Dixons Carphone
3.3 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Dixons Carphone Employee Reviews for Customer Consultant

Job Title
Location
Found 240 reviews matching the search
See all 3,378 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Enjoyable work place. Always something to do, and enjoyable colleagues.However, sales targets were inflated. Additionally, there was a commission scheme with targets so ridiculously high it was near impossible to reach as a collective store - relying on “customer satisfaction” ratings to score 10/10 otherwise you’d lose all commission as a store.
Pros
Discounts on texhnolofy
Cons
Impossible commission scheme
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
30 April 2021
Thanks for your feedback, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed working for DC. We have listened to colleague feedback on bonus and targets and have launched a new reward and engagement portal for colleagues in retail which we hope will be a real game changer for supporting our store based colleagues.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I honestly haven't got a bad thing to say about my time as an employee at Carphone Warehouse. From the moment I walked into the store to have my interview, I immediately felt welcomed by the members of staff working there, and the manager who gave my interview. Within a couple of days of having my interview, I accepted an offer of employment and had arranged my training dates which included going up to Birmingham for three days training. The training itself was really engaging and fun; we went into depth about various networks and phone brands and learnt how to properly build a rapport with our customers and learnt how to sell up to Carphone Warehouse's standards. Their training scheme was incredible. When I finally started at Carphone Warehouse, I was met with the Assistant Manager who was covering for the Manager for a month, and I was given high quality training and shown the ropes by this incredibly talented member of staff. The other team members were really friendly to work with too, and I genuinely felt like I was part of a little family in my store. It fit perfectly around my university schedule and I was never expected to have an unbalanced work-life schedule; both the manager and the assistant manager made sure I was coping well with work around university and really took the time to care about how I was doing. The only 'con' I can give is that we were sadly made redundant in April 2020, due to all high-street stores being closed. Luckily, my colleagues and I have built up relationships outside of work, so we are still in contact to this day. I would like to say - more...
Pros
Everything
Cons
Redundancy :(
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The colleagues are extremely nice and welcoming, and I love working here. I would recommend other people to apply for a job role at Currys pc world and I know they won’t regret it. The managers are extremely nice. I've learned many new skills whilst working here and made new friends
Pros
Staff discount, bonus, peak incentive
Cons
Unpaid breaks
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
1 April 2021
Thankyou for your feedback, we are really pleased to hear you are enjoying working for DC!Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I was a temporary part time sales assistant. The wain issue I had was I had a really bad work life/balance. I am a student and had a lot of work which I fell behind on due to lack of time to complete it all which almost 3 months later I'm only just getting back on track. Overall it wasn't the worst place to work and some of the staff were friendly, helpful and understanding. I did often feel unappreciated and alone which wasn't fun as I was just expected to know everything from day 1 and there was a lot to remember. The best part of the job was the people. If I had nobody to talk to I'd have gone mad. My warning is although from the outside a company may look pristine looks can be very deceiving.
Pros
The pay was alright
Cons
Horrible work/life balance
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
We are sorry to hear about your experience and that you didn't feel supported with your work/life balance. The benefit of working in one of our retail stores is the flexibility of shifts that we can offer dependent on colleagues needs. We'd always recommend colleagues speak to their line manager about any concerns so these can be worked through together.Thanks for your reviewDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I worked for Carphone for 4 years and though I enjoyed the people I worked with and have very fond memories the job ruined my social life and stressed me out
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Long hours, bad social work life balance
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
12 January 2021
Thankyou for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you worked with such a good team and you enjoyed the benefits and the pay.We understand that working within our retail stores does mean working some weekends as this is often our busiest trading time.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I worked for carphone for a few years, in that time I watched the targets become Extremely unrealistic meaning the company kept our hard earned commission if we don’t hit said targets, leaving you on basically minimum wage.Lots of pressure was put on staff to step up as unpaid management and run stores however were overlooked when an assistant manager position become available. The company made all staff In standalone stores redundant when lockdown was announced with no chance of furlough but with one months notice. The government then classed us as non essential meaning that we should be shut, the CEO argued against the government pleading they were classed as essential stores as ‘we keep people connected’ and should remain open through lockdown, even though there were online alternatives and they were closing these stores for good anyway. They forced staff back against government guidelines to box up stores and clear the shops for them even though they had a paid implementation team and could have been done at a later date, our manager had conveniently gone into self isolation when we received the redundancy news, which we questioned higher up saying we don’t feel safe to return to the same environment he was in and potentially become ill in a job we have just lost, they told us to get in and get on with it, luckily I knew he didn’t truly have symptoms but it really bothered me that as far as the company knew he did have symptoms and they still expected us to go back into the store no PPI provided.This all happened as the pandemic become serious meaning 3-4K people were - more...
