DHL
Happiness score is 51 out of 100
3.7 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

DHL Employee Reviews for Truck Driver

Review this company
Job Title
Truck Driver282 reviews
Location
United Kingdom282 reviews

Ratings by category

3.5Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 282 reviews matching the searchSee all 23,171 reviews
lorryparcelcanteenwarehousedrivercolleaguepickingprogression

Good place to work

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Hard work but decent conditions and pay.Managers are approachable and professionalLifting furniture every day so it is physically demanding but it does keep you fit.
Was this review helpful?

Just a numerical image on a screen

Hurt yourself your out the door, drug and alcohol tested every other day. If someone hits your parked wagon and your away from wagon it's ur fault. The place needs a good hard Paddington bear stear at themselves
Was this review helpful?

Insights into DHL

Based on 1,264 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Support from manager
  • Trust in colleagues

Tradeteam is the worst.

DHL Tradeteam is a terrible place to work. Terrible management. Lorrys loaded incorrectly with as much as they can bung on. Awful place to work. Management stealing overtime hours on workers. Overloading lorrys. Regularly breaking all the rules regarding loads.

Pros

Free beer.

Cons

Donkey work.
Was this review helpful?

Ok place to work

All depends which depot and which manager you get. Some depots have terrible management so it's pot luck how you get on. The depot I worked at is now gone
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

17 January 2023
Hello, You make us glow with pride. We received your remarkable 5-star rating.   We are delighted that you had such a memorable time with our big yellow family. Reading your review gives us confirmation that we are doing our job of taking care of our employees and appreciating them very well.  It is great to hear that you enjoyed working with people. That is what we need. Take a look at our career portal. Perhaps there is a vacancy in your area. Who knows, you might become one of us again.  https://careers.dhl.com/ Stay safe, and let us know how we can help if you need support.Greetings to Trafford !Your DHL Team

Good job

Great job, great management , get left alone to do your drops , new equipment , Dcpc taken in works time not weekends , very compliant with all aspects of health and safety and tacho law
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

28 December 2022
Hello,We read your review with pleasure. Thank you for sharing your experience.We put great emphasis on the fact that our employees feel comfortable in their working environment. Therefore we are very pleased about your positive evaluation.Good work planning is part of a well-functioning working day and helps to reduce stress. This also has a positive effect on private life. We are pleased that we succeed in achieving this balance with you. We wish you lots of success for the future. Happy Season Greetings. Your DHL Team

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Just a number

Worked there nearly 10months . No uniform . Management threating and no skills . Just like the positions given to their friends . More and more hours given with no pay increase . Just a number for these guys
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

23 December 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your time in our company. Favoritism causes awkward and biased situations and is frustrating when your work ethic and devotion to your company continually go unnoticed while your coworker receives praise or special perks for what you perceive as less effort. We wish you all the best for your future and hope your professional and personal projects will be successful.Your DHL Team

Avoid

Poor management very long hours between 55 and 70 hours a week driving single man and double man. Driving as far north as Thurso and down south to Manchester Leeds etc. start at 4am and back to the depot at 8pm . Then back out at 5am not even asked if you want to take a reduced rest.

Pros

None

Cons

Loads
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

20 December 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your time in our company. A realistic schedule that is adapted to the employees should always be part of the work planning. I'm sorry we couldn't do justice to this in your case. In general, we encourage our employees to contact their human resources department and share their experiences/ suggestions for improvement with them. We wish you all the best for your future professional career and personal life.Your DHL Team

Long periods of hanging around

Lots of waiting around and management reacting last minute. No planning, next day shift times given to you mid afternoon the previous day. Not enough parking.

Pros

Lunch paid

Cons

Lots of staff taking advantage
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

9 December 2022
Dear colleague,We thank you for sharing your findings as an HGV Class 2 Driver in Heathrow. A realistic schedule that is adapted to the employees should always be part of the work planning. I'm sorry we couldn't do justice to this in your case. Feel free to contact your human resources department and share your experiences/ suggestions for improvement with them. Thank you for all your effort and commitment during your time with DHL.Your DHL Team

Not a good place to work

I’ve had an Absolute horrible experience with DHL from day one. Inexperienced young management who gives empty promises and lies.Not recommended at all.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

8 December 2022
Dear colleague, You took the time to rate us thoroughly, and you expressed your dissatisfaction. That's unfortunate, and we deeply regret it.Our executives, in particular, act as role models for integrity and respect. Our executives have a special role to play in implementing our corporate values: • Create a culture characterized by mutual respect, openness and trust.• Do everything you can to promote the implementation of the Code of Conduct.• Ensure that the employees under your supervision comply with the Code of Conduct and be a role model of these values in your daily work.• Inform and advise your team about the standards and values set out in the Code of Conduct.• Provide opportunities for others to voice concerns openly and directly.We are sorry that you didn't make this experience. We always encourage our employees to share their thoughts about certain situation with their local human resources department. Only with the input of our employees we can make sustainable changes.In this sense we wish you all the best for your future.Your DHL Team

