Driver Hire
3.2 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Driver Hire Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 356 reviews matching the search
See all 363 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Was working as a delivery driver delivering new windows and fixtures to the fitters , out on the road most of the day , but enjoy driving and was not on tight time frames like I've been before, all fitters and warehouse staff where great to work with, and no hassle from management as long as you do the job rightSome heavy lifting involved but the fitters or loaders where always happy to help Pay quite low for the job I was doing , but it is an agency that I was working through
Pros
Once loaded, your out on the road, no pressure
Cons
Low pay, if i was working through the company directly it would be decent wage, but through an agency it's always lower pay, doing the same hour's and work as the other drivers but getting paid less for it
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Driver Hire
26 January 2021
Thank you for leaving a review. We’re glad to hear you have enjoyed working with Driver Hire. I’ll pass on your comments to the team.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
In the year I worked for driver hire, they placed me into 2 long term contracts, one for 6 months, resulting in a full time offer (let go because of covid-19) and the other for 4 months, the staff at Newcastle branch were very helpful and professional, going out of their way to get me placed with the most appropriate employers for me, I could not recommend the Newcastle branch of driver hire more highly.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Rude management I called asking for work they refused to offer anything worst agency . Would not recommend the place. STAY AWAY!!!!!! Agencies are there to help not decline someone.
Cons
Long hours, work through your lunch.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Good company to work for. Always paid on time. Work is varied, some long contracts. But work is always available if you are willing to take on any assignments available.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I showed up to work early every single day and was never late, I was the first person in the office most days and the last one to leave in the evenings. Sometimes I even stayed up to 2 hours later to deal with issues e.g. drivers not showing up to a shift and having to organise a cover. I was on call working 24/7 for 2 to 3 weeks at a time. I dealt with abuse from drivers and customers with little to no support from my managers.Then a few months in I was told that they were very happy with me however they ‘’did not trust my commitment to the job’’. I asked for an elaboration on this as I didn’t quite understand what this was implying and this is when the franchisees behaviours completed changed and they both became very hard too deal with and increasingly less supportive right up until I was no longer employed by them. I was being left in the office for hours on end on my own as the franchisees were working from home and I even worked on my own for 2 full weeks whilst the 2x franchisees were on leave. I was the only employee of this particular office so was left completely on my own! The atmosphere in the office was horrible at times when the franchisees actually bothered to show up for work (which was not often). I was very micro managed and had to explain what I was doing and why with everything I was doing. Other than this it could be hours of silence within the office. During furlough I received no communication from the franchisees and had to reach out to them myself on multiple occasions.Upon leaving my post at driver hire I have had nothing but issues and I - more...
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours. Unsupportive company.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Driver Hire
26 February 2021
Thanks for your comments. It was disturbing to read such a negative review, especially in a business where the regular staff surveys, conducted centrally but covering all offices, frequently show that Driver Hire is a really positive place to work. Having said that, any review is an opportunity to improve if things have gone wrong, so we have discussed your comments with the office that you were working in. It isn’t appropriate to go into details on an open forum, but we have to advise that whilst your former colleagues wanted you to be happy in your work and regret that you say you were not, they do not recognise the description that you give in your review. We will not comment further on this thread, but if you would like us to look into your situation in more detail we will be happy to do so. You can contact us directly via: marketing@driverhire.co.ukRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I got a job as a cleaner through Driver Hire and was told I'd receive PPE but it was never provided. The people I worked with were argumentative/unprofessional/confrontational and made the job unnecessarily stressful. Terrible Management. On 3 separate occasions I had to chase Driver Hire to pay me. The third occasion is still on-going 6 weeks later. The agent I worked with was happy to give me the job but as soon as I had questions or needed assistance they just didn't want to know and were very unhelpful. Overall the worst working experience I have had, as soon as I passed my probation they washed their hands of me and wouldn't look into the fact that I hadn't been paid for my last week working for them. Really terrible experience.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Driver Hire
25 February 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We were concerned to read about the experiences you described. The safety and wellbeing of our candidates is of the utmost importance, especially in the current circumstances. All our branches – including our Worcester office – share this commitment, as well as a general commitment to good service to candidates. In general we have a strong track record on this but where things go wrong, a review can help us to address any problems. As regards PPE, this is generally the responsibility of the client, but naturally we recognise that we must make sure that our candidates do have correct PPE. When we discussed your review with our Hereford & Worcester franchisee, they advised that they would always support any candidate to resolve any PPE concerns with a client, but they have not been notified of any issues.They also advised that terms of payment are clearly explained to candidates and that they have met all their commitments in terms of payment schedules. I am sorry that you did not have a positive experience of Driver Hire. If you do want us to investigate further, please supply more specific details to marketing@driverhire.co.uk and we will be happy to help.Richard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
If you like been spoken too like rubbish in a patronising manner then this is absolutely ideal for you. Will happily throw their drivers under a bus to come out of a bad situation smelling of roses. I registered with a few agencies and the condescending tone you get from the 2 madam’s at the Exeter branch really sets them ahead of rest in terms of unworkable relationship. I wouldn’t recommend this shambles of a agency to anyone. If you are unfortunately in need of agency work stay well clear of this one they are the worst..
