Nuffield Health
3.1 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Nuffield Health Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

3.0Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 390 reviews matching the searchSee all 396 reviews

Fun workplace and a easy job with no hassel

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
I worked in sales for a tier 1 wellbeing club in London. Perks are good but low pay and weekend work make it not a sustainable job. Slow progression, best way to progress is to keep applying for internal jobs that come up in other clubs. Once you in with Nuffield its hard to get out as it is so comfortable and takes minimal brain work

Pros

Free Gym memebrship

Cons

Weekend work
Was this review helpful?

Cleaner job not PT

I was fully taken advantage of. Being the 'newbie' I was forced to work every weekend, even though I was told I would "have to work either a sat/sun once a month". Was made to work many more extra hours than I signed up to do because they were so short staffed. I couldnt perform my PT duties because they needed someone to be cleaning the gym floor.

Pros

Gym membership free

Cons

Long hour, typically 12+ hour days if u include PT
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Nuffield Health

15 November 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback. We want our employees to feel supported and valued, if you would like to discuss this further please email Employee.relations@nuffieldhealth.com

Toxic environment.

Recruitment process takes for ever, was quicker getting recruited to work at Norton Manor Camp.Will offer you the job on bank hours then change to offering a permanent position because they can't control/fire bank staff who can easily walk as soon as they realise the work environment is toxic.If you enjoy ripping off your employer by working only 2 of the 3 hours you're paid for and prepared to join in with talking negatively about colleagues behind their backs or like being interrogated. then you will fit right in here. Otherwise you will be driven out by malicious covert narcissists and enablers. Ironically working here isn't good for your health.

Pros

Didn't find any.

Cons

Toxic environment.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Nuffield Health

15 November 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback, if you would like to discuss this further please email Employee.relations@nuffieldhealth.com

Good team spirit

I have been working at Nuffield for over 2 years On the whole it is a great place to work , like anywhere it can have its challenges Never felt pressured to work extra hours and shifts are usually well staffed Good team work and patient satisfaction Would recommend working here

Pros

Free parking : friendly team : valued Matron

Cons

None that spring to mind
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Nuffield Health

15 November 2021
We are pleased to hear that you enjoying being part of the team. Thank you for taking the time to share feedback.

Friendly staff

Attended an interview for duty manager and trial, given job and then heard no more. Not good from a company who is supposed to be promoting health and well- being

Pros

Friendly staff

Cons

Bad management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Nuffield Health

15 October 2021
We are sorry to hear that you have not heard about the next steps, please do email me at Linda.Watkins@Nuffieldhealth.com so I can follow up for you.

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Terrible place to work

Under paid for what you do and deal with on a daily basis as well as treated unfairly by management where they don’t help you at all and if you ask for help they take a week to get back to you or answer a question. Customers being rude down the phone and the company blames you for them being rude when all you want to do is help them. Massively under paid for what the job is

Pros

None

Cons

Underpaid, over worked, well terrible management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Nuffield Health

15 October 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback. We want our employees to feel supported and valued, if you would like to discuss this further please email Employee.relations@nuffieldhealth.com

Very professional environment

Gained excellent experience here whilst working as part of a very efficient multidisciplinary team. Would definitely recommend the hospital for a good work life balance and good pay and rewards.

Pros

Free oarking

Cons

Long shifts but to be expected
Was this review helpful?

Awful place to work

The Nuffield promotes itself as a caring and wellbeing orientated organisation however it is poorly managed with management not caring at all about the wellbeing of its staff all they care about is profit, but bang on about being a charity.You are not allowed to speak out or raise concerns because you are classed as negative. Listen is a big word but the Nuffield dosent. No exit interview offered the mantra being if you dont like it you know where the door is., so i went through the door with immense relief. Avoid if you value your health and sanity otherwise you will be pushed to the breaking point. No doubt there is the standard pat response from the Nuffield below this review offering to discuss they should have done this before.

