Eastgate Care Ltd
3.5 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

Working at Eastgate Care Ltd: 30 Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom30 reviews

Ratings by category

3.4Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 30 reviews matching the searchSee all 31 reviews
carestaffenjoymanagementcompanytimeworkinggood

Could be a good place to work if fully staffed

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
When I worked there, staff morale was low and people were not happy in the way patients were treated as we were always short staffed. Being short staffed meant patients did not receive the best care possible and many duties were overlooked. Perhaps it's change since a few years ago, but that was my experience back then.

Pros

Easy to reach and good transport links

Cons

Dated decor, low staff morale, short staffed., low pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Eastgate Care Ltd

24 November 2020
Thank you for taking the time to comment. I am sure many things have changed over the past few years since you worked for us, but we have always strived to never work short staffed, and have only done so in exceptional circumstances due to absenteeism on the day, and being unable to cover, but even then our teams always pull together to ensure the safety and wellbeing of our residents at all times.

Be polite

I enjoyed my 10 yrs at melbourne house and made loads of friends with staff and residents, managment work very undersyanding if you had a problem always let you put your al in if there was no one else had put it in .
Was this review helpful?

Insights into Eastgate Care Ltd

Based on 7 survey responses
What people like
  • Ability to learn new things
  • Time and location flexibility
  • Clear sense of purpose

A fantastic place to work

I have been working as a RGN at eastgate care for 2 years now and I really love it. I get gold support from the management team and my team and very respectful of my role here. I get the correct training, and if I ever need anything I know they will be here to support this. The residents are well looked after and each one has so much character it’s great to see them having a good time, safely. The care assistants are very caring towards them, and the General atmosphere is enjoyable. I would Definately recommend working with this company

Pros

Support

Cons

Sometimes people won’t want to switch shifts
Was this review helpful?

Friendly and warm atmosphere.

Every worker is an unbelievably positive person, smiles across all of the homes, all of the time! The head office staff are the friendliest head office I've ever had the pleasure of meeting. Great company, fantastic staff.

Pros

Excellent management

Cons

Stressful due to Covid
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Eastgate Care Ltd

10 August 2021
Thank you for taking the time to comment. It's great to hear that you love working for us, and are enjoying being part of our great team.

Really nice place to work

I have been working at park house for one year so far, and i have enjoyed every min of it. the staff are really nice and we have all made good friends. there is no gossips. the care for the residents is at a very high standard, and they are very well looked after. thank you park house for starting me on my career for life!!!!!!!!!! :)

Pros

atmosphere

Cons

can be stressful but so is most care jobs
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Eastgate Care Ltd

10 August 2021
Thank you for taking the time to comment. It's great to see you thriving in your new career, and enjoying working as part of our care family.

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

none

always looking over my shoulder to see if there was a manager checking on me. no respect even though I knew I worked very hard for 12 non stop hours at Eastgate care.

Pros

none

Cons

no encouragement apart from one manager who left
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Eastgate Care Ltd

24 November 2020
Naturally, we always monitor staff to ensure the correct standards of care are being adhered to, and managers would only check more regularly if they had concerns regarding the care provided by a member of staff.We always try to appreciate the hard work staff put in, and are sorry if you felt you were not recognised, as those who work hard should always be recognised, even if it's just a thank you.

Fun work place

I have been working at Melbourne House for several years now, and I find it so enjoyable. Each day is a different, and the staff are very supportive of my work and personal life. With Covid-19 its been more challenging, but PPE has been provided and the management has supported us through this too. I go to work each day for the residents, because they make me smile each time i see them and i am lucky to have a job with this company Thank you :) :)

Pros

the staff

Cons

long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Eastgate Care Ltd

10 August 2021
Thank you for taking the time to comment. It has been a very difficult time for everyone, and we are so proud of our teams for the dedication and care they continue to provide. Thank you for your dedication.

Very poor place to work

After working at Eastgate I can honestly say the bloke who owns it is a crook Doesn’t pay company pension,doesn’t pay right amount of wages etc Now management and some favourite workers If your face fits good luck

Pros

None

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Eastgate Care Ltd

15 June 2020
Whilst we will always strive to address genuine concerns, we will not tolerate abusive behaviour or comments towards anyone within our organisation. Kind regardsEastgate Care Ltd

Do not work for eastgate

Eastgate is the worst company to work for. If you arnt part of management your a piece of dirt to them just to add into the numbers. You will get your first wage 2 months after you start then after that no 2 wage slips will ever be the same. They always get wages wrong and the finance woman which has been there for years clearly does this on purpus, half the time pay you a check. You will be provided with minimal PPE and expected to work like dogs just to keep the money coming into the home. Unorganised and thiefs the home managers are just there for show, carers are left very short staffed to where residents are not looked after properly. My advise is to keep as far away as possible from Eastgate or you will regret it big time.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Eastgate Care Ltd

15 June 2020
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We will always tackle any issues or concerns staff have, and would be happy to discuss them with you if you wish, to ascertain if there is anything we need to do to improve. We appreciate staff leave us for many reasons, and that can have an impact on a review, however we always strive to ensure both the wellbeing of our staff and residents alike. Kind regardsEastgate Care Ltd

Unprofessional

Avoid this company they pay you via cheque after you leave the company considering that out there is deadly virus and the staff had to go to pick it up Very unprofessional bad management Do not care about their staff.. Really got angry now that I have to go to the bank and they closing at 2 , people need money to pay their bills and rent. Sorry but the eastgate is the worse company ...
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Eastgate Care Ltd

