Dixons Carphone
3.3 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Dixons Carphone Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 3,176 reviews matching the search
See all 3,394 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have been working at Currys pc world for 7 years and I have enhanced my knowledge about technology in abundance work has been so enjoyable and time has gone so fast in catering around customer needs, I believe this is that I enjoy helping people
Pros
10% staff discount
Cons
No commission
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
7 June 2021
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review on Indeed, we really appreciate your feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoy the discounts that we offer to our colleagues, as part of our benefits package, and that you really enjoy the work you do. Thanks, The Dixons Carphone Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
No Work Life Balance here, job is not bad. They want to get job done with very few staff, sometimes have to work with no breaks. Poor management team one after another.
Cons
No work Life balance
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
15 June 2021
Hello, Thank you for leaving us a review on Indeed, we appreciate your feedback and we're happy to take a moment to reply. As a retail business, it’s very important that we are there when our customers need us to be – whether that’s visiting a shop, receiving a delivery or calling us. Our stores, contact centres and distribution centres are open to support this customer demand. Our colleagues will need to work shift patterns that are best for our customers and reflect trading patterns. Retail is a great place for people looking for a fast-paced, flexible environment.Our company encourages an open and honest working environment between line managers and colleagues. At a lot of our stores and sites, we have introduced schemes such as ‘babble boards’ and feedback boxes to help provide an easy way of give anonymous feedback straight to senior leaders. We encourage all our colleagues to have an open and honest conversation with their line manager about any issues, concerns, or problems that they have. Thanks, The Dixons Carphone Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Excellent environment!!!People are lovely!!!No stress at work!!! Excellent Management team and Training team. Only thing that didn't work for me is I was an agency worker so no job security and no benefits
Pros
Management
Cons
No benefits/no job security
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Target driven company, who only care about hitting the maximum numbers on the target sheets. No care for employees and very little flexibility around staff needs. Minimal chance for progression and low pay.
Pros
Good coworkers
Cons
Long hours, low pay, no gratitude.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
1 June 2021
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback on Indeed, we really appreciate it. It's great to hear that you enjoyed working with our amazing, capable, and committed colleagues. Dixons Carphone is proud to pay above the National Living Wage. We offer all of our colleagues rewards, benefits, and recognition in line with their career development, and for their contribution to business performance. As a retail business, it’s very important that we are there when our customers need us to be – whether that’s visiting a shop, receiving a delivery or calling us. Our stores, contact centres and distribution centres are open to support this customer demand. Our colleagues will need to work shift patterns that are best for our customers and reflect trading patterns.Thanks, The Dixons Carphone Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Would you like to do the job of 5 people but barely get paid enough for one? If so currys is the place for you! Poor management at store level and the regional managers are utterly useless.. only ever calling into store to swing their d**ks. It's also kind of sad that they have really good staff but have no idea how to utilise them.
Cons
Pay, management, lack of support
Was this review helpful?
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
promised set hours and more pay. come come around 3 hours later than promised. only paid £85 per day. too many jobs given to workers and made to stay out past contracted hours
Pros
none
Cons
long hours. bad pay
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The title says it all.Routing is a nightmareCertain members of management are bullies not mentioning any names ahem... GuitarRated on a customer feedback system which only contacts 10% of your drop offs so not an accurate picture of how you work.If you can't deliver an item be it fault or not it comes off your precious score and eventually gets you disciplined for the companys own failings.Work life balance doesn't exist and you'll work 7 out of 8 weekends and you'll be out from 7am until 7-8pm then have to unload your own vehicle.As for breaks you're lucky if you have time to take them some days with the jobs you're given... If you know you know.To be honest and this is genuine.The job isn't bad but the long hours no weekends, percentage ratings system and poor routing along with certain bully tactics from members of management let it down big time.Could be a really great place to work.
Pros
Drivers mate.
Cons
Long hours, no weekends, ratings system works against you.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Management are horrible always putting down staff and slagging people off! Twist what your saying and turn it back on you. No support! Destroys your mental health and confidence. I will never ever work for Dixon’s carphone again even if it was the last job on earth!
