Dixons Carphone
3.3 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Dixons Carphone Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 3,150 reviews matching the search
See all 3,366 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
There are so many targets that a sales member needs to achieve each week. Management are very strict and only care for targets to be met. Insurance is pushed upon customers so much and it makes the fun of selling extremely difficult.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Sales targets
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Enjoyed my time working there,full and ongoing training was given to help you feel confident about your job,I worked with a great team,we all got on together well,great management and happy environment
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Honestly don’t waste your time you get treated like rubish and the people who say they care don’t management moan constantly if you don’t hit targets even though they are impossible avoid this company
Pros
Leaving
Cons
Worst place
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The colleagues are extremely nice and welcoming, and I love working here. I would recommend other people to apply for a job role at Currys pc world and I know they won’t regret it. The managers are extremely nice. I've learned many new skills whilst working here and made new friends
Pros
Staff discount, bonus, peak incentive
Cons
Unpaid breaks
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
1 April 2021
Thankyou for your feedback, we are really pleased to hear you are enjoying working for DC!Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Super Team ethic with realistic achievable targets. Always different everyday and always a friendly Work environment. The company has 100% prioritised its peoples health & Wellbeing thru this Pandemic.
Pros
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I worked for a GM in a space of 8 years, twice, and both experiences were pretty demotivating in their own way. Lack of support and guidance when promoted for a role, blatantly peer pressured to say yes to a promotion I wasn't prepared for (the regional manager was in the room with the GM! I was coerced to say yes) all because the GM desperately needed a Keyholder. I worked with and managed many staff members over the years, and at times it was pretty fun and they become a family but overall, the dodgy business I saw and heard over the years, was an absolute shame. Larger stores have a tedency to over-work sales staff and use the most immoral techniques, the countless refunds I've had to perform for services being added on without the knowledge of the customer, was mayhem. Luckily, I worked in a store with fairly good eggs and emphasised how this was NOT the way to go. Tread carefully and keep an eye out on GMs and Line Managers. I also worked so many weekends , something you'd have to be willing to sacrifice in general with Retail.
Pros
Competitions, flexibility on shifts (dependant on manager), some discount
Cons
Discount was too low, poor support from line manager, dodgy sales tactics visible from megastores
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
Thankyou for leaving us a review. We are concerned to hear your feedback surrounding sales as this doesn't sound right at all and we'd urge you to get in touch to discuss further.We'd glad you had a good team around you and considered them like "family".Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I enjoyed working there at first.. But then they had the big management reshuffle and then people got too big for their boots.. Your berated for not reaching targets infront of colleagues. If they just don't like you.. You'll know about it. When you speak up your punished. Don't do it. It good thing was having decent teammates working along side you.. Management sucks.
Pros
Good team mates
Cons
Management sucks.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
We are sorry to hear about your experience as this doesn't sound quite right at all. We'd always recommend colleagues speak to a member of their management team or HR with regards to any concerns however we know this isn't always easy which is why colleagues also have access to a 24hour confidential helpline.Thanks for your feedbackDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Very stressful place to work. Very low pay and no worker appreciation. If management don't like you, you are forgotten about. No matter how well you do for sales.
Pros
None
Cons
The whole job
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
We are sorry to hear you felt this way. All our retail colleagues are paid above the national living wage with the opportunity to earn bonus.Thankyou for taking the time to leave us some feedbackDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The job is pretty easy once you get the hang of it. The training provided may as well not exist because you learn nothing and then are thrown to the wolves on your first day.Managers never speak to you and I'm not sure my manager knows who I am
Cons
Long hours, weird shifts, not enough support
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
We are sorry to hear that you feel this way. As a current colleague we'd recommend you reach out to your line manager, mentor or HR to let them know about your concerns. Having capable and committed colleagues is a priority for DC and there are networks in place to be able to support you.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I was a temporary part time sales assistant. The wain issue I had was I had a really bad work life/balance. I am a student and had a lot of work which I fell behind on due to lack of time to complete it all which almost 3 months later I'm only just getting back on track. Overall it wasn't the worst place to work and some of the staff were friendly, helpful and understanding. I did often feel unappreciated and alone which wasn't fun as I was just expected to know everything from day 1 and there was a lot to remember. The best part of the job was the people. If I had nobody to talk to I'd have gone mad. My warning is although from the outside a company may look pristine looks can be very deceiving.
