Haven Holidays
Happiness score is 56 out of 100
3.3 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Haven Holidays Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom311 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 311 reviews matching the searchSee all 327 reviews

Stressful Environment, stingy hours.

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Head office cut budgets for hours to give staff, which then leaves not enough staff in every department and very inconsistent shift patterns. With less staff on shift, everyone elses jobs are 2-3 x harder and on the verge of unhumanly possible at times. (How can 1 person be expected to the jobs of 3-4 people)

Pros

50% Team discount on food - 20% on everything else

Cons

Horrendous management
Was this review helpful?

Hard, stressful but with decent pay

A good place for a summer job lot of hours during the season but it ws very fast paced and stressful.
Was this review helpful?

You’ll be over worked under appreciated all the equipment is broke and your expected to give 110% and get nothing back.

If your asked to do extra hours don’t over worked under appreciated. It’s like a school playground everyone’s over worked you have 100% money back guarantee even for crumbs in toasters no ones appreciated staff are expected to pick up. It’s not Monday Friday they tell you you have to work Saturday too. Staff are rude the bedding is never right or stained so you have to go half way across the park to get more bedding. Trolleys are broke hoovers are always clogged. If you complain don’t bother gets you nowhere. Don’t get a dinner your caravans are all over the park so your constantly walking from the minute you get in,

Pros

Discount

Cons

Long hours Broke equipment Poor management
Was this review helpful?

Nice place to work but pay needs improving

Fun place to work seeing a variety of different people. Long hours but goes by quickly when chatting to guests and owners.Pay needs improving ASAP £9.50 for a SIA is shocking.
Was this review helpful?

Possibly Worst Employer Ever!!

Lovely Team to work with but..FIRED FOR SELF ISOLATING DUE TO COVID, Naming me as "Unreliable" "Not Suitable For The Job". Save yourself some time and avoid Haven Berwick.
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Great supportive mangers

Mama gets are great just a lot of stress comes with the a telephone job. Customers shouting and hard to hear conversations other than that it’s great work

Pros

Great mangers

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Haven Holidays

3 May 2022
Thanks for your review. Great to hear that you found the managers supportive. Thanks Gerry

Really good summer job

Havens caravan cleaning was really good summer job at a good pay. The job is very physical but when partnered with the right person it goes by really fast. Recommend to anyone looking for a summer job.

Pros

Pay, Benefits, location

Cons

Management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Haven Holidays

3 May 2022
Thanks for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed the summer job with us. We will be hiring team for over the summer again soon so do visit www.havencareers.co.uk if you are looking for summer work again Thanks Gerry

Nice place to work

They provided great training and it was easy to learn what to do and managers would help you if you didn’t knowstaff very nice and friendly 50% off food was great tooUniform was provided
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Haven Holidays

3 May 2022
Thanks for taking the time to write a review we are pleased to hear that you found our training good and managers supportive. I am sure 50% off food when you worked on your shift was helpful tooThanks Gerry

Production of food is very good

It's very fast paced so I can be difficult working with customers and but when I get it right I love it so much then I ask my manager what else I can do

Pros

Good pay

Cons

If busy no break
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Haven Holidays

3 May 2022
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. You are right it can be fast paced at our parks especially during the holidays. I'm so glad to hear that you love itThanks Gerry

Awful!

Don't bother working for Haven, even if you're desperate! You're expected to work all day long without a break, nothing to eat or drink & don't give a toss if you're sick.Equipment given is dated & absolutely useless - I'm expected to clean dirty, worn out carpets with a broken hoover!No matter how hard you try, nothing is ever good enough for management. Communication between management & "coaches" seems to be non-existent. No help if you're struggling. They expect you to go into work early or stay late too - some of us have family commitments, other jobs & health issues! There also seems to be some back-stabbing going on too.ZERO COSHH, PPE or Health & Safety training was ever given, & the training that was given was c**p!I'm seriously considering quitting already, I'm that unhappy.

Pros

Getting paid on time, some flexibility with hours

Cons

Exhausting, they expect cleaners to make caravans look like new
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Haven Holidays

3 May 2022
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We take all feedback seriously so I shall make sure that this gets flagged to our leadership teams Thanks Gerry

Fast paced!!!

Training consisted of 4 hours online training, being shown around the park, how to clean a caravan and make beds, What cleaning chemicals and cloths to use... You get 2 hours per caravan to start but by week 3 this drops to 1 hour and 30 minutes. If the caravan you are cleaning is very dirty and has extra bedroom this isn't enough time and it can get stressful trying to finish in time for your guests arrival. A few staff start earlier but you are not paid for it. This job can be great if you get a good coach (person who checks your caravans and who is supposed to help you lol) There is no time to take a break, lucky if you manage to get a drink down you! Very hot and hard work but time goes quickly and your hourly rate will rise if you become a "trained team member" and then "expert cleaner" It's not all bad as you get free swimming and use of facilities and can bring 2 people with you. Discounted food on site and 20% off holidays with Haven and Butlins.

