DHL
Happiness score is 51 out of 100
3.7 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

DHL Employee Reviews for Driver

Review this company
Job Title
Driver145 reviews
Location
United Kingdom145 reviews

Ratings by category

3.5Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 145 reviews matching the searchSee all 22,222 reviews
lorryparcelcanteenwarehousedrivercolleaguepickingprogression

nice place

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
not a bad place to work , with good management and a very busy environment. a lot of opportunities to progress within the business.overtime is available to everyone.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

23 June 2022
Hello,Thank you very much for your kind words.Finding, retaining, and developing great people is difficult, but finding, retaining, and developing great managers is even more difficult. We are delighted that this was the case at your Milton Keynes location.Investing in your skills is a great way to advance your career. We appreciate you taking advantage of this during your time with us.Thank you very much for being a part of our DHL family and for your efforts to make our company the world leader in logistics.#TogetherWeAreGREAT!In the meantime, we wish you all the best and thank you for your excellent work!Your DHL Team

Awful place to work

I worked for Dhl for 21 years and for the first 10 years it was a fantastic place to work with good manager’s but in recent years it became awful place to work when you had defects problems with the trucks you were told there was nothing wrong with them and made to feel a idiot by a manger who didn’t have a hgv it just became very toxic glad to have been made redundant in the end never work for them again

Pros

Being made redundant

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Insights into DHL

Based on 804 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Support from manager
  • Trust in colleagues

Good place to work

Very good lovely places to work if you like or looking place to work and to guarantee your future is DHL because of lovely people and very good management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

20 July 2022
Dear colleague,You make us glow with pride receiving your remarkable 5-star rating. We are delighted that you are having such a great time with our big yellow family as a driver. Reading your review gives us the confirmation that we are doing our job of taking care of our employees and appreciating them very well. When managers set the standard, they form a positive example for team members. A team-oriented approach makes for a more productive and positive workplace. That is how it should be.Thank you very much. You are a part of the foundation that keeps our company going not only in good times but also in bad.Take care and stay safe. Warm greetings to you and your family in Goole!Your DHL Team 

Seems ok

Seems ok to work for so far. Hard work but get paid well. Do the graft get left to get on with it. Induction could use a bit of polishing and the initial admin is not great but once in all seems ok.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

2 June 2022
Dear colleague,We like your 3-star rating! Thank you very much for being a part of our DHL family and for your efforts to make our company the world leader in logistics. As a rule, we offer reasonable and competitive compensation packages in all markets in which we operate. We always aim to offer our employees attractive compensation packages within our possibilities.We encourage managers to be aware of stress in the workplace and take steps to combat this before it gets out of control. Feel free to contact your human resources department and share your experiences/ suggestions for improvement with them. In the meantime, we wish you all the best and thank you for your excellent work!Warm greetings to Greater Manchester.Your DHL Team

Friendly helpful people

Just started a couple of weeks ago but my short experience is kind of positive. Friendly and helpful coworkers, management same do your work task and that's it. The site is well organised good equipments easy to learn and worker-friendly. Someone will ask me if it's a good place to work? My response will be worth it to try. I believe it will be soon to get a full-time contract ( now agency) and a chance to move up the carrier ladder if the opportunity comes by.

Pros

Friendly people, good equipment, Hot food

Cons

Hot food bit expensive
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

26 April 2022
Dear colleague,From the bottom of our hearts, thank you for leaving us a comprehensive and positive 5-star review! We are very happy to read that you are fully immersed into our unique culture and see all the benefits it provides. Indeed, as you have mentioned, DHL is a people-centric company, both in regards to its customers and its employees. We take great pride in this especially because of how many lives we touch on a daily basis. All in all, thank you for being part of our Big Yellow Family and all your hard work! We are sure it will pay off, and it does make a difference for our customers every day.All the best to you and your team in Liverpool,Your DHL Team

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Starts ok then...

