phs Group
2.9 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

phs Group Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 384 reviews matching the search
See all 400 reviews
Featured review
phs Group selected this as a representative review
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I enjoy a varied work day servicing many different types of businesses ranging from supermarkets to at home beauty specialists and everything in between. We get to take our vans home with us which not only removes the daily commute but also the cost. It is a job that fits well around family life as I am often home in time to pick the kids from school and it is Monday to Friday (no weekends). WickFord is a friendly and helpful depot with help on hand if needed, even when out of the office.
Pros
Being able to take van home
Cons
Sat nav does not always take you to the right place
Was this review helpful?
Official response from phs Group
18 January 2021
Hi There - Thanks so much for your feedback, it's great to hear. Taking your van home at the end of each shift certainly does save both money and time - We're pleased to have been able to offer this. The hours of this role are often a big positive for people as you get much of your afternoon/evening with family at home. I'm sorry to hear about the SatNav issue - I'll make sure this is fed back internally.Keep up the great work!Henry FieldResourcing Managerhenryfield@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have worked for PHS a while now and this job is perfect for me as i like working on my own but within a team environment with back up and support when required, it's always busy with daily and Saturday overtime when I want to and lots of early start times means earlier finishes so more family time, routing is flexible when 360 is hit and miss along with the sat Nav and on a personal note I have always found management to be extremely supportive when the need arises special thanks to our manager and big kudos for the counselling available now proving PHS are a modern forward looking company who have promoted two ex drivers from within and are serious about work life balance these can be dark days but there's a positive light shining from PHS.
Pros
Work on own meeting different people and friendly supportive team
Cons
Sometimes sat Nav and 360 routing can be hit or miss
Was this review helpful?
Official response from phs Group
8 March 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. So many great things to mention there - The early finishes are great for families, the overtime is really useful for increasing earnings, and the councelling services we have available are a real use to those that need it.Keep up the great work,Henry FieldResourcing ManagerHenryField@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have worked for the company for over 10 years and have enjoyed the experience. The pay is reasonable, as are the conditions. The training is vastly improved to when I started and the support at depot level is good. I have a van (my office) which I take home, no travel to work costs. I am out and about each day meeting different people and visiting a vast array of customer premises, factories, offices, museums, schools, ferries, National Trust properties, the list is endless. The work is nowhere near as hard as it was when I first started and I would recommend giving it a go.
Pros
Van to take home no travel to work costs
Cons
Smelly nappies but you get used to it
Was this review helpful?
Official response from phs Group
8 March 2021
Hi there,Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to see the time being spent developing training is being recognized - We're doing a lot to make sure our teams have the training they need to succeed. It's great to hear about the variety of places you get to visit!Keep up the great work,Thank you again,Henry FieldResourcing ManagerHenryField@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Management always blame drivers for the companies mistakes, for example today i had an hour and a half drive between jobs, manager rings me to tell me i should get there quicker. There is no job progression. Manager is built like an egg. No company benefits. Consistently dont pay overtime correctly. Told when i can take my holidays and refused my own requests. Vehicles are poorly maintained and when they breakdown its our fault. Cant wait to find alternative employment and get away from this place.
Pros
None
Cons
Alll of the above
Was this review helpful?
Official response from phs Group
1 March 2021
Hi there, Thank you so much for your feedback. I'm really sorry to hear about your experience.I'd like to look into some of your comments for you. The safety of our drivers is paramount to us, so vehicle maintenance must be a priority. I'd like to look into your feedback regarding overtime, maintenance and holiday. Sometimes, due to cover, holiday can't be taken at specific times, but this shouldn't be the default.If you would like to share more information with me confidentially, please email me.Thank you,Henry FieldResourcing Managerhenryfield@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
A tough role to begin with but once you're in the routine of the job it's fine. If you're happy to work then there is always overtime. Management are fair and can be talked to with any issues.
