Iceland Foods logo
Iceland Foods
Happiness score is 46 out of 100Low
3.3 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Iceland Foods Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

3.1
Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 2,135 reviews matching the searchSee all 2,212 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Ok place to work

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
ok place to work but can be stressful depending what job you are doing there some nice friendly people working there too helpful if you have problems too

Pros

discount card friendly people
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

hard work but when it goes well i feel that it is all worth while

I currently work at iceland in ely Cambridgeshire although it is stressful and can be very demanding at times I feel that we work well as a team even when the chips are down we are a well oiled team

Pros

10% discount money off

Cons

long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Iceland Foods

22 June 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. It’s great to hear such positive feedback. Keep up the good work!
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Decent for students, Drive a new van and meet people

It's okay for students but not ideal for family men/women.. it has a very bad work/life balance with little adjustments for your social life, perfect for someone who loves work and making money and doesn't really do many social activities.. You have to come into work at least 30 minutes before your shift to leave enough time to load the van, some crates a very heavy and can be a pain to lift into the van, you must also rely on an unreliable satnav device to find addresses, can be a pain when trying to find flats and bungalows without door numbers.No time for breaks, you're constantly on your feet trying to fit all deliveries in the 2 hour delivery slot windows. Sometimes you have to break the speed limit to get deliveries done on time which isn't idealOverall you get good days and bad days, if you like driving a big van, listening to your own music and prefer a job without a manager breathing down your neck, this is the job for you, you must also be willing to lift heavy crates shopping.

Pros

Drive new van, listen to your music, independent work, 10% discount, make good friends

Cons

Unsocialable hours, heavy lifting, difficulty finding addresses, traffic and roadworks
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Iceland Foods

22 June 2021
Thank you very much for your comments, your feedback is appreciated. Keep up the good work!
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great

Great experience worked in teams and alone very divers and good place to work only stopped working there due to no hours enjoyed the work and got along with every one

Pros

Free lunch

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Iceland Foods

22 June 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your employment with us. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we wish you all the very best for the future.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great company

I work at the Oswestry store where all the staff are so friendly and hours are accommodating to fit around my other job. Manager is so approachable. Love working here.

Pros

In store competitions
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Iceland Foods

22 June 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. It’s great to hear such positive feedback. Keep up the good work!

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Regular unpaid overtime.

I would give it a 4* because work is easy and 10% Discount is nice, but most days I left late and it unpaid. Absolute joke we work over our finish time for free. I worked on frozen. Do not work frozen work on tills if you can. When on frozen have to do 3 or 4 crates of food put in cages and put in freezer. When till busy i have to jump on tills. Twice I helped tills for an hour and went back to frozen. Because on till for hour helping out I left 40mins late, if I didnt help till I would have left on time. Bang out of order! And even delivery drivers have to help put frozen food away. Pure joke.

Pros

10% discount

Cons

Unpaid overtime
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Iceland Foods

22 June 2021
Thank you for your feedback, your comments are important to us.It’s disappointing that you feel your experience did not meet with your expectations. We wish you all the very best for the future
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Customer care advisor

One of the worst jobs i have ever done, you are just a bum on a seat to take abuse, if a customer wants to speak with a manager they say they are too busy when infact they are not, they expect you to do their job for them, best thing i ever did was get out of there

Pros

none

Cons

long hours, expect you to do your team managers job too
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Iceland Foods

22 June 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review based on you time with Iceland. It is disappointing that you felt you had such a poor experience and are no longer with us. Your feedback is important to us, we wish you the very best for the future.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Pontefract store avoid like the plague

I advise anyone reading this not to work for this company, especially at the pontefract store , poor management is the start, report van defects to management and nothing ever gets done about it, expect you to work in store when not driving but will not pay you for it unless you confront them, have to start work early just to get out on time because no one hardly ever has the shopping ready for you to load on to the van in which you only have 15 minutes to start work , get the shopping together, load the van, do your van checks and set off which is near impossible but when you tell the management this that they need to be ready for the drivers it’s in one ear and out of the other , orders constantly mixed up which puts pressure on the drivers. The list goes on and on!! Stay clear. Glad I got out

