Off to Work
3.6 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Off to Work Pay & benefits reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

Clear
3.7Work-life balance
3.5Pay & benefits

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 45 reviews matching the searchSee all 158 reviews

Decent

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
It’s ok but sometimes there’s not a lot of work. It’s good for extra money not for living expenses. The people there can be mean but they don’t banish you like indeed flex... I’d choose Off to work over Indeed flex any day!

Pros

Sometimes provides transport

Cons

Not a lot of work
Was this review helpful?

Yes......fun place to work. Some staffs are good while are ?

Well....I think the company should care about their staff as we not for only their clients. I personaly had terrible experience with them....during covid-19, the company let me down.

Pros

Free lunch

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Stressful and impersonal

I worked at off to work for 3 months and hated every second of it. The managements were strict, impersonal and rude. You were treated like a number not a human being. The hours were long - often people would be doing 14 hour shifts - with awful breaks. The anxiety of doing a new shift with different people every time was awful. Do not work here.

Pros

Free lunches most times, highest paying agency, assisted travel to far away jobs

Cons

Long hours, rude managers
Was this review helpful?

Different place of work everyday

I really enjoy this work because it never gets boring! Everyday the situation and the place changes, I feel challenged and I always learn something new.

Pros

Flexibility

Cons

possible long hours to travel
Was this review helpful?

awful firm

Little / No opportunities to advance Low salaries, unpaid extra hours No commissions / a poor and confusing bonus scheme that management can't even explain properly - and not all departments benefit from NO FURLOUGH - the owner decided not to (I guess this says a lot...)

Pros

some nice team activities, some lovely colleagues
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

productive and adventurous work place

OFF TO WORK is a very good company with a variety of skills that you can learn. It also gives you the opportunity to make new friends during the shift and go to a different event whether in the UK

Pros

flexible hours and transport providing to the work place

Cons

unorganised some times
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Off to Work

5 March 2020
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.I'm so pleased to hear that you were able to make so many new friends throughout your time with us, and the wealth of skills you've picked up along the way. I'm sorry to hear that you felt we were unorganised at times. We work hard to make sure everything goes as smooth as possible for our team. Unfortunately, we can get quite busy during peak season which may look unorganised, but rest assured we have taken your feedback on board and have relayed to the team. Thank you for your patience with us at that time!Kindest regards,Amanda @ OTW

Adequate

Working there can be good if you meet the right people and most the office workers are friendly and helpful. The salary various on experience the longer you’re there the more you can earn
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Off to Work

5 March 2020
Hello! Thanks for getting in touch. I'm so glad to hear that you're enjoying your time with us and that our office team have been of support to you.Feel free to give us a shout with anything you need!Kindest regards,Amanda @ OTW

Poor support, never got paid

Went for a shift with off to work 5 weeks ago and was never paid. This shift was done to save extra money for Christmas so when it didnt arrive it was a little upsetting you could say. It was at the francis crick institute which is severely understaffed and was an incredibly hard days work so to not be paid burns. Apparently the workplace has not yet confirmed the hours and off to work wont do anything until they do. So with the workplace not responding and off to work not doing anything about it, looks like I wasted my time here. Watch out, they dont seem to care about fulfilling your pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Off to Work

7 January 2020
Hello, Thank you for getting in touch and I am so sorry that you didn't receive the correct payment. Our payroll team is very particular about making sure all shifts are closed and paid on time so this is a rare occurrence and I would like to get it rectified as soon as possible. If you could please email me at emma.knight@offtowork.co.uk with your name and the date of your shift and I will look into why this shift hasn't been paid. Best wishes, Emma

Bad place to work

Working the agency is awfull. Currently, I'm working for a different agency but nobody forces me to work during a busy period. It seems there is a massive problem if you want to cancel a shift. During New Year's Eve, they have offered me a minimum wage and forced to work for the minimum wage. But other agencies are offering at least double pay ( Christmas Eve and New Years etc. ). I would not recommend anyone to work for them.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Off to Work

