Dovehaven Care Homes
2.1 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Dovehaven Care Homes Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Showing all 27 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
No induction given,no fire policy shown no peeps folder available for resident and nurse told me,must be in managers office. Staff walk in and out of kitchen as they wish without protective clothing.Handovers inadequate,. Carers tell nurses what is going to happen,. Food served to residents on upper floors without being covered.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dovehaven Care Homes
26 March 2021
We were sorry to read your review of Dovehaven Care Homes. Your comments are concerning to us and we would welcome the opportunity to discuss them further. Please contact speakout@dovehavencarehomes.co.uk so that we can arrange a mutually convenient time to discuss your feedback, as we wish to make every effort to ensure that any issues raised are rectified and for us to learn from your experiences. Kind regardsDovehaven Care Homes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have worked for other care homes in the past and had some very bad experiences, dovehaven is a good company. Staff are lovely all get along, management are approachable and owners will spend money on their homes to make them nice, they genuinely care about staff and residents.
Pros
Good management
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Absolutely awful company to work for. Expect you to work 12 hour shifts and barely get a break because of being short staffed! Won't bring any more staff in due to the staff to resident ratio. Absolutely appalling company. Zero chance of advancing in careers as there's no opportunity and they won't even give you a chance. No training provided. No benefits of working here. Just worked into the ground. Management has no time for you. Go to them with an issue and just gets brushed under the carpet. Staff turnover is horrendous! Definitely do not waste your time working for this company!
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, no support, barely any breaks.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Let’s forget it’s a rewarding job, because your helping elderly people, the sick, the needy, your paid minimum wage, for maximum effort, whilst the management and owners rake it in, your worked into the ground, treated poorly, spoken to like a dog, if your friends with a resident it’s frowned upon, the owners swan in , in their big flash cars and point out every fault in the place, your used and abused, integrity and compassion are in short supply.
Pros
None
Cons
The company
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dovehaven Care Homes
26 March 2021
We were sorry to read your review of Dovehaven Care Homes. Your comments are concerning to us and we would welcome the opportunity to discuss them further. Please contact speakout@dovehavencarehomes.co.uk so that we can arrange a mutually convenient time to discuss your feedback, as we wish to make every effort to ensure that any issues raised are rectified and for us to learn from your experiences. Kind regardsDovehaven Care Homes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Staff lovely. Management terrible. Industry as a whole needs taking out of private hands especially this one. Profit is the only goal despite what think you want to see. People need to wake up to see the scandal of capitalism and how it treats all of us and our loved ones.
Pros
None
Cons
Bullying
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dovehaven Care Homes
26 March 2021
We were sorry to read your review of Dovehaven Care Homes. Your comments are concerning to us and we would welcome the opportunity to discuss them further. Please contact speakout@dovehavencarehomes.co.uk so that we can arrange a mutually convenient time to discuss your feedback, as we wish to make every effort to ensure that any issues raised are rectified and for us to learn from your experiences. Kind regardsDovehaven Care Homes
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Hectic, busy, badly run, poor support, stayed a month and couldn't get out quick enough. Some lovely staff, but CQC inspection highlights a lot of the faults.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dovehaven Care Homes
26 March 2021
We were sorry to read your review of Dovehaven Care Homes. Your comments are concerning to us and we would welcome the opportunity to discuss them further. Please contact speakout@dovehavencarehomes.co.uk so that we can arrange a mutually convenient time to discuss your feedback, as we wish to make every effort to ensure that any issues raised are rectified and for us to learn from your experiences. Kind regardsDovehaven Care Homes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
A company that is run on a company directive ideology to maximise profits before all and anything else. Management are placed in a situation to fill all rooms, irrelevant of the assessed residents care needs can be met. Staffing levels operate at a bare minimum and sometimes below par of any legal requirement to care and cater to all complex residents needs. Staff are over worked, tired and scrutinised if anything goes wrong, with little or no help from all types of management, whose sole aim is to enforce a profitable ideology and protect themselves. Regarding the global pandemic, P.P.E. is not readily available, (if any) to all staff and only supplied if the company gets it free from L.C.C. with hidden threats of redundancy in texts messages if staff complain.
Pros
Team work
Cons
Poor team work and no support
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dovehaven Care Homes
26 March 2021
We were sorry to read your review of Dovehaven Care Homes. Your comments are concerning to us and we would welcome the opportunity to discuss them further. Please contact speakout@dovehavencarehomes.co.uk so that we can arrange a mutually convenient time to discuss your feedback, as we wish to make every effort to ensure that any issues raised are rectified and for us to learn from your experiences. Kind regardsDovehaven Care Homes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I wouldn't recommend to work for this company if you don't fit in the manager don't care x to many bullies in there the residents left in dirt clothes after meals staff sit around wen the residents need toilet some staff spoke horrible to them and the paper work is done for alday saying they moved the residents for presure relief wen they haven't
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours short staff
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dovehaven Care Homes
26 March 2021
We were sorry to read your review of Dovehaven Care Homes. Your comments are concerning to us and we would welcome the opportunity to discuss them further. Please contact speakout@dovehavencarehomes.co.uk so that we can arrange a mutually convenient time to discuss your feedback, as we wish to make every effort to ensure that any issues raised are rectified and for us to learn from your experiences. Kind regardsDovehaven Care Homes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Since starting with the new home it has been nothing but normal. Busy & challenging days but great support. The management change over was most definitely needed & WOW what a transformation. The manageress of the bamber bridge home is outstanding. She is by far the best manageress I have had the privilege to work with,her time & support to her staff & residents is next to none.