Pros

Going home

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Iceland Foods

22 June 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It’s disappointing to hear of your experience working for Iceland, this certainly would not be our expectation. We take all feedback seriously and appreciate your comments.We wish you all the very best for the future
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Questionable

It all depends on the staff members, as it is a very close nit workplace usually. There is a constant competition between hours, there is constant agrivation and bickering from one staff member to another.If you expect to plan your life ahead of 2 days notice, think again! Shifts change the night before, if a shift is set 2 weeks in advance. It will never stay the same. You will not be informed of this change. The work is hard and you are not rewarded for the effort you put in. You are penalised for sale percentages.The good thing is. You are paid weekly.Would I work here again? The stress of a 7.5 hour contacted job will take over your life.

Pros

10% discount, paid weekly

Cons

Silly working hours, split shifts, no legal time before shifts, no rewarded feeling, argumentative and judgemental staff, stressful
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Iceland Foods

22 June 2021
Thank you for your feedback, your comments are important to us.It’s disappointing that you feel your experience did not meet with your expectations. We wish you all the very best for the future
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Not a good place to work

Poor environment ex driver load vans on your own food boxes all over the place all on the floor very dirty floor pulling boxes of food out to the vans in all weathers vans very old and dirty in side not cleaned very often

Pros

10 percent off

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Iceland Foods

22 June 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As a business we take all feedback seriously, It’s a shame to hear that not all aspects of the job met your expectations.

Jobs at Iceland Foods

See more jobs
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Dont bother 0

Only if your face fits equals if you don't don't agree with what's going on or how things are run then youa are shut out and pushed out just as quick. If you don't fit in with the team then don't even try they are close nit and you don't confirm to the standard then they will push till you leave and make sure you will never progress unless you leave

Pros

None

Cons

Cant be worse than working for iceland
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Iceland Foods

22 June 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It’s disappointing to hear of your experience working for Iceland, this certainly would not be our expectation. We take all feedback seriously and appreciate your comments.We wish you all the very best for the future
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Lied to from day one

Once you have accepted the job you will receive online training. This training states that all you will need to do is place the crates on your van. What it does not state is that you have to drag and stack crates and count by yourself within 12 minutes as that's the window you have to get to your first stop. You will have approx 4 minutes a drop whether you have 1 or 21 crates. Shifts are all over the place as favourite employees get first dibs. The vans tend to be 7 or 8 years old in a poor state or repair. When checking the vehicle out remember it is your licence. The job should be easy but there appears to be an us and them attitude divide between shop floor and delivery drivers. Don't expect any help...just get on with it yourself.

Pros

You have an income

Cons

Too many to name
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Iceland Foods

22 June 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As a business we take all feedback seriously, It’s a shame to hear that not all aspects of the job met your expectations. Your feedback is appreciated and is very useful to us. We wish you all the very best for the future.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

All about making money

No consideration for the drivers all about pushing sales and deliveries doing 10 to 15 crate drops in a towerblock of flats in 4 mins is impossible but still not given extra time as instore colleges think you just sit on your bum all day. Vans are falling apart but your still made to drive them even though they are defective sometimes to the point of being dangerous. Expexted to do upto 15 drops in 2 hrs regardless of traffic and still keep your telematics score up near 100. No extra for working bank holidays or working 68hrs a week when only contracted to 24hrs. Dont expect a life outside of work as they will expect you to cover other stores on your days off.

