Dixons Carphone
3.3 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Dixons Carphone Employee Reviews for Sales Assistant

Job Title
Location
Found 468 reviews matching the search
See all 3,380 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
There are so many targets that a sales member needs to achieve each week. Management are very strict and only care for targets to be met. Insurance is pushed upon customers so much and it makes the fun of selling extremely difficult.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Sales targets
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
30 April 2021
We do have targets to achieve in our retail stores but the focus is always on putting the needs of our customer first. There's plenty of training on hand to support colleagues to increase their knowledge and confidence when serving customers. Pus with the launch of our 'Be Amazing' app the new reward and engagement portal for colleagues in retail. It will really support all our store colleagues with selling tips and advice to deliver a great customer experience.Thanks for your reviewDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
By far the best place to work if you're into to technology. You can never get bored. Always up to date on new products and they teach you everything you need to know before you greet the customer having the best customer service.
Pros
Always Prepared
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I enjoyed working there at first.. But then they had the big management reshuffle and then people got too big for their boots.. Your berated for not reaching targets infront of colleagues. If they just don't like you.. You'll know about it. When you speak up your punished. Don't do it. It good thing was having decent teammates working along side you.. Management sucks.
Pros
Good team mates
Cons
Management sucks.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
We are sorry to hear about your experience as this doesn't sound quite right at all. We'd always recommend colleagues speak to a member of their management team or HR with regards to any concerns however we know this isn't always easy which is why colleagues also have access to a 24hour confidential helpline.Thanks for your feedbackDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Very stressful place to work. Very low pay and no worker appreciation. If management don't like you, you are forgotten about. No matter how well you do for sales.
Pros
None
Cons
The whole job
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
We are sorry to hear you felt this way. All our retail colleagues are paid above the national living wage with the opportunity to earn bonus.Thankyou for taking the time to leave us some feedbackDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
This is the worst place to work, they push you until you feel like your going to breakdown. All they care about it wether you get sales or not, they have no interest in how your feeling. Maybe your just having a bad day, but they don’t care. The management are so unprofessional, you try your hardest to reach your target but they won’t give you any help. They put you straight on to 12 hour shifts with only a half hour break with is ridiculous. Hated it and will always hate it.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
We are concerned to hear about your experience as this doesn't sound right at all. The wellbeing of our colleagues is a key priority for DC. We have resources available from the Calm app subscription to the Wellbeing Corner to support all our colleagues health. Thankyou for taking the time to leave us some feedbackDixons Carphone Careers Team
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
This company squeezes everything out of you for the basic minimum wage, you complete 2-3 different job roles that with other employers would see you earning at least £1 ph over the minimum wage. You pressured day 1 to meet sales targets selling ludicrously priced accessories and told in occasion to lie to customers to get a sale through. They call it a team environment yet your pitted against your fellow sales colleagues in a trial by combat to get the figures. Management will threaten investigations into your performance, talk about you to other colleagues, and to top it off will encourage you to break rules to get the job done. It’s such a toxic and non rewarding place to work. I would not recommend it unless you enjoy being over worked and underpaid. And recently they posted millions of profits then decided to force all staff into contract negotiations to take away benefits and paid breaks and let go 800 managers all because they wanted all the millions not just some of the millions. Disgraceful company.
Pros
They took them all away.
Cons
Long hours. Over worked. Not appreciated. Pressure like you wouldn’t believe. Lies lots of em.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
We are concerned to hear your feedback surrounding selling as this doesn't sound right at all. We'd urge you to get in touch to discuss this further.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Glad I got out when I did, The place is nothing but stress.No acknowledgment for any good that you do.Management is probably the worst I have seen in any retail store, So unprofessional! How certain people even got a management role with no prior experience before hand and started from the bottom and got high so quickly just says it all.. favoritism. Get ready to be completely ignored or just spoken to with the most disrespect.
Pros
Nothing.