Pros

None

Cons

Poorly treated
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Nuffield Health

15 October 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback. We want our employees to feel supported and valued, if you would like to discuss this further please email Employee.relations@nuffieldhealth.com

Bank Driver....Wetherby

Since starting at Nuffield as a bank driver & then onto being offered a 20 hour contract after 7 months which wasnt a smooth move over! Very complicated..Wage slips you will never understand them and no one is able to help explain them! So you really have no idea what you are being paid..workday app you input your hours yourself on a daily basis minus your break times via your mobile and submit every week..lots of homework via nuffield log in, which has to be done..you are given a password & e-mail address, big turnaround in hire veichles as company veichles seem to be in for checks or damage to them, some hire veichles we have had in are very unsafe..no safety rails and dangerous platformsI can honestly say I enjoyed the work but the overall ambience of the male drivers are bullies and make your place at work uncomfortable and unpleasant.The job Itself did fit in well with my lifestyle but the rotas did get changed a lot without any notice to yourself,You also need to not mind 4am starts & working 11-21.00 sometimes even later upto 22.30, you also need to be physically fit as you are moving big steel trollies about loading & unloading..I got 2 full days training out on the road learning the Drops & collection points & theres a lot of them!..holidays dont expect them! Impossible to take & to be honest if you are in a 20 hour contract & work upto 45+ hours at times you only are entitled to your contracted term & that is 4 hours per day.

Pros

Great bunch of tech guys n gals

Cons

Lack of communication
Was this review helpful?

Absolutely amazing colleagues

As someone who came from a very toxic work environment I was anxious to go into another office job however from the moment i started everyone made me feel welcome, there was no office politics and everyone is so helpful. The management are lovely and will never give you more pressure than you can handle along with giving you endless support. Could not recommend this company more to people!

Pros

So much support
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Nuffield Health

18 October 2021
We are pleased to hear that you that you are enjoying being part of the team! Thank you for sharing your feedback we hope you continue to enjoy your role!

Horrible micro management!

There is no what so ever IT structure there, no support when your start your role everything is messed up, line manager was horrible very annoying, lots of new people were leaving this company after 2-3 weeks, and also others to who been there for long, money wise is really poor compared to how much work they giving you which is ridiculous they expect you to do a lot for pocket money…Avoid this company!

Pros

No benefits what so ever only maybe gym membership

Cons

No trust in people at all ridiculous! And low salary !
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Nuffield Health

20 September 2021
It’s really disappointing to hear about your experience, we want our employees to feel supported and valued. If you would like to discuss this with us please contact Employee.relations@nuffieldhealth.com

Wouldn’t recommend

Not worth the wage, over worked and under paid, not appreciated and poor management. Very clicky place and if your face doesn’t fit they aren’t happy. No support given to staff. High turn around of staff.

Pros

Free gym membership

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Nuffield Health

20 September 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback. We want our employees to feel supported and valued, if you would like to discuss this further please email Employee.relations@nuffieldhealth.com

Interesting-ish job - shocking work culture

I worked for a hospital site for a number of years. Left due to the work culture affecting my mental health. Some staff have horrid personalities and were allowed to get away with anything they wanted, favoritism ran rampant through the department. Most members of staff spoke to me as if I was stupid. Management on all levels are living on a different planet. They do not know how to support their members of staff. Working relationships with my managers started to break down and I started to avoid any and all interaction with them. Salary is very poor for what is expected from you. The job itself was fine - not the most interesting job but whilst working there, I developed my skill set and i had good interaction with some staff and great fun interacting with patients.

Pros

Some really good members of staff, great interacting with patients, developed my skill set

Cons

long hours, poor Management, salary is poor, horrible work culture
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Nuffield Health

15 October 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback. We want our employees to feel supported and valued, if you would like to discuss this further please email Employee.relations@nuffieldhealth.com

