NG Bailey
Happiness score is 69 out of 100
3.5 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

NG Bailey Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom142 reviews

Ratings by category

3.5Work-life balance

Search reviews

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 142 reviews matching the searchSee all 150 reviews

Good experienced people

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Good experience and good job progression opportunities.Wages are probably slightly under the going market rate but always paid on time and any issues (which are rare) are dealt with quickly.
Was this review helpful?

Average workplace

Like in most places, management is the problem. They want you to be perfect in all aspects almost straight away. And training system almost does not exist.

Pros

Quite clean place

Cons

Poor management = stress
Was this review helpful?

Insights into NG Bailey

Based on 29 survey responses
What people like
  • Overall satisfaction
  • Clear sense of purpose
  • Ability to meet personal goals
Areas for improvement
  • Support from manager
  • Trust in colleagues
  • Sense of belonging

Depressing

New company in a vast mod site haven't gotta clue!!Sent on jobs that were already carried out by mod staff.Given very cheap draper tools unfit for purpose!Rest area in Office store lunch box on lap 1 toilet and sink for 30 men!Wen cold given 2x oil filled radsOffice staff very accommodating and helpfulNG BAILEY DIRECTORS COULDN'T CARE LESS ABOUT THERE STAFF!!!!!!

Pros

Goin home

Cons

Working like chimps
Was this review helpful?

Productive and Relaxed

Very good management and relaxed environment. Good job roles and works to be carried out. Very high end buildings and good responsibilities for engineers looking to build managerial skills

Pros

Good pay and communication

Cons

Repetitive work load
Was this review helpful?

Temporary work

I did not know anything about fitting pipes but slowly you can learn from others. They train you if you have contracts. The current supervisor made the work really stressful.

Pros

Free coffe

Cons

Lack of tools. Stressfull. Parking.
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Good thing

Great staff members that helped. Great support from team leaders and members in site. Simply amazing with no complaints. Grateful It’s all okay to me
Was this review helpful?

Productive

Like work completed to a high standard. Take pride about being well known professionals. As long as you're good at your job and get on with the work provided you'll have no problems

Pros

Professional, easy to work with

Cons

No overtime, may change in near future
Was this review helpful?

Official response from NG Bailey

9 December 2021
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us.Kind Regards,NG Bailey

Selective

Favouritism is a key word, mainly a polish environment and the job is not what is described in the interview, only 2 breaks in 10 hours, flat atmosphere

Pros

Free tea and coffee

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from NG Bailey

9 December 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.We are sorry to see your comments. We work very hard with our wellbeing programme to support all our employees. Hopefully, you have had an opportunity to express these views with HR.Best of luck in your career.Kind RegardsNG Bailey

Brilliant

Loved working at NG Bailey. staff are very friendly. HR are supportivepayroll works and you get paid when you should. Team at Brown Lane Leeds excellent

Pros

great teams

Cons

none
Was this review helpful?

Official response from NG Bailey

9 December 2021
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us.Kind Regards,NG Bailey

Best company I’ve ever worked for.

I joined shortly before lockdown began and have received so much support and development from the company. They are always offering new tasks to complete in a new area that challenges me. I work in a fantastic team and I’m grateful for the hard work and support I’ve received from them all. 10/10 recommend this company to anyone that wants a happy and healthy work environment with no toxicity.

Pros

Happy atmosphere, no toxicity, supportive, strong development opportunities
Was this review helpful?

Official response from NG Bailey

16 June 2021
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us.Kind Regards,NG Bailey

Unethical behaviour from management

No real training and a real clique between existing staff, management had their favourites and if your face doesn’t fit you are basically humiliated and talked down to. Asked for help and information to be able to do the job but had no help or support whatsoever. Management thought it was ok to swear at you and talk about you to other staff, also heard so much gossip from managers about other staff personal issue. Made to feel uncomfortable every day

Pros

Parking

Cons

Unethical management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from NG Bailey

16 June 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.We are sorry to see your comments and how you believe you were treated. We work very hard with our wellbeing programme to support all our employees. Hopefully, you have had an opportunity to express these views with HR.Best of luck in your career.Kind RegardsNG Bailey

Professional company

A good company to work for although the Scottish branch has sadly gone downhill in the past 20 years. Still one of the best engineering companies in the country

Pros

Professional set up

Cons

Often not kept in loop.
Was this review helpful?

Great place to have worked

Lovely place to have worked, I stayed for nearly twenty years, the people were great and the management were fantastic with great benefits and a good work life balance.
Was this review helpful?

I was a motivated ,then NGB came along

Massive faceless organisation. Lots of departments all trying to score points off each other . As an engineering company, second to none . In facilities, they have a very bad attitude to their clients, who they often over charge. In trying to look after my client , this company gave me little support , changed managers often and used their supervisors as scapegoats for their poor contract performance. I am very glad to say they lost the contract at my site .

Pros

Fancy training location in Yorkshire

Cons

Embarrassed by greedy managers ripping off a client l have worked with a long time .
Was this review helpful?