Pros
Holiday
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
18 May 2021
Hello,Thanks for taking the time to leave us a response. We’re sorry to hear you feel this way. We wanted to reply to some of the comments you’ve made.Our company encourages an open and honest working environment between line managers and colleagues. At a lot of our stores and sites, we have introduced schemes such as ‘babble boards’ and feedback boxes to help provide an easy way of give anonymous feedback straight to senior leaders. We also provide all colleagues with access to our confidential colleague helpline for times when it’s not easy to have a particular conversation with your line manager.Having Capable and Committed Colleagues is a top priority, and we want to help all our colleagues stay fit and well. All colleagues have access to an Aviva Digital GP app and an Aviva Wellbeing benefits app. We know the pandemic is far from over – so it’s never been more important to get access to health and wellbeing information and support quickly. Our EAP – Employee Assistance Programme – provides 24/7 free phone access for support on anything from stress, to stopping smoking and dealing with personal problems.Best,The Dixons Carphone Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
If you’re someone who loves a challenge, who is upbeat and has a can do attitude and loves serving customers, this is the place for you! High challenge with high reward! Great team ethic and as one of the biggest stores in the UK, great to be ahead of the curve! Personally has helped me develop both in and out of work. Really setting me up for success and to achieve my future goals! Love every second of it!
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
17 May 2021
Hello,Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We're very happy to hear the skills you've developed at work have been valuable. It sounds like you have a very exciting career ahead of you.Wishing you all the best,The Dixons Carphone Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The aintree store near the race course is brilliant Place to work and the team are amazing. Company is really forward thinking and undergoing a high transformation
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
17 May 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It's great to hear you found the location of our Aintree store convenient, and that you were working alongside amazing colleagues.Technology is an exciting, constantly evolving market and to stay a market leader we need to adapt to changes. This is why we're currently undergoing our transformation programme. This includes investing in our people and providing them with training that gives them skills for life.Best,The Dixons Carphone Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Interaction with customers. Giving good customer service to enhance our image. Continuous training program - specific fields. Can be stressful when you are targeted to reach certain KPIs. Excellent comradeship.
Pros
If you want to progress they will help
Cons
Failing to recognise the effect of Covid 19 which led to redundancy
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
17 May 2021
Hello,Thank you for posting your feedback on Indeed. We're pleased you enjoyed providing excellent customer service, and that you benefitted from our continuous training.In our retail stores we do have targets to achieve, but our focus is on the customer. By offering the right product ranges and services for their needs, we are making our customers happy and achieving store performance targets.Best,The Dixons Carphone Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Would not recommend working hereHr has moved to India they don't understand minimum wage and other basic issues, if your pay is wrong or tax code incorrect, they will not understand you, lies about Hours pay advertised, it's minimum wage and you will be lucky to see any bonus, if you do overtime there's is a cut off, so your always behind by about two weeks of pay, so you could be waiting 2 months for it, a lot of pressure put on you to meet targets like credit, guarantees, and more.they will give you a minimum contract of about 8 hours but expect you to do 40 hours, yet when you have holiday you will only get your contract hours!! For minimum wage Its not worth it. There is a clocking in system which if you do wrong late or early you can get your pay deducted in your wage too. Then try sorting out in India!!Stay clear!!
Pros
Some Mangers and staff helpful
Cons
Hr in india, minimum wage
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
18 May 2021
Hello,Sorry to hear about your experience. We understand being paid correctly and on time is very important to our colleagues which is why we are concerned to hear about your feedback. We pay our retail colleagues the national living wage and from October are pleased to announce we will be paying the real living wage. Our retail colleagues have the opportunity to earn bonuses based on performance and with our new 'Be Amazing' app they can track this is real time.We do ask our retail colleagues to remain as flexible as possible with working patterns as we do need to be there when are customers want to shop with us, although we hope this allows colleagues to keep doing the things they love outside of work. We'd always recommend colleagues speak with their line managers about issues with working hours to help get these solved.Best,The Dixons Carphone Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Good team atmosphere and team work within depts. A lot has changed so a lot is evolving within Currys, as it's a forever changing environment where products and systems are concerned. It's fast paced especially in busy periods, so having a positive confident cool mannered professional approach to customers at all times is essential
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Sometimes rotas are very late out
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
17 May 2021
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It's great to read that you're enjoying being part of our Chelmsford team.We are a fast-paced retail business and looking to stay ahead of our game means change is inevitable. We, along with our suppliers, provide colleagues with regular training to keep everyone up to date with the newest products. We also encourage colleagues to keep up to date on the internal intranet and through Workplace so they are ready for any new initiatives.Best,The Dixons Carphone Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Good luck trying to get overtime paid. You'll spend weeks on end in central London lifting fridges and washing machines up stairs into flats.Put in the extra work they want, don't expect your pay to reflect that. They will overload the truck regularly and peak period over Christmas, don't expect to be home, ever. Every career job progression they offer is highly exaggerated.Often you will arrive and the customer will be already hostile due to dealing with customer services, and you are graded on the customers "overall Curry's experience" meaning you will struggle to hit the targets and get the bonus that they claim you will recieve, no matter how hard you work for the customer.I wouldn't recommend this job unless you are desperate. You will hear the same thing from all the drivers that you talk to.The pay isn't terrible. It's the conveluded way they work out over time pay which isn't stated in your contract, making it impossible to get. You'll work a 60hour week on a 45hour contract and still recieve no overtime.