Pros
There were often opportunities to win tech with manufacturers
Cons
Greedy company
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
A company that rarely recognises the hard work you put into your job. My store was fantastic at doing this, the business less so. The company failed to be transparent with colleagues about the future of high-street shopping
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
28 August 2020
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a response. We are glad to hear that you felt rewarded and recognised from your store team. We also have company reward schemes such as ‘Your Electric’ and Make a Difference surveys where colleagues have the opportunity to feedback their thoughts on how we operate and the future of the business.As customers' expectations change, we had to made some tough decisions about how we operate in our Carphone Warehouse stores on the highstreet to make sure we continue to put our customer first. We worked closely with all the impacted colleagues to make sure they had support throughout.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Dixons carphone was one of the best companies I have worked for throughout my working life. I was taken on as a christmas temp with 8hr contract but often had options to cover or take extra hours. Manager couldn't do enough for staff and always strived to make everyone happy. The only downside to the job was the company had started to struggle and as a whole decided they could not keep on any christmas temps so there was no longer a position for me.
Pros
Good base pay, commission, great team and manager.
Cons
Company had issues and were unable to keep me on due to temp contract
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
18 August 2020
We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your time working with us. Keep an eye on our careers site for any new vacancies in the future which may be suitable.Thanks for leaving us a reviewDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
during my time at carphone warehouse my day to day task was to make sales of phones and also inform and advise customers on the other products and services within the company. I was also made to follow a strict sales tally that showed all sales of the day, week and month.
Pros
commission on all sales
Cons
not enough hours available
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
3 August 2020
Thanks for letting us know and taking the time to leave us a review.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Don't waste your time. This company messed up my mental health, I had to seek counselling and actually had to take time off for stress. Carphone sucks you in and makes it difficult to escape. They made me redundant in the middle of a pandemic.. maybe that was the only good thing that happened. Management is all over the place and the targets are ridiculous. In my interview, which lasted for 3 hours despite getting the job after 20 minutes, the manager at the time made a very inappropriate comment about my breasts, stating 'would you cover yourself up, as I am a man with urges'.. threatening to assault me basically. I took this to management and they did NOTHING. Everyone in the company knew about it and they did nothing.b
Pros
Interaction with regular customers
Cons
Management was awful, inappropriate comments from male staff that go ignored even when complained, lack of diversity, ridiculous targets, etc
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
8 July 2020
We are very concerned to hear about the inappropriate comments you received. If you'd like to get it touch to discuss in more detail then please reach out on careers@dixonscarphone.com.All our colleagues have access to our Employee Assistance Programme; a free, 24-hour telephone counselling service which is there to support colleagues with anything they'd like to talk through. Regarding our Carphone Warehouse stand alone stores, this was a very difficult decision made by the business as part of the transformation plan to close these sites permanently. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a comment and we wish you the best with your next roleDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Dixons Carphone expect too much of their staff members, almost every shift was understaffed and stressful, your responsibilities would increase constantly, for example: not just selling phones but now you have to sell broadband and then it was energy referrals and then it was email captures. I enjoyed the stores i worked in because of the colleagues and manager. I still feel bitter about finding out we had lost our jobs through the news rather than from head office, on top of that they still expected us in the very same day to make sales and there was heavy pressure on performance and best of it all was this was during the start of a global pandemic which left us jobless with no hopes for new employment.
