Lounges
Happiness score is 43 out of 100
2.8 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

Lounges Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom262 reviews

Ratings by category

2.4Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 262 reviews matching the searchSee all 269 reviews
loungefestloungerotachefopsprogressionkitchenfood

Interesting to say the least

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Company have no idea on what is actually happening in their restaurants. Everyone is just after their bonus and the restaurants just aren't managed by people who are trained in management
Was this review helpful?

Toxic atmosphere

The job itself it easy but managed very poorly. Management was rude and would ignored any issues for the sake of making their own lives easier. Nobody should be treated as such for the sake of £9 an hour
Was this review helpful?

Insights into Lounges

Based on 146 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Trust in colleagues
  • General feeling of work happiness

Stress inducing

Terrible training, no one knows what to do and the only manager is rarely around to support. Everyone is guessing what to do and no one had any time to look out for one another as everyone is too stressed with themselves

Pros

N/a

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Lounges

23 September 2022
Hi thanks for your review! we provide all our new staff members with their first 5 shifts shadowing our teams, before easing them into their role. If you have any further information you would like to provide please do email us at thevoice@loungers.co thanks, The People Team

Rubbish Management

No proper training, Management don’t get involved in anything, Management have favourites, Obsessive over customer reviews, Not a nice work environment, Overall I wouldn’t recommend the lounge experience.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Lounges

8 September 2022
Hi, thanks for your review. I can see you our no longer working with us, if you did want to expand on your time with us further please do email us at thevoice@loungers.coThanks,The People Team

Enjoyable experience

Working at croeso lounge is a good experience, although when it gets busy it can become stressful, however the majority of the time it has taught me a lot of culinary skills that I can use in day to day life, management communicates well with each others and other staff members. All staff there are very nice and friendly, not only in work but as friends in general, would highly recommend working here as the pay is worth the work you do. Live laugh lounges
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Lounges

8 September 2022
Hi, thanks so much for your 5* review!! Its great to see you are thriving in one our busiest sites and feel part of the family. thanks, The People Team

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Great company

One of the better hospitality companies to work for, you feel genuinely cared about and supported. Yes the hours are long but if you enjoy your job it’s worth it. They build great teams
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Lounges

8 September 2022
Thanks for your 5* review! its great to hear how much you are enjoying your time with Lounge and getting the support and guidance you need. thanks,The People Team

Meh

Okay jobLong hoursNice bond with surrounding loungesPromises made but never kept to regarding the hours and the work life balance, and regarding short staffing.

Pros

Free food

Cons

Stupid hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Lounges

8 September 2022
Hi, thanks for your review! we offer a variety of hourly contracts and paid overtime to all our salaried members of team. If you want to discuss anything further please so contact us at thevoice@loungers.coThanks,The People Team

Terrible communication

Managers change Rotas the day off shifts and have sent people home 9 hours early. Everyone is paid different rates and no communication between management and staff. Management also keep tips for themselves

Pros

Free food and easy job

Cons

Zero hour contracts
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Lounges

8 September 2022
Hi, thanks for your review. I can see you know longer work with us, but if you would like to discuss anything further please email us at thevoice@loungers.coThanks,The People Team

The only company to work for within hospitality!

Having worked for Loungers for 2 years I can honestly say they are the best company to work for if you’re looking at joining or continuing a career in hospitality. The brand is forever growing meaning there’s endless opportunities should you want to progress. Loungers pay overtime for salaried managers which is a huge win in comparison to other brands. There is a work/life balance working for loungers- give 110% when in site and enjoy the rest of your own time! Optional 40 hour contract for those wanting to still remain on a salary but looking for reduced hours. A relaxed but hard working atmosphere enabling you to be yourself, show who you really are whilst working towards achieving targets and results. A definite family feel.

Pros

Staff food and drinks

Cons

Long shifts over peak
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Lounges

22 August 2022
Hi, thanks for your 5* review! We love that you enjoy working with us and can see all the great perks and opportunities we offer. thanks,The People Team

Feels like family

Lounge is a big family. Immediate management is always supportive. Owners and top management engaged. Safe workplace and personal growth always supported. As a long time employee I always felt supported.

Pros

Free staff food, shares in company, lounge fest, can grow in ranks quickly.

Cons

Same as any hospitality business when short on staff you work more than you want to.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Lounges

22 August 2022
Hi thanks for your 5* review! We love that you enjoy working with us, feel supportive and part of the family. thanks,The People Team

Best team I've ever worked with

Lovely people, lovely atmosphere, suitable for all kind of personalities. They allow ( and encourage) everyone to be themselves and bring their uniqueness to work.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Lounges

8 August 2022
Hi thanks for your 5* review! We love that you enjoy working with us and are constantly encourage to be yourself. thanks, The People Team

Supportive managers

Hospitality work is tough no matter what company you work for. Loungers is so supportive though. They appreciate your hard work and expect you to show appreciation to your team too. You get paid overtime as a salaried manager which is amazing. I’ve learned a lot here and been promoted a few times too. I’ve also met some amazing people and get to be myself.

Pros

Overtime pay, people, progression

Cons

Long hours. Sometimes it can be tough
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Lounges

1 August 2022
Hey, thanks for your review! Its great to hear you getting the support and guidance from Loungers and fabulous news that with all your hard work you have been promoted!! Take Care, The People Team

Want to destroy your mental health? Then Lounges is for you!!

