Darwin Escapes
Happiness score is 41 out of 100
2.9 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

Darwin Escapes Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom74 reviews

Ratings by category

2.8Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 74 reviews matching the searchSee all 78 reviews
escapeparkstaffdiscountfriendpoorbadmanager

Some nice people and teams

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Floor staff are better off than the salaried or managers.Not allowed 75% of year off for holidays.Can't use perks when you like and short time limit to do so.Some great people some not so much which is a shame.

Pros

Discount on food- free gym and swim

Cons

No real progression, poor pay for the area
Was this review helpful?

Excellent opportunities

I’ve been with the company for nearly six years and have found career progression to be excellent. People with an ability to provide new ideas and problem solve will do well here. I’ve always felt supported by management and given the freedom to complete my work to my best ability. There are plenty of different departments which all work together to keep the park running smoothly and there’s always opportunity to gain new skills. The company owns 24 holiday resorts so there is opportunity to move to another one if the right job for you appears. Internal candidates are usually given first opportunity for promotions. 10/10 would recommend.
Was this review helpful?

Insights into Darwin Escapes

Based on 42 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Trust in colleagues
  • Support from manager

Enjoyable Workplace

Lifeguarding/Activities at Darwin is enjoyable and fun we can make the most boring job to be done enjoyable. The entire team gets on not only the whole of Lesuire but other departments. We are a family and we all enjoy what we do. There isn't really a hard part of my job anymore.
Was this review helpful?

Worst company I’ve ever worked for.

Management are absolutely horrendous. Company do not take any complaints or grievances seriously. The company do not care about the staff, they only care if they’re bringing the money in. I would never work for this company again. I do not recommend if you’re a young girl, you will not be treated nicely. Would strongly avoid.

Pros

Zero.

Cons

Mostly Management, but whole company is a shambles.
Was this review helpful?

Fun workplace

Fun place to work for a year, never felt like I was being hounded or badgered and earn my keep each month.Management know how to run a site and make you feel welcome.
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Good company to work for

Good company to work for. Staff in all sites are friendly. Management understanding when things happen in your private life and are supportive. Would suggest to work for Darwin Escapes

Pros

Health insurance, discounted holidays and food

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Darwin Escapes

11 July 2022
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your experience with us at Darwin Escapes! If there is anything that you would like to discuss then please do email us at feedback@darwinescapes.co.uk

Reception

If you like interacting with people then it’s a nice job. Love my job. Can be challenging at times, but what job isn’t. Overall, I have no complaints and my team are lovely.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Darwin Escapes

11 July 2022
Hello,Thank you for leaving a review, we are pleased to hear that you love your job and you have a lovely team! If there is anything that you would like to discuss, please contact us at feedback@darwinescapes.co.uk

Fast paced

Good place to work, can be stressful at times but overall good. Can have the odd customer be difficult but standard within hospitality. Management and supervisors are good with correcting errors and backing up staff
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Darwin Escapes

11 July 2022
Hi,Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on your experience with us at Darwin Escapes! If there is anything you wish to discuss further then please contact us via feedback@darwinescapes.co.uk

Good place to work but the pay is poor

I've worked for them many years now but the pay is getting poorer very year they only give a rise when they absolutely have too pretty soon the staff in my department will soon have to use the local food bank cost of living is not not keeping up with there pay model leaving most employees struggling to pay to live a decent living
Was this review helpful?

horrible

not a fun place to work at all. stressful environment and constant bickering and immature staff. 1/10 wouldn’t recommend to my worst enemy,, management are rude to lower down staff
Was this review helpful?

Great lace to work

Great company to work for I would highly recommend Darwin to any one good live inn accommodation great staff 👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍great location not far from citi centre
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Darwin Escapes

19 May 2022
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your time working for Darwin Escapes. We are very happy to hear that you had such a great experience with us!We appreciate your review.

Ok for a workplace

Nice place to work, great colleagues but the management is the worst. They have a good Holliday discount if you want to book a lodge at any of the Holliday parks

Pros

Holliday discount

Cons

Stressful sometimes
Was this review helpful?

Great colleagues, beautiful surroundings

I am really enjoying working for this company, I am feeling looked after by management and I am left alone to do my job until something needs managing. We have a great balance of productivity and we work hard but alongside this we get chance to laugh and spend time with our guests, we are exclusive and have high standards and it’s long hours to work but where I work our welfare is paramount.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Darwin Escapes

19 May 2022
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your time working for Darwin Escapes. We are very happy to hear that you had such a positive experience with us!We appreciate your review.

