Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd logo
Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd
3.0 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

3.0Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 57 reviews matching the searchSee all 58 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

great Job! different and unique.

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
started work being trained on a job I Immediately got stuck in, my trainer was very good with considering I am from a foreign country and times ask a lot of questions but i was truly felt part of a team. I learnt four stages on the line each time i was shown what to do . The management team were very good with me I had an ongoing family issue and in the end resulted in me having to leave and go back home. most enjoyable part of the job is the people as long as you come to work and work your fine, shifts are 6am till 14:00 & 14:30 till 22:30 easy around my social life.

Pros

clean environment good facilitates- don't have to put your hand up to go the toilet!

Cons

none all good.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd

21 July 2021
Many thanks for the feedback, we are currently expanding our workforce and looking for people to fill permanent roles. Please feel free to call me on 01490 412 626 so I can get a better understanding of your current work situation and see if we can work together again. Kind Regards, Richard Hughes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Opportunities for progression

This is a more honest review as I feel some I’ve read are unfair! It can be dusty and dirty due to handling self colour steel. Job security is excellent, genuine route to a full time with decent performance and if you turn up every day. Plenty of advancement opportunities, I was an example of this, good training and support for to improve yourself there. Modern CNC machinery and equipment. Good occupational health program.

Pros

Advancement opportunities

Cons

Normal factory frustrations
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd

21 July 2021
Thanks for the balanced feedback. We take on board the things people say and try to improve things but is always nice to get a good bit of news. We are currently recruiting so if you or anyone you know is interested please apply. Please feel free to call me on 01490 412 626 so I can get a better understanding of your current role and future prospects we may have on offer. Kind Regards, Richard Hughes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Enjoyed my time there

Worked there for 18 months as a stop gap before traveling. Only intended to be there for a few months to save up some money !!! Worked on the Horse box line as an assembly operator. Had no previous relative experience but picked the job up very quickly. Work was fast paced but enjoyable. The day went very fast. Worked shifts so had a kind of half day every day as this suited my home needs. Work colleagues were a great bunch - really enjoyed the banter. My team leader was nice guy - no problems with him and treated me well. Overtime was available if you wanted it and there was definite advancement possibilities available if required. Overall had a good time there and I am still in contact with some of my work colleagues

Pros

Shift Pattern

Cons

None really
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd

21 July 2021
Feel free to re-apply we are looking for permanent roles based on all our sites. Please feel free to call me on 01490 412 626 so I can get a better understanding of your current situation and see if we have anything for you now or in the future. Kind Regards, Richard Hughes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Fast paced but enjoyable

Reading the comments on here really did make me think twice, however people never take the time to type a positive comment so I thought I would make my own mind up! I enjoyed my time here, it was face paced and never a dull moment but that's what work is, right? The teams are great and the management are there to support you. Training was supplied so I knew what I was doing. Shift work suited me, gave me the routine I needed with my weekends to myself to enjoy with the fam! Unfortunately I wanted a job closer to home! Definetely worth making your own mind up about the company!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd

21 July 2021
Appreciate the feedback, if you or anyone else you know is interested we are taking on full-time perm roles working direct for the company. Please feel free to call me on 01490 412 626 so I can get a better understanding of your aspirations. Kind Regards, Richard Hughes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Absolute disgrace of a place

Bad bad place to work stay well clear team leaders think there big time just a proper poor place to work was only ever temporary for me feel sorry for anyone that works there you have to be desperate

Pros

None

Cons

Horrible team leaders poor management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd

14 July 2021
Thank you very much for the feedback and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at the Sandycroft site. We believe our highly trained Team Leaders perform to a very high standard whilst trying to get our Products completed in a timely fashion. Please feel free to call me on 01490 412 626 so I can get a better understanding of your issues. Kind Regards, Richard Hughes

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Fast paced.