Not the best place to work, as over time they pile the work on you and set unrealistic targets for you to hit, can be stressful at times. Break times are short, and sometimes them change the shift start times making difficult for ppl without their own transport to get to work on time.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

17 May 2022
Hello, Thank you for sharing your input. We are sorry to hear that your experience at our site in Castle Bromwich has been far from satisfactory during your time with us. Being a driver is a physically demanding position and very important to our business operations.Among our ranks, there is a desire to continuously improve every part of our organization, including the routes and work distribution. For this reason, we rely on our employees to come forward with constructive criticism and improvement feedback. Nevertheless, thank you for all your hard work and effort.We wish you and your loved ones all the bestYour DHL Team

It could be worse. Hard going at times.

Too many chiefs and nowhere near enough Indians. Spotty faced youths just out of uni,attempting to dictate to seasoned drivers,yet they have never set foot in a truck or warehouse!! Fellow drivers are a good bunch

Pros

Free tea/coffee(well..wet and warm liquid)

Cons

Disorganised chaos. Management is rather lacklustre.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

22 February 2022
Dear colleague,Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us through this review. In DHL, we strive to provide our employees with the best conditions and remuneration to make them feel valued with us. We are pleased that your team is characterized by strong cohesion. A good working atmosphere and colleagues who treat each other fairly contribute to a harmonious working day. As a company, we would like to promote this in the best possible way.The superiors in our teams must always have an open ear for their employees to clarify possible problems in an individual, personal discussion. We are striving to improve our management organization. That is why your input is so valuable to us.Thank you again for the service you provide every day!Take care and stay safe. Your DHL Team 

Management don't care have no respect

Bad management disrespectful and non communicating poor route planning high staff turnover 20 drivers and mates walked in last 6mths since new Management structures never a praise always criticises not worth

Pros

Good bunch of lads on fleet and warehouse

Cons

Manager workloads planning and furlough pay was a total mess and still is
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

22 February 2022
Hello,Thank you for your review! We are exceptionally satisfied that your group is characterized by solid cohesion. A great working climate and colleagues who treat each other reasonably contribute to a concordant working day. As a company, we want to advance this in the most credible way possible.We always strive to provide our employees with a good work-life balance. Unhappy workers are more likely to leave for a new job. When a workspace is unhealthy, it impacts employee retention. That makes employee turnover inevitable, which places additional stress on your business.We are sorry that these do not meet your expectations.Thank you for your dedication and loyalty during the time you spent with us, all the best for your future projects.Warm greetings!Your DHL Team 

Just don't work here full stop

Management is awful don't care for you at all!You're not valued you're just a number and treated like over worked horse, don't trust anyone at all. Avoid!!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

17 February 2022
Hello, We have carefully read your detailed feedback. We are very sorry that you are not 100% satisfied with DHL. We take every case extremely seriously. We expect our managers to serve as role models for employees across the Group, not only motivating them but also demonstrating how their work helps the company achieve its goals. The promotion of this management style is a recurring theme in all development initiatives. By signing our Code of Conduct, our managers also agree to live the values embodied in the Code and to guide their employees in doing so. Despite everything you have experienced, now, more than ever is the time to support and take care of each other. Take care and stay safe! Your DHL Team

AVOID DHL NEXT, terrible at paying the right wages!

DHL NEXT- where to start... hours offered do NOT meet hours given i was expected to work 10hrs a week EXTRA!!! was promised overtime on my overtime but nope flat rate and "we will sort it" replies, pay ALWAYS wrong paystatements show very little info so they can get away with robbing drivers, so dissapointed with my 6months there job was ok but was robbed of well over 5k during my 6months due to all the extra hours i worked UNPAID!!! when i left on 21st i was NOT paid last months hours but this months 3week ONLY!!!

Pros

easy job

Cons

terrible with pay, terrible with swapping jobs to suit older drivers
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

9 February 2022
Hello, Thanks very much for sharing your feedback with us through this review. Your feedback helps us to improve continuously, which is why we particularly appreciate it. We regret that you were not satisfied with your work in our company. Each employee should receive a remuneration that is tailored to his or her work. We are sorry that you felt your remuneration was unfair.In DHL we strive to provide our employees the best conditions and remuneration to make them feel valued with us. We comply with all applicable local laws regarding working hours including overtime, rest breaks, and paid vacation. Whenever these or any other guidelines or policies are violated, we encourage our employees to reach out to their senior leaders or local HR teams so this can be investigated. We wish you the very best for your future and hope you will soon find what you are looking for in your working environment. Many warm greetings to Armthorpe Your DHL Team