Very clicks place to work , alot of favoritism

Be prepared to graft extremely hard for your money , have your planned run changed at a minutes notice , management was okay quite alot of them ,some good some bad

Pros

Well paid and chance to upskill

Cons

Long long days, shop deliverys extremely stressful, be prepared to get regular abuse from shop keepers to general public
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

13 January 2023
Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.Having a high team spirit has its fair share of benefits that help an organization immensely. Just remember that consistency is the key to tackling issues that will unite everyone. Ideally, a company can only have as many employees as there are jobs. However, the amount of work is often not constant and sometimes varies greatly. Time tracking is essential to keep a clean, legal record of how much you work per day, week, or month. It makes sure you stay compliant with all the labor laws and regulations.We wish you the best in your future personal and professional projects and hope you will soon find what you are looking for in your working environment. Best wishes to you and your family!Your DHL Team

Easy work poor planning

Easy jobs with completely random route lenghts given out. One week can be easy the other week you can use all 15 hour shifts in 3 days. Drivers are friendly office is unresponsive.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

30 November 2022
Dear colleague, Thank you very much for your 4-star rating. It shows us that your experience working with Deutsche Post DHL is a positive experience.From your comment, we understand that the planning at your location can be improved. We always encourage our employees to share their ideas and improvement possibilities with their managers. We promote open and honest communication to make constructive changes and improvements happen. You are at the front line in your role; therefore, you can share the best practice from your side. We want to express our most heartfelt thanks to every one of you. Especially to those of you who are carrying out critical tasks to manage this crisis, including everyone who works every day to keep our facilities and businesses operating.Your DHL Team

Bad workplace

Very very bad management, incompetent planners who have no idea about anything related to transport, the drivers are considered stupid and expendables

Pros

Non

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

13 January 2023
Dear colleague,Thank you for your input. We are sorry to hear that your experience at our site in Northampton has been far from satisfactory so far. We take every case extremely seriously. Being a driver is a physically demanding position and very important to our business operations.Putting up with a job you hate can seem downright intolerable at times. But, more often than not, it is the management that makes your job difficult. No manager is perfect, and sometimes stress brings out the worst behaviors. When a workspace is unhealthy, it impacts employee retention. That makes employee turnover inevitable, which places additional stress on you and your colleagues.Feel free to contact your HR colleagues to talk about these topics.Hopefully, we will soon be able to intensively work on some of the topics you mentioned to increase employee satisfaction. Of course, this doesn't always happen at the same speed everywhere, but we're working on getting a little better every day.Nevertheless, thank you for all your hard work and effort so far. You make a difference by connecting people and improving lives!Stay safe, and please let us know if there is anything we can do to assist you.Your DHL Team

OK, but management are hardwork.

Job is good. Work colleagues are great. Management have no communication skills. Wages are OK, but not fantastic. 10 hour shifts are OK, but you've had enough at the end of your shift.

Pros

Set hours, work colleagues.

Cons

No communication in office/Management.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

19 December 2022
Dear colleague,Thank you very much for your great feedback. Some of the topics you mentioned are topics we are currently working on and hope to improve shortly. We're glad you're satisfied overall. This encourages us to continue investing in our employee experience.Many warm regards to Nottingham.Your DHL Team

Good job let down by transport office management

Doing the actual job is good problem is the management contract is 42 you do more 58 a week management force drivers to go back out due iincompetence

Pros

Wages

Cons

Bad management 58hour weeks very long days
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

15 November 2022
Dear colleague,We have read your feedback with attention, and we appreciate you taking the time to share it with us. DHL is focused on offering a positive employee experience regardless of the business division, location, or level in the company and we would like to hear from you more detailed feedback on what has happened so that we can shortly amend the necessary to earn a better review from you. Please reach out to your direct supervisor or your HR colleagues and we are sure they will transform the feedback into concise action that improves your work experience.We are confident we fairly retribute your hard work, your review has already made a difference!Take care,Your DHL Team

Very Very poor management

Absolutely shocking bunch of managers. They are always looking to discipline drivers for everything they do on a day to day basis. You are monitored from the minute you walk in until it’s time you go home, marked up for and managed for every press of the brake pedal to every turn of the steering wheel and left to explain yourself to some jumped up warehouse picker with a manager title. Do yourself a favour and walk on by this revolving door of a place.

