Ocado Group
3.0 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Ocado Group Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 1,058 reviews matching the search
See all 1,085 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Been working as a CSTM Delivery Driver for a few weeks. There are many, many rules and regulations to get your head around, some I believe don't make sense but you just gotta grit your teeth and deal with it. Overall, you just turn up, check your van, go out for deliveries and come back. If you're running ahead or behind for a drop, simply call the customer and let them know. Management will keep off your back as long as:-You're on time for work-Get good feedback from customers- You're not consistently late for drops-You don't damage the vans
Pros
- Good training - after 2 days classroom training, they start you out on with fewer drops over a longer period, so you're essentially learning on the job, - Pre-loaded vans and bagged groceries, -Some of the vans are new which are a joy to drive, - Management are helpful and easy to contact if you run into any issues whilst out on route, -If you finish early, you can go home and still get paid for your whole shift, Working on your own, - Customers are mostly nice.
Cons
- Don't expect a pat on the back for a job well done, you'll only be noticed if you do something wrong, - Sometimes a long wait to return the van, - There isn't a lot of room in the van to move the shopping around when unloading, -Shift patterns make it difficult to plan things away from the job, - Factoring in a toilet break can sometimes throw you off your route completely, - Not a female friendly role (only one female toilet on site, too big uniform)
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Great place to work.Do your job properly and it's a nice job that is varied and pays well.Shifts take some getting used to but you get the option of earlies or lates.
Pros
Working by yourself
Cons
Shift patterns
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Anyone who has worked for hospitality industry come work as a ocado driver I been there nearly 6 months and you be surprised how lovely they treat you
Pros
Good wage pack Staff very friendly and supportive benefit system is excellent
Cons
Danni navigation system needs updating but thats about it everything else is excellent with ocado
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Aragant managersBad work culture Constant phone calls on company mobile rude customers I hated it far too military I would never work for them again The general attitude from managers and marshalls was appalling
Pros
Going home
Cons
Too many to mention
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Not a bad place to work .You learn and adapt as you go. Good training and ongoing support. They don’t put down staff. You are always listened to. Good and helpful information all over the premises. Good company benefits. Good holiday pay. Overtime are well paid.
Pros
Free drinks, occasional staff party and free food
Cons
Job can be tedious at times and may involve you working overtime which you will be paid for.
Was this review helpful?
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Inexperienced management at all levels.Draconian management techniques, treat employees like parasites.Demotivating , bullying attitudes.All responsibility attempted to be put on shoulders of the drivers, no support from management when dealing with the often mentally disturbed customers.The company has grown very quickly and promoted inadequate people at all levels.
Pros
None
Cons
Treated like naughty children.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
You either have to be a brown nose or you won't be successful. Some days are a breeze and others are a complete nightmare. More often than not you'll be given 5-6 drops in the same hour timeslot which are all 20 minutes apart and be expected to make all the drops without being late. Some great colleagues and benefits but management massively let it down. They come across as if working with drivers is extra work that they aren't willing to do. Put it this way, I prefer being unemployed and struggling to pay my bills...it's less stress.
Pros
Occasional early finish with full pay
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Longer Hours, and on your feet most-all of the day (which I didn’t mind as it’s a warehouse environment) I enjoyed the work and tasks set, my colleagues helped with my transition well, and they were friendly. Some managers just looked at you as just a ‘number’ within the business, not as a human being with feelings. I was let go from my job because I was pregnant.Which left me without income at a time where I needed it. I feel they could have handled the situation better.
Pros
Good Pay, Friendly Colleagues
Cons
Long Hours, Some Managers
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
My biggest regret was leaving, if you get the job don’t leave, I became a dad, wanted to change shifts and got ignored, if they had just at least spoke to me I’d still be there happily
Pros
Great pay
Cons
No home life
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Ocado Group
8 February 2021
Thanks for reviewing Ocado Group. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and all the best for the future!Katie
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Very easy delivery driver job, excellent setup for the driver, enjoyed the day shift not so much the late shift, plus to many rules that's why there are always looking for drivers
Pros
Easy job
Cons
Too many petty rules
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Ocado Group
8 February 2021
Thanks for your review of Ocado Group, and thanks for all your hard work! We have made a note of your feedback and will ensure it gets seen by the relevant team.Katie
We want to help you find great companies. Help us be the best!
Do these reviews help you learn more about working at Ocado Group?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Very hard heavy work and difficult routes to follow most of the time, no regards to the well-being of staff. Not enough core warehouse staff to do the job safely, having to cut corners all the time risking your health.
Pros
None.
