Ole & Steen
2.5 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Ole & Steen Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

2.4Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 23 reviews matching the searchSee all 27 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great people, bad wage

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Ended up doing about 5 other people's jobs while still only getting paid minimum wage. Unpaid 20min lunch breaks after working for 8 hours. If you get there before your shift starts you can get some free food and drinks.

Pros

Good people, manager kind, easy work

Cons

Awful wage, a lot of work
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Only if you're looking for something temporary

It varies on the location of the café, but in my case some customers were extremely rude and complain about the most tedious things.Management absolutely sucks at this place, they do not care about you and they are extremely under trained. Most don't know how to run the café let alone manage their teams.

Pros

20 min unpaid break

Cons

20 min unpaid break
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Horrible place to work

Do not apply to work here. General management is full of unstable bullies, favoritism is rife, and there's a general backstabbing attitude in most of the branches. HR is useless, as well as area managers and other upper-level corporate employees. Any issues you have with the company will be flipped on you to make you look bad, or brushed under the rug because the company sides with managers, no matter how wrong they are. There's an obvious disregard for mental health, which ties into being bullied by managers. Extremely exploitative environment, the company refuses to schedule more people so you're left working very long shifts and doing other people's jobs. Just really really awful.

Pros

great colleagues

Cons

Management, incompetent upper management, long hours, exploitation, bad pay considering all of the above.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

The team made it all

I was fortunate to have an amazing team to work with where everyone loved each other so it made everyday a joy to come to work. Apart from all this, the job stays quite simple once you get comfortable with what you're doing. You get a payrise everytime you get trained for something new, barista level 2, team leader, manager...etc...The only downside I would say is that the bakery is open until very late at night (10pm, 9pm on weekends) which is weird since it gets really quiet from 6pm

Pros

Free meals, great training

Cons

Long hours, promises not kept
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

one of the best

great management. very good work condition. no stress. it’s just great company. i love working there and i wish to go back to work there after the covid19 situation
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Worst place for work

Extremely busy and stressful, would have been better if Management team and HR took staff feedback seriously and worked better on solving communication issues instead of bullying the staff.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

The worst company ever

Starting to work at Ole & Steen is like going to one of the third world countries. I didn't think I'm in England. Aside from disorganization, bullying, rudeness and exploitation, but also lots of embarrassed and stinging little things like: being pushed to drive fast without respecting the British regulations, dirty environments not suitable for preparing and delivering food, lack of security and respect for elementary health standards.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

It's good

From what I remember it was good and easy to work there. The only downside is that during non busy periods they would just cut your shifts without telling you so you could go from 30 to 15 hours a week it was worse when they'd split your 15 hours across 4 days which killed your work life balance
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Don’t even bother applying

If you want to be treated like your worthless have your managers swear at you & be discriminated against this is the job for you!! Good pay ! Good food
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

stressful

Working at this company is good however the manager is really strict and hard to communicate with. I am capable of working in a fast environment but for this this type of job it was really hard.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

they lose money and make you lose your mind.

this company was a good place to work in, till they made huge changes on their management structure, winch i believe they do not even have one. they give stress and pressure emotionally, physically and spiritually for who ever try to do his job properly, working there is good only if you stop your brain of working and do what they tell you to do, of course when there is any issue they will blame you of doing it,
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ole & Steen

23 January 2020
We are sorry to hear about the experience you have had. We are committed to make positive changes that improve the experience for everyone. We have taken great effort to constantly improve our management structures as well committing to continuous improvements in all aspects of the work environments for each of our employees and departments. We are not perfect and do have a long way to go in our aspiration to achieve this so we wouldd love to hear more about this specific feedback and encourage you to contact our Human Resources team by emailing AskHR@oleandsteen.co.uk and providing further details.Thanks, Ole & Steen UK
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Unfair pay

Awful company, every driver on different amounts of pay which has caused all sorts of in house problems ,no progression. Shops hate the drivers management hate the drivers total bedlam in house politics stay away avoid avoid avoid

Pros

None

Cons

Many
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ole & Steen

23 January 2020
We are sorry to hear about the experience you have had. We are committed to make positive changes that improve the experience for everyone. We’d love to hear more about this specific feedback and encourage you to contact our Human Resources team by emailing AskHR@oleandsteen.co.uk and providing further details.Thanks, Ole & Steen UK
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Amazing team

Amazing surroundings and friendly comfortable team to work with however shifts are long,also salary is not enough for both team members and management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ole & Steen

23 January 2020
It is always fantastic to hear you have had an overall great experience working with us and we thank you for your feedback, both positive and otherwise. We are committed to make positive changes that improve the experience for everyone. We want to ensure all of our team members are as happy as possible so we do encourage you to discuss your feedback about your shift lengths and the general remuneration/pay with your line manager or head office team. Should you wish to provide any more details, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.Thanks, Ole & Steen UK
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Worked there for 8 months

I took a pay cut because I wanted to slow down a little after working as a chef for many years . The first site I worked in was lovely . Good management and a great team . They then decided to centralise all the production to one main kitchen “St James Park “ it was a nightmare. People with the same role as me didn’t like to do certain sections so the ones that complained the least got the worse jobs . No understanding from management and no effort to be fair . I ended up leaving . The wages where terrible too
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ole & Steen

