Driver Hire
3.4 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Driver Hire Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

3.4Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 419 reviews matching the searchSee all 430 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Was Brilliant

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
I absolutely loved it here but then there was a change in management and then covid and it just went down hill from then.No support or help just more pressure.

Pros

Fruit baskets, tea & coffee
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Awkward to deal with

I worked there over 3 years ago I made a mistake which got me caught up in a gdp issue with a customer Driver hire are still holding this against me after 3 years Before the incident my work was always customer focused and delivered on my contracts with many clients requesting me back due to my hard work ethics and customer focus get the job done no matter what it takes 3 years on or over they still holding this gdp issue against me and basically been given a full time ban on working for them again About time a simple mistake human error can be forgiven and moved on especially after the amount of time that has elapsed since the mistake I made Anyways plenty more fish out there for me to go to and they will gladly have some one like me Hard working dedicated and loves driving I will find another agency that also does driving and deliveries

Pros

None

Cons

Long hours with a hard working attitude
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Good pl

Would highly recommend wakefield driver hire, always found me suitable work, because of mobility issues, paid on time every Friday, now have full time employment, if I need agency work again, would definitely use this agency again
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Good work

They can find you good work if you need it, some of it’s good but some of it is bad, they always get you work though at least for me. Some of it is as very short notice but that’s that nature of the beast, you might have to cover someone who called in sick

Pros

Weekly paid

Cons

Notice
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

O.k. but can be funny with you

Driver hire is a good place to work but if a job fall through and its not your fault they start being funny with you and won't offer you work and do not ring you up and if you ring them you get attitude off them

Pros

Can't think of any

Cons

They will try and get you suitable work
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

17 September 2021
Thank you for your 4* review and we are glad that you feel Driver Hire is generally a good place to work. Thanks also for mentioning the issues you have had – this kind of feedback can help us to improve what we do. It sounds as if there may be specific circumstances in your case so if you would like us to investigate further, please email marketing@driverhire.co.uk and we will he happy to follow up.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Ideal agency to work for

I worked for driver hire for their clients. The staff were friendly, welcoming and provided with quiet a bit of work. I would recommend using them as well.

Pros

Free parking, suitable hours

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

17 September 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us. I’m glad to hear how happy you are with the service that our team in the Taunton office are providing and that you’d recommend them to others looking for work. I will be passing on your comments to the team.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Dont pay rates advertised then put you on umbrella!

Avoid as wont pay the rates advertised. Talk to you very nicely but that changes soon as you want a few days off or refuse work that is unsuitable. Nasty office staff

Pros

None

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

17 September 2021
Thank you for leaving your feedback. It matters a lot to us that our candidates are happy in their work and our surveys suggest that generally people are well looked after, including pay rates. We do know that different agencies quote payment rates in different ways so we try to explain this clearly, but we’re sorry if you don’t feel this was the case for you.We would be happy to investigate further for you. If you would like us to do this, please send us more information via marketing@driverhire.co.ukBest regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Good company

Very fair get you the best work ASAP recommended good communication no umbrella pay set up pay on time. Will listen to concerns about work that is provided nothing is too much trouble

Pros

Quick job responses

Cons

Always find you work
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

17 September 2021
Thanks for taking the time to leave your 5-star feedback for the Driver Hire Plymouth & Cornwall team. We’re delighted that enjoying your work with Driver Hire – I’ll be sure to pass on your comments.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Avoid completely

I seriously would think twice about working here. Unless you want to waste your time then go ahead.Before you even start to discuss work or a wage you need to sign up and give every detail of yours including licences (as I was going for a driving job). And then they will discuss a wage with you, I was offered almost minimum wage and I was going for a class 2/1 license. I wouldn’t even consider working here they are useless

Pros

None

Cons

Time wasteing, awed I’m wage. Slow communication.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

17 September 2021
Thank you for leaving your feedback. It matters a lot to us that our candidates are happy in their work and our surveys suggest that generally people are well looked after, including pay rates. We would be happy to investigate further for you. If you would like us to do this, please send us more information via marketing@driverhire.co.ukBest regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Good Chaps at the office

All in all they match drivers to company’s who require drivers so , they don’t necessarily know much about these companies till drivers give feedback I have enjoyed doing bits of work for them and will do so again

Pros

Wages a dealt with independently by paystream

Cons

Politics at some work places
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

17 September 2021
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review, we appreciated your feedback.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Honest, Trustworthy, Aproachable Team.

Quite Simple Realy, The Team Offer you Work To Your Capability. You Answer, Yes Or No. There's No Fuss. Your Under No Pressure Watsoever. I Found This Agency Very Active and Helpfull. I've Found Full-time Employment Through Driver Higher. The Team Here Have Been Very Supportive. Strongly Recommend This Agency.