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
31 March 2021
We are sorry to hear about your experience. All our colleagues have access to an employee confidential helpline open 24/7 to discuss any issues or seek advice for any concerns they don't feel comfortable discussing internally. Thankyou for taking the time out to leave us a review.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
They will have you doing 5 different job roles that isn't what you've applied for very stressful and when loads of people leave they don't replace them. The managers never praise you for your hard work all they do is tell you your not hitting your targets baring in mind everyone is doing 5 different job roles. Sometimes they'd say you can't take lunches becouse of how busy they are and still you don't get paid for those breaks you didn't take
Pros
Descent pay
Cons
Bad managmet, having to do multiple roles, half hr lunch even if you've done an all day shift
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Worked for Currys for 2 years whilst studying and after. Managers encourage you to push extended warranties that are financially regulated by encouraging “package deals” to trick the customer. Pay structure is very confusing and unclear. Company has paid staff incorrectly on numerous occasions and claim it to always be a “technical issue” however it is never salaries staff experiencing issues. Company culture is simply to push stress into the staff and target with with no reward. The only reward from working in the job is the sales bonus of 0.02% which must be unlocked via customer service satisfaction survey, which in itself encourages the customer to lower their selected score as it is worded as “how was your overall experience?” rather than being something like “how were the sales staff?”. Therefore on numerous occasions delivery issues or product faults cause you to loose bonus. Better to stay away from the company who can make £167million profit and not pay staff
Pros
Non
Cons
As listed above
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
7 October 2020
We are concerned to read some of your feedback as this doesn't sound right atall. We'd encourage you to get in touch so we can look into some of the issues you've raised further. We have an immersive induction and regular training for our retail colleagues to ensure we are offering any of our additional services and products responsibly. It's a high priority for our HR teams to ensure colleagues are paid on time and correctly and if you have had an issue with your pay then please get in touch so we can get this resolved for you immediately. Many thanksDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have been in the company for 2 years and for the most part it has been great. Only downside is that the targets can sometimes be hard to achieve which in return can sometimes make you feel a bit disheartened. The customers are ok most of the time but when you get stroppy ones it can make an impact on your day.
Pros
Good laughs
Cons
too many targets
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
5 October 2020
Thanks for taking the time out to leave us a review, we appreciate your feedback.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
We want to help you find great companies. Help us be the best!
Do these reviews help you learn more about working at Dixons Carphone?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Great place to work as it is based in the aiport, meeting new people everyday was exciting but the main aspect of the job was to sell products to flying customers who wanted to spend money.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
14 September 2020
Thanks for leaving us a comment. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time working for Dixons Travel.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
If you can handle the odd customer complaint and enjoy being around appliances, this job is suited for you. Everyday you can ask or give yourself opportunities to learn from the different departments, the managers are encouraging when it comes to training. When representatives from different businesses come to train you on their products you can receive free demos, the latest deals and other opportunities. The Holiday seasons are very stressful at times as you need time management skills, expertise and patience. That said a typical day can be quite mellow/procedural. Best part of the job, I would say getting the first pick of any discounts. This business is close knit at management level, if you can make an impression word will travel to others and career advancement is achievable.
Pros
Getting discounts and using new products first.
Cons
30 minute lunches and the Holiday seasons
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I had a great time at Dixons Carphone (Even with the terrible computer OS) at times it is challenging but rewards you once you get out the other side. I was fortunate enough that the team i worked with were so understanding and really took the time to make sure i was comfortable in the job.
Pros
Paid lunches
Cons
the clientele
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
19 August 2020
Thanks for leaving us a review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time working for DC and that you had a great team around you..Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Started in august 2019 had personal problems going on and the managers just didn’t care. They were rude and obnoxious towards me when I asked anything. I felt like other people on my team got more help because of certain things when it should be divided equally. Wouldn’t work for them again.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Rude managers
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
4 August 2020
We are sorry to hear about your experience. We always recommend colleagues have an open and honest conversation with their line manager or HR about any issues. However we know this isn't always easy so we also have a confidential colleague helpline available.Thanks for your commentDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
A typical day within the business would be totally dependant on your manager. The business as a whole only care about curry's and the staff there. no real care or recognition for Carphone staff which made sense as they have basically made it clear that the aim would be to get rid of the Carphone side as a whole. They claim to listen to their customers and employees. if this was true they wouldn't of made such a stupid business move in the past few months by closing all stand alone stores. Footfall in the store in stores in incredibly low and customer feedback is they would rather go direct to the network than go into store in store, or go to a stand alone store which they can no longer do. Multiple stores have employees working above their pay grade and would almost punish them for not meeting the expectations despite not being paid for the work they want them to do. I would say job security in Dixons Carphone is not garunteed, it wont be long untill they are gone as Currys will take over.
