Dixons Carphone
3.3 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Dixons Carphone Employee Reviews for Sales Advisor

Job Title
Location
Found 208 reviews matching the search
See all 3,378 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Amazing people to work with but very minimal work/life balance as you work every weekend, all bank holidays and not allowed any time off around peak or easter.Pay is just above minimum wage, although I don’t think that is high enough for the product knowledge and legal processes we have to adhere to. Lots of training to build up product knowledge.No real chance of any promotions or advancements unless you’ve been with the company for 20+ years. Bonus structure is not inspiring either.
Pros
Great colleagues
Cons
Work/Life balance
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
30 April 2021
We are pleased to hear you had a great team around you. Working in retail does mean being there for our customers when they need us and this often means our busy periods are holidays and weekends when our customers want to shop with us and shift patterns need to reflect these busier periods. Thankyou for your feedbackDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I learnt a lot in regards to sale. The teaching is top notch. They really brainwash you into believing you can achieve anything and they mould you I to thinking you are running your own business. It works, but not for long.The targets are not achievable. Uess you've been there for 5+ years and know how to cheat the system and lie to customers then you're set. Of you're new, you're going to struggle. Of you don't hit target, they will get rid you of you without a thought. That's why you're just a number. They will easily replace you. It's a very fast paced environment. They do look after you in regards to incentives and free gifts, Christmas parties and nights out. The main boss at Loughborough thinks he's god. Drives around in the latest sports car and never interacts with his staff. Which is not a good reflection. The pay is good, the commission is great. Overall, the staff are very friendly but you don't get time to talk to anyone. If you're good at sales, you'll probably enjoy it there, but not for long. You can't make a career out of it there, use it to learn them move on quickly. I've seen a lot of people come through the doors and leave, even the managers. There's a great loophole though.. work for a months and get good commission. Get a doctor's note for depression/anxiety and you'll get 3months off with full pay. So many people did this.
Pros
Commission
Cons
Unmet targets
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Company expects you to do everything for so little pay in return. Every month there's a new kpi or target to hit but the pay stays the same. Managers don't really care for anything else than you hitting target. A lot favoritism goes on inside. If management don't like you good as gone i would definitely avoid this place. If you want to work at a call centre i I'm sure there's much better places.
Pros
Good colleagues.
Cons
Long hours, too many targets every month.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
12 January 2021
We are sorry to hear you feel this way. We'd always recommend colleagues speak with a line manager about any concerns over targets so that any resources or support can be provided. Thanks for your feedbackDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Selling electrical goods and giving expert advice to enable customer to chose the right product for them. Very customer focused. Heavily targeted so can get stressful if you let it. Work as a team and have a fantastic management team. Downside can be long hours and late night’s especially around Christmas.
Pros
Physically easy learn something new every day.
Cons
Long hours 30 mins break
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
7 September 2020
Thanks for letting us know! We appreciate you taking the time out to leave us this review. We are pleased to hear you have a great team around you and that you are learning something new everyday.Christmas is one of our busiest trading times and it’s very important that we are there when our customers need us to be. At times this can mean later finishes or earlier starts for our colleagues but there's always a such a great buzz in store during this period!Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Too much pressure for NMW.Terrible bonus structure.KPI s are ridiculous.Colleagues are great and management are approachable most of the time.Would be better if they paid you decent wage.
Pros
None
Cons
Wages
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
3 September 2020
Thanks for taking the time out to leave us your feedback. We are pleased to hear you had such great colleagues around you.We pay above the national living wage for our retail colleagues and we do have KPIs to achieve in our stores however there's lots of training and support on hand for all our colleagues to help them achieve their best.Many thanksDixons Carphone Careers Team
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
From the very beginning working with Currys I got on with all the management and staff members, I worked as a sales temp from October through peak periods and was lucky enough to be offered a contract to stay with the company, I would say the job is perfectly suited for students of any level as they are great with working around days when you are available/unavailable. I plan to stay with this company for atleast the duration on my degree l
Pros
Great targets, managers and staff are friendly
Cons
Nil
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
At the end of the day, It's okay money for what you have to do but It's a horrible environment, stressful and competitive at all times. This job absolutely crushed my soul, and I would avoid working here. I came back from being on furlough and they completely changed my job, drastically enough that I quit after two months of it. Mental health not taken seriously.
