Malmaison
Happiness score is 49 out of 100
3.3 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Malmaison Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

2.9Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 160 reviews matching the searchSee all 165 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

In many ways the essence of HDV was disappearing

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Started of very excited to work for such a great brand but over time things slowly went down hill with all the best staff moving on and a failed attemt by manager to salvage the team spirit with a night out at bowling. No staff food (except occasional left overs otherwise to be binned) even Tea and coffee was of limits (except for the cheapest of cheap 'staff' offering) Not even water was provided except for a tap in the bar pot wash usually surrounded by fruit flies and full of coctail garments. The staff room was a perfect example of the management attitude towards the hard working, often over worked team..it was a health hazard you would avoid at all cost and opt for sitting in the rain which honistly would be a better place to boost your morale. We were hovever 'forced' to scrub/paint this area during lockdown even though around a million was spent on a refurbishment sadly not stretching as far as investing a little in their staff. In summary, a great brand let down by poor management focused only on their targets and saving pennies in the wrong places. I quote one observer of all this and more 'they should seriously consider losing a star'

Pros

Meeting some famous faces

Cons

Too many to list
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great place to work

This was my best job by far although I had to sadly let it go as the labour was too intense for me, The management and staff are really welcoming. Great pay and benefits.

Pros

Pay and welcoming staff

Cons

Labour intensive and little work-life balance
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Think twice

I was excited to work in Malmaison London, seemed like a good company to work for until you work for a couple of weeks and you realise that this place is a mess. They had the whole lockdown (more than a year) to fix AC and there are still a lot of issues so you have a list with limited rooms to allocate for the guests. They do not have head of departments and short of staff.Training was poor since there was nobody to give me a proper training, I was just reading procedures and SOP which they don't do most part of them.Very short of staff and they don't even think about hiring from agencies, funny enough some of the days they send hsk team home with only a couple of hours advise (they come for 4h and go home, seems they did not think transportation in London is expensive).The contract is incomplete and is missing a lot of information that you find out once you complain, example: you don't have meals included, uniform can take up to more than a month to be provided and you have to use your own one, you have to clean your uniform at home.Something interesting is that after a couple of days working there all the staff was starting to tell you all the complains and the mess the company is and when I mean ALL is everybody.

Pros

General Manager works hard, staff is friendly

Cons

no meals provided, low salary, company does not care about staff
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Really nice woking there

I've got health problems but they always give me time to sort it out the management is fantastic all of them.the team you work with are great .if you need training they will supply it.

Pros

Every body elps eveyone

Cons

No on shift meal
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Malmaison

1 July 2021
Thanks for your review.Flexible shifts and training & development is avaliable for all of our teams.Glad you enjoy working for Malmaison.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

convenient location

The company needs to work seriously on the organization of work in the housekeeping. There is always a shortage of employees. They have to work with additional loads, there are no prospects for growth.

Pros

free coffe, tea

Cons

long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Malmaison

1 July 2021
Hello,Thanks for your comment. It's been a hard month for everyone in Hospitality with the sector going from closed to full overnight.We have responded quickly recruiting extra team members where required and using agency staff to fill gaps whilst recruitment is ongoing. Disappointed to hear that you don't see any growth prospects. We have a fantastic internal development programme along with a national apprenticeship scheme supported by HIT Training. Should you wish to discuss further please contact HRqueries@malmaison.com

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Not a nice place to work

Not a nice place to work, they expect every hour of every day from you, don’t care you have family or a life outside the hotel, the pay is ok, but you don’t get paid over time, I was made to feel like if I didn’t work o we time without pay I would be sacked Please stay away from this hotel and it’s management, you can’t trust them or a word they say, once your in the day they think they own you

Pros

No pros

Cons

Long hours, no respect, rubbish pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Malmaison

1 July 2021
Hello,Thanks for your reveiw. Malmaison pays above NMW for all levels and positions within the team, the hours can be long due to the nature of the work but by posting rota's well in advance and being flexible with the shift patterns we try to help everyone achieve a good work/life balance.Should you wish to discuss further please contact HRqueries@malmaison.com
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Toxic Culture

I left Malmaison due to the toxic culture.I had such high hopes, but from day one the business was a complete let down. Staff are treated very poorly. The free food is inedible. I did not enjoy being screamed and shouted and felt intimidated.

Pros

Absolutely nothing

Cons

Treatment by Management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Malmaison

1 July 2021
Hello,Disappointed to read your review. I dont however feel it is a fair reflection of the culture within Birmingham Mal or of the mgt of this property.Should you wish to discuss further please contact hrqueries@malmaison.com
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Fast paced and good fun

Malmaison is a fun and upbeat environment to work in. It can get busy but most of the management staff are very encouraging and let you just dive in to the work meaning you learn pretty fast.

Pros

Clocked breaks

Cons

late nights
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Malmaison

1 July 2021
Hi there, Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed working for Malmaison. You're welcome back anytime :)
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Avoid

Don't judge book by its cover. 4star hotel outside one inside staff is overloaded with work to meet targets no support from management if you said so you r accused for having attitude no cooperation between departments no communication no understanding of your human abilities. No care about health and safety.