Pros
None
Cons
Spoken to like dirt.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Driver Hire
26 January 2021
Thanks for your review. We never want to receive negative feedback as all Driver Hire offices try to give candidates a positive experience. Equally an honest review can help us to put things right where mistakes do happen. We are proud to have achieved high ratings on our annual candidate surveys over the past few years. This includes the team at our Exeter office, so we don’t fully understand why your experience was not like that of other reviews. However we have passed the feedback on and if you would like to discuss the details of your complaint with them, they will be happy to help. We will not respond further to this review online.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Great company that will help you the best they can. Always there to get you work when you need it and the work is pretty good too. I recommend my friend too. And he’s been well looked after and well paid.
Pros
Good compqny
Cons
Early starts
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Driver Hire
26 January 2021
Thank you for leaving a review. We’re glad to hear you’re being looked after by the team in Driver Hire Warrington. Your comments have been passed on.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Everyone needs to stop accepting LTD Company pay. If you are being paid £11.50 LTD this equates to the minimum wage as you will not receive holiday pay, sick pay and will also be responsible for your tax and NI contributions. Demand PAYE and see what the real pay is. LTD only benefits the agency as you are pretty much self employed.
Pros
No pros
Cons
Keeping wages down.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Driver Hire
26 January 2021
Thank you for your review. We cannot comment on how you were paid for your work on this forum, but Driver Hire is committed to making sure that candidates receive fair pay, fully in line with the law, and that they understand clearly what they should be receiving. I will pass on your feedback to the team.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Promise you the world to get you on the books then they put you with a company that ask you to break the law AVOID unless you want to break the law
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Driver Hire
26 January 2021
Thank you for your review. It would not be appropriate to discuss your allegations on this forum and you do not provide any specific details. However rest assured that Driver Hire is committed to operating fully within the law, as well as being built on the principles of treating candidates and customers fairly. If there is something you would like us to look into and to help resolve, please contact us directly (via marketing@driverhire.co.uk ). We will not comment further on this post.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Avoid this rude and ignorant outfit at all costs. They treat people like dirt and mess your wages about. Easily the worst agency in devon. They are all two faced. I have been let down many times by your exeter branch.
Pros
None
Cons
Driver hire
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Driver Hire
26 January 2021
We welcome constructive reviews as an opportunity to improve where mistakes are made, and are always happy to help if you have specific concerns, either via our website contact form or directly to the office. We receive many positive reviews for this branch but are sorry if you have not had a positive experience. However your comments are rude and personal in nature so we will not comment further.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Was offered work within a couple of days. Quick sign up and happy to have them call back quickly with job offers. Friendly office staff who took my personal life into consideration
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Driver Hire
26 January 2021
Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We’re happy to hear you’re being looked after by Driver Hire Bury St Edmunds. Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Not enough suitable work offered.very hit and miss.and the pay rate is rubbish.i thought there was a driver shortage.im a class 2 driver and not enough suitable work for me.had been offered van work but money is terrible.
