Dixons Carphone
Happiness score is 53 out of 100
3.3 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Dixons Carphone Employee Reviews for Customer Service Representative

Job Title
Location
Found 237 reviews matching the search
See all 3,378 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Enjoyed my time working there,full and ongoing training was given to help you feel confident about your job,I worked with a great team,we all got on together well,great management and happy environment
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
30 April 2021
Thankyou for your review, we are pleased to hear you got some great training and had a supportive team around you.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
High staff turnover for a reason. Horrible managers and high pressure environment. Don't work here you'll regret it. They are constantly advertising, management is terrible.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The job is pretty easy once you get the hang of it. The training provided may as well not exist because you learn nothing and then are thrown to the wolves on your first day.Managers never speak to you and I'm not sure my manager knows who I am
Cons
Long hours, weird shifts, not enough support
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
We are sorry to hear that you feel this way. As a current colleague we'd recommend you reach out to your line manager, mentor or HR to let them know about your concerns. Having capable and committed colleagues is a priority for DC and there are networks in place to be able to support you.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The management had no idea what to do, the work place was toxic and really stressful. They expect you to do 200 times more work for less salary. No appreciation!
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Stress, no life balance, underpaid
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
We are sorry to hear you felt this way. We'd always recommend colleagues speak to their line manager, mentor or HR about any concerns with working patterns and salary as it's important we get this right.Thankyou for your feedbackDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Always short staffed and left by yourself even when busy. Worked on customer services and they expect you to deal with in store pc repairs etc even without much knowledge as well as dealing with emails, phone calls, returns all for minimum wage. Management can never be bothered to help you it’s like a chore, always rolling the eyes or “I am busy”. Rota’s are to be posted 4 weeks in advance, would be lucky to get 2 weeks in advance and then they would change it and not tell you.
Pros
Can’t think of any
Cons
Low pay, don’t really care about you
Was this review helpful?
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
You're given good training and support to start, and unlike a lot of other places you typically aren't just thrown into the deep end. Once I started on the phones I had at least a good idea of how to use the systems and where to go for basic queries. When something unusual pops up, you have plenty of line managers and 'floor walkers', more experienced staff who hover around and help you out with your cases.All of this kind of breaks down as you slide into Christmas, which you will learn to dread. The hours are ramped up and your life for a good 1-2 months becomes the call centre. The quieter parts of the year (if they exist anymore) aren't too bad, but overall your job is to be fed a conveyor belt of calls, and - if you're on the general customer service department - lots of complaints.The worst part of this job was the customers. You deal with some really awful people, but the people you work with redeem the job because you're all dealing with the s*** together. Customer anger is often justified because of the unnecessarily convoluted systems you're working with and the many limitations they threw up, such as being unable to cancel an order placed 10 minutes ago because the item's been 'picked', despite not physically moving for the next day or so, or because somebody deleted the delivery line and now you've got to raise a new one that's another five days on from what the customer was originally told. This gets even worse on weekends, where the people who aren't working the weekend just told their customers whatever they needed to in order to get them off the phone on a - more...
Pros
Good drinks and cafeteria, easy to book holidays, some of the most down-to-earth people on the planet working beside you
Cons
Long hours, relentless peak shifts, lots of stress
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The company is poorly run, the manager has his favourite people, you can never just do your entitled hours without them changing at a moments notice, rotas are changed without knowledge, lazy people benefit and workers get penalised, pay is never correct as they always try to mess it up
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, poor pay, poor management
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Small town culture- all the managers are mates who go out In Loughborough together and discuss things that they shouldn’t and don’t understand employees whose life doesn’t revolve around going revs in town.Also the marketing team make up false deals on events like Black Friday or Christmas and then cancel them under the pretence that it is a mistake (it’s to increase internet traffic) and then let their other staff deal with the aftermath. Research to see which deals they have backed out on and you will see it happens twice a year minimum.Forget about holidays, you can book months in advance and they still won’t give you the entitled leave, they will understand if it involves going to revs in Loughborough but seeing some friends in London, forget about it.Once a week you will see a grown woman crying in the corridor. Week after it will be another person crying
Pros
None
Cons
The entire time one spends there
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
18 December 2020
We are sorry to hear about your experience and we are concerned to read about some of your comments. We'd ask you to get in touch to discuss these further.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Target driven, do not care for the staff. Bonus is decent if you hit said targets. Aren’t many opportunities to progress in the business. Very stressful environment
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
5 October 2020
We are sorry to hear you feel this way. As a current employee we'd recommend having an open and honest conversation with your line manager or mentor about the target expectations you've been set. We want all our colleagues to feel supported in their day to day role.Many thanksDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Was good at start but a few well two in particular made my time at work miserable and at a point I started to dislike coming to work. Despite my concerns and complaints nothing was done about it. In fact my concerns were brushed off. I wanted to stay on perminamtly but sadly because of a few people.