23 October 2019
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are sorry that the experience you had with us was not what you were expecting. We do have to be strict with our team when they cancel shifts at short notice as this lets down our client and the team you’d be working with but we always try to be understanding when there is a reasonable reason for canceling shifts. Whilst most of our shifts on New Year's Eve and New Years Day do pay higher rates, we unfortunately can only pay what our clients are happy to agree to. If you would like to discuss your personal experiences in more detail please feel free to email our HR team at michelle.palmer@offtowork.co.uk so we can investigate this further.Best wishes,Emma, Off to Work

Broad choice of shifts, too little details about requirements

At the beginning it seemed like a perfect place to work in, with flexible hours, high pay, and stress-free tasks. The staff was mostly friendly and willing to help those who had less experience, as the company focused on team work. I had opportunity to broaden my set of skills greatly by performing varied tasks in multiple roles and venues. Until I started to end up performing tasks I had no preparation for, when those were not listed in job descriptions, and ended up underperforming compared to experienced waiters. Looks like it was my fault that I applied for the wrong shifts and did not reject job offers given to me by OTW's representatives which I couldn't assess my suitability for.

Pros

Free lunches, high salary, perfectly flexible hours

Cons

Poor management, poor communication between OTW, their customers and staff
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Off to Work

30 September 2019
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are sorry that you didn’t have the experience with us that we would have liked. We always strive to place our team members in positions that are suitable for them and I’m sorry if there has been some poor judgment on this occasion. Our team members welfare and experiences when working for Off to Work are very important to us, so we always welcome suggestions on how to do better. If you would like to discuss your experience in more detail, and where we went wrong then please do feel free to contact our HR team at michelle.palmer@offtowork.co.uk so we can investigate this further.Best wishes,Emma, Off to Work

ok

It was ok, but nothing special. Pay rate is quite low if you consider that it is an agency. Most of the places would not even provide food or sometimes breaks.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Off to Work

30 September 2019
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are sorry that you didn’t have the experience with us that we would have liked. Whilst we do work with a lot of great clients who are happy to provide food for our team members on shifts; it is not essential, nor a requirement for any employer to provide meals during shifts. I am sorry that you felt you weren’t being given adequate breaks – something we are not able to fully control whilst you’re on your shift, but we are always available in the office for you to report feedback such as this back to. If you would like to discuss your experience in more detail then please do feel free to contact our HR team at michelle.palmer@offtowork.co.uk so we can investigate this further.Best wishes,Emma, Off to Work

Flexible but recognition is hard to achieve.

The company are close enough on what "they say on the tin", they are flexible because you chose hours, they contact frequent to make sure you and they are earning and you're paid more often or not when told (fortnightly after shifts done) - progression is rather slow, hard if anything. Lots of staff to try and 'compete' with.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Off to Work

30 September 2019
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and sharing your experiences with Off to Work. I am sorry if there has been a problem with one of your payslips – our payroll team aims to make sure all of our team are paid on time every week and if there ever is a problem, are very happy to rectify any issues as soon as they are aware. We value supporting our team and their progression very highly here at Off to Work, which is why we hold regular upskilling sessions in our office. I am sorry if you felt you weren’t being offered these opportunities as quickly as we could offer. If you would like to discuss your experience in more detail then please do feel free to contact our HR team at michelle.palmer@offtowork.co.uk.Best wishes,Emma, Off to Work

good for students

It is suitable for students as you can choose the days you want to work, however, they cannot gurantee that you get the shifts that you apply for so you might end up not working when you're available.

Pros

free lunch

Cons

unreliable
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Off to Work

30 September 2019
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As we offer casual work, we, unfortunately, cannot guarantee hours to our team members. Because of this, we are able to give you the flexibility to decide when you want to work but I’m sorry that we weren’t able to offer you as much work as you were looking for. We are consistently looking to get more clients and more regular work for the team and we are disappointed that we let you down. We really value feedback so if you would like to discuss your experience with us further please do feel free to contact our HR team at michelle.palmer@offtowork.co.uk so we can investigate this further.Best wishes,Emma, Off to Work

good for students

Mostly positive experience. Recomend it for students/ people needing a few extra hours of work on the side as it is not stable enough to be a sole source of income. Shifts often are cancelled on short notice when the other shifts which would have been available on that particular day are already gone. Management are usually quite friendly and I have had some fun work experiances at events like the brit awards and also just from meeting new people on each shift.