Pros
Early Start, early finish.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from phs Group
17 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.You're right - Overtime is usually very popular with people who want to boost their earnings. It can be a difficult role to start with whilst you're getting settled in.It's great to hear about your positive relationship with your managers! Keep up the great work,Henry FieldResourcing Managerhenryfield@phs.co.uk
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Enjoy been out like that fact not in one place. every day is different, I can schedule my route at times to suit me not strictly told how to do it in what order
Pros
flexibilty for stating times
Cons
lack of bonus
Was this review helpful?
Official response from phs Group
17 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.You're right - the flexibility on start times is a real benefit to people and really helps with work/life balance.Keep up the great work.Henry FieldResourcing Managerhenryfield@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
My time at PHS is going very well for me I am very pleased to be working and fitting in with the company and will continue to do so. I get on well with all the staff and they all help to perform a good tight net work place.
Pros
Company van to take home.
Cons
Can be long hours.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from phs Group
17 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review.It's great to hear you're having a great time with us. Getting on with your colleagues is always going to make work more enjoyable - It's great to see.Keep up the great work!Henry FieldResourcing Managerhenryfield@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Been able to set own way of going around the route ability to set own start and finish times. Been able to start at a time which suits and to be able to meet different customers. Having a laugh and joke with the customers
Pros
Job security
Was this review helpful?
Official response from phs Group
15 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review.It's great to hear that you clearly have a strong rapport with your customers. It's such an important part of the role our service drivers play. Keep up the great work!Thank you,Henry FieldResourcing managerhenryfield@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Found the job role really good, variety of work but pressure from management and timescale to do jobs and travel between sites ridiculous. Definitely in need of a good transport manager who can actually realise distances between jobs and timescales to get to next job. Suppose to be 8 hour days but 99% of the time you have to work overtime to get your jobs completed and if you phone to say you have run out of time, as per what you have been told to do, they tell you that you are not working fast enough. They start you with low amount of jobs but then start to add on more and more work on you. You get to a point where you haven’t got time to get the job done properly and having to skip certain tasks. Then the management put so much pressure on you, you are more or less forced to resign. Also if you report a fault on the van, they don’t seem to be in a rush to follow it up. Only concern is to get the jobs done and don’t think about driver safety.
Pros
Good variety of work, take van home and start and finish from home.
Cons
Bad route plans and no support from management, force to resign
Was this review helpful?
Official response from phs Group
15 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I'd really like to be able to look into this for you and understand what didn't work. The safety of our drivers is paramount, and any faults with vans should be dealt with ASAP. If you would like to give more detailed feedback, completely confidentially, please do email me.Thank you,Henry FieldResourcing Managerhenryfield@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
If meeting new people and building customer rapport interests you, a phs service driver is a job for you.Training and tools provided and a company vehicle to take home.
Pros
Full training and tools, no commute to work as working day starts from home
Was this review helpful?
Official response from phs Group
15 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. You're right - Customer Service and rapport building is such a key element to this role. It's our Service Drivers that our customers see every day.Keep up the great work!Thank you,Henry FieldResourcing Managerhenryfield@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
When I started there it was OK. The portal that you have to use for your bank details and to book holidays never worked. Send you out to do a job without any training and when you make a mistake it's your fault.
Pros
None
Cons
No training
Was this review helpful?
Official response from phs Group
8 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear about your experience. I'd really like to understand more about your experience. I'm unaware of any issues with the holiday booking system, or bank details section of our self service system, I'd really like to understand more to feedback to our tech team.If there's any more detail you'd like to share so I can look into this, please do email me.Thank you,Henry FieldResourcing Managerhenryfield@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Currently a driver for the company.The way I see it is if you stick to the rules that have been set out as well as crack on and do the work you get left to it.There's always a debrief at the end of every day to see how you got on.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from phs Group
1 February 2021
Hi there.Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. You are right - Our processes that we have in place are there to both protect our teams, and to make sure the important work we do as a company is completed. It's good to hear you get a regular debrief to know how everything is going.Keep up the great work!Henry FieldResourcing ManagerHenryField@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Work at PhD over a year now great people to work with. It is easy to get up for work everyday when you know your in a job you like. Phs brings alot to the table
Pros
Out on the road taking in the scenary and to be fit to work in a easy going but firm environment
Cons
Having no one to talk too lol
Was this review helpful?
