the operation through lack of change.Extremely low morale and poor conditions make the warehouse a miserable place to be.Environment was incredibly dusty and harmful to your health if exposed for long periods.The work itself is very straight forward. Parcel sorting performed by an impressive machine, then loaded manually by employees.The facility was extremely slow to respond to COVID-19; Measures were put in place too late and the virus swept through the building.

Pros

Early finishes on occasion.

Cons

Environment, Leadership & Low Morale
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

3 November 2020
Dear colleague,Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our company.We take your concerns about working during this global health crisis very seriously. We want to assure you that the health of our employees and our customers is always our top priority. Since the start of the pandemic, we established a DPDHL Coronavirus Taskforce that introduced directly a number of health and safety measures to ensure employees can enjoy the safest possible work environment. At the same time they follow the latest news from reputable health sources on a daily basis in order to make necessary information available to all employees straightaway. Based on this daily news we adjust continuously our robust and effective health and safety measures based on the local requirements. We are all in this together. By following the group-wide established rules and the guidance, you help stop the rise in infection rates, and you also protect yourself, your colleagues, your friends and your family. That’s why we follow them, because at DPDHL Group we take care of each other.These are challenging and uncertain times, but we feel confident that as a company and community, we can get through this together. Warm Regards,Your Employer Branding Team

Worst place I’ve worked

Management do not care about you they just want the job done, you are treated like a slave and easily replaceable. No help simply do what they ask without complaining. Got hurt on the job nobody seemed to care not even my supervisor. Honestly the dirtiest and most disgusting place I’ve ever worked

Pros

Free parking

Cons

Long hours, stressful
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

14 October 2020
Dear colleague,We are deeply sorry to read your review and to know that your are currently not satisfied. We regret that your experience has not met your expectations and we hope we can improve your employee experience soon.The health and safety of our employees has a vital importance to us, we strive to provide all required equipment and conditions so that everyone can do their work with minimum risk. Your feedback helps us improve. Please reach out to your manager(s) and local HR office to share your opinion with them. We will always promote continuous improvement that can help us be the employer of choice. Hopefully you will see improvements soon.Thanks for being part of the DHL family and all the best in the time to come.Best regards,Your Employer Branding Team

No job security or training

This was my first job in the UK. Manager hired me knowing that ...... as soon as I learnt to do BAU within a month .... they fired me. I never had any formal training. The environment was chatty and senior staff is not helpful. They look down upon you just so they can complain to the supervisor on your lack of experience, Instead of helping you through matters. It was a shame they didnt confront me ever for anything ....and fired me straight away reason being budgetary constraints.

Pros

Pay was good

Cons

Walking distance after bus stop. No job security
Was this review helpful?

Hard work

I worked here only one day as I quit after my trial shift. As a girl, it was hard for me to lift heavy objects such as furniture (tables, chairs), metal parts, carpets. And I was told that was the easiest job I could be allocated. Worked 6 hours instead of 9 as all the work was already finished. They sent my friend home because they already had too many people. Very dusty environment, a lot of people wearing face masks, blew my nose at home and the tissue was black. The night shift is underpaid compared to night shifts at other warehouses.

Pros

Very friendly people

Cons

Majority only men, very dusty, tiring job
Was this review helpful?

Was good

The work there was of many types but which I get was loading and that was hard for me because there was too much dust. They haven’t give my mask. Work was heavy
Was this review helpful?

The hardest part of the job

The job is fast paced but quite easy I found after you know where all the locations are (took me about 2 wks) it’s pretty plain sailing the hardest part is doing 14 an hr achievable if you pick up your pace but you do need to go quick. I was doing 12-13 hr most of the time which is still pretty good lots of people moaning about pay but I think £1400 a month For full time if your working for dhl was pretty good
Was this review helpful?

Nice and fun work enviroment

When i arrived at my work i always felt welcome and i looked forward to go to work. When i was at work i felt comfortable and the mangers were always good advisors and i was very happy with my job
Was this review helpful?

Balanced

Good for practical experience for getting more out of your money. Hard labour that allows the experience of gaining additional qualifications and knowledge
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DHL. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 23,171 reviews

Ratings by category

3.5 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.5 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.3 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.2 out of 5 stars for Management
3.5 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare DHL with

  • Companies
  • DHL
  • Employee reviews
  • Coventry