Kier Group
3.2 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Kier Group Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 585 reviews matching the search
See all 616 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Clearly an excellent company with a lot of talent and a positive attitude to the future and work winning in particular. O boarding process is unfriendly and incomplete.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Kier Group
19 January 2021
Thank you for the review! We're glad to hear this, we are constantly winning new work and are proud to be serving local communities and leaving a lasting legacy. Your feedback is noted, we are currently reviewing parts of the onboarding process in order to streamline and make it better suited to remote working.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Money not good you watched all the time by council. management have not got a clue how to run things. Worker never have a say in anything.. There no aircon in the lorrys there no radio. The lorry are very uncomfortable
Pros
Some early finishes
Cons
Wet cant get dry
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Kier Group
9 February 2021
Thank you for the review, your feedback is genuinely important to us. We wish you all the best for the future.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The interview promises the world but reality is you give everything and get nothing back .no encouragement,constant whining and poor suppliers of equipment.You do a tradesman's job for labourers money with basic tools very poorly run company expected to do a six day week 3 out of four
Pros
Holiday
Cons
Long hours, no spare time, working in the dark with wrong equipment, not even statutory pay for covid
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Kier Group
28 January 2021
Thank you for your review. your feedback is genuinely important to us, and we'd love to know how we could best support you. We would highly recommend that you speak to your line manager or local HR representative in order to help resolve some of the things you have mentioned.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I worked for the Kier Group from 1997 to 2004 and again from 2012 to 2016 that was when I retired. Kier was in my time a very good company to work for. In my time with them I worked on many projects.This is just a few,Power Stations,Nuclear Installation,Dock Yard refurbishments,Shopping Developments,Roads & MotorwaysBridge construction & refurbishments.To name but a few.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Great people to work with.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Kier Group
4 January 2021
Wow, thank you for the review! We're so grateful you enjoyed your time with us, and it sounds like you were able to work on a huge variety of projects too! We hope you are enjoying your retirement, and thank you for being a part of Kier and helping leave a lasting legacy.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Great place to work, work life balance has been a key driver for me and Kier support me in having the right balance between personal and work time. Plenty of career development in such a large diverse company.
Pros
Work Life Balance, Career Progression
Cons
Share price has taken a dip, management could look differently to see how we improve that.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Kier Group
8 December 2020
Thank you for the 5-stars! We're glad to hear about your time with us, and we're extra happy in knowing that you're able to have a healthy work/life balance - wellbeing and flexibility is extremely important to us! We'll be sure to keep supporting you in every possible way we can.
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Great company, plenty of supportRelaxed, supportive, friendly, approachable, dedicated to success, always ready to help in any situation, happy to support further training
Pros
Very laid back atmostphere
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Kier Group
10 November 2020
Thank you for your comments! We're glad to know about your experience at Kier, and we really thank you for your kind words too.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Worked at a school under kier for under two years in that time had five managers with kier your just a number not a person poor money for the work you do
Pros
Non
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Kier Group
13 November 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear about your experience, we always hope to be there to support our people. If you do have any concerns please do speak to your local HR representative and we'll be sure to help you the best we can.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I worked on the highway maintenance side of the company and have since left due to how badly the place is run. There is no communication between managers and the workers, and you are fed propaganda and lies on a daily basis. The men are all back stabbing moaning little children and the only way to get promoted is to be under the bosses desk (if you catch my drift). Stay away from this one.
Pros
buying holidays
Cons
Long hours and always on call
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Kier Group
13 October 2020
Thank you for your comments, we're sorry to hear of your experience at Kier. Your feedback is genuinely important to us.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Was TUPE over from another company. Most of staff who was working for me left, including one of my area manager, because they didn't want to work for KIER. I was reassured that my job is safe. However it was only safe for 6 months. Was made redundant
Pros
Can't think of anything apart of free coffee in the office
Cons
You don't have a freedom to make any business related decision, not enough space to enter more, overall it was too many
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Kier Group
6 October 2020
Thank you for your review, we're sorry to hear about your experience.We continuously are looking at ways we can improve, and your feedback will help shape us for the future.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Avoid,company do not care about staff only to comply with health and safety so they can not be sued. Mental health issues are at the bottom of the list of priorities
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Kier Group
8 September 2020
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear of your experience. At Kier we have over 330 trained Mental Health First Aiders, they all wear an identifiable lanyard and any line manager or local SHEA managers at Kier will have a list of nearest contacts.
We want to help you find great companies. Help us be the best!