15 June 2020
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We always strive to improve through feedback, and will include your experience in our next review.Kind regardsEastgate Care Ltd

Ok

Residents are lovely enjoyed my time working at bell vue I was able to spend time with residents while also cleaning for them they are the heart of the place
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Eastgate Care Ltd

15 June 2020
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and thank you for caring for our residents.Kind regardsEastgate Care Ltd

Once I learned the job and shadowed another carer i understood my role

The day has variety as the residents are all different and some really enjoy chatting and company as they have lived alone.The food is great and the cook makes food from scratch which we serve.We can do activities with the residents..i like the singing

Pros

i can do extra shifts when I need more money

Cons

It is sad when we have become attached to a resident and they pass
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Eastgate Care Ltd

15 June 2020
Thank you for taking the time to comment. It's always great to hear staff talking so passionately about our residents.Kind regardsEastgate Care Ltd

Great place to work

I have been employed in my role for 6 months now, I feel well supported and valued and have opportunities to develop within my role. Great place to work
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Eastgate Care Ltd

9 September 2019
Hello, Thank you for leaving a comment - we are happy that you feel this way, thank you for your hard work and if you ever have any questions then please do let us know! All the best,Eastgate Care LTD

Good place to work

I like working for Eastgatecare group. I have never had any problems do my work and have no course to moan. I work with good collegues and have lovely residents who I help to look after.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Eastgate Care Ltd

27 August 2019
That is really great to hear. We thank you for all your hard work. Eastgate Care LTD

Good Company to work

I have now worked for the company for over 4 years, I have progressed from Care Assistant up to Senior Care. I have always been supported by my Manager and given good feedback and advice. We have always been paid over the minimum wage, and yes sometimes we can be a little short staffed but this is due to our own staff letting us down at the last minute, but they are always covered by agency staff.

Pros

high wages

Cons

own staff/team letting rest down
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Eastgate Care Ltd

27 August 2019
Thank you for all of your hard work this past 4 years, we really appreciate all of it. We are always happy when our Care staff can progress up into a Senior role, we will always support movements within the business. (and out!)We try to keep agency staff down, but sometimes we can't! Thank you for taking the time out to leave a review. All the bestEastgate Care LTD

Great place to work

I am currently working at belle vue and yes it is challanging at times but we are starting to get a really great team together and I am happy here. The residents are lovely and they are the reason I do this job and make my time here worthwhile. The management team could be more supportive but everyone is always working really hard. Overall good place to work.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Eastgate Care Ltd

27 August 2019
Thank you very much for your comment, and thank you for your hard work throughout your career here. If you need any further support, please let us know!Eastgate Care LTD

Great place to work

I currently work at Park House and I am really happy with the new management and the running of the home. Everyone supports one another, and there is never any hassle - sure we are under staffed at times but what industry isn't... I would recommend eastgate (well I have only worked at Park House...) to anybody. I am ony 21 and excited for my progression to commence
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Eastgate Care Ltd

27 August 2019
Thank you for getting in contact with us. We are also excited for all staff to excel in their career, in every home. We will continue to support you. Many Thanks Eastgate Care LTD

Poorly ran care home

Always short staffed, management very rude and unhelpful makes loads of promises for progression and nothing happens, you’re told when you can have a holiday and can use so many weeeks per few months, staff would fight outside in the car park clique of staff that are rude and unfriendly no team work at all! Often no time for breaks and when needing support off seniors you’d get a load of excuses and have to struggle, avoid this place for your own health

Pros

Struggling to find one

Cons

The list is endless
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Eastgate Care Ltd

9 September 2019
Hi There, We are sorry you felt this way at your time here at one of our homes. We take all comments on board, to improve the experience for all employees.Take Care Eastgate Care LTD

Worked there 2018

Bad highter management run out of things needed by the resident's not a team place some work hard some do nothing if your face fits then your be fine . If you keep your head down your get on well

Pros

Shifts

Cons

Face as to fit
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Eastgate Care Ltd

10 August 2021
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We have excellent staff at Eastgate Care, and are very proud of the care they provide. This includes our head office team and home managers, who go above and beyond to ensure residents receive only the best care. Naturally, not everyone can meet our high standards, but we will always endeavour to support them to improve where we can.

BrillIant place to work

I have retired now, and have been with the company for over 17 years. They have been very kind and loyal to me, and I will be forever grateful. The care industry is a tough job

Pros

Helping someone’s life for the better, making life long friends and having a second home

Cons

Wish I got it free food
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Eastgate Care Ltd

2 August 2019
It has been a pleasure having you with us at Eastgate Care. We thank you for your loyalty and hard work. Wishing you a fruitful retirement!Eastgate Care LTD

Terrible Company!

A terrible company who lie and treat staff in a bad way! Way too many cover ups and lies believed from clique with management and family staff members! HR don’t seem to be any better. I wouldn’t put a family member in any of their homes. Especially since seeing how other places run with great staff and management and proper care given to residents . You’d think they’d improve seeing as so many staff leave, the good staff. Some do one shift and never go back!

Pros

Non

Cons

Long hours with breaks missing, staff clique, treated badly
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Eastgate Care Ltd

9 September 2019
We are really sorry that you felt this way, we will take all comments on board and try to improve on certain areas.Thank you Eastgate Care LTD

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Eastgate Care Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 31 reviews

Ratings by category

3.4 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.6 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.4 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.2 out of 5 stars for Management
3.4 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Eastgate Care Ltd with

Learn about Eastgate Care Ltd in popular locations

  • Companies
  • Eastgate Care Ltd
  • Employee reviews