Driver Hire
Happiness score is 64 out of 100
3.4 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

Driver Hire Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom477 reviews

Ratings by category

3.4Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 477 reviews matching the searchSee all 492 reviews
driverhgvrubbishhiredrivingdhbranchumbrella

Good agency.

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
You can earn a good wage through Driver Hire and they are flexible as to the type of work that you need. Days, nights, full time or odd days, you just need to let them know what you want to do. You will have someone at the office who will deal with you most of the time, mine was really good and always matched me with good companies.
Was this review helpful?

They do find you work

never was short of work when using them,staff are nice, jobs was ok but money was a bit low, but on the plus side was direct and not a payment company taking a bit .

Pros

always happy find you work, pay was direct not some silly umbrella con

Cons

low money, its a agency
Was this review helpful?

Insights into Driver Hire

Based on 66 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Fair pay for job
  • Support from manager
  • Ability to learn new things

Needs improvement

Good place to work for a short amount of time. Don’t get great jobs, companies don’t get told you’re arriving. Half the jobs companies don’t even need you, instead of driving you end up cleaning or picking. Paid system is the worse, sending in a bit of paper and even then half the time it isn’t correctly put through the process. Driver hirer could do with a lot of improvement, one being how drivers get paid and driver working conditions. It’ll do for the short term
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

29 July 2022
We’re glad that you had some positive experiences with Driver Hire and thank you for telling us about areas where you feel we can improve. We clearly can’t control how the customer behaves but will always carry out appropriate checks and would expect any customer to treat the staff who work there, including those supplied by Driver Hire, with respect.If you would like us to look into your concerns in more detail please use the contact form on our website to send us further information.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director

Reliable and friendly

Really enjoyed working for driver hire, work when I wanted and understanding when I was unavailable. Punctual pay and friendly staff. Would work for them again.
Was this review helpful?

No good work like a slave

Taking the biscuit ,work like a dog. Monitor the work that you do then give you more work. Vehicles are not roD worthy but expect you to drive them and who will get fined the driver

Pros

Nothing

Cons

Work life a fog
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

29 July 2022
I'm sorry if you have had a negative experience with Driver Hire. As you'll hopefully see from other positive Indeed reviews, what you describe doesn't match the service that we aim to provide our candidates. It’s important to note that Driver Hire has no control over the vehicles that the customer asks you to drive. We are sure that you would conduct a walk around check before driving off and at that point we’d encourage you to tell the customer about any issues. If you don’t feel they respond properly to your concerns, please tell us.You're welcome to contact us directly with more information if you would like us to look into this in detail. If so, please email us at marketing@driverhire.co.ukThank youRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

good and supportive

the company is really good, they understand each person individual circumstances and accomdate them to the best that they, the place you where your skills and experience would be best placed sometimes you may be placed somewhere you know very little of but the support from the team i s second to none
Was this review helpful?

Great manager, great staff and pay is ok.

Management were always willing to help when I had questions. Although the pay is the minimum wage you do get paid holiday. Also I was always in work once I started so it is excellent for that. Great if you're looking to get into work quick and consisitent weekly pay.
Was this review helpful?

Good places to work for and few bad.

Good agency to be with. Always find work for me. Flexible with you and can’t say if you don’t like a job and can find other work for you. Never been without work.
Was this review helpful?

Nit great

Not a great experience. Poor coordination and poor communication. Pay slips calculations are wrong most of the time. Not professional at all. Can be better.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

29 July 2022
Thanks for your feedback. We’re sorry to read your dissatisfaction as it matters a lot to us that candidates are happy in their work and with their local office.We are happy to look in to your comments further. If you’d like us to do so, please send more information via the Contact Form on our website.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director

Different days but was expected

I felt like my time there was quite professional, I felt that the office were easy to communicate with and that they was keen to help me out on my travels
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

29 July 2022
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. We’re happy to hear that you're being looked after by Driver Hire Northampton. I will pass on your comments to the team.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director

Great place to start

I had not driven a truck for over 12 years. The guys at the Cardiff branch were a great help, finding me van work, while they found somewhere prepared to get me on a truck again; which they did. Great team, always there to help, any questions about the job, the rules and regs, tacho info, hours, anything I need to know, they can help, and now I have my class 1, I'm sure they will help along the way with that too.

Pros

Helpful and knowledgable

Cons

None I have experienced
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

29 July 2022
Thanks for your comments. It’s lovely to hear that you’ve made a return to professional driving again, and that Driver Hire Cardiff were able to support you along the way. I’ll be sure to pass on your review to the team.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director

Good agency

Friendly guys down at the Southampton branch and plenty of varied work to do. One day you might be delivering cars and the next day doing multidrop food delivery who knows! I loved it.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

29 July 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. It’s brilliant to hear you enjoyed your time working with Driver Hire Southampton. I will pass on your feedback. Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director

Fun place to work

Good work environment lots of overtime . Variety of work plenty of communication with job details .meeting new people and different work environments.