Pros

Pays not bad

Cons

Unrealistic expectations
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Iceland Foods

22 June 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It’s disappointing to hear of your experience working for Iceland, this certainly would not be our expectation. We take all feedback seriously and appreciate your comments.We wish you all the very best for the future
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great place to work in

Good career development programmes. Came to Iceland as a job just to pay my bills as I lost my job due to COVID. Now I definitely won’t be leaving. Made a career out of it
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Iceland Foods

22 June 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. It’s great to hear such positive feedback. Keep up the good work!
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Very good

It is a shop so you know what sort of work you are getting but I liked the company. I would have stayed much longer but had to leave due to needing full time hours.

Pros

Staff discount

Cons

Freezers get pretty cold, wrap up!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Iceland Foods

22 June 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your employment with us. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we wish you all the very best for the future.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Job not bad, culture isn’t great

the job itself wasn’t too bad and I enjoyed checkouts but I felt I wasn’t given proper training so felt unconfident in doing more complex things. Likewise with stock replenishment.People mostly okay, but I didn’t really bond with the team so felt out of place.

Pros

Good employee benefits like vouchers

Cons

Called in to work at short notice often
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Iceland Foods

22 June 2021
Thank you for your feedback, your comments are important to us.It’s disappointing that you feel your experience did not meet with your expectations. We wish you all the very best for the future
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Definitely not a fun place to work..

The advert states a fun flexible place to work. The summary is all lies. No staff on shift, you run the store on 3people on shift at one time. Management stay in the office, when you need advice or assistance you are greeted with a grunt. Staff are always tired and with low morale.Checkouts are not safe.Your not guaranteed the hours it states as the manager over spends.

Pros

Leaving 10% discount on shopping

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Iceland Foods

22 June 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As a business we take all feedback seriously, It’s a shame to hear that not all aspects of the job met your expectations. Your feedback is appreciated and is very useful to us. We wish you all the very best for the future.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Brilliant

Amazing place to work Nice, friendly and supportive staff Tend to swap managers from time to time and it’s pot luck if you get on with them or not however working night shifts is easy! Straightforward, good pay and benefits.10% off food Free food/testers Easy interview Good wage Weekly pay

Pros

Good pay, decent hours, friendly staff.

Cons

Getting used to night shifts, rotas aren’t always up 4 weeks in advance
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Iceland Foods

22 June 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. It’s great to hear such positive feedback. Keep up the good work!
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Cashier/ stock

Can’t complain, a usual typical day in a supermarket Sometimes your a cashier sometimes your stocking items.If you don’t like heavy or freezing cold items that need to be stocked not the place for you.Thankfully people have assigned roles when they start just make your intentions clear for what you can and can’t do.

Pros

The pay

Cons

Non
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Iceland Foods

22 June 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. It’s great to hear positive feedback!
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Not a good place to work

I would not recommend anyone to work here, I rarely got paid for the overtime I did and I wasn't even told that I didn't get paid for it until I had dine at least 4 hours overtime, Staff looked down on me for leaving when I was supposed to even though if I was to stay I wasn't going to get paid for it. No communication between managers whatsoever ever!!!safe to say I only stayed there for a couple weeks..
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Iceland Foods

22 June 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It’s disappointing to hear of your experience working for Iceland, this certainly would not be our expectation. We take all feedback seriously and appreciate your comments.We wish you all the very best for the future
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Stressful, disorganised,

It’s was a shock to the system how a massive organisation can be so stressful and disorganised. When communication breaks down and management has grown strange inbreed culture. Most of the engineering management didn’t leave the office so standards of workmanship have dropped that low it was shocking. So called team I’ve never felt so isolated and alone in my work. Please only if your really desperate for work ,but I would stay clear. P.s please empty the vac pump full of water before giving it to a new starter.

Pros

Can’t think of any

Cons

To many to list
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Iceland Foods

22 June 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review based on you time with Iceland. It is disappointing that you felt you had such a poor experience and are no longer with us. Your feedback is important to us, we wish you the very best for the future.

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Iceland Foods. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3

Based on 2,212 reviews
5
565
4
559
3
493
2
220
1
375

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.1Job security/advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture
  • Companies
  • Iceland Foods
  • Employee reviews