Leyland SDM
2.7 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Leyland SDM Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

2.3Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Showing all 34 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Decent job, s*it payment

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
So, I've been in the warehouse for a few months now and I can say that the job is not hard (not easy either) but the payment for what you are actually required to do is total s*it. With this money you can't even afford living in London. The work/life balance is f***ed up with these working hours, overtime is payed normal rate (first company that I worked for to actually do this), they keep adding duties and open new stores but they wouldn't give you anything extra (money wise, because they always increase your work load)The benefits that they "offer" are useless, you get a 2% off on different websites that nobody is buying from (and even if you do, doesn't help much), the discount you get for buying from within the company would actually help if you were buying bulk but obviously we are not so again, useless.People come and go constantly so they will always be short staffed and ask everyone else to pick up the slack but they won't increase the salary for people to actually stay.The most common answer you get when you ask for more money is that it will never happen. Most of the other warehouses around wembley pay from 11£/h upwards while here you get 9.42 after probation only. Management in the warehouse is ok, they try but it seems like nothing gets done from further above. As I'm on my last month here (no notice given as they don't even deserve it) I can say that I wouldn't recommend this job unless you are desperate. The CEO changes cars as often as he wants but us we can barely afford rent.Talking with the guys that were here before me, I found out that in the past - 

Pros

stable job

Cons

s*it money, no work/life balance
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Good colleagues

Very bad place to work. Poor managed and treated differently if not from Hungary or romanian I leave this place after one year. Some good colleagues I make friends.

Pros

Good colleagues

Cons

Long day, poor management
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Avoid like the plague

The only positive thing I can possibly say about working for Leyland SDM is that you will learn invaluable skills when it comes to DIY, painting & decorating. Aside from that you will be working in an incredibly stressful environment for very little pay. The company generally does not value its employees and for the physically and mentally taxing work you carry out on a daily basis, one would assume the london living wage should be paid as a bare minimum. evidently this is not the case you will be worked to the bone, expected to work overtime for the base rate of pay and frequently deal with difficult and rude customers all for the sweet reward of long working hours and a management team which will punish you at the slightest mistake but ignore their own.Run.

Pros

DIY Knowledge

Cons

Low pay, long hours, stressful environment, workplace politics
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Avoid stressful environment

I have been in this field of work for 10 years and this is the single worse company to work for. I only worked here for just over a month and left due to the lack of professionalism. Everyone is stressed out and not motivated. They try to push overtime for a basic flat rate as well as over work their staff. with unreasonable expectations and pay the lowest they can while expecting the earth. They keep opening stores adding to your work load and you see no pay increase. AVOID!

Pros

Free tea&coffee

Cons

Split shift, long hours, low pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Leyland SDM

1 July 2021
Hello,Thank you for your feedback of your experience while working with us at Leyland SDM. Although a pay increase was introduced earlier this year we continue to review our pay and benefits on an ongoing basis. Your comments about a stressful environment are a concern and not aligned to our values and what we represent. I would welcome the opportunity to listen to your concerns and comments in more detail. Please feel free to contact me on a confidential basis through my work email or by telephone via Head Office. Speak soon,Ryan Kent, Recruitment Manager, Leyland SDM
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Bloody Awful.

A company that only cares for money, remember you're always replaceable. I really do feel bad for the people working within that terribly run company

Pros

Free Drinking Mug

Cons

Everything.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Leyland SDM

1 July 2021
HelloThank you for your feedback of your experience while working for Leyland SDM. Your comments on your experience are a concern & I would welcome the opportunity to listen to your concerns and comments in more detail. Please feel free to contact me on a confidential basis through my work email or by telephone via Head Office. Speak soon,Ryan Kent, Recruitment Manager, Leyland SDM

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

worst company!!. Inexperienced manager who is good at undermined and disrespect staff

The worst company ever come cross. Poor salary, no respect from the Confused Manager who always under stress witch reflect on staff. He is proud of himself as he mentioned that he had a high record of sacking people. I nearly going to have a breakdown and health issues, I am glad I am out. They have a high staff turnover. You feel insecure in your job as you will be threatening to get sack immediately by the manager. Absolutely nothing to benefit from. Stay away from Leyland SDM especially Fulham road who is managed by inexperienced moody disrespectful manager who enjoyed undermined and bullying staff. Shame on this company who recruit such people to manage their store

Pros

1 hour unpaid break in a stinking canteen

Cons

Carrying heavy staff for a minimum wage
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Leyland SDM