Pros
Staff discount (contract and accessories), colleagues
Cons
head office
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
8 July 2020
Thanks for leaving us a comment.We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time working with your colleagues and managers.The decision to close our Carphone Warehouse stand alone stores was a very difficult decision for the business to make and being a PLC meant we had to report the news to the city first. Thankyou for your service whilst working for DC and we wish you the best of luck with your next move.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
...then you see that, it’s all to sell a contract that CPW see the most rewarding for them to the customer. People talk so much rubbish to the customers it’s unbelievable, so called experts and professionals...a joke
Pros
Some discounts
Cons
You work with phone addicts who know nothing
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
16 July 2020
We are sorry to hear you felt this way. We are here to help our customers enjoy amazing technology and have been investing lots in staff training. As part of this all our colleagues are coached to ensure we are offering our products and services responsibly and matching them to our customers needs. Thanks for leaving us a commentDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Worked at Carphone for nearly 6 years and enjoyed it. Targets cold be a little over the top but overall was a great place with some amazing people. Sadly missed when they closed the stores. Would happily still be there.
Pros
Manufacturer incentives and phone discounts.
Cons
Targets could be a little over-reaching
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
13 July 2020
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time working for Carphone Warehouse and got the opportunity to work with some great people.Thankyou for your 6years of service and we wish you the best of luck with your next move.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I enjoyed working at Carphone as it was a relaxed but hard working environment. Although being made redundant at the end of my uni course didnt help but I think I have learnt some valuable skills from carphone.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
12 June 2020
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.We’re glad you had an enjoyable experience here at Dixons Carphone and are grateful for the contribution you made during your time with us. On our transformation journey, the difficult decision was made to close our standalone Carphone Warehouse stores. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavours.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Working in a phone shop has to be one of the best ways to build customer skills aswell as teaching you how to talk and become independent. Also collaborating with the team in order to hit targets used to be a lot of fun as well as challenging
Pros
Improved communication skills
Cons
Could have had more perks
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
2 June 2020
Thank you for your review! We value your review and we wanted to take a moment to respond to your points.It's good to hear you had a great experience, really pleased you feel that way. Perks at work offer some great discounts across well-known high street brands, cinema tickets and restaurants. Best of luck with your future career.Many thanks, Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Typical day at work involved selling contracts, home broadband, phones etc. The hardest part of the job was to meet all the targets on the daily, weekly and monthly basis especially during quiet periods when there was a low number of customers.
Pros
Benefits such as being able to win vouchers etc.
Cons
Working on a Sunday
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
2 June 2020
Thank you for your review. We value your review and we wanted to take a moment to respond to your points.In our retail stores we do have targets to achieve like any other business, but our focus continues to be on the customer, by offering our different product ranges and services dependant on their needs means we aren’t only making our customers happy but also achieving store performance targets. We continue to recognise and reward all colleagues for their contribution towards business performance.Many thanks, Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The people are brilliant and become like a family. However targets are unrealistic and expectations are the same. overall the job is unnecessarily stressful.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
9 April 2020
We are sorry to hear you felt that way. We'd always recommend colleagues speak to their line manager about any concerns or issues.Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Manager was really cool, calmed and relaxed. enjoyed working with the team as it felt like a family, working together to achieve the stores and personal target.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
2 April 2020
We are really pleased to hear you had such a great support network around you.Thanks for leaving us a reviewDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
aaand ofc then out of the blue they pulled the plug on the standalone stores. I'd been there nearly 13 years. As a retail environment and with the right manager, its a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
26 March 2020
We understand this is a difficult and upsetting time for all our colleagues affected by the news of the store closures. We are pleased to hear you enjoy working for the company and thank you for your long service.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have learned loads of things from my amazing team. Everyone was always supporting each other. Customers were difficult but not all of them. Most of them are kind :)
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
25 March 2020
We are really pleased to hear you have such an amazing team around you.Thanks for leaving us a commentDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Great and supportive members of staff who always help you with any problem faced when listing with either customers or other parts of the business, make work motivating.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
25 March 2020
We are pleased to hear you have such a supportive network around you in store. Thanks for leaving us a reviewDixons Carphone Careers Team