Pros
Isn’t any
Cons
Not good pay and little work around
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Driver Hire
26 January 2021
Thanks for leaving a review. We are sorry if the work was not as regular as you would have hoped in this instance, but we are sure you will understand that demand will always vary, especially during difficult times.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The branches down south are scam artists, the staff are bellooking ends that think they play god, knowing full well how bad they **** people over, don't waste your time with them, being very honest, couldn't find a single thing about them that was good
Pros
Get to talk to ****
Cons
Absolute oxygen thieves
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Driver Hire
26 January 2021
We aim to provide a great service to all our candidates (and many positive reviews show that we generally achieve this). Constructive reviews can help us to improve where we do get things wrong. However we will not engage with reviews that are simply abusive.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Awful company, they push you into jobs you are not suited for. They dont care about the person they just want to fill job roles. I felt very pressured to sign their forms
Cons
rude staff
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Driver Hire
26 January 2021
Thanks for leaving your feedback. Whilst we also cannot comment specifically on the roles you are referring to, all Driver Hire offices aim to make sure that candidates are briefed clearly on the assignments offered. We do care a great deal about looking after our candidates, as shown by many positive reviews. If you feel this was not the case and you would like us to look into this for you, please use the contact form on the Contact Us page of our website.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I worked for driver hire for just over a week. That is until I realised the implication of being paid by a umbrella company. Your hourly rate is inflated however you lose 18% gross for management fees etc. For me that was the equivalent of £120 p/w Also in these COVID-19 time a company I was sent had no protection and no prevention Measure we’re in place
Pros
Kept me in work
Cons
Umbrella company Misleading advert
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Driver Hire
26 January 2021
Thank you for your review. Whilst we also cannot comment on the specific payments you refer to in your review, Driver Hire would always want to make sure that candidates receive fair pay and that you understand clearly what you should be receiving. We would be happy to investigate this further for you. If you would like us to do this, please use the contact form on the Contact Us page of our website.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Got regular work the 5 years I was their good staff..no problems with pay..day day day day rah rah rah rah.sorry about the days got to make up the word numbers on this bloody thing .
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Driver Hire
26 January 2021
Thanks for the short but sweet review! Great to hear you’re being looked after by your local Driver Hire office.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Passed my class 2 and struggled to find work so I emailed driver hire and they phoned straight away,I went in had a chat and waited a couple of weeks,I had a phone call one morning at 930am can you work now,I was miles away from home so had to say no,I was offered more work another day but the money was terrible and you had to drive 45 minutes go to four locations then start delivering all day so I said it’s not for me,not heard anything since then I think he’s spat his dummy out,I understand I turned a few jobs down but I’ve got a family and a days notice would help not just a phone call at 930am and expect me to do a 12 hour shift for minimum wage.
Pros
None
Cons
Can you do a 12 hour shift with no notice and a 45 minute drive to the job
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Driver Hire
26 January 2021
Thanks for your feedback. Due to the nature of the business, there will always be last minute client bookings that require filling, and these provide immediate starts for many candidates who are seeking work. We are sorry that at the time these were not suitable for you.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
All in all it was very good and the staff are all very good at what they do and can't do enough for you. Any problems can be dealt with over the phone.
Pros
All good
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Driver Hire
26 January 2021
Thank you for your review. We’re delight to hear you’re being looked after by Driver Hire Bolton & Wigan - I have passed on your comments.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Poor pay and shifts few and far between you are expected to drop every thing and run whenever they call or you won't get shifts felt like being on call 24 hours a day 7 days a week whent weeks with no shifts when I called to ask why no shifts I was always told it was quiet but when speaking to others how work for driver hire they would say they were getting lots of shifts
Pros
None
Cons
On call 24 7
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Driver Hire
26 January 2021
Thanks for leaving us your comments. We are sorry if the work was not as regular as you would have hoped in this instance. It’s important to remember that we get lots of last-minute requests from customers, so the work can be unpredictable, especially during difficult times.Best regardsRichard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Injured during placement and the Exeter office stuck me off, Absolute Joke of an agency (couldn't say how I truly feel on here) , I've worked for a few and had never been treated like that by even the worst of the others.
Pros
Hmmm None
Cons
Everything if you want to feel valued
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Driver Hire
18 August 2020
Thank you for your review, and we are sorry that you were not happy with your dealings with our Exeter office. As you can imagine we take any reviews of this kind very seriously, so we have spoken with the branch director about your concerns. It would not be right to comment on specific personal circumstances on a public forum. However your review seems to suggest that there is a connection between your injury and the fact that you have not been offered further work by the branch. This was not the case, and I understand that the branch has communicated directly with you on this point. We work hard to offer the best possible service to candidates and customers alike, but we also recognise that things can go wrong from time to time. If you do have any further concerns that you would like to discuss, please contact the branch directly. Thanks again for taking the time to give your feedback.Richard Owen-HughesGroup Marketing Director
  1. Employee reviews