Pros
Plenty of progression
Cons
Pay could be better
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dovehaven Care Homes
26 March 2021
Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post a review of your experience of working at Dovehaven Care Homes. It is very important to us that our team members are happy and fulfilled in their roles. Your positive feedback and comments are very much appreciated, thank you.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have worked in old swan for 6 months on probation period never stood a chance in staying on there as the dismissed me I had done alot for them even stood in as senior wen all the staff went off sick and the thanks they have shown me see you later I never once felt like I fitted in there from the care staff or management its ashame that most off the worker are related to each other
Pros
It was good for a while getting to know new peoples but no i woundnt recommend there home at all
Cons
I woundnt recommend work for them at all
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dovehaven Care Homes
26 March 2021
We are sorry to read your review of Dovehaven Care Homes. We are sorry that you felt it necessary to provide such a poor review and in the light of your comments we ask you to contact speakout@dovehavencarehomes.co.uk so that we might discuss the matter further.Dovehaven Care Homes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Everyone's pay is above ÂŁ8.00 with a fair pension scheme and can OPT IN at anytime. Everyone works as a team and have amazing attitudes. Roughly you'll do about three 12 shifts a week (depending your job role) and have most of the week of to relax and socialise.
Pros
Bank Work which will give you an extra ÂŁ2.00 per hour
Cons
Not allowed any left over food. Only soup and sandwiches to last you 12 hrs
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dovehaven Care Homes
26 March 2021
Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post a review of your experience of working at Dovehaven Care Homes. It is very important to us that our team members are happy and fulfilled in their roles. Your positive feedback and comments are very much appreciated, thank you. Dovehaven Care Homes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
After having my job interview in which I was promised the world, it took a good 6 weeks and constant prompting from my side to receive a start date. No structure, nobody seems to no what they are doing, no routines, paper work.. I witnessed staff filing it in for morning care, 11 hours after providing the care and “ winging it.” I was forgotten about and left in the lounge with residents for hours, I didn’t have a break for up to 9 hours due to witnessing staff sneaking out for a cigarette all the time! An alarm went off and nobody knew what it was for? I overheard a staff member say she was hungover. I didn’t get any welcome from management, nobody knew I was even starting! Turns and pads missed. Pay? Disgusting. Just don’t waste your time. Horrified!!
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dovehaven Care Homes
26 March 2021
We were sorry to read your review of Dovehaven Care Homes. Your comments are concerning to us and we would welcome the opportunity to discuss them further. Please contact speakout@dovehavencarehomes.co.uk so that we can arrange a mutually convenient time to discuss your feedback, as we wish to make every effort to ensure that any issues raised are rectified and for us to learn from your experiences. Dovehaven Care Homes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Don't join dovehaven as they aren't supportive or helpful. I was suffering from acrophobia for twenty years, depression and anxiety. Had quite a few incidents happen while working there and didn't get no support, just threats about getting the sack
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Dovehaven Care Homes
26 March 2021
We were sorry to read your review of Dovehaven Care Homes. Your comments are concerning to us and we would welcome the opportunity to discuss them further. Please contact speakout@dovehavencarehomes.co.uk so that we can arrange a mutually convenient time to discuss your feedback, as we wish to make every effort to ensure that any issues raised are rectified and for us to learn from your experiences. Dovehaven Care Homes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I went for an interview at a different care home said I got the job then had to wait 1 month to even get any training only to be told the day of the training they had changed the home I was supposed to be going to due to the other closing down because of security issues. So when I finally started working for Dovehaven in early 2019 first as a laundry assistant, only meant to be one day a week although I had trained to be a care assistant but it was the only job they could give me at the time after promising good work. I ended up working two straight weeks everyday not having a clue what I was doing as the woman who was meant to help me went on holiday, never labelled clothes, nothing. But I finally figured it out. Only then to find out I was pregnant so they then swapped me to being a care assistant. Which at first was really rewarding to work with the residents. I finally told my manager that I was pregnant but instead of being told to take it lighter I was then given the heavier tasks. Such as picking residents up out of chairs, which was fine. But then staff started to show their true colours; coming into work hungover, mentioning some certain substances they use, etc. I then had a metal lift pushed into my stomach on purpose and very forcefully. I never got to have a break because everyone else went for cigarette breaks constantly I was working 6 days a week as a carer for 12 hours a day then every Sunday for 8 as a laundry assistant. I was absolutely exhausted I would go home and cry to my partner every night and my anxiety would be sky high going to work the next day. - more...
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
As title says. This companies only interest is profit. Training, staff, conditions for the residents are all appalling. Another company that should be shut down, part of the great sickness and shame of our society.
Pros
Lovely poor residents.
Cons
Everything else, especially the bullying backstabbing culture.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Enjoyable position, very relaxed atmosphere, exceptionally clean and well maintained care home, that I worked in. The staff very efficient and work as a team .
Pros
Pleasant place to work
Cons
Not enough money for the job that i did.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
New manager working with the staff, listens and supporting everyone. Friendly people Work can be stressy but we all work together Loads of changes..all for the better Have a laugh every day
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Absolutely no organisation, poor management, no allocated break times, poor poor poor. Care home is clean and bedrooms are nice but that’s all I can say.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Staff are good but management let that staff down. Enjoyed working with staff and residents. Very clean home met all CQC regulations at the time of employment.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I enjoyed my time as a domestic for Dovehaven I typical day at work included cleaning communal areas bathrooms bedroom as well as dealing with the general public the residents were dementia service users and and were challenging cleaning wise and behaviour wise if they had accidents etc I would be responsible to clean it and I am fully trained in infection control if there was a outbreak of dv
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Wasn't offered a contract, shifts changed without notifying you. Poor hygiene, was signed off sick for 2 weeks Just don't do it Run off your feet all day , no paid breaks if you're lucky enough to get one
Was this review helpful?