Pros

Free swimming and use of facilities, 20% off holidays with Haven and Butlins

Cons

Exhausting work, no time for break, harsh chemicals, not enough time given to complete caravans
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Haven Holidays

3 May 2022
Thanks for your review. Love that you have made use of the free swimming and facilities as it's a great benefit for team. We do take any feedback seriously so I shall make sure I give your feedback to our leadership team Thanks Gerry

It was fun and a nice place to work

Working for haven was a great experiance and i did enjoy working for them .the team i was with made haveb a nice place to work and feel accepted the only down side was the long hours.

Pros

Team card +acommidation if needed

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Haven Holidays

3 May 2022
Thanks for writing a review it is always great to receive and so nice to hear it was funThanks Gerry

Accommodation cleaner

I would recommend working here if you only want a couple of days a week, it is fast paced but you gave plenty of time to rest so the job is okay for that...

Pros

Discounts

Cons

Hard work..
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Haven Holidays

3 May 2022
Thanks for the feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoy the discounts as part of our benefits package. You are right it can be great if you are looking for part time work but if you can be flexible on the roles you are looking for we also have full time roles too.Thanks Gerry

Okay place staff can be hit and miss

Worked a season there as a paddle sports instructor was great because they put me through the qualification and paid me! Unfortunately due to seasonal staff can be hit or miss, the paddle sports team was kind of its own thing and management didn't really care too much about it but overall enjoyed the job even though peak season was a massive amount of work for me and the other paddle sports instructors

Pros

Will pay for qualifications, discount on site, can get referral bonuses

Cons

Depends on your department really, staff can be hit or miss
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Haven Holidays

3 May 2022
Thanks for taking time to write a review for us. I'm pleased you took advantage of some of our benefits including discounts and referral bonuses and also great that you gained a qualification through us while you were employedThanks Gerry

easy going

its a good place to work, the management are understanding and will help in anyway that they can. Only issue is that there's not enough hours if your wanting more. Its fast paced and you don't get much time to stop, but time does go fast and if you need help, its there. Good coaches to help and support you throughout the day if needed. It is hard work, but worth it.

Pros

Good work environment

Cons

not enough hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Haven Holidays

3 May 2022
Thanks for writing a review it is always great to hear from current team. It sounds like your manager and coaches are helpful and supportive Thanks Gerry

Decent place to work. Rude Customers Though

Having worked there during the summer I must say it was a very fun job if you can handle rude customers. Team leaders are very supportive and tend to side with you if any dispute rises like refusal to serve. Only downside i will say is during peak season if you aren't fast at serving people on the bar you are more likely to be sent out to collect glasses but this is just because of how busy it gets.

Pros

Great Managers, Good Meals, Friendly Enviroment, Supportive Team Leaders

Cons

work during hours that most people tend to go out drinking so less sociable hours free time.
Was this review helpful?

No work life balance

Its not just a job its a lifestyle it doesn’t give you much time to do anything else gap year perfect a normal life not really. If you are looking to grow and be challenged its perfect.

Pros

Working with wonderful families

Cons

Long hours, no balance
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Haven Holidays

3 May 2022
Thanks for your review. It is great to hear that you found the work challenging and that it gave you the opportunity to growThanks Gerry

Bad management and zero care for employees

The staff accommodation is damp and riddled with black mould. On site facilities will not even provide a heater. The window had an inch gap during winter and it took two months for them to come and fix it. The restaurant is a joke. The management are more worried about making friends with certain employees whilst others are shunned. Promotions therefor handed out to those who are ‘favourites’ rather than actual hard workers. They make promises in regards to training and progression opportunities and leave you with nothing. The work life balance is basically nonexistent- they make you work well over contracted hours for the week, and since the accommodation is so shocking there’s no relaxing to be had in days off.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Haven Holidays

3 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take all reviews seriously and I shall be sharing this feedback with our leadership team Thanks Gerry

Terrible company to work for.

This company is terrible to work for,they look for made up reasons to pay you as little as possible.Have no respect for your personal safety as long as they get the job done, the ppe they supply is not fit for purpose and belittle you every time they see fit.most employees are unhappy.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Haven Holidays

24 March 2022
Thanks for your review. All feedback is really important to us and as a next step I shall be sharing this with our park leadership team so that we can investigate the feedbackThanks Gerry

Fun but fast paced

Great fun but only seasonal so no good unless it’s only a stop gap. Long hours whenever the kids are on holiday but barely any hours on the other weeks.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Haven Holidays

24 March 2022
Hi thanks for writing a review. Glad to hear it was fun working at our park. We do offer permanent opportunities too feel free to go to www.havencareers.co.uk to search and apply Thanks Gerry

Fast paced and paid well

Very fast paced. It got more stressful as the years went on having less time to complete the cleaning of each caravan but having much high standards. We were always high within the company for customer positive feedback which helped to drive the team each day.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Haven Holidays

24 March 2022
Thanks for your review it great to hear that you always received such great customer feedback and that this helped motivate you.Thanks Gerry

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Haven Holidays. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 327 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
2.9 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
2.9 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.1 out of 5 stars for Management
3.3 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Haven Holidays with

  • Companies
  • Haven Holidays
  • Employee reviews
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?