Pros

Not many

Cons

Long hours, treated like a 2nd hand citizen, and don’t even get me started on the free car park !!!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

4 November 2022
Dear colleague,Thank you for your input. We are sorry to hear that your experience at our site in Livingston has been far from satisfactory so far. We take every case extremely seriously. Being a driver is a physically demanding position and very important to our business operations.Putting up with a job you hate can seem downright intolerable at times. But, more often than not, it is the management that makes your job difficult. No manager is perfect, and sometimes stress brings out the worst behaviors. When a workspace is unhealthy, it impacts employee retention. That makes employee turnover inevitable, which places additional stress on you and your colleagues.Feel free to contact your manager or HR colleagues to talk about these topics.Hopefully, we will soon be able to intensively work on some of the topics you mentioned to increase employee satisfaction. Of course, this doesn't always happen at the same speed everywhere, but we're working on getting a little better every day.Nevertheless, thank you for all your hard work and effort so far. You make a difference by connecting people and improving lives!Stay safe, and please let us know if there is anything we can do to assist you.Your DHL Team 

Fantastic company.

By a country mile DHL was the very best company I have worked for ! It's a real shame the contract in Goole was lost to another supply company.Given the chance .I would work / drive for DHL without question . They are such an easy straightforward employer .They are family first type of employer's.The people they have as trainers are second to none . Love the work ethic .the pay is always at the higher rate . If I have a negative ..it's as a class1 driver .for some reason we had to drive a strict driving route...no sat navs was allowed.. that's all fine till a road is closed and a diversion has to be used .Overall...a highly recommend.

Pros

In house training . License upgrade .

Cons

They won't pay tolls, no sat navigation allowed
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

1 November 2022
Hello,You make us glow with pride. We received your remarkable 5-star rating. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed working at DHL. Reading your review gives us confirmation that we are doing our job of taking care of our employees and appreciating them very well. Thank you very much. You were part of this foundation which keeps our company standing not only in good times but also in challenging times.Take a look at our career portal. Perhaps there is a vacancy in your area. Who knows, you might become one of us again.  https://careers.dhl.com/ We hope your experience with DHL can be repeated for many other future colleagues so they can feel motivated and happy to be part of our global family!Best wishes to Goole!Your DHL Team

Good pay

Well paid. With good opportunities. Cpc is covered by company. Dhl has multiple contracts ,so plenty of opportunities to do different things. Can be physically demanding.

Pros

Pay

Cons

Sometimes long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

31 October 2022
Hello,You make us proud with a 4-star rating! Thank you very much for being a part of our DHL family and for your efforts to make our company the world leader in logistics during your time with us. It is an honor to read your comments and to have worked with such a wonderful group of people. When managers communicate thoughtfully with team members rather than overseeing them from a distance, team members feel appreciated and valued. That feeling typically results in higher job satisfaction and increased loyalty. When working at a fast pace, you are often open to exciting opportunities and the chance to excel quickly. We are grateful that you had this experience and shared it with us.Best wishes for all future professional and personal endeavors; we hope your time with us was beneficial.A warm greeting to Livingston!Your DHL Team

Love the driving aspect. Delays are very frustrating.

Delays been going on for months now but no urgency to correct is leaving a frustrating workforce.Different route everyday is the best part of the job.Can be heavy some days but lighter on other days.

Pros

Salary

Cons

Delays in morning
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

20 October 2022
Dear colleague,First of all, thank you for taking the time to rate us as an employer. Your rating is good. In a few areas you have signaled that you see further potential for optimization. Since we do everything we can to get a little better every day, we will do everything we can to achieve 100% in that too.In this sense, we wish you all the best and much success.Your DHL Team

Okay job

Decent job easy going, left alone when out on the road, was never pushed to do more hours or work they planned you for the day, this was on a superstore contact so others may be different
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

17 October 2022
Hello,You make us glow with pride. We received your 3-star rating. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed working at DHL. Reading your review gives us confirmation that we are doing our job of taking care of our employees and appreciating them very well. Thank you very much. You were part of this foundation which keeps our company standing not only in good times but also in challenging times.We hope your experience with DHL can be repeated for many other future colleagues so they can feel motivated and happy to be part of our global family!Best wishes to Doncaster!Your DHL Team

Long days ..clueless management

Job is ok ..good money ..but long days and always long routes ..cages are heavy ..not good for you’re back at some shops ..management are clueless ..and have there favourites..’really good set of lads to work with.the whole office is all one big family
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

28 October 2022
Hello,Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that your team works as a family and that you support each other. Note that we are taking the necessary action to improve continuously our leadership organization and your feedback is best received directly to your site's officials. Hopefully it will translate into improvement actions soon, and that you will see corresponding changes.Thank you for recognizing all the nice aspects of being part of the DHL family. Good luck with your assignments,Your DHL Team

over worked under payed

work here for three years, had no time off work for two of them, late couple of times in my work period, management don't appreciate work efforts, and seen so many employees dismissedfor silly reasons, no second chance with this company.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

28 October 2022
Hello,Please be aware that we are working on the topics that you mention, and we aim to be a little better every day. We can only achieve this with the assistance of everyone in the company. Good luck with all future endeavors,Your DHL Team

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DHL. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 23,171 reviews

Ratings by category

3.5 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.5 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.3 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.2 out of 5 stars for Management
3.5 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare DHL with

  • Companies
  • DHL
  • Employee reviews
  • Truck Driver