Not a nice place to be working if your face doesnt fit

Longer hours than your contracted for and absolutely no gratitude for the extra that you do absolute nightmare to be able to use the holidays you accrue as not enough staff to cover and certain managers have no respect for there team members and speak to them like they are dirt

Pros

None

Cons

Long hours without any appreciation
Was this review helpful?

One rule for one and one rule for anther

One rule for one,one rule for antherUnder staffed,low moral, poor work/home life balance, oppressive atmosphere.Pay not enough to cover what your expected to do.People don't tend too stay long at the company,unless your happy too stay in the dark ages.Very poor communication in the company,no-one wants to help eachother its an every man for himself kind of place.

Pros

Half price costa, some staff members

Cons

Too many too list
Was this review helpful?

Oppressive micro-managed workplace.

An oppressive “do as I say, not do as I do” approach to management. No room to be creative or think outside the box. Lack of direction from senior management, unapproachable and dismissive. Dictatorial approach from directors.Ineffective personnel/hr department.No opportunity or encouragement to develop personally or professionally.Senior management “favourites”.

Pros

Great industry to work in.

Cons

Senior management.
Was this review helpful?

“Making memories”but staff arent allowed to

Staff are ok but your just a number higher management from park managers to the OD havent got a clue about keeping staff happy,wont let staff have a day off in summer hols but they can,ok as a stop gap job as long as your looking for your next job you will get a job here defo as they are desperate across the whole company,if your desperate enough for a job go for it its a doddle certain positions you can get away with only doing 2 hrs work per day 👍🏻Always react too late to problems and want you to pick up the 💩after their cockup,run by investors so dont give a hoot about staff,also constantly trying to get you to do jobs against H+S rules and site license rules

Pros

Half price food

Cons

Terrible work ethics
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Darwin Escapes

12 October 2021
Hello, thank you for taking time to reflect on your employment with Darwin Escapes. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not as positive as you may have anticipated.If you wish to discuss any of the above further please contact feedback@darwinescapes.co.uk

awful management

All staff do as little as they possibly can, the area manager does not know the first thing about running a park and staff management. everyone goes behind your back and gives false information about you and your working ability. lovely surroundings to work in and a lovely 'work family' but management and the whole company is a joke.

Pros

nice place to work

Cons

bad management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Darwin Escapes

31 August 2021
Hello, thank you for taking time to reflect on your experience working with us at Darwin Escapes. We are sorry to hear that your time was not as positive as you may have first anticipated. If you would like to discuss anything about the above further then please contact feedback@darwinescapes.co.uk

Fast-paced growing holiday and leisure business

I've worked at Darwin Escapes for a couple of years and I really enjoy it. It's a fast-paced environment as the company is growing at a rapid rate but I've found that exciting. I've had lots of opportunity to get involved with multiple projects and opportunities across departments and I enjoy working with the team around me. Particularly during the Covid pandemic I have felt supported by the people around me and by management.

Pros

Staff breaks at resorts, friendly team, interesting sector, growing business

Cons

Sometimes work long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Darwin Escapes

10 August 2021
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your time working for Darwin Escapes. We are very happy to hear that you had such a positive experience with us!We appreciate your review.

Ok for an in-between job

Nice people to work with but poor pay for the job we do. No time for breaks. Not very well organised. Not enough time for perfection. Some staff are rude.

Pros

Works round school runs

Cons

Poor pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Darwin Escapes

10 August 2021
Hello, thank you for reflecting on your time working with us at Darwin Escapes. We are sorry to hear that your time with us was not as you expected.If you wish to discuss any further please contact us via feedback@darwinescapes.co.uk

Avoid

You are literally made to feel as though you are just a number to them. No job satisfaction, constantly looked over and any changed you recommend to be made just aren’t even listened to. There are plenty of similar roles out there that make you feel more valued than Darwin Escapes do so I would recommend looking for similar roles elsewhere. Other organisations also pay much more than Darwin Escapes, most staff are paid min wage

Pros

Working hours

Cons

Not valued at all, you’re just a number
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Darwin Escapes

10 August 2021
Hello, thanks for taking time to leave your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your time working for Darwin Escapes was not as positive as you would have expected.Your comments are welcome and will be used to improve employee experience, if you would like to discuss any of the above further please do contact feedback@darwinescapes.co.uk

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Darwin Escapes. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 78 reviews

Ratings by category

2.8 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
2.7 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
2.8 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
2.6 out of 5 stars for Management
2.8 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Darwin Escapes with

Learn about Darwin Escapes in popular locations

  • Companies
  • Darwin Escapes
  • Employee reviews