Pros

You can meet great ppl college s

Cons

Slavery work
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Malmaison

18 January 2021
Hi There,Thanks for your comments.Health and Safety of our teams and guests is our number one priority. The changes that we have made to ensure our teams and guest remain safe during the current pandemic have been some of the swiftest and most effective in the industry. It has been a difficult time for all of us and with Liverpool changing tiers at short notice and often at the expense of guests and team alike, it hasn't always been easy to communicate. We have brought in Flow Hospitality during 2020 to help communicate from the top down and this has massively helped with team engagement and messaging. Should you wish to discuss further please contact HRqueries@malmaison.com
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Just dont

no help, you get boling from manager. you are just a number and they dont care about you. bad place to work. some times you need work 2 or 3 times more because they never have staff.

Pros

some people

Cons

were i start..
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Nice place to work

I had a brilliant time at Malmaison London, the management was nice and at the time I worked there the front office team was good and the front office manager was good manager

Pros

Discount at all Malmaison and hotel de vin

Cons

Nothing
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Malmaison

18 January 2021
Hi There,Thanks for your comments. We can't wait to get the Hotel in London fully back open and welcoming Guests and Team Members back into the hotel.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Productive

One of the best place where I been, staff and management are so nice, and as a company provide a good salary, good training and is alwayS ready to help
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Malmaison

18 January 2021
Hi There,Thanks for your comments.Looking forward to getting the hotel fully back open and ready to welcome the team and Guests back.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Good experience found it interesting but poor staff treatment

Days off were scattered . Dedication not rewarded. Lovely environment to work in. Great experience. The job provided no chance of training in any other position.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Malmaison

18 January 2021
Hi,Thanks for your comments. Disapointed to hear that you didnt feel we offered further training in other positions. We offer a number of different e-learning courses designed to allow trainees the opportunity to explore different roles and learn the skills required to work in other departments. Alongside the e-learning there are a number of on the job learning experiances you can take part in as well as apprenticeships.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Estresful

Really isn't bad place to work but now whit the new management change a lot of things, the atmosphere is bad because they don't recpect your time tables and you can not said nothing.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Malmaison

18 January 2021
Hi,Thanks for your review.Its been a tough year for everyone in Hospitality and the brief window of trading that was allowed in August meant that all our hotels in Staycation destinations went from closed to full in the blink of an eye. Juggling rotas and furlough wasnt easy, if this affected you and you want to discuss further please email HRqueries@malmaison.com. ThanksBen
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Toxic Culture

This company is highly rated yet extremely toxic. You are required to work over contracted ours without any extra pay. You do not get all of your holiday entitlement. You are not fully trained properly. You are expected to know everything without being told. You are swore at by other employees. You are left alone quite quickly without knowing what to do. Often lied to and blamed for things which you are not responsible for

Pros

Benefits

Cons

everything else
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Malmaison

1 July 2021
Hi There, Thanks for your reveiw.Training and development for our teams is very important and it is disappointing to read that you disagree. Everyone has access to a range of e-learning tools, internal training courses and apprenticeship schemes.Time off and getting paid for the hours you worked is very important and we encorage everyone to take at least one week per quarter holiday. Should you wish to discuss further please contact HRqueries@malmaison.com
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

productive and fun workplace

A typical day at work - hard work (15 rooms per day and half hour per one room) The workplace culture was nice and friendly. I learned how to clean fast.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Malmaison

18 January 2021
Hi Thanks for your comments, our housekeeping teams are definatley the unsung heros of our workforce. They come in, crack on and affect every guest.Thanks for all your hard work.Ben
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

We're fun

Malmaison paint themselves to funky and fun, but the reality for the staff is that they can be just overworked. The hours, in the restaurant especially, are not conducive to any decent work-life balance. When I worked their they had the Confederate flag on their tshirts that they made the restaurant staff wear.

Pros

Training and advancement

Cons

Most of it.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Malmaison

1 July 2021
Hi,Thanks for your review.We offer a range of flexible shifts for our restaurant teams with contracted hours each week. This allows our teams to plan their lives better and achieve a better work life balance. It can be difficult to do this in hospitality given the nature of the work but not impossible.Should you wish to discuss further please contact HRqueries@malmaison.com
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Estresante

No hubo ningún apoyo de dirección, falta de personal, condiciones laborales no tan buenos como otros (ejemplo, no dan comida a las horas de comer).
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Stressful work place

Hard to get holidays, because hotel mostly understaffed. Even if you book holiday they can tell you just before it stars that you cant get it. Long working hours. company doesn't pay over time. Some of workers on salary working way more than 40 hours per week.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Malmaison

1 July 2021
Hello,Thanks for your comments. Should you wish to discuss further please contact HRqueries@malmaison.com
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great place to work for

Lovely management, friendly staff, great place to work at and a great company to work for with lots of benefits and shown appreciation by management and team.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Stressful and they don’t provide proper training

No structure to this place at all, they care more about making money than they do the welfare of their staff members. There’s never enough staff on. Staff food is old left over food from events, no proper training is actually provided you’re just thrown in at the deep end and then they get annoyed when you don’t do the job properly. Not worth the long hours and lack of social life you get from them.

Pros

Nice location

Cons

Long hours, No training, understaffed
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Malmaison. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3

Based on 165 reviews
5
46
4
39
3
31
2
17
1
32

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job security/advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture

Compare Malmaison with

  • Companies
  • Malmaison
  • Employee reviews
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?