Long hours heavy lifting

Long hours heavy lifting, no support, everyone for themselves, salary should be more considering London is expensive to live in. No London weighting dispite being in London

Pros

Free parking

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

18 January 2022
Hello,Thanks much for sharing your feedback with us through this review. In DHL we strive to provide our employees the best conditions and especially free parking for you as a driver during your time at DHL.It is part of our corporate philosophy to offer our employees individual opportunities for advancement within the company, this also counts foradditional benefits. In our opinion, this is an important form of appreciation. Each employee should receive a remuneration that is tailored to his or her work. We are sorry that you felt your remuneration was unfair. We wish you the very best for your future and hope you will soon find what you are looking for in your working environment.Greetings to LondonYour DHL Team

Good work in big company. Work like work, people frendly and help fully

I like this job. Truck new and clean and tudy. Recomend. Salary should be biger. I work less time but on this time all is good. Officr very good people. Regards. IZ.

Cons

12 average
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

11 January 2022
Dear colleague, Many thanks for this 5-star rating! We are very pleased that you feel so comfortable with us. We put great emphasis on the fact that our employees feel comfortable in their working environment. Therefore we are very pleased about your positive evaluation. The management will be very happy to receive such a positive assessment. We are always striving to improve our management organization and are pleased that our measures are so well received by our employees. It is fundamentally important to us to offer our employees additional benefits as a form of appreciation. We would be pleased to receive any suggestions for improvement from you. Feel free to contact your human resources department and share your experiences/ suggestions for improvement with them. As a global community, we are smart, compassionate and resourceful. Our instinct is to reach out across boundaries to make things happen. We overcome hurdles and we look for ways to deliver a solution directly into the hands of those most in need. These are the qualities that will help us push through this incredibly challenging chapter. And they are the values that will propel us forward when we emerge on the other side of this crisis. Greetings to Huntington and keep your new truck tidy! Your DHL Team

It was bad in the early 00s its worse than ever now

The management staff treat you with utter contempt, pile extra drops onto you then wonder why you may be struggling. Extra drops in an urban setting are easily achieved but on rural routes upwards of 90 stops is nearly impossible

Pros

None

Cons

Long hours, pay is absolutely shockingly bad
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

27 December 2021
Hello, First of all, thank you for taking the time to share your review and comments with us and job seekers on Indeed. We are sorry to know that you have not found your time at DHL to be entirely satisfactory. This is certainly not aligned to our goal of being an Employer of Choice and a great place to work for all our workers. Each employee should receive a remuneration that is tailored to his or her work. We are sorry that you felt your remuneration was unfair. We recommend our employees to reach out to their supervisors or HR teams personally and learn more about their situation. A realistic schedule that is adapted to the employees should always be part of the work planning. During the pandemic there have been pressures to our workload that are out of the ordinary and have demanded we adapt and take action to prevent this affecting the work-life balance of our employees. In this sense, thank you very much for your extraordinary job during the last months. Your efforts make it possible that we keep connecting people, improving lives. All the best for your future projects in Lincolnshire, Your DHL Team

Toxic working environment

This working place would be a lot better if the management would understand that employees are not slaves but workers with rights. In the attempt of saving money this company pushes workers to work hard up to the breaking point for minimum payment. Hopefully the new Union which just been recognized will get involved and fight for a fairly treatment not only for drivers but for warehouse operatives as well.

Pros

constantly work given. This company never stops

Cons

hard work for average payments
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

9 February 2022
Hello,Your feedback allows us to continuously improve, which is why we value it so much.We are sorry that we have not given you, as an employer, the appreciation you deserve. If you like, we would like to discuss this with you in more detail. Feel free to contact your human resources department and share your experiences/ suggestions for improvement with them. We value your efforts and loyalty during your time with us and wish you continue to feel so well with us.Your DHL Team

Lack of leadership

The left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing, over worked and under payed. Unless you lick a##e then you get easy days and left to it.Other dhl places pay more.

