Grundon Waste Management
Happiness score is 40 out of 100
2.7 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Grundon Waste Management Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom51 reviews

Ratings by category

3.2Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 51 reviews matching the searchSee all 54 reviews

Good workshop everything you needed as a mechanic to complete your job to a good standardd

Featured review

Grundon Waste Management selected this as a representative review
If you can live with health and safety in every aspect of your job here then ideal ,good vehicles ,training available ,lots of ts to cross and i,s to dot .good work life balance,and company ethos.wish i hadnt left...

Pros

Holiday buy scheme well equipped bonus scheme when firm doung well

Cons

Waste vehicles
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Grundon Waste Management

14 December 2021
We’re so happy to hear that your experience with Grundon Bishops Cleeve was so positive. Thank you for your review!

Good job working on your own. Had some good times there

Great job if left alone. U could work your socks off & do whatever the office ask but if u make a mistake & your face don’t fit a anymore because u have a opinion & staff can make more mistakes then you the one who’s gives 200% because of your opinion & mistake it will be you who get the sack.
Was this review helpful?

Insights into Grundon Waste Management

Based on 18 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Support from manager
  • Ability to learn new things
  • Inclusive work environment

Driver colnbrook

Wouldn't recommend, if your face fits you will get a good day. If not your be rushed off your feet whilst the others sleep in the lorry in the yard . you work alternate Saturdays for free as its included in the salary. you get bonus points for different customers - which can increase the pay. but don't get your hopes up as it seems all the good ones go to the people they like. Management don't bother. transport manager think on the 5th person within approx. a year. If you last longer than a day or week maybe this is the job for you. They prefer people who don't stand up for themselves.
Was this review helpful?

ok place to work

you will see drivers not working but you are still out there working but nothing will get done about it, we are now on our 5th transport planner in a year so that says something no idea, money not bad, most of the lorry's are new,

Pros

new lorrys
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Grundon Waste Management

31 January 2022
We aim to deliver a great experience, and we’re disappointed when we don’t meet expectations. Thanks for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We will use the feedback to make improvements and to ensure this doesn’t happen again.

Managment and lead drivers are bullies

I spent 6 years at grundons, first 4 where great last 2 was the worst. Lead drivers talk to you like dirt and bully you into extra work. The current manager can't manage people, so gets his lead drivers to do his dirty work. All in all a shame really because the previous manager was great and actually interacted with his staff

Pros

Free cpc training in house

Cons

Early hours start time Lead drivers and management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Grundon Waste Management

11 January 2022
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your time as a member of Team at Grundon Gatwick. We will share this review with our management team

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Not a fun place to be

There are some positives about the job, but top management/directors can make you life difficult on a daily basis. Bonus pay not paid without warning, missing hours on your payslip or mess up with your holidays are very common issues and your direct managers are instructed to do it so. Be clear with employees and don't tell silly lies to them. Playing games with staff always backfires and makes them even more frustrated and unhappy, which then leads to a very unpleasant atmosphere.

Pros

Decent working hours, secure job

Cons

No career advancement, physically tiring, micromanagement
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Grundon Waste Management

14 December 2021
We aim to deliver a great experience, and we’re disappointed when we don’t meet expectations. Thanks for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We will use the feedback to make improvements and to ensure this doesn’t happen again

Slow paced relaxed easy work

Easy work, management barks but has no bite, just turn up to work on time and don't be absent and you will be fine, you can be as lazy as you like and you will be fine, you will be expected to turn a blind eye to environmental breaches by the company and that's all well and good but don't expect any loyalty when your back is against the wall.

Pros

Long lunch breaks, slow paced easy work.

Cons

No company loyalty
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Grundon Waste Management

14 December 2021
Hi there! We appreciate the feedback and would like to know if we can assist further. If you would like to talk with someone further about the concerns raised, please email us at hr@grundon.com and we will get you connected.

Poor management

Management is very poor and disrespectful. No communication between office and staff drivers was always in the wrong. Pay was good for weekly but overtime was never payed

Pros

Early stsrt

Cons

Management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Grundon Waste Management

14 December 2021
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience, but I really appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention

flasehoods

They promise things and they dont Happon. Management are laughable inaffishant, And they emplooy office staff with no knowledge of the industry. On top of that they do not train there people to do the job properly. Very poor company.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Grundon Waste Management

14 December 2021
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We're sorry you had a bad experience.

Fun guys to work with

Enjoy working with the guys but job is stressful due to management not having equipment set properly. But the management can be good sometimes . But the people you meet is good

Pros

No late evening

Cons

Poor mangerment hard work
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Grundon Waste Management

14 December 2021
Thank you for posting a review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience at Grundon was not as you expected. We will investigate your feedback further.