9 July 2021
Hi there,Thank you for your feedback on your experience working for Leyland SDM.Your comments are of concern and I would welcome the opportunity to listen to your concerns and comments in more detail.Please feel free to contact me on a confidential basis through my work email or by telephone via Head Office.Speak soonRyan Kent, Recruitment Manager, Leyland SDM
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Absolute appalling

Appalling company to work for, lack of respect for the staffOverall not the best, attitude to customers is beyond a joke.Wouldn't recommend working there to anyone!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Leyland SDM

1 July 2021
HelloThank you for your feedback on your experience working for Leyland SDM.We are inclusive is one of our core values which is all about respect for everyone. Your comments about a lack of respect for staff and how we treat customers are of concern and I would welcome the opportunity to listen to your concerns and comments in more detail. Please feel free to contact me on a confidential basis through my work email or by telephone via Head Office. Speak soonRyan Kent, Recruitment Manager, Leyland SDM
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

McDonald's treatment of employees

This company doesn't care about employees, Leyland sdm is the kind of company that I would recommend to avoid not just to apply for positions but as a customer as well, they have biggest retail prices and all of their services and products will cost you 30% more compared to all other simular shops in London
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Leyland SDM

1 July 2021
Thank you for sharing your feedback. The feedback we receive from colleagues on how we make our business better is vital to continue our journey forward. We've taken action from colleague engagement surveys to do this and we look forward to reviewing the thoughts of our recent engagement survey carried out to make our business a better place to work.We have also launched our Leyland Voice campaign - a chance for colleagues to be an ambassador for teams and other colleagues, sharing feedback and views on what we can do to improve the business for colleagues to JJ, our CEO and the wider leadership team.Please feel free to contact me on a confidential basis through my work email or by telephone via Head Office. Speak soon,Ryan Kent, Recruitment Manager, Leyland SDM
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Do not even think about it!

Leyland SDM is small and young company with big advertising. This company is nothing near of what they advertise. Pay is good if you are in a managerial position, but the hours are insane. You have to lift 15 litres of paint, plasterboards, 25kg of fillers, timber up and down stairs (most of them hazardous) daily. Workers are changing weekly and you can imagine why is this happening. Forget about sick pay too, you will get at best £97 per week statutory sick pay. Most colleagues are helpful but if you are on higher position than them they get envious and make your life in there really hard. Leyland has lot of procedures and can put you in trouble for the smallest mistake but they don't care that you are there for over 48 hours per week, lifting soo much all day long, boiling during summer and freezing during winter due no heating and open doors at all times. If you want to regret your life - join Leyland :)

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Leyland SDM

1 July 2021
Thank you for sharing your experience working at Leyland SDM.We introduced company sick pay in the business to look after colleagues that are unable to come to work, which was absolutely the right thing to do.Working 48 hours + a week has been a legacy challenge in our business, and a view echoed in a recent colleague engagement survey that colleagues are spending too much time working. This year we have reduced most 48 hour contracts, ensuring there is no financial loss working less hours, and committed to colleagues that are on contracts that are above 40 hours a week that we will reduce contractual hours to 40 hours a week by 2024.Please feel free to contact me on a confidential basis through my work email or by telephone via Head Office. Speak soon,Ryan Kent, Recruitment Manager, Leyland SDM
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Fun workplace

Store manager was racist.Disrespectful and always made remarks as I was asian.Refused my holiday requests despite saying in interview that it was fine.Allowed the experienced staff to laugh and giggle whilst I had to do all the manual labour making it unfair.

Pros

Good working times, great colleagues

Cons

Long hours, decent pay, racist managers
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Leyland SDM

22 November 2020
HelloThank you for your feedback of your experience of working for Leyland SDM. Creating a positive working environment is important to us and we pride ourselves on being an inclusive business and take any comments of this nature seriously. I would welcome the opportunity to listen to your concerns and comments in more detail. Please feel free to contact me on a confidential basis through my work email or by telephone via Head Office. Cliff Rendell, HR Director, Leyland SDM

Jobs at Leyland SDM

See more jobs
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great

Thank you and if any time it will be a empty post I will be happy to come back. It was a pleasure to work for Leyland. Than you again and all the best
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Leyland SDM

22 November 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your time and Leyland SDM and wish you all the best for the future.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Leyland SDM were so much better than i expected

I very much enjoyed working at Leyland. From the very first interview until my last day, they were very professional and friendly. Their training schedules were excellent and frequent. I felt at home immediately. I was there for only a short time because of health reasons. They did everything they could to try and accommodate my needs. I'm very impressed with both management and staff
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Productive and fun workplace