Pros
paid breaks
Cons
little recognition for the smaller stores, poor care for employees.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
3 August 2020
We are sorry to hear you feel this way. As our customers' expectations change, we have made some tough decisions about how we operate the mobile side of our business to make sure we continue to put our customer first. We are working closely with all impacted colleagues to make sure they have the support they need at this time. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a response.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
THE GOOD - above-minimum wage hourly pay - commission on product protection and sales can boost wages - supportive sales colleagues - warm and clean environment - negotiable break times - staff discounts THE BAD - not disability-friendly - high pressure to sell customers products they neither want nor need - high pressure to up-sell products not appropriate to customer needs - blatant rudeness and hostility (even in front of customers) from some managers - high-commission sales given to 'preferred' staff - 'dead-mans shoes' career advancement - poor work/life balance - comparatively poor potential for commission if posted on lower-sales areas (e.g. sales of white goods lower than sales of TVs & computers) - accusations of "letting the side down" and other guilt/blame-laden phrases when not able to meet sales targets
Pros
Above-minimum wage hourly pay, commission on product protection and sales can boost wages, supportive sales colleagues, warm and clean environment, negotiable break times, staff discounts
Cons
High pressure to sell customers products they neither want nor need, blatant rudeness and hostility (even in front of customers) from some managers, not disability-friendly, high-commission sales given to 'preferred' staff, 'dead-mans shoes' career advancement
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
16 July 2020
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a response. We’re sorry to hear you feel this way. We wanted to reply to some of the comments you’ve made.In our retail stores we do have targets to achieve but our focus continues to be on the customer, by offering our different product ranges and services dependent on their needs means we aren’t only making our customers happy but also achieving store performance targets. All our colleagues are coached to make sure we are responsibly offering our products and services to customer so please do get in touch if this wasn't the case.We continue to recognise and reward all colleagues for their contribution towards business performance so we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the above national wage pay and commission. Regarding your point on Dixons Carphone not being disability-friendly, this doesn't sound right and we'd ask you to get in touch with any concerns.Retail is a great place for people looking for a fast-paced, flexible environment but it is important we are there for our customers when they need us. Therefore our colleagues will need to work shift patterns that are best for our customers and reflect trading patterns but this can mean a later start or earlier finish allowing for that work/life balance.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Everyone works hard, very good work relationship and managers are great and will do what they can for you. Lots of rewards and incentives to work towards.
Pros
Friendly
Cons
Sometimes streched
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
9 July 2020
We are pleased to hear you have good working relationships and are supported by your management team.Thanks for leaving us your feedback. Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
10 years in the business, you'll bust your backside and sell over 10k a day get told it's not good enough and have no free time.. work 10 days and have one day off I absolutely hate the company Dread going to work everyday
Pros
Leave it
Cons
Everyone passes the buck
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
8 July 2020
Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review and thankyou for your 10 years of service.We are sorry to hear about your working hours, this doesn't sound quite right. We'd always recommend colleagues speak openly and honestly to their line managers about any issues with KPIs, pay or working hours.Dixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Worst job I have ever had,pushed to sell what ever the company wanted,not what the customer actually needed.no benefit for the better performers.managment very lazy
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
13 July 2020
We are very sorry to hear about your experience – that doesn’t sound right at all.Our focus continues to be on the customer and putting their needs first. By offering our different product ranges and services dependent on their needs means we aren’t only making our customers happy but also achieving store performance targets. Many thanksDixons Carphone Careers Team
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The boss is a bit of a plank. But the rest of the staff are amazing, great company to work for. The hours go by so quick. You can get some amazing staff deals.
Pros
staff discount
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
great for when your at uni, the support is good but a very competitive atmosphere. if you lack competitiveness better looking elsewhere. the job required a good sales approach as well as the ability to build rapport.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dixons Carphone
2 June 2020
We appreciate you leaving us your feedback, (and we wanted to take a moment to reply). It's great to hear you had good support with us!In our retail stores we do have targets to achieve like any other business, but our focus continues to be on the customer, by offering our different product ranges and services dependant on their needs means we aren’t only making our customers happy but also achieving store performance targets.Best of luck with your future career!Many Thanks, Dixons Carphone Careers Team