Do these reviews help you learn more about working at Kier Group?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Best company I have worked for in a lot of years.Contract ended so alot of redundancies on contract, would be happy to work for Kier again if the opportunity came up.
Pros
Great management
Cons
Big work area to cover.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Kier Group
4 September 2020
Thank you for the 5 stars! We really appreciate the feedback! If you are interested in any opportunities at Kier, www.kier.co.uk/careers is updated very regularly!
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Never work for this company as they are a liveing nightmare Worst experience ever in employment Manager & supervisors have no idea how to treat people
Pros
None
Cons
Loads
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Kier Group
1 September 2020
We're very sorry to hear that you feel this way. We want to be able to support you and make things better, we would highly recommend getting in touch with your local HR representative.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Only had a short period at kier. They were fine. Management was good and other staff members always helpful. Probably pay a little under market levels.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Kier Group
1 September 2020
Thanks for the review! We're glad to hear about your time at Kier. We truly wouldn't be able to do what we do without our people!
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Good job just a shame about the management in the office who don't care about their employees. Disorganised, work yourself silly covering shifts for them just to be treated poorly
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, poor shift patterns. No help from management in the office
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Kier Group
25 August 2020
Hi, we're sorry to read about your experience. We'll be sure to take this feedback on board and contact the relevant teams.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Loved the job, it was a huge challenge and every day was different, was pushing for an area manager role which I was confident in getting, role was not advertised and just given to the first person that was a yes man that wanted it, some higher management were progressed too fast and became unapproachable in work as did not answer calls, had a great team under me but was not able to reward them as Kier did not have any sort of reward scheme, they were only interested in driving the work force into doing as much work as possible to get paid by the client
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Kier Group
4 August 2020
Thanks for your review, we are pleased to know you enjoyed your role with us, however we are sorry to hear of your other experiences. We do have a recognition system in place where people can reward others - through 'Kier Stars' you are able to nominate others who go above and beyond and lives our values, each person receives a signed certificate from their MD and there is even a chance to win some high-street vouchers. There is even 'Kier Thanks' where you can send a personalise e-card to someone who you feel deserves it.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The management expect you to work non stop and meet unrealistic deadlines whilst taking themselves outside for breaks upwards of 4 and 5 times a day. The working environment was mostly enjoyable and most of the other employees were pleasant but there are a few amongst the group that created a lot of drama and were very two faced. These people were backed by management and never dealt with appropriately.
Pros
The work was enjoyable and easy to grasp.
Cons
Management.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Kier Group
4 August 2020
Thank you for your review - we're glad to know you found the work enjoyable and we're sorry to have heard about the rest of your experience. We are here to support you, your concerns regarding management will be fed back to the relevant teams.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Management could do with an overhaul to get the most out of their staff. Kier put profit above people. I believe the staff are the most Important aspect of a company and if you support and incuridge people potential then your company will strive and succeed.
Pros
Work independently
Cons
Management have little respect for their staff
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Incompetence senior managers, lobbyism and unnecessary power culture and racist from the top level of management. Blanck minority never progressed even with the right skills. No career progression.
Pros
working hours are good.
Cons
racism
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Kier Group
3 August 2020
Kier has a zero tolerance policy towards any racist and discriminatory behaviour. Please do contact us on recruitment@kier.co.uk so we are able to take appropriate action
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Many opportunities and benefits, people's responsibility,with experience........ Very well knowledge about the job Nice team mate with skills and kinds
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Kier Group
21 July 2020
5-stars! Thank you! We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We wish you all the best.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Keir was a nice friendly environment to work in , but I feel like being a bin man wasn’t for me and would like to go into something else , the normal day to day job was stressful and fast paced but once you got the hang of it was fairly easy
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Working with bins
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Kier Group
9 July 2020
Thank you for your review, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere at Kier. We wish you all the best in your future endeavours.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
One of the most racist establishments,I’ve ever worked for Management was a total joke, just did not exist Racist emails shared between white worker’s about black people
Pros
Salary / Benefits / Shift patterns
Cons
Management, Some work ethics, ethnicity
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Kier Group
2 July 2020
Kier has a zero tolerance policy towards any racist and discriminatory behaviour. Please do contact us on recruitment@kier.co.uk so we are able to take appropriate action
Official response from Kier Group
2 July 2020
Kier has a zero tolerance policy towards any racist and discriminatory behaviour. Please do contact us on recruitment@kier.co.uk so we are able to take appropriate action
  1. Employee reviews