I worked here for several weeks as an agency worker as a stop gap. I am of an age that my parents forced me to work from 16 so i do understand the expectation of work!! I must admit reading some comments on here before starting i was a bit sceptical but I enjoyed it. I have worked in manufacturing for 30 years and most factories are the same labour turn over is high here half of the younger generation walk in when they want to and turn up when they like and try and get away with the bare minimum. My team leader was very help-full and i must admit I sympathise with him as every day we were missing parts. Health and safety within the factory was very good. Lots of excess stock around the factory needs a warehouse! The pay is not in line with other manufacturers that are similar there is no shift allowance on shifts, no attendance bonus Im told although there are people missing daily on the lines. Some very good workers need to keep them.

Pros

Relaxed, good experience

Cons

No shift allowance- pay slightly under the average.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Toxic environment

Very unfriendly and pressurised place to work in. Seems good from the interview and at the start but a lot is expected of you. You are just another number to them.

Pros

Successful growing company

Cons

Stressful
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd

21 July 2021
Sorry to hear your experience was not what you expected from the interview. We do initial reviews with people who start so they can voice any concerns. If you would like to re-apply we would consider you for the roles we have at that time. Wishing you all the best in your future career.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Everyone is trying to escape

Joke of a company with no regard for its workforce or human beings on the whole. Clueless team leaders constantly cracking the whip whilst you break your back for peanuts. Company interviewed people and gave jobs to them for a shift that never even happened. Not so much as an apology was forth coming from the powers that be to all the people they lied to and messed around. Lost count of the amount of people that left daily in my short time there.

Pros

None

Cons

Plenty
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd

16 July 2021
Thank you for your feedback. I can only assume you are referring to the Sandycroft Night Shift that you state 'never happened'. This did indeed start but unfortunately had to be removed due to unforeseen circumstances. The Company has an extremely healthy order book and have a number of long term, Full Time, permanent jobs available and when the time is right, we will re-introduce the night shift
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Such a Bad Experience- Never Again!

I worked here for 6 months during 2019. I began at the company with the hope of forging a new career in a new work sector. However once I started, I knew from the get go that I would not be staying. The organisation was non existent with the entire factory an utter shambles with materials stored in a way which resembled a jumble sale in a village hall as opposed to a modern day manufacturing site. Metal components dumped outside in the yard and getting corroded to the point that they were getting rejected. The lines were always stopping because the materials were not at lineside where needed. Health and Safety was poor with a couldn't care less attitude - rubbish and stock blocking walkways. Management were appalling and treated staff so - no wonder they are always advertising.

Pros

None

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd

21 July 2021
We always seek to help people forge new careers, it is disappointing that we were not able to do so with yourself. Supply chain issues do occasionally mean that materials need to be stored in ways that are required for a short space of time. We would never endorse a view that it is like a jumble sale. We conduct regular audits and the site is reviewed by external auditors. In terms of H&S we can not agree with you view that we don't take our obligations seriously. We have had many inspections and have our own internal team who ensure we work to the highest standards. Please feel free to call me on 01490 412 626 so I can get a better understanding of your issues. Kind Regards, Richard Hughes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

It's like working in the dark ages.

You waste loads of time looking for stuff' And bringing jigs in and out from outside jigs are all rusty.. Just no organisation in Corwen that's why they have a high turn over of shop floor staff, A very frustrating place to work it was for me anyway.

Pros

Weekend off and bank holidays

Cons

Shifts
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd

21 July 2021
Many thanks for your review. Our turnover is not high and many people have worked for us for 20+ years. We are a proud Welsh manufacturer of a quality product that is highly regarded around the world. It's disappointing that you were frustrated, we do seek feedback from people and would have reviewed with you in your induction period. We have flagged your concerns to the site team. Please feel free to call me on 01490 412 626 so I can get a better understanding of your issues. Kind Regards, Richard Hughes

We want to help you find great companies. Help us be the best!

Do these reviews help you learn more about working at Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd?

Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Absolute disgrace of a company!