Pros

No Hassle. Straight Forward. Very Supportive

Cons

There is None.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

17 September 2021
We appreciate your straight forward and honest review – it’s great to know that you’d highly recommend Driver Hire as a great place to work.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great company

Been working for driverhire for few months now and kept busy aslo found me lighter work when I hurt my back would recommend them to anyone looking for work hours there every week
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

17 September 2021
We appreciate your feedback. We’re glad to hear you’re enjoying your work through Driver Hire East Kilbride, and that the team have been accommodating.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Driver Hire Edinburgh

Great team that try their best to have you as busy as you want to be. Flexible hours and temp to perm positions available. No pressure to take jobs you don't want to do.

Pros

Easy to talk to friendly staff

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Good agency

Been with the agency for a few years now, never had any problems with shifts or wages at all, various types of work on offer,staff are helpful and friendly
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

17 September 2021
Firstly, thank you for your review and secondly, for your commitment to Driver Hire. It’s great to hear that you’ve been well looked after by the Driver Hire Motherwell team over the years, and I’ll be sure to pass on your comments. Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great place to work

Started at Sykes, within 2 weeks I was made supervisor of the twilight shift, challenging to begin with but soon had an excellent team.Work culture is relaxed but fast paced.Management are very helpful and encouraging.

Pros

Flexible, progression availability, helpful management oh and free tea and coffee etc.

Cons

Temporary contract
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

17 September 2021
Thanks for taking the time to leave your 5-star feedback. It’s pleasing to read that you’re enjoying your new role and have progressed quickly. We’ll pass on your comments to the dh Borders team. Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Cardiff** Found me a suitable job

Great guys, found me a job for an unexperienced driver, gave honest reviews of what work you would undertake and kept in contact throughout week to see how things are going, would recommend for someone looking for work

Pros

Flexible work *agency work*

Cons

Agency work has pros and cons
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

17 September 2021
We’re delighted to hear that you’ve been looked after by the Driver Hire Cardiff team and have found a job that you’re enjoying as a result. Thank you for recommending us to others who may also be seeking similar work. I’ll be sure to pass your comments on.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Edinburgh driver hire

Driver hire Edinburgh I would recommend this agency as I have had a good relationship with this company and they will always find anybody work they are reliable and do there best to help anybody out yhe staff are really friendly and it was a pleasure working for driver hire
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

17 September 2021
Thanks for taking the time to leave your 5-star feedback. We’re really pleased to hear you’ve enjoyed your time working with Driver Hire Edinburgh and would recommend them as a great place to work. Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Driver Hire Motherwell

The staff at Motherwell branch are really helpful. They fully understand your individual needs on a daily basis and support work availability tailored to your own circumstances. If any problems or Q&A the staff are quick to respond, with detail or answers to your query.A positive experience from start to finish.

Pros

Flexibility

Cons

Na
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

17 September 2021
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave this feedback. We’re happy to hear you have been well looked after by the Driver Hire Motherwell team – we will pass on your comments. Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Mostly well organised, professional, well informed (at times) ? easy to work with, when the work is there.

Will help anyone, who wants to work, however, if you upset them or questioned them you dont seem to get much work.Could do with more variety of work

Pros

When correct, the wage is paid on time. If youhave a question, you dont have to waite to long foe an answer.

Cons

If you are well thought of, you seem to get regular work.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

17 September 2021
Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We’ve passed your comments onto the team.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Productive and well organised

DriverHire staff very helpful, polite and welcoming and look after there workforce and friendly always looking out for you . Always send out information.

Pros

Job satisfaction

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

17 September 2021
Thanks for taking the time to leave your 5-star feedback. We’re really pleased to hear you’re being looked after by the team in Edinburgh.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great place to work

I currently work for the Wton & Walsall branch and get given a variety of work which I thoroughly enjoy! Meeting a variety of people and getting my job done - whether it be local drops or long distance drops. Great communication about what the work will involve and where I would be going. I get paid every week without fail! One of the best agencys in the area - 100% recommend Neville and his team!

Pros

variety of work, weekly pay, flexibility, good communication
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Driver Hire

17 September 2021
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave this review. We're delighted to hear that you’re enjoying your work with Driver Hire Wolverhampton & Walsall and are being well looked after. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team. Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Driver Hire. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4

Based on 430 reviews
5
165
4
78
3
49
2
25
1
113

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
2.8Job security/advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture

Compare Driver Hire with

  • Companies
  • Driver Hire
  • Employee reviews
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?