The job is a great opportunity to grow up in the city. The salary is good and they are flexible about the working shift hours. I've been meeting always great people hard workers. The group is amazing.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Terrible

Was part of the in house building team. Treated like rubbish cause I was of different nationality comparing to the team. Felt left out and on my own without any help.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Leyland SDM

18 December 2019
Thank you for sharing this feedback. We celebrate the diversity across the business and take any comments of this nature seriously. I would welcome the opportunity to listen to your concerns and comments in more detail. Please feel free to contact me on a confidential basis through my work email or by telephone via Head Office. Ryan Kent, Recruitment & Talent Manager.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great Company

Leyland have been very welcoming to me since my first day. I knew everything that I needed to get started. I have been involved in technical training as well as working in the store and the warehouse. My opinion’s and ideas have been taken into account and I feel like I can really make a difference.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Proactive, interesting, fast changing business

Strong paint (paint colour mixing, colour trends and design), DIY product knowledge and technical skills. (plumbing, flooring and lightening) Working with suppliers, manufactures and contractors, managing orders, stock level and providing technical support necessary. A hands-on, fast paced approach with a ‘can do’ attitude. The attitude that the ‘customers come first and always right’.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Good place to gain experience and leave

Long working hours and need to work most weekends Working environment could be better as management only will give you more weekends off when they like you. You need to travel across stores to cover shifts

Pros

Always need employees

Cons

Long working hours, travelling across 21 shops and most weekends working
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Nice company but need more salary

Good company for start your self, but some times to much physical work, lifting heavy materials , also in dust ;/ Salary might be better, ony team and people which work with you can make you happy
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Is a very stressful and unprofessional working environment

This is a family friendly company with low wage and lots off pressure from the first day of employment. You will never believe how hard is can be this job until your first day of employment. Unnecessary pressure and unnecessary stress from the first day. Your first month wage 8.30/ h, extra hours paid by x1.25, Sundays x1.50. Never enough stuff in most of the stores 2-3 workers couping with 200-300 frustrated customers and warehouse. Lifting and carrying daily long distances 2-3 palettes of (25 kg) paint, bags of plaster, sand, cement etc., If the store is small will be always in the customers way. This company is not valuing his employees. They don't pay sick leave when the main door is always large open straight away to the street, no air conditioning no heather in the store. Terrible working condition extremely hot in the summer extremely cold in the winter. The only real training what you will get will be cooping with stress training and be prepared to be humiliated training by customers and managers. Leadership will always find new targets to achieve to prove how unhappy they are with your services week by week. All 20 stores are in budget deficiency, and you will need to improve sales with 60% on the multi sales with no discount for customers anymore and no £500 for surveys, if not you will never be advanced. This is why 50-75% of employees are living this company.

Pros

Extra hours

Cons

Under paid
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Don't do it

Worked here over year now and still not respected by anyone from shop level to higher management more and more work everyday pressure on staff to get all done with no reward

Pros

None

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

A previous SME slowly transgressing to a faceless corporate entity within a larger group.

Leyland SDM was a good SME to work for. It had questionable Management Techniques, but I helped them slowly move from the 18th to 20th Centuries in employee relations. Leyland SDM were taken over by Grafton Group Plc in February 2018. Initially, things changed for the better with old and outdated management techniques being discarded for something more creditable. A typical day included many problems, especially those created by the poorly integrated computer systems. I managed to change the culture in my area from one of fear to one of enjoyment, which resulted in a much better working environment, where productivity increased as people learnt to enjoy coming to work in the area. It became so good that others wanted to join. After a while the hoped for improved pay and conditions never materialised leading to demoralised employees over the business and a high staff turnover amongst drivers, store and warehouse staff. Slowly Leyland adopted the stifled Corporate working practices of Grafton Group and all the restrictions and petty rules that came with it. Grafton Group Plc have introduced the practice of immediate termination of contracts where people vanish out of their jobs one day never to reappear. I would not recommend working for this organisation to anybody!

Pros

There are some good employees left in a growing business.

Cons

Long Hours, poor rates of pay and a management style that does not respect staff and actually stinks!
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Leyland SDM. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.7

Based on 34 reviews
5
5
4
6
3
10
2
1
1
12

Ratings by category

2.3Work/Life Balance
2.4Salary/Benefits
2.8Job security/advancement
2.5Management
2.6Culture

Compare Leyland SDM with

  • Companies
  • Leyland SDM
  • Employee reviews