Pros

Home time

Cons

Poor pay Over worked Under appreciated Under payed Poor management and leadership
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

14 December 2021
Dear colleague, Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your time in our company. In their function as role models for employees across the Group, we expect our managers not only to motivate employees but to show them how their work supports the company in the achievement of its objectives. The promotion of this management style serves as a central theme across all development measures. By signing our Code of Conduct, our managers also agree to live out the values contained in the Code and to guide their employees in doing the same. We are sorry that we have not given you, as an employer, the appreciation you deserve. Each employee should receive a remuneration that is tailored to his or her work. We are sorry that you felt your remuneration is unfair. We would be happy to talk to you again personally and learn more about your situation. Feel free to contact your human resources department and share your experiences/ suggestions for improvement with them. We know your commitment as driver is exceptional and we would like to thank you for your work! Please keep up the good work and you will receive the recognition you deserve. Your DHL Team

Drayman has a high turn.....

At Exeter the Drayman role has a high turn over of new drivers they advertise for drivers regularly. You normally start at 5am, you load the lorry yourself and with a drivers mate loading takes upto 2 hours, it's a very physically demanding job. So if you want a job where you enjoy working by yourself, just want to pick up and drop off this isn't the job for you.Plus, Drivers are a great bunch of guys and work very hard, money is good. Cons, very hard work, not worth the good money, dhl covid rules, driver performance record on show for everyone to see. Very depressing job The Warehouse manger is great and very helpful he deserves a payrise because he does more work than any other manager on that site.

Pros

Wage, Great bunch of drivers

Cons

Hard work, loading, dhl covid policy, long days depending which run.
Was this review helpful?

Dont bother

Don't bother applying worst place ever to work for no team players just in it for themselves long hours and bad pay early starts later finish no work life balance at all
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

1 November 2021
Hello,We appreciate your valuable feedback. As a driver you play a key role in our mission to connect people, improve lives, for this reason we care about your satisfaction and are constantly taking measures to ensure we provide a supportive and friendly work environment. In regard to the salary, DHL offers competitive compensation and bonus packages to its employees.Thanks for all the effort and dedication during your time with us, we wish you the best for your future,Your DHL Team

Go to work, go to bed, go back to work!

Management are OK, middle management think they can undermine people. Lead couriers are good with their teams but don’t get rewarded enough for doing so. All other staff are friendly and approachable. Remember to empty your bowls/ bladder before departing because you may not get another chance to do so !!No time for a break, eat and drink at the wheel!!

Pros

Meeting customers

Cons

Heavy workload
Was this review helpful?

Mangers are not good

Mangers are not good and don’t help you at all you drop a empty bottle on the floor u will be sacked as they don’t care but it’s okay to have headphones in on trucks this place is a joke

Pros

Non

Cons

Bad mangers
Was this review helpful?

Hgv linehaul driver

Staff are great help and show the ropes management are two faced say one thing then do another good kit to work with less than 4 years old some runs are longer than others

Pros

Good pay

Cons

Poor management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

27 October 2021
Dear colleague,Thanks for dropping by here on Indeed and leaving us your feedback. Unfortunately, it is not as good as we would like it to be. In their function as role models for employees across the Group, we expect our managers not only to motivate employees but to show them how their work supports the company in the achievement of its objectives. The promotion of this management style serves as a central theme across all development measures. By signing our Code of Conduct, our managers also agree to live out the values contained in the Code and to guide their employees in doing the same. We will continue to expect high standards from our leaders and provide them the tools to support our employees the best possible way.Warm greetings and all the best,Your DHL Team

Everything that is wrong with heavy goods driving you will find here

Absolutely shocking to find dhl running this kind of contract, wagons filled to the back doors with no working space, management have no clue, just want you out the yard, drivers go in early to get done at finish time, routes not fit for vehicles of the size sent and a lot of addresses are not picked up on a truck nav, leading to wagons driving down weight restricted roads all in all you'd be scraping the bottom of the barrel here

Pros

None

Cons

Long hours, bang at it from start to finish, breaking traffic laws on a lot of routes
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DHL. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 22,222 reviews

Ratings by category

3.5 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.5 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.3 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.3 out of 5 stars for Management
3.5 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare DHL with

  • Companies
  • DHL
  • Employee reviews
  • Driver