Cons
Long hours, difficult routes, management don’t care about you as a person.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Ocado Group
8 February 2021
Thanks for your review of Ocado Group. We have listened to several areas of feedback on your point about management and are looking to address it through a new anonymous technology survey. This will ensure employees can provide feedback without fear of comments going straight to manager.We'd also like to thank you for your hard work during your time with us.Katie
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
It's a massive online shopping supermarket and well structured in terms of staff and organisational status. The technology used and facilities provided is very impressive and good.
Pros
Free teas, coffee
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Ocado Group
8 February 2021
Thanks for your review of Ocado Group. We're delighted to know you're enjoying your time with us!Katie
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Really decent wage for the work you do... however the blame culture is crazy. You very quickly get the impression you’re just a number, and extremely replaceable. A few slip ups and you’ll get the axe
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Ocado Group
8 February 2021
Thanks for your review of Ocado Group. We're pleased to hear your find the pay decent. We have made a note of your feedback and will ensure this gets passed along to the relevant team.Katie
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
What an absolute dire company to work for. They give you vans that have seen better days. I was given an old banger of a van (2015 reg) that rattled and felt like it was falling apart. Once you go out on your own and you get your itinerary that you print off before your shift starts it’s a free for all. You have a camera inside the cab recording every single thing you do, if you go over a speed bump to fast you activate the onboard system, if you go over the speed limit it notes it down you basically cannot do anything without them knowing and to top it off you cannot get things done on time if you can’t speed up a little because they try and tell you they account for traffic but no one can predict traffic so they are chatting a load of waffle. The countryside routes are ace though because you can wazz around and get it done faster but the city centre in Manchester will make or break you. Also it is job and knock so when you finish turn your phone off so they can’t give you more work. Good luck because you will need it.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to list...
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
0 support. You are made to feel as if you are replaceable. On all levels, management included. It is rotten from the top, the managers (having been one) are told they are replaceable and if you try to enforce positive changes you are shut down even though you are encouraged to make changes. The only changes they want to see are what would look good on paper but in reality don’t work and anyone trying to look out for personal shoppers are dismissed.
Pros
4 days a week.
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Ocado Group
8 February 2021
Thanks for your review. We have listened to several areas of feedback on your point about management and are looking to address it through a new anonymous technology survey. This will ensure employees can provide feedback without fear of comments going straight to manager.Katie
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The pay and bonuses make up for the same tasks day in day out. Shift times for picking and packing are awful and if altered would lead to better job retention as unfortunately the place is a revolving door.
Pros
Great pay and incentives
Cons
Shift times, repetitive lonely work
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Ocado Group
8 February 2021
Thanks for taking the time to review Ocado Group, and thanks for all your hard work during your time with us.Katie
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Hated the job no help wot so eva and they seem to go through drivers like no tomorrow the turnover of staff is horrendous must say alot about the company.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Too many deliveries in so little time
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
This place is good for job security,but they dont really care about you.The managements really poor,they dont know what they’re doing themselves.Maybe they should consider engaging with their staff more
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Long hours, weird shift pattern, no opportunities to progress
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Ocado Group
8 February 2021
Thanks for your review. We have listened to several areas of feedback on your point about management and are looking to address it through a new anonymous technology survey. This will ensure employees can provide feedback without fear of comments going straight to manager.Katie
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Good people, hard work, long hours but just what you'd expect from a warehouse and the graft takes some getting use to. Your just a number really but aslong as you get on with your work and reach targets you'll be okay. Its key work therefore a secure job, alot of promises in the work place but this is more of a gap job for most people, you can progress but its not highly likely.
Pros
Big car park, friendly staff
Cons
Long hours, bad management
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Ocado Group
11 January 2021
Thanks for your review of Ocado Group. We appreciate all of your hard work. Please note that your people manager should always be on-site to chat about any issues or concerns you have.Katie
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Honestly you have no life working at this place You’re stood in the cold working long hour shifts Management are ridiculous It’s not worth the money
Pros
No pros
Cons
Long hours Pay no life
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Ocado Group
11 January 2021
Thanks for taking the time to review Ocado Group. We would like to point out that there is a people manager who is contactable about any issues or concerns you may be having in regards to your role. We have also listened to several areas of feedback on your point about management and are addressing it through a new anonymous technology survey. This will ensure employees can provide feedback without fear of comments going straight to manager.Katie
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Get experience Knowledge and confidence, developping your sense of observations about unusual routes in countryside and in different cities with different code of routes
Pros
Voucher for lunch and sweet on the occasion
Cons
Reasonable hours
Was this review helpful?
  1. Employee reviews