Pros
The pay was alright
Cons
Horrible work/life balance
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
We are sorry to hear about your experience and that you didn't feel supported with your work/life balance. The benefit of working in one of our retail stores is the flexibility of shifts that we can offer dependent on colleagues needs. We'd always recommend colleagues speak to their line manager about any concerns so these can be worked through together.Thanks for your reviewDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
This is the worst place to work, they push you until you feel like your going to breakdown. All they care about it wether you get sales or not, they have no interest in how your feeling. Maybe your just having a bad day, but they don’t care. The management are so unprofessional, you try your hardest to reach your target but they won’t give you any help. They put you straight on to 12 hour shifts with only a half hour break with is ridiculous. Hated it and will always hate it.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
We are concerned to hear about your experience as this doesn't sound right at all. The wellbeing of our colleagues is a key priority for DC. We have resources available from the Calm app subscription to the Wellbeing Corner to support all our colleagues health. Thankyou for taking the time to leave us some feedbackDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Limited career options in Scotland for progression without relocating. Stagnant when it reached regional manager level. Good culture and working with many talented individuals from all walks of life some of whom after Uni go onto much bigger and better things in their career.
Pros
Great colleagues in the main, nice employee benefits, salary in line or above other similar retailers
Cons
Unsociable hours and salaried managers generally work additional unpaid hours, KPI driven environment before customer service
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
Thankyou for your feedback, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the working culture and that you had a supportive manager and mentor. Best of luck with your next career moveDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I loved working here. Colleagues were lovely but i worked during lockdown times so it was difficult working more shifts. I only worked once a week. Training was long but worth it at the end and I’d love to work there again
Pros
Friendly staff, good hours and pay, job role was my favourite
Cons
No cons to be honest, it was really nice
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
Thankyou for your review and we appreciate your hard work and commitment during lockdown, we know it's been a challenging time for everyone.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Job is clear and Simple to do, if u are a hard worker u will be noticed by your manager and rewarded for it, lots of opportunities for progress and more money
Pros
Management support when u on contract
Cons
Long hours, short brakes
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
Thankyou for your feedback, we are pleased to hear you have a supportive management team around you and that you have plenty of opportunities to progress.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Great company, poor management standardsDelivery drivers are expected to work late nights as standardWork life balance does not existPoor management standards, new managers seeing there are no consequences for poor management continue in that style.
Pros
Reasonable pay
Cons
Bullying is rampant
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
We are very concerned to hear your feedback as this doesn't sound right at all. We'd urge you to get in touch to discuss further.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The management had no idea what to do, the work place was toxic and really stressful. They expect you to do 200 times more work for less salary. No appreciation!
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Stress, no life balance, underpaid
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
We are sorry to hear you felt this way. We'd always recommend colleagues speak to their line manager, mentor or HR about any concerns with working patterns and salary as it's important we get this right.Thankyou for your feedbackDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
This company squeezes everything out of you for the basic minimum wage, you complete 2-3 different job roles that with other employers would see you earning at least £1 ph over the minimum wage. You pressured day 1 to meet sales targets selling ludicrously priced accessories and told in occasion to lie to customers to get a sale through. They call it a team environment yet your pitted against your fellow sales colleagues in a trial by combat to get the figures. Management will threaten investigations into your performance, talk about you to other colleagues, and to top it off will encourage you to break rules to get the job done. It’s such a toxic and non rewarding place to work. I would not recommend it unless you enjoy being over worked and underpaid. And recently they posted millions of profits then decided to force all staff into contract negotiations to take away benefits and paid breaks and let go 800 managers all because they wanted all the millions not just some of the millions. Disgraceful company.
Pros
They took them all away.
Cons
Long hours. Over worked. Not appreciated. Pressure like you wouldn’t believe. Lies lots of em.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
We are concerned to hear your feedback surrounding selling as this doesn't sound right at all. We'd urge you to get in touch to discuss this further.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Long days was expected to work overtime between 12 to 15 hour days. Complete all deliveries before returning to unload the scrap from your lorry. Poor management. The driver is expected to explain to the customer why they did not get there delivery if you run out of driving hours and rebook a slot. 7.5t trucks falling apart than were not good in the lanes around the south west. Stay clear from this company.
Pros
Leaving the place
Cons
Long hours poor vehicle's poor management
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
We are sorry to hear about your experience. We understand our delivery drivers can work longer hours especially around our Christmas peak trading period but we hope this is often balanced out at other times of the year with an earlier finish.Thankyou for your feedbackDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Glad I got out when I did, The place is nothing but stress.No acknowledgment for any good that you do.Management is probably the worst I have seen in any retail store, So unprofessional! How certain people even got a management role with no prior experience before hand and started from the bottom and got high so quickly just says it all.. favoritism. Get ready to be completely ignored or just spoken to with the most disrespect.
Pros
Nothing.
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
We are sorry to hear about your experience. All our colleagues have access to an employee confidential helpline open 24/7 to discuss any issues or seek advice for any concerns they don't feel comfortable discussing internally. Thankyou for taking the time out to leave us a review.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Although training is good and job is secure.There are many issues within the management system. It can be hard work for little gain but the feeling of self achievement is high. Good starting ground if your interested in electrical installation as a career. Plenty of overtime but limited to working hours directive.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Politics
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Working there is OK can get stressful at times and the work is very demanding but generally it was OK
Was this review helpful?
  1. Employee reviews