Pros
Potentially good money if you're amazing
Cons
Horrible Environment, Stressful
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
11 August 2020
We are sorry to hear about your experience.We take the health of our colleagues very seriously. We'd always recommend colleagues speak to their line managers or HR about any issues but we understand this isn't always easy so we also have a confidential Employee Assistance Programme in place. Thanks for your commentDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Trained for about 2 weeks before getting onto the floor. Colleagues are lovely and although you can come across difficult customers the team around you make it worth it
Pros
nice building, free food at times, dress down days
Cons
can get repetitive
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
16 July 2020
Thanks for your comment, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time working in Sheffield.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Depending on which store you work at, the work ethics are great and the benefits are just as good. As a student its been a great place to work at and they understand your situations when you explain to them if you can't work certain days.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
12 June 2020
That’s great to hear, really pleased you feel that way!Thanks for your feedback, Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I received a back injury and while employed by this lot I’d to go out for surgery and they used the 3 month probation to sack me. Now I appealed and got job back as they knew they would be sued for wrongful dismissal. I never went back as surgery and recovering didn’t go as well but the fact that they sack me using my disability as excuse.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
15 June 2020
We’re sorry to hear you had a negative experience with us. If you’d like to discuss this further we recommend you reach out to HR Shared Services (HRSharedServices@dixonscarphone.com). We wish you the best for the future and hope your recovery continues. Thank you, Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
excellent working here, good customer service and great people surrounded with people with excellent knowldge and friendly good team providing good customer service
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
2 June 2020
Thanks for letting us know! Great to hear you feel that way.Many thanks for taking the time to leave us this feedback.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
If you don’t hit targets you get threatened every week about getting sacked. Conference calls 3 times a day from the area manager pushing sales. Very rude not staff friendly.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
25 March 2020
We are sorry to hear you feel this way. In our retail stores we do have targets to achieve but our focus continues to be on the customer, by offering our different product ranges and services dependent on their needs means we aren’t only making our customers happy but also achieving store performance targets.Many thanksDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The management team were not accepting of my situation in terms of exams and expected me to work when I clearly stated that I could not. The people working there were amazing to work with.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Worked at the Carphone Warehouse in Brentford Curry's PC World, the management had no idea what they were doing, breached confidentiality and couldn't grasp common sense duties. The management refused to work on busy sale days such as Christmas eve and instead fiddled with employee contract hours and overworked employees without giving them an overtime option. The management did not allocate breaks appropriately and instead took 3 hour break-times away from the store and threatened an investigation when employees tried to take due breaks. The working environment was awful and often employees were called late at night by the management and informed of shift changes with no notice and begged to work on days off so that management did not have to fill in for absences. I strongly advise against applying for Carphone Warehouse in Brentford, nor the Curry's PC World as the management are very manipulative and awful to work alongside.
Pros
Carphone contracts
Cons
Awful and vile management
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
9 March 2020
Sorry to hear about your experience.We've passed your feedback on to the relevant management teams to review.Many thanksDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
enjoyable place to work at, with great team ethic. Also receive a considerate amount of work perks across the board. Would highly recommend especially for students
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
4 March 2020
We are pleased to hear you are enjoying working for DC. Retail is a great place for those who are looking to work in a flexible environment as our stores offer a wide range of part time contracts.Many thanksDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I enjoyed my time at Carphone Warehouse working with a great team and having a supportive manager. The team were great in training me. The Manager was also fantastic with the team supporting us in every step of the way. The day consisted of meeting different types of customers the fun part of the role was making great conversations with customers to learn more about them and their lifestyle.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
28 February 2020
Thanks for taking the time out to leave us a review. We are really pleased to hear about your positive experience especially around working in such a supportive team. Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Started ok then they always swap managerial personnel and the stores never get enough time to rebuild team cohesion your set in a way your previous GM makes his standards then in comes another and staff leave and new faces then start again
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
11 February 2020
Thanks for leaving us a comment and we are sorry to hear you feel this way.We'd always recommend speaking openly with your line manager about any issues. Many thanksDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I've learnt a lot throughout my time with PC World Curries. The team supports you to a certain amount, especially when you're new. However, the pay is low considering the location is in London. The management cares only one thing in the shop, that is SALES. Not product sales but add-on sales. The pressure put on staff members to sell a repair and support plan to go with a laptop is ridiculous. On top of that, you are to sell Home and Mobile broadbands. There is a particular question within the CSAT survey (Customer's review) for every store. The pressure the customer feel from the store staff to purchase (repair and support plan i assume) are always over 85%, no less. From a customer point of view, you do not want to enter a store to be pressured into buying things that you have already rejected once. But that is not the case, even if customers reject you once, you, as staff are required to continue selling that product as advised by management.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
7 February 2020
Thanks for leaving us a review and we are sorry to hear you feel this way.We are here to help our customers enjoy amazing technology and have been investing heavily in staff training and compliance to continue to transform the business over next 3 years.In our retail stores we do have targets to achieve but our focus continues to be on the customer, by offering our different product ranges and services dependent on their needs means we aren’t only making our customers happy but also achieving store performance targets.Many thanksDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
the people there are really nice and fun to work with but will get down to work when it needs doing. The management team are also really supportive and encourage you to work harder but are also fun to talk too. The hardest part of the job would be learning the sales software but still it is easy to do so. The most enjoyable thing about the job would be the people that you would work with as it is generally a good and fun environment
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
If you are good at selling you will survive easily. Interacting with different people on a daily basis gives you a lot of confidence. Tackling different issue daily is a good learning place and start a career in retail.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
28 January 2020
Thanks for leaving us a comment and we are pleased to hear you are enjoying working for DC and feel you are getting the skills you need to start your career.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
It is what it is. A call centre is like a diary farm. Everyone is sat in their cubicle at a desk, headset on and staring at a computer screen for 8 hours. I managed to stay for 2 years but It felt like a waste of existance for me personally. The management were extremely poor when I worked there although, it seems to be a little better now.
Was this review helpful?