Pros

Good set

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

29 July 2022
Thanks for your review. Great to hear that you’re enjoying the variety of work on offer – I will be sure to pass on your comments to the Driver Hire Blackburn team. Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director

Good place

Really tired working here shoes that I was going to work I love driving up with me and it's new friends the boss was exceptionally good go back again fantastic
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

29 July 2022
Thanks your comments. It’s good to hear you enjoyed your time working with Driver Hire and wouldn’t hesitate to come back. Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director

Nice people ,Well managed agency

Great agancy to work for .Switched on & constantly update you. They work hard to find you driver roles & continuously try to keep you in work . Weekly pay . Great way to gain experience of different vehicals

Pros

Work when you want

Cons

Not guaranteed working hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

29 July 2022
Thanks for taking the time to leave your helpful comments. It’s good to hear Driver Hire Liverpool are looking after you – I will pass on your feedback. Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director

Very helpful and understanding team.

Always willing to help and respectful of their drivers. Could do with more night work. Plenty of driver training and support. Would recommend for first time drivers.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

29 July 2022
Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you're being well looked after by the team in Bury St Edmunds and would recommend Driver Hire to others seeking a similar position.I'll pass on your comments.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director

1 Star

The issues I have had with Driver Hire I have never had with any other Recruitment Agency.I originally applied for and was successful at being offered a full time job, however this agency only agreed 4 shifts with me, 3rd to the 6th May, after I was informed that I had been successful in my application and having had NO CONFIRMATION AT ALL that I would be getting any more shifts from them I agreed to do other work for an agency which I had told them I was already working for but I would be happy to leave them and go over to Driver Hire full time once the appropriate days and hours had been confirmed. As a result of them not confirming anything with me and me agreeing to do other work which I informed them off I have been sacked, this was the 5th of May and told not to come in for the last confirmed shift on the 6th. I did the first three shifts without issue; they were confirmed with me and I committed to them and completed them without issue.- Fortunately, I was able to pick up another shift at my other Agency for that lost day on the 6th, which in my near year of dealing with them has been great unlike some others I could name I’ve never had these issues with the other agency I work for because things are confirmed and their App updated - I had informed them multiple times over the phone and in an email that I had other work commitments but would seek to do as many shifts as possible for Driver Hire as I could and if they could confirm full time shifts, I would start working for them full time as possible and inform my other agency that this was case and that I would - 
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

29 July 2022
Thanks for your feedback. We’re sorry to read your dissatisfaction as it matters a lot to us that candidates are happy in their work and with their local office. We agree that clear communication is vital and we work hard to get it right – on this occasion it seems something went wrong. I believe you have discussed your concerns about communication directly with the office but if you need any more support you can use the Contact Form on our website.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director

Good company

Good company considerate to workers flexibility and don't pressurise you into unsuitable jobs. Staff seem to know the correct person's for correct and suitable jobs as different drivers are more suitable for specific jobs

Pros

Company adheres to employee requirements

Cons

Short notice requirements for employment
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

29 July 2022
Thank you for leaving your comments. It’s great to hear you’re being well looked after by the team in Aberdeen, I’ll pass on your comments!Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director

Top marks

While i was there I found the company A1.Managers were extremely helpful.Always putting you in work.Very friendly Great at problem solving.Enjoyed my time there and the placement ended up being permanent employment.

Pros

Good company

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

29 July 2022
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your placement and wish you all the best in your new permanent role! We’ll pass on your comments to the Driver Hire Swansea team. Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director

Can earn a living

Decent people who get you work. Never had a problem with the company at Saltash,Cornwall.Nice friendly staff. Always answer the phone and any questions you might have.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

20 April 2022
Thank you for the review, we really appreciate your feedback. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to the Plymouth & Cornwall team.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director

Worst company to work for

Worst company iv worked for saying the given address to go to work then no work then saying I let them down. Wouldn't bother working for these people

Pros

None

Cons

Minimum wage
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

20 April 2022
Thanks for your comments and I am sorry if you have had a negative experience. Whilst we also cannot comment specifically on the role you are referring to, all Driver Hire offices aim to make sure that candidates are briefed clearly on the assignment (including what and where) prior to starting. We do care a great deal about looking after our candidates, as shown by many positive reviews. If you feel this was not the case and you would like us to look into this for you, please use the contact form on the Contact Us page of our website.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Driver Hire. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 492 reviews

Ratings by category

3.4 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.0 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
2.8 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.3 out of 5 stars for Management
3.3 out of 5 stars for Culture

Learn about Driver Hire in popular locations

  • Companies
  • Driver Hire
  • Employee reviews