Official response from phs Group
1 February 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's lovely to hear that you enjoy your role, and get the chance to take in the scenery!It can be lonely at times working alone in the van - Hopefully you get the opportunity to speak to customers at their premises.Thank you again,Keep up the great work!Henry FieldResourcing ManagerHenryField@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Do be careful applying for Customer Service Caerphilly, I wouldn’t suggest the role is as advertised or portrayed to be. It’s a lot of intense account management on a very outdated, massive, backward system with very little guidance or support. The stress and pressure you are put under simply isn’t worth the money or the strain on your mental well being. We were instructed by the two trainers that we are by no means allowed to get up from our desks or talk to fellow co workers. You are monitored very intensely on how often you go to the toilet, and how long you take breaks. Very embarrassing. Don’t be convinced by their 4 week training plan either, the two trainers at Caerphilly are careless and lazy. Whenever I asked a question, I was snapped at. I was made to feel so small and began to feel very anxious. We were told to leave early several times. The trainers put so much pressure on you to pick up everything, but didn’t bother teaching us correctly. Many time we were sat in silence doing nothing as we were given very little instruction. For the first two weeks we did almost no work because the first trainer simply couldn’t be bothered. I did also overhear the two trainers stood right behind me complaining about the fact they have to train us - charming! My own experience was absolutely appalling, I only stayed for four weeks until it got to point where even the thought of walking through the doors made me feel unwell. Very unlike me, I don’t jump fromJob to job and have stayed in the same role for years prior to these events.The other 3 lovely trainees I trained - more...
Pros
Free parking. That is it.
Cons
Smelly offices. No help, no support, bad training, stressful, no respect
Was this review helpful?
Official response from phs Group
25 January 2021
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. I'm really sorry to hear your experience joining us was not a positive one. We work hard to ensure our training is suitable for the role that people come into the business to do - It seems on this occasion something hasn't hit the mark. I'd be keen to understand more about your experience.Any conversations will of course be confidential should you wish to speak to me directly about this, my email is below.Thank you again,Henry FieldResourcing Managerhenryfield@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
i worked for phs compliance for 5 years left at the end of last year overall i loved my time there part of me wishes i never left but to make the next step in my career i had to leave as there was no training or opportunity to move forward within the company,but if your happy to stay in the same job for years to come then its for you on the whole phs are good to work for need had any real issues tho driver planning could be better but i found all staff helpful when confronted with a problem.
Pros
van home, different places working
Cons
long driving, bad planning
Was this review helpful?
Official response from phs Group
25 January 2021
Hi there, thank you so much for your review.I'm sorry to hear you felt had to leave us to get the career progression you wanted, it's never nice to lose good team members. We've been doing a lot of work across the business looking at opportunities to develop our teams.If you would ever be interested in coming back to phs, please do feel free to drop me an email, and we can make sure we keep you posted on any suitable opportunities.It's great to hear the team was able to work together when issues arose.Thank you,Henry FieldResourcing Managerhenryfield@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
This was not the specified customer service role. This was intensive account management and administration based that the salary simply did not reflect. Training was intensively focused on call handling which I thoroughly enjoyed but after training we were separated into various departments and hardly took any calls at all, it's was case management and complaint handling with hardly any incoming phone calls whatsoever. Training simply did not prepare for the job role I was given.Some management were fabulous and very helpful, friendly and efficient, others.. not so much, especially when it came to being empathetic and supportive to staff during a pandemic. Breaks were intensively monitored and to be pulled into meetings when you logged onto your work station 20 seconds too late was excessive. You were not allowed to leave your desk to get water either and toilet breaks were monitored also. The culture was like being at school and not a work force of adults. I've noticed the company constantly recruiting for the same customer service based roles. Maybe they need to rethink the salary and be more transparent with the job roles and spec for employee retention.Training needs to be more focused on the complex admin duties of key, sla, major 'csa' roles rather than general simple queries
Pros
Free parking
Cons
Micro managing staff, unsupportive management
Was this review helpful?