Pros
Greta working team except for two
Cons
Horrible team
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
12 November 2020
We are sorry to hear about your experience. We'd always recommend colleagues speak to a mentor, line manager or HR about any concerns. However we understand this isn't always easy so there's the confidential employee helpline available as well.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Jobs at Dixons Carphone
Customer Service Representative positions
See more jobs
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Customers are absolutely awful... Make you cry when your trying to help them... Its a shame because I had regular elderly customers who I loved to see and they felt like family, these few people were the only exceptions... Far too many entitled people in the world.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Customers, not alot of help from managers, no help with mental health
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
13 July 2020
We are sorry to hear that you felt this way.All our colleagues have access to a free, 24-hour confidential telephone helpline under our Employee Assistance Programme to discuss anything that may be on their mind.Many thanksDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Easy job to get. You can have literally no knowledge of technology here and get the job. Management are terrible, bullies, vile, entitled and slobs. They really do push staff to the absolute limits. No proper overtime. Contract hours mean nothing to them, corrupt people pushing horrible sales and not even a thanks for helping to a ton of unpaid, jnderstaffed overtime 24/7!
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
2 June 2020
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a response. We’re sorry to hear you feel this way. We wanted to reply to some of the comments you’ve made. Our company encourages an open and honest working environment between line managers and colleagues. We ensure our line managers have access to management training guides to support their growth Regarding hours, we appreciate what you’re saying but as a retail business, it’s very important that we are there when our customers need us to be – whether that’s visiting a shop, receiving a delivery or calling us. We are here to help our customers enjoy amazing technology and have been investing lots in staff training. We encourage our colleagues to have an open conversation with their line manager / HR to solve problems. Many ThanksDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The Job Role was Very Challenging we came across a lot of obstacles during calls. These where all handed very professionally also the managers do a great job.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
2 June 2020
That’s great to hear, really pleased you feel that way. Thank you for your feedback,Best of luck, Many Thanks, Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
was with Carphone Warehouse for nearly 18yrs loved the people and the job. Learnt valuable customer service skills made some great friends and trained with the best in mobile communications. If it wasn't for store closures would still be there now.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
2 June 2020
That’s great to hear, really pleased you feel that way. Best of luck for your future career. Many thanks, Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
They don't care about you just a number all about targets Team leaders constantly on your back about hitting targets and they let you go if you don't get enough customer email addresses.or sell enough insurance policies even if the customer doesn't want it don't matter to company they just want them sold
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
2 June 2020
Sorry you have had this experience.We would encourage you to get in touch so we can investigate this.Many thanks, Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I got the interview which went really well, to be told they would contact me with a date for me to go into store and spend a day there to see how I got on. Over 12 months later and I have still heard nothing from them at all !! If this is how this company operates then I had a lucky escape as I do not wish to work for such unprofessional people.
Pros
None
Cons
No Communications !
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
5 June 2020
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a response. Candidate and colleague experience is something we really value as an organisation and we are sorry that you have had this experience when applying to join us. Best wishes, Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Fast and competitive place to work, good level of training given to new staff and progression within the company if desired. friendly atmosphere as well
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
2 June 2020
That’s great to hear, really pleased you feel that way. Best of luck for your future career.Many thanks, Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
This is a great place to work but like all places it has it’s flaws. They measure a lot to do with calls which I feel could be eased on slightly. Other than that it’s great.
Pros
Great pay for the job you do.
Cons
Tight on the targets
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
good company to work for wages not the best doesn't equip you to take your skills on to another company as none of your skills are accredited by the company in any way very hard to transfer these skills on to paper for another company to recognise and deem you worthy of interview so be wary of these when applying management can be goood at times
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Helpful management team. Clear protocols and procedures followed by everyone. Safe work environment with on-site canteen. Overall good place to work. Plenty of support.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Great for anyone wanting to develop customer service skills, alongside sales. Great interaction with management team. But requires time for progression.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
28 January 2020
Thanks for leaving us a review, we are glad to hear you're developing your skill set.Did you know progression doesn't just need to be within store? We also have opportunities in Acton our support centre and across our Supply Chain network.Many thanksDixons Carphone Careers Team
  1. Customer Service Representative