A good place to plan your next career move

Nuffield are a good stop gap for physiotherapist's wanting to get out of the NHS or other sectors. Their business model is to bring in a physio and expect them to leave within two years. There appears to be no drive from the powers at be in Epsom to change this.I have no idea who my RCL or the senior physiotherapy management team are! I would recommend working in the hospital setting rather than the gym setting due to having more protection in terms of CPD and diary management. Diary utilisation should be a minimum of 65% (mine is 80%) and people still alter your diary without prior warning or with any explanation.Pay is poor in comparison to the NHS and your expected to work a 40 hour FTE week (other health care professionals work 37.5 FTE). They like to roll out the 'One Nuffield' nonsense when it suits them!Even with the benefits of Health Insurance, average pension and gym membership you are still worse off. There are no increments and you get a standard 1-2% pay increase according to their pay review system.There is minimal scope for progression in terms of becoming a clinical specialist, ESP or consultant physiotherapist like rival organisations such as Connect Health.My advice use Nuffield to your advantage as a stop gap until something more appealing and better paid comes along.

Pros

gym membership, health insurance

Cons

long days, 40 hour weeks, poor pay, poor executive management team
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Nuffield Health

15 October 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share detailed feedback, we are constantly looking to improve and evolve so will pass this on.

Fabulous company Shane about the salary

They look after you, company pension, health care, mental health, lots of free courses they offer too. It’s such a shame as I have been in the industry for over 25 years, this is by far the best I have worked for but I am thinking of leaving due to the salary and pay structure. Totally not paid for how much experience and knowledge we know. We have top customer care and yet they pay so low and if clients cancel your rate if pay per person drops lower, totally unfair.

Pros

Excellent staff & management

Cons

Pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Nuffield Health

18 October 2021
We are pleased you feel supported, we are constantly looking to improve and evolve so will pass your feedback on. Thank you for taking the time to share.

Horrid Place to work

Honestly came out of nursery working for over 4 years because of working for this company. Honestly awful so bent it’s untrue. Reward staff they like and treat everyone else so poorly. Management is awful never knew what was going on. Honestly should of know by the fact the nursery is in a glass building! So many accident and children being left all around the gym! Avoid at all costs!

Pros

Nothing

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Nuffield Health

20 September 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback. We want our employees to feel supported and valued, if you would like to discuss this further please email Employee.relations@nuffieldhealth.com

Busy and Productive healthcare charity

A purposeful healthcare charity. Delivering high quality care. A very busy and demanding workload and environment. A friendly team. Good company benefits.

Pros

Employee benefits and welfare

Cons

Busy environment, big workload
Was this review helpful?

Why would you?

I wouldn't bother. The managent are corrupt and only care about their staff should the revenue be in order. You won't get full management support unless you fit in to their group. It's not a comfortable environment, especially with young staff members in charge of older people, who have very little experience.

Pros

None

Cons

List is too long
Was this review helpful?

Awfup management

I worked for Nuffield for 3 years as a receptionist and I can honestly say some the management are the worst I have ever worked for and with. They have so little respect for their staff and no morals what so ever.The job its self is so boring as you don't get given any responsibility or even given anything to do so for an 8 hour shift you just stand there doing nothing. If you're lucky you get a half hour break to split the 8 hour shift up. The pay is minimum wage which is not great. The shifts are all over the place and unless you ask for flexible working you could be on 9 days in a row or come in when you're on annual leave to cover! We were short staffed all the time as the budget did not allow for new staff!The company as a whole is not the company that I thought it was nor would I ever work for them again! Save your self the time and take a job else where if you value your self worth.

Pros

Rest of staff are amazing

Cons

Too many to say!
Was this review helpful?

Great place to work and develop

I worked here straight out of University and it was a perfect place to develop. The company paid for all new physiologists to undergo a Msc equivalent course whilst also working with a full time salary. The managers were all young and motivated which also made for an enjoyable workplace
Was this review helpful?

Awful Toxic Workplace

Awful Management, no support or help. They don’t know what they are doing so they just leave it to everyone no acccountability no ownership and just awful General manager at Romford

Pros

Non

Cons

Too many
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Nuffield Health. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1

Based on 396 reviews
5
78
4
100
3
74
2
52
1
92

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
2.8Job security/advancement
2.6Management
2.9Culture

Compare Nuffield Health with

  • Companies
  • Nuffield Health
  • Employee reviews
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?