Pros

very flexible (choose your own hours), decent pay, easy application/interviewing process, variety of shifts

Cons

shifts cancelled last minute, unreliable
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Off to Work

30 September 2019
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with Off to Work! We are glad that you enjoyed working at our events but I’m sorry that you feel we let you down when it comes to your shifts being canceled. Unfortunately, it is quite often out of our control when a client has to cancel on us however, we will always do our very best to find you a replacement shift where we can. If you would like to discuss your experience in more detail please feel free to get in touch with our HR team at michelle.palmer@offtowork.co.uk.Best wishes, Emma, Off to Work

Don't waste your time

Where do I start ? They ring you for last minute shifts then cancel. Wages are too low for the work. Dont care if you are injured want you to work. Staff some are nice but others rude. Dont waste your time.

Pros

Some good clients

Cons

Pay and long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Off to Work

30 September 2019
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry that you had a negative experience with us and that we weren’t able to resolve your issues at the time. Our team members welfare and experiences when working for Off to Work are very important to us, so we always welcome suggestions on how to do better. If you would like to discuss your experience in more detail, and where we went wrong then please do feel free to contact our HR team at michelle.palmer@offtowork.co.uk so we can investigate this further.Best wishes, Emma, Off to Work

Fun workplace

Enjoyable people to work with. You work when you want to with plenty of variety of work to do, particularly during certain times of the year. The pay is good in comparison to other waiters in the industry.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Off to Work

30 September 2019
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with Off to Work! We are glad to hear we met your expectations during your time here and that you enjoyed the large variety of work we have available.Best wishes, Emma, Off to Work

Unprofessional management.

Worked with this agency for 2.5 years during my time in uni. Needless to say, the management in very disorganised, I would get thrown to different shifts at different places, although some of them were nice events, this company would not reimburse me for expenses even tho I accrued quite a sum for transport just to work for them. Disrespectful to their staff, although at venues everyone was friendly. I fail to see how 1 company could hire so many disorganised people

Pros

Good venues

Cons

Low pay, no reimbursement, no respect to employees
Was this review helpful?

Productive

It is a good place to work, and keeps you busy when working meet new people from different parts of the world and brings in some income, was always long hours was able to see different places in London and also was able to see whether it was a path which I could see myself going down long term, would say it is a good job to earn some income for a period of time
Was this review helpful?

fun workplace

Overall nice working culture and they have been providing me with plenty of support when needed however i do feel they should provide more shifts around glasgow.

Pros

free lunches

Cons

not enough shifts
Was this review helpful?

Apply With Caution

This is a 0 hour contract place, which is great if you're a student or are working other jobs - stay away if you're looking for something full-time. The hiring process was kind of strange too, I had a phone interview, showed up to a training day and then could start work the next day. You are never guaranteed work - you can apply for as many shift as you want but there can be times where you're not working for weeks. Even when you are confirmed, shifts are cancelled so often, or you're switched to a different position you didn't want to do. Some of the venues you work are so unorganised and you're left standing around for hours waiting to be allocated for work, and managers change all the time depending where you're working. Hours can be extremely long - up to 13 hours for some places - so make sure you have comfortable shoes that still stick to their dress code. Something I like about working there was working all the different venues and events - I worked at fancy dinners, gigs, castles - it changes every time.

Pros

Flexible hours, great salary, great venues

Cons

Never guaranteed work, shift cancellation, can be extremely long hours
Was this review helpful?

yea its alright

they're a bunch of friendly people and its good if you're a student, but I wouldn't want it as a full time job. due to the fact that you are never guaranteed a job even if you apply

Pros

good quick money

Cons

not too reliable
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Off to Work. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6

Based on 158 reviews
5
45
4
49
3
37
2
12
1
15

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.1Job security/advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture

Compare Off to Work with

  • Companies
  • Off to Work
  • Employee reviews
  • Pay & benefits