23 January 2020
We are sorry to hear about the experience you have had. We are committed to make positive changes that improve the experience for everyone. We’d love to hear more about this specific feedback and encourage you to contact our Human Resources team by emailing AskHR@oleandsteen.co.uk and providing further details.Thanks, Ole & Steen UK
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Productive and fun place

I like the company and the team. This is a nice place to work at. A clean workspace with great managment. Every job has it's ups and downs and if you as a person are not ready to have a job every job will be hard. I don't think there is a "hardest part" of any job as if you are mature enough to keep a professional level of working you would embrace challenges. The most enjoyable part of this and every other job is working hard and seeing results of your effort. Ole & Steen has an amazing team and this is what I love about this job.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ole & Steen

23 January 2020
It is always fantastic to hear you have had an overall great experience working with us and we thank you for your feedback, both positive and otherwise. We are committed to make positive changes that improve the experience for everyone. Should you wish to provide any more details, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.Thanks, Ole & Steen UK
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Bad management and hectic shifts but fun team

All the team members were really fun to work with and made the hectic shifts a bit more bearable. You can take food home after a closing shift which was great too. However the management does not care about the staff. At all! All they care about is saving money. They were also blaming us for mistakes that weren't even our fault - in front of customers. They don't care about you as a person. Breaks during a day shift were rather short.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ole & Steen

23 January 2020
We are sorry to hear about the experience you have had. We are committed to make positive changes that improve the experience for everyone. We are pleased however to hear that your team were fun to work with so made the fast-paced shifts a more positive experience. The lovely goodies to take home on a closing shift are always popular bonus of working here too!We’d love to hear more about this specific feedback about your management team and encourage you to contact our Human Resources team by emailing AskHR@oleandsteen.co.uk and providing further details.Thanks, Ole & Steen UK
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Easy job but hard

The job it’s not so difficult but we produce for 11 stores..so the production is huge. In general it’s a nice place and lovely people to work but you need to have some experience to don’t finish so late.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ole & Steen

23 January 2020
We are sorry to hear about the experience you have had. Our food production uses high quality ingredients and you are correct that the production process is simplified as much as possible. As our number of customer locations grows, we do have more volume to produce so the more time you spend working with us, the more efficient you do tend to get. We are pleased to hear that you found your team to be lovely people!We are committed to make positive changes that improve the experience for everyone. We’d love to hear more about this specific feedback and encourage you to contact our Human Resources team by emailing AskHR@oleandsteen.co.uk and providing further details.Thanks, Ole & Steen UK
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Fun, friendly, and fast-paced workplace

A typical day at work can be fast-paced, fun, and a little bit stressful. You are surrounded by a lot of different people from different nationalities and cultures coming into the cafe, which is exciting. Although this can be overwhelming, your fellow co-workers are always there to help you out! Especially if you're new to the company. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting all these new people coming into the cafe, as well as all the yummy treats you got to take home your first week working there ;)
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ole & Steen

23 January 2020
It is always fantastic to hear you have had an overall great experience working with us and we thank you for your feedback, both positive and otherwise. We are committed to make positive changes that improve the experience for everyone. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed the fast-pace of work, the diverse team and customer base and were supported well by your colleagues and management team. Of course, the lovely baked goodies are always huge bonus too!Should you wish to provide any more details, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.Thanks, Ole & Steen UK
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Understaffed and stressfull

Never enough staff on a shift and most of the managers don't wanna be there and don't care. The quality of the products is not that good anymore, because the only thing the company cares about is saving money.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ole & Steen

8 October 2019
We are sorry to hear about the experience you have had. We are committed to make positive changes that improve the experience for everyone including ensuring that all sites are fully recruited and have sufficient staffing levels for each and every shift however sometimes this is not always within our control. We have always maintained a high standard of product quality and integrity and we are committed to sourcing to improve the standard of our products and ingredients however we do welcome your observations and would love to hear more about this specific feedback. We do encourage you to contact our Human Resources team by emailing AskHR@oleandsteen.co.uk and providing further details.Thanks, Ole & Steen UK
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Racisum, bullying, and mental/emotional abuse.

management believes quote on quote 'naming and shaming staff' in order to induce teachings. assistant manager, shouted at me for eating two seconds due to extreme hunger. whilst my duties were all completed in the time being. employee named me 'trash' on a group chat after she shamed me in forcing for why i am sick, and making me reveal my symptoms on group chat. i was pushed into resigning, and therefore suing the company for constructive discharge,

Pros

fantastic food.

Cons

racism, bullying, emotional abuse and manipulation
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Good experience in a busy store

Nice atmosphere, good people, caring managers. I had a good time Working for Ole and Steen. Would recommend this place to others. Work hours can get really very hectic.

Pros

Free food to take home during closing

Cons

Hectic shifts
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Ole & Steen

8 October 2019
It is always fantastic to hear you have had an overall great experience working with us and we thank you for your feedback, both positive and otherwise - we hope you felt that you were able to speak with your management team about the working hours?We are committed to make positive changes that improve the experience for everyone. Should you wish to provide any more details, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.Thanks, Ole & Steen UK

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ole & Steen. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.5

Based on 27 reviews
5
3
4
5
3
5
2
3
1
11

Ratings by category

2.4Work/Life Balance
2.4Salary/Benefits
2.2Job security/advancement
2.1Management
2.2Culture

Compare Ole & Steen with

  • Companies
  • Ole & Steen
  • Employee reviews