Pros
Keep Fit
Cons
Long days, Ineffective management, Poorly managed pay.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
17 May 2021
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and we're sorry to hear you feel this way.We want to be a company that celebrates capable and committed colleagues and helps them achieve their best. Career progression is a key part of this, and we encourage any colleagues who have concerns about their personal development to start an open and honest conversation with their line manager to find solutions.We've also been implementing changes to provide a smoother service for customers. For example, Supply Chain & Supply Operations and Online teams are reducing the number of uncompleted orders by making sure the website reflects stock availability in real-time.Best,The Dixons Carphone Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Great pay. Great progression opportunities. Fast paced and rewarding place to work. Used to be an amazing place to work with a great culture when Charles dunstone was in charge, has definitely gone downhill over the years, until eventually closing all stores. Real shame.
Pros
Uncapped commission/bonus
Cons
None really
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Awesome members of staff trainings fun and great. Very good company to work for. Very relaxed process. All about engaging and interacting with customers selling all kpis across the board and have fun.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
By far the best place to work if you're into to technology. You can never get bored. Always up to date on new products and they teach you everything you need to know before you greet the customer having the best customer service.
Pros
Always Prepared
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
17 May 2021
Hi There,Thank you for posting your review on Indeed. Our mission is to help everyone enjoy amazing technology, and it sounds like your experience with us lived up to this.We're pleased that you enjoyed staying up to date with the latest tech while providing excellent customer service.Best,The Dixons Carphone Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
High staff turnover for a reason. Horrible managers and high pressure environment. Don't work here you'll regret it. They are constantly advertising, management is terrible.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I honestly haven't got a bad thing to say about my time as an employee at Carphone Warehouse. From the moment I walked into the store to have my interview, I immediately felt welcomed by the members of staff working there, and the manager who gave my interview. Within a couple of days of having my interview, I accepted an offer of employment and had arranged my training dates which included going up to Birmingham for three days training. The training itself was really engaging and fun; we went into depth about various networks and phone brands and learnt how to properly build a rapport with our customers and learnt how to sell up to Carphone Warehouse's standards. Their training scheme was incredible. When I finally started at Carphone Warehouse, I was met with the Assistant Manager who was covering for the Manager for a month, and I was given high quality training and shown the ropes by this incredibly talented member of staff. The other team members were really friendly to work with too, and I genuinely felt like I was part of a little family in my store. It fit perfectly around my university schedule and I was never expected to have an unbalanced work-life schedule; both the manager and the assistant manager made sure I was coping well with work around university and really took the time to care about how I was doing. The only 'con' I can give is that we were sadly made redundant in April 2020, due to all high-street stores being closed. Luckily, my colleagues and I have built up relationships outside of work, so we are still in contact to this day. I would like to say - more...
Pros
Everything
Cons
Redundancy :(
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
- Very bad job organisation and route planning, - very long hours because company is not hiring driver mates for a contract, but from agency so many times you have someone new to work with and it make your day twice longer than with experienced person,- managers ccare oonly about their bonuses and that's why they keep pushing drivers to do job as company want, - work can be hard, we are expected to deliver item where customer wants so it might even be big fridge on 3rd floor flat (not talking about American fridges),- I found managers not treating people fair, they tend to give easier jobs to same people and bad days to ones they don't like,- very poor training,- on interview they recruiters say beautiful things about company, so you can get very disappointed in your first day.
Pros
Each day is different
Cons
Bad management, long hours, everyday you work with someone else
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Dreadful management poor training savvy sat nav useless delivery times impossible routes dangerous never heard of smart goals 15 hour days trucks are useless avoid at all cost
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
30 April 2021
We are sorry to hear about your experience. Thanks for leaving us a review.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
  1. Employee reviews