Shift work is 6-2 & 2-10 with no shift allowance. Management are incompetent, ignorant and disrespectful. Pressured into doing overtime with threats of lay offs or disciplinary action. Unfair pay with ever promised pay rises which never materialise. No empathy towards family problems/situations leading to off.. instead discipline you. 0/10

Pros

Nothing

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd

16 July 2021
Thank you for your response and we are sorry that you have had cause to raise these concerns.Obviously I am unable to comment on your particular circumstances but would welcome a phone call to discuss. (01490 412 626)There is Overtime available at the site and this is a great attraction to many of our employees, but it is optional and disciplining someone for not doing Overtime would never beThe site is currently looking for Permanent Operators with the prospect of long term work with the potential to grow within the Company due to our successful promotion from within succession plan. Richard Hughes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

heptic

Very disappointed with the way I was treated but the people who work at ifor Williams on the shop floor are good lads its just a shame the management of the company aren't the same.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd

21 July 2021
Sorry to hear you feel disappointed. Please feel free to call me on 01490 412 626 so I can get a better understanding of your issues. Kind Regards, Richard Hughes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Okay

Working at ifors was very fast paced, they wanted more minutes instead of quality of the work so it was hard to get used to the fast pace and get every little thing spot on but to gain experience it was good.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd

21 July 2021
Many thanks for the feedback. We are pleased you gained experience, but always open to considering people who may want to return. Please feel free to call me on 01490 412 626 so I can get a better understanding of your issues and discuss the business as it is today and plans for the future. Kind Regards, Richard Hughes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Very great company to work for as long as you get your head down infront of management and bond with other colleagues.

The company was very good to work for, the people were amazing and it was almost like a family! The managment on the other hand were the opposite and at some parts seemed like they were out to get you. The shift patterns were good for a basic life style and social life style, the main benefits has got to be the pay! But managment weren't the best at all
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd

21 July 2021
Glad to hear the company is good and people are amazing, we pride ourselves on our family approach to things. Please feel free to call me on 01490 412 626 so I can get a better understanding of your issues with regard to the other issues you raise which we will take seriously and learn from. Kind Regards, Richard Hughes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great place to work

Shift pattern was 6-2 or 2-10 revolving, good rate of pay, but you have to be dedicated and punctual. Worst shift was overtime on Saturday after late finish on Friday, but we’ll worth it financially. Only left because I was offered a permanent job elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd

21 July 2021
Great feedback and many thanks. We are looking for permanent roles currently. Please feel free to call me on 01490 412 626 so I can get a better understanding of your requirement. Kind Regards, Richard Hughes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

It was good

I say it was good, however they were very picky and choosy. you had to really be on the ball. they were also very picky. i really got into the paint spraying side of it though.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd

21 July 2021
Many thanks for the feedback which we take seriously. Sorry to see you leave, we would always consider you again if you are interested. Please feel free to call me on 01490 412 626 so I can get a better understanding of your issues and career asperations. Kind Regards, Richard Hughes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Good job

A good company to work for as long as you are willing to work hard a good bunch of lads work there and it’s a secure job as long as you turn up to work on time and do your fair share of work
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Production operative

Job very repetitive, always part shortages and continual change overs. Trainee operator train other trainee operator so mistakes are being passed on from operator to operator.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great Place to Work

I really enjoy working with Ifor Williams, great support, great structure! I can see my self developing a long career with a good level of personal development.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Ridiculous pressure

If hard work and constant pressure to achieve impossible targets then try working here. 1 half hour break in an 8 hour shift is the only time you'll rest. If you hit the target they just put it up even higher, no praise or thanks from the team leaders when you hit the target. Been here 6 months and desperate to get out. Huge turnover of staff, people constantly leaving. AVOID at all costs unless you are desperate for money.

Pros

Money has just gone up

Cons

Hard work no rest
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd

21 July 2021
Please feel free to call me on 01490 412 626 so I can get a better understanding of your issues. Kind Regards, Richard Hughes
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

absolute hole!

shocking work environment, horrible treatment rubbish pay!

Pros

none

Cons

everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd

21 July 2021
Sorry to hear your comments. Please feel free to call me on 01490 412 626 so I can get a better understanding of your issues. Kind Regards, Richard Hughes

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0

Based on 58 reviews
5
15
4
9
3
12
2
3
1
19

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.6Salary/Benefits
2.7Job security/advancement
2.6Management
2.8Culture

Compare Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd with

  • Companies
  • Ifor Williams Trailers Ltd
  • Employee reviews