The most awful company to ever work for, ever. Toxic, b****y and clicky from foh to ops managers who don’t care about you, your life or your mental health. Days off? Forget about it, they call and text you about work and expect you to drop your life for the lounge. Managers will slag you off behind your back, ops managers will spread rumours about you to other sites even after you’ve left.The worst company I have ever had the misfortune to work for, leaving there was the best thing I’ve ever done. Don’t even try to contact the people team as they say they care but they don’t. Avoid at all costs.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Lounges

26 July 2022
Hi, I can see that you're no longer work for Loungers, if you did feel as though you'd like to share more of your experience with us please send an email to thevoice@loungers.co.Take care,People Team

Could be great with changes

Generally an alright company to work for but not as good as it should be. FoH pay is pretty poor and doesn’t match local averages. Things like loungefest are a nice idea but your staff would probably rather be paid the real living wage than be given a day trip. Tips being shared with salaried staff, becoming the norm in hospitality as companies don’t want to increase their pay out of their own pocket, but isn’t a good look nonetheless. Meal policy is pretty pointless now, everyone gets food but no one gets a full meal anymore. Personally had some great managers, who treated everyone with respect and got stuck in with the work themselves. However, when there is an issue, lounges isn’t equipped to deal with it. They still run themselves like they’re a small group and haven’t grown the office side to match the size of the business now. Operational management breach their own hr policies and put up with behaviour from staff that they really shouldn’t, because they just see the numbers. It’s the kinda thing you can get away with in a small company but not when you’re the size lounges is now. Thing is, when staff are paid below the real living wage, they won’t even care enough to complain. They’ll just go a few doors down to a nice independent instead
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Lounges

26 July 2022
Hi, thanks for leaving us a review. All our rates of pay are inline with the national living wage and minimum wage, those over 23 years of age receive £9.50 as a minimum. We have a variety of ways you can increase your rate of pay, including crossing training, promotions etc. I can see you are no longer a Lounger, if you would like to tell us more about your experience with more specifics, please email us at thevoice@loungers.co. thanks,The People Team

Depends on who you work with…

I worked here a while back and absolutely loved it. HOWEVER, at the time I was fresh out of uni and had no responsibilities so worked every hour I could get. That place became my life my colleagues my friends and at the time I didn’t mind. Loads of opportunity for progression if you’re good at your job and a hard worker, if not then you won’t, it’s that simple. It is criminally understaffed and if someone calls in sick, or isn’t good at the job (which sounds harsh), it makes the day tougher. This job is what you make it and by no means is it a long term thing. The sometimes 55 hour weeks will get to you eventually…..

Pros

Free food, fun people, Loungefest

Cons

Killer hours, minimal breaks, understaffed
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Lounges

13 July 2022
Hey, thanks for you review! We are glad you loved working for us when you did and really understood what it means to be part of the Loungers family. I can see that you're no longer a Lounger but if you did feel as though you'd like to share more of your experience with us please send an email to thevoice@loungers.co.Take care,People Team

15 hour shifts and treated very poorly

15 hour shifts, no breaks and a very toxic and stressful atmosphere.I would also finish at 1am and be expected to be back at 9am despite living a 30 min drive away.Seemed like a very cool company outside looking in and I wish I could leave a positive review but I had a terrible experience within this company.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Lounges

13 July 2022
Thanks for your review. We would appreciate understanding which location you worked at and some of the specifics to look into. Please email us at thevoice@loungers.coThanks,The People Team

Fun & Inclusive Workplace

One of the best companies I've had the pleasure of working for! Started off as Bar/Waiting Team, and 10 months later I had worked up to Assistant Manager! The support is fab, and everyone is super inclusive.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Lounges

4 July 2022
Hey, thanks for the review! Great to hear you are loving Lounging and how well you have done with your progression to Assistant Manager! thanks, The People Team

Fab

Great company. Look after their staff lots of perks. Feel valued and care for. work with great people who also love their job.Really supportive management.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Lounges

30 June 2022
Hey, thanks for the review! It's so lovely to hear that you love working with us and you see your team as part of your family :) Take care, People Team

Friendly and community based culture

I joined Lounges 6 months ago and love it! Even though at times it is stressful, the people I work with are always there to help and pitch in. We are given alot of autonomy to help our local community and get involved in charities etc which is great fun and makes me feel part of something special.

Pros

Tips are shared out equally, paid overtime for salaried
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Lounges

30 June 2022
Hey, thanks for the review! Great to hear you are loving Lounging and really getting involved with your local community. Take care, People Team

fine

not fun but people were friendly, paid monthly on zero hours contact. You received your rota on the Friday for the upcoming week and not any in advance
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Lounges

30 June 2022
Hi, thanks for your review! we do offer wagestream as a service for those that would like to access their pay before the 4 weekly pay date :) Please contact at thevoice@loungers.co for a confidential chat about anything else. take care, The People Team

It's a cult

If you don't love lounges then they will never treat you well and you will never be happy there. The management can be lovely if you're lucky but behind closed doors they're awful to each other. They don't care much for your mental health. I know 3 different people who have left management positions at Lounges because they were treated so poorly it made them ill. The people are toxic.

Pros

Free food if you work 6 hours or longer

Cons

Toxic culture
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Lounges

30 June 2022
Thanks for your review. We would appreciate understanding which location you worked at and some of the specifics to look into. Please email us at thevoice@loungers.coThanks,The People Team

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lounges. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 269 reviews

Ratings by category

2.4 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
2.8 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
2.6 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
2.4 out of 5 stars for Management
2.8 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Lounges with

Learn about Lounges in popular locations

  • Companies
  • Lounges
  • Employee reviews