Official response from phs Group
18 January 2021
Hi there - Thank you so much for leaving such a detailed review.I would be keen to understand more about your experience with us. We are finding that some departments are quieter than usual during lockdowns which may have effected call volumes. You are right in saying we've been recruiting a lot of customer service people recently - This has been due to growth, with minimal roles being replacing people that have left. If this is not felt in the teams, I would love the opportunity to explore and understand more.If you would be comfortable speaking to me - Please do send me an email. All feedback will be treated as confidential.Thank you again,Henry FieldResourcing manager,henryfield@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Joining PHS has been a huge relief a weight genuinely lifted of the shoulders.The relaxed atmosphere coupled with job security has allowed me to develop and improve as a person.The atmosphere allows anyone from any background or walk of life, to suggest something to management without the fear of being belittled or made to look silly.Suggestions that help the business are welcomed here.Management speak to you as a person that matters not a number like many firms, gives you the sense of well being and respect.Everyday you know what jobs you have to do and is very rare you are contacted to do another job but if you are then job list is usually changed to accommodate.Overtime is available and can speak to management to arrange when you can do overtime.Work life balance is great you know whats days your working, and usually what your hours will be everyday, so you can actually plan your life with work.Best thing about the role, is the time to have a life back again instead of work work work.
Pros
take van home, cheap travel costs, job security
Cons
Early starts like 4am, depending on the person this can also be a benefit.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from phs Group
18 January 2021
Hi There - Thank you so much for leaving such a detailed review of working with us.It's great to hear how positive the management relationship is there - It's so important. We do our best to make sure people know what their routes are in advance - But you're right - Sometimes last minute changes can't be helped in this sort of role.The early mornings can be difficult - But as you said, to some it's a real benefit of the role, it should mean people have much more of their afternoon/evening at home.Keep you the great work!Henry FieldResourcing Managerhenryfield@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I work from Aberdeen and we all work very close together and help each other. I started as a part time cleaner and progressed through the years thanks to my manager. We work well as a team. Very supportive manager.
Pros
Great team work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?
Official response from phs Group
18 January 2021
Hi There, Thank you very much for your feedback. It's great to see you've been able to progress with the company. We do our best to ensure career progression is available to our teams. Team working is so important, it's great to see that recognized!Keep up the great work,Henry FieldResourcing Managerhenryfield@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I really enjoy working at the Aberdeen Depot. Office Staff are very supportive and I have achieved many things since being with the company. Fast paced company
Pros
Good Relationship with staff
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?
Official response from phs Group
11 January 2021
Hi! Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate it.It's great to hear that you've achieved a lot since joining us, and had the support of the office team, keep up the great work!Thank you,Henry FieldResourcing Managerhenryfield@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Management poor with a hire & fire mentality. Don’t go there , managers phone you all times of the day & night analysing your day with the phone calls lasting up to 2hours. Not a clue on how to motivate a team .
Pros
None
Cons
Phs
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Best place I’ve ever worked, regret ever leaving. Everyone is so friendly and always made me feel Very welcome. Brilliant boss and people. Couldn’t recommend the company overall enough to work for.
Pros
Working on my own
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?
Official response from phs Group
23 December 2020
Thank you very much for your feedback - It's lovely to read.You've mentioned regretting leaving - Drop me an email and we can always see if there are any opportunities that may be suitable for you to return to us!Thank you,Henry FieldResourcing Managerhenryfield@phs.co.uk
  1. Employee reviews