Encouraging

They gave you a task and have a debate to how is to be done.They encouraged an opinion based debate which is taken on boardAlso the provide power tools which is great
Was this review helpful?

Official response from NG Bailey

3 March 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

NG Bailey receptionist/document controller

I loved every minute working here I was supported by colleagues and managers.Excellent company benefits great salary. I enjoyed the work and was appreciated for my contribution I would still be there but the company had to make me redundant due to end of contract and covid 19.I was given support to help find work I can't reccommend them enough.

Pros

Supportive environment good salary

Cons

I really didnt have any negatives
Was this review helpful?

Official response from NG Bailey

8 January 2021
Thank you for such a great review! We're pleased you have enjoyed your time with us. We wish you the best of luck in your future career

Will not back you up

Supervisor was top notch , team looked after each other and absolutely cracking team but Higher management will not back you up and will favour the client over you any day because they are scared to stand up to them.

Pros

Working from home great balance

Cons

Higher management useless
Was this review helpful?

Official response from NG Bailey

8 January 2021
Thanks for taking the time to share this feedback with us. We are sorry to read your comments. We hope you have had the opportunity to share your comments with your line manager and HR. Best of luck in your career

Disloyal liars

They say they are a family and care about their people and their mental health and wellbeing.. well they don't care as long as you are working. If you have personnal issues, or have a child then you are an inconvenience to them and they will out you without a second thought.

Pros

Some, non management, people are really nice.

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from NG Bailey

30 November 2020
Thanks for taking the time to share this feedback with us. We are sorry about your experience. We hope you have had an opportunity to share your feedback with HR. Best of luck in your career.

Good to start, one of the worst places to work near the end

First off, before I begin the negatives, can I just say that NG Bailey was a great place to work at the start. Management was great and always pushed you towards achieving more, always had a laugh in the office with fellow teammates and was an overall enjoyable experience. We worked within the in-house IT Team supporting members of staff in office and on site. However, once they made our manager go onto furlough and our old team leader was laid off, we were given a new manager and team leader who did an absolute poor job at supporting the team. They only cared about their main team that they normally support, not us. We would be given stupidly impossible targets and when we worked our hats off to achieve it, we would get no thanks for any of the work we did. In fact, the only thanks we did get was a big "bugger off, we're making all the vital people redundant". This was a major factor for the non existing morale. Oh and thanks to our manager for doing all he could to save our team from getting the chop (not, please sense my sarcasm) My main problem was the fact that one of our members of staff stated that they were feeling stressed and may need time off to calm down. When the team leader told the manager this, we were scolded for it. Completly unacceptable. Also, another thing to add was one of the contractors who was working within our team was so rude that when we approached them to help them solve a problem, they'd either ignore us or completly lose their temper with us. Again, when we approached management about this, NOTHING WAS DONE. EVERYTIME WE COMPLAINED, - 

Pros

Cafe across the road I guess

Cons

See review
Was this review helpful?

Official response from NG Bailey

3 December 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and experience with your managers. We are sorry to see your comments and hove you believe you were treated. We work very hard with our wellbeing programme to support all our employees. Hopefully, you have had an opportunity to express these views with HR. Covid has meant that many businesses have faced their most challenging year, and as a business, NG Bailey had to make some difficult decisions to ensure the business remained fit for the future. As a result, our colleagues have had to work in extraordinary circumstances. The business very much regrets any loss of jobs and would like to wish you well for the future.

Unappreciated, the company is first and foremost, safety is not.

Great office environment, that's the only pro i am afraid. work load is not balanced through the team, some work on one project while others work on multiple projects and are pushed and hounded to meed unrealistic deadlines.management look after thoes they like and will make things difficult for those they don't, it very much if your face fits situation. the company as whole is very dishonest and have no consideration for the safety or well being of the staff, Company first and foremost. best described as talk the talk but cant walk the walk.

Pros

Office Environment ( as you all in the same god awful boat)

Cons

dishonesty
Was this review helpful?

Official response from NG Bailey

30 November 2020
Thank you for your time leaving a review. We are sorry to see your comments regarding workload we will review this with our Reading team. Safety First and Foremost is crucial to our business and our safety records and awards confirm our status. Best of luck in your career.

No formal training, on the job training, involved and confusing

Lovely work environment, inexperienced management, would have preferred further training and understanding of the role and confirmation of doing the right thing rather than "here you go - see how you get on with this - follwed by nope thats not right, try again" - I always found it frustrating. Found the staff there like cardboard cut-outs of their real selves

Pros

Free parking and local

Cons

The Atmosphere - people very extremely stand-offish
Was this review helpful?

Official response from NG Bailey

30 November 2020
Thanks for taking the time to share this feedback with us. We are sorry to read your comments. We hope you have had the opportunity to share your comments with your line manager and HR. Best of luck in your career

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NG Bailey. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 150 reviews

Ratings by category

3.5 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.4 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.0 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.0 out of 5 stars for Management
3.3 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare NG Bailey with

Learn about NG Bailey in popular locations

  • Companies
  • NG Bailey
  • Employee reviews