It’s ok

Not the best place to work, but hours and wage makes up for that. Wouldn’t say at all it’s an organised place. Communication is lacking through out the company. Meant to be an family ran business. It isn’t anymore. Have no loyalty to any employees at all. Sometimes feels your on thin ice you could get sacked at anytime.

Pros

Hours and wages

Cons

Early starts, lack of management, lack communication
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Grundon Waste Management

14 December 2021
Hi there! We appreciate the feedback and would like to know if we can assist further. If you would like to talk with someone further about the concerns raised, please email us at hr@grundon.com and we will get you connected.

Great place to work

Very professional company Feel included, great team ethos, fully supported by higher management a great place to work.A good social aspect to the company fully inclusive to all staff

Pros

Great staff

Cons

Salary could be higher
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Grundon Waste Management

14 December 2021
Thank you for your positive response. Belonging and truly becoming a workplace where people can feel safe and empowered is really central to how we think about our culture and values. Really appreciate you taking the time to share your perspectives, we know lots of people read these.

Poor management

Worse job I’ve ever had, worse manger you could ever imagine, poor communication, office staff make so many mistakes and down to drivers to up pieces, Route never in order takes best part of 30-45 to sort, vehicles seriously outdated and forever breaking down

Pros

Money is ok and weekly pay

Cons

Poor manager running depot
Was this review helpful?

Shocking management

As an operative you're treated like s**t by management who seemingly don't have a clue what they're doing. Crazy disorganised company like the bumbling old grandad of the waste industry. As a machine operator I've worked in quite a few sectors, working in the waste and recycling sector for Grundon has put me off working in that industry forever.

Pros

Some decent blokes.

Cons

Pretty much everything
Was this review helpful?

Very frustrating place to work i had many years their doing different jobs no one was happy not even in break times

People came and left the company no long standing employees, health and safety advisers left because they could not impliment measures, always overruled by the directors decision to protect the manager and the way he performed not a healthy place to work

Pros

Good company benefits

Cons

Once a good family involved company now run by power motovated uncaring managers
Was this review helpful?

Ok

Tramping🤣🤣if you like doing runcorn and ferrybridge day in day out hardly tramping.wouldnt share the work out properly either.struggled to get faults fixed on trailers and fuel cards and work refused due to bills not being paid

Pros

The money

Cons

Having to book xmas and boxing day and such like off
Was this review helpful?

Think twice before applying

You don't get any training, sent out on routes completely blind, use a tablet with all jobs on which are in no order and spend your 1st 45mins in the morning trying to sort it out. Manager tells other drivers not to help you route the run. Trucks are dated, defects are not sorted for weeks no matter how many times they're reported. Man management is non existent Bull

Pros

None really

Cons

Management clueless, bullying culture
Was this review helpful?

stressful company to work for

Literally hang you out to dry from the get go, sent out with no training, blind on routes, constantly change their minds what you're on day in day out, tell other drivers not to help you sort routes in the mornings and sent with trucks full from previous drivers being lazy so left in limbo. Manager has no idea how to run operations, weakest man management ever experienced, if the whole company is run like this one depot I'm surprised how they have kept going. Don't pay overtime as it's down to managers discretion, all about saving money and making you work a fair few hours with no reward, no appreciation given at any stage, no feedback from office staff

Pros

weekly pay

Cons

management, work procedures
Was this review helpful?

No credit for work.done or if you help oit

Colleagues you work with are fantastic, hours are ok. Only thing that lets company down is poor management. Inexperienced supervisors, who won't help you. Lazy supervisors.
Was this review helpful?

Excellent

An excellent company to work for and the training is thorough and comprehensive. Great team of workers and your safety at work is taken seriously with training given in all aspects

Pros

Team building friendly customer focused staff

Cons

Alternate Saturday working
Was this review helpful?

Great place to work!

It was good to socialise with the team and then get down to work on our own getting in the zone. Packing burn bins, extracting mercury, categorising hazardous waste. It was fun and quite exciting.
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Grundon Waste Management. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 54 reviews

Ratings by category

3.2 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.3 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
2.9 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
2.5 out of 5 stars for Management
2.8 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Grundon Waste Management with

  • Companies
  • Grundon Waste Management
  • Employee reviews