phs Group
Happiness score is 49 out of 100
2.9 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

phs Group Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom444 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 444 reviews matching the searchSee all 462 reviews

Insights into phs Group

Based on 77 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Fair pay for job
  • Support from manager

Very stable job

Featured review

phs Group selected this as a representative review
I enjoy a varied work day servicing many different types of businesses ranging from supermarkets to at home beauty specialists and everything in between. We get to take our vans home with us which not only removes the daily commute but also the cost. It is a job that fits well around family life as I am often home in time to pick the kids from school and it is Monday to Friday (no weekends). WickFord is a friendly and helpful depot with help on hand if needed, even when out of the office.

Pros

Being able to take van home

Cons

Sat nav does not always take you to the right place
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

18 January 2021
Hi There - Thanks so much for your feedback, it's great to hear. Taking your van home at the end of each shift certainly does save both money and time - We're pleased to have been able to offer this. The hours of this role are often a big positive for people as you get much of your afternoon/evening with family at home. I'm sorry to hear about the SatNav issue - I'll make sure this is fed back internally.Keep up the great work!Henry FieldResourcing Managerhenryfield@phs.co.uk

Easy place to work

Not a bad place to work, job is easy enough, start and finish from home, good holiday entitlement, wage isn't the best and getting paid every 4 weeks is a pain but other than that it's a win
Was this review helpful?

phs washroom driver

do not work for this company.the managers are bullys.they treat you like dirt.my hours was 8 hours a day but if you run out of time to do the jobs then a manager would say that my hours was 9 hours a day.not 8.i was often doing 12 hours a day to finish the jobs.if you didnt finish the jobs then the management would bully you.i was only there 5 months, but in that time lots of workers left and the management would be doing job interviews all the time.

Pros

you take the van home.

Cons

very bad managerment.no common sense.treated like dirt
Was this review helpful?

Phs group

The job was good as you keep your own van so that means you start getting paid from home until you get home ,you do 80% driving and 20% work but one thing what let the job down is the route planner as they can send you anywhere in Yorkshire and office staff don't seem to help

Pros

You start and finish from home

Cons

No good planning of routes
Was this review helpful?

Good company to work for

Enjoy working for PHS. Where I am I have a pretty supportive manager.Pay is OK, I mean pay could always be better but not to bad and there are ways of achieving more pay through performance related payWork/ life balance is good as you can start when you like really but usually early starts so finish early in day and weekends are completely optional. Daily work load is a bit inconsistent and sometimes you do seem to have more piled on you the better you do but discuss this with your manager.There are plenty of opportunities if you want to progress. One thing I do really like about working here is your almost your own boss within a big business, and as long as you are doing what what are meant to do you get left alone but still have the support there if needed

Pros

Good pay, Progression opportunity, Good work/ life, Rewarding role, Good hours and choice, Company van

Cons

Unrealistic daily jobs, seem to add more better you are, just keep to a realistic amount so achievable.
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Good environment for men, not for women.

Worklpace culture very badCommunication between upper and lower management poorTeam spirit non existentSome things are rather good like nice canteen and relaxed approach to breaks.

Pros

Relaxed approach to break.

Cons

Communication with members of team, not cooperative. Team work almost non existent
Was this review helpful?

Poor management, no progression

If you are lucky enough to have an area such as London you can make a lot of money with minimal effort, if you have another area you will struggle to hit target no matter how hard you try and management deny it's unfair in any way. Hard work for little reward. Uncertainty with not knowing when you will return to an office and not kept updated. Little room for progression and managers who do not care.

Pros

9-5 job, good money if you have a good area

Cons

Little commission if not on a good area. Managers who do not support.
Was this review helpful?

Don't do it

I've worked here over 10 years and I'm looking at getting out. We have dropped in wages compared to minimum wage. It used to be great well paid place to work but the directors have ruined a great company. Not customer focused anymore its all about profit. I'm ashamed to say I work here please don't apply. You can earn easier money anywhere and more of it. Such a disgrace

Pros

Take the van home

Cons

Greedy directors very poorly paid for a hard day's work
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

6 December 2021
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear about some of the points you have made, and how you feel about us as an employer. This isn't what we would want for our colleagues at all. I would like to understand a little more about some of the comments you've made so that I can investigate properly. If you would be comfortable, can you contact me directly and arrange a time that's convenient to give you a call and discuss more detail on your feedback confidentially.Best Regards,Elis CollinsResourcing Managereliscollins@phs.co.uk

Avoid At All Cost

Absolute joke of a place to work, was meant to be working in my local area, Never happened, was sent miles away, even the calls I had were miles apart, management don’t want to know of issues, just fob you off and nothing ever happens, they just want everything to look great for the bosses further up the chain, Avoid at all cost…. Wage is a joke for what you have to do……

Pros

None

Cons

Quitting
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

6 December 2021
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear about your time with us wasn't positive, this isn't what we would want our colleagues at all.We have recently made some changes to how we route and schedule customer visits, we now work on smaller regions to reduce the travel for our drivers. We have also launched some new incentives which increase the opportunity to earn more and offering additional benefits/discounts.Best Regards, Elis CollinsResourcing Managereliscollins@phs.co.uk

Really poor wage

Worked as a service driver for a long time and the wage didn't really change in 8years .If you want to work long hours running round like a headless chicken without a break, day in day out for an insulting pay packet, it's the job for you . Regularly being forced into overtime that they just expected you to be ok with because they are paying you overtime when really the hourly rate was that poor that you really wish you hadn't bothered. Unfortunately phs know they are severely underpaying staff for the hard work that is expected but won't address it not even on the comment section of these reviews. So for reasons like always feeling like you are going round in circles and kidding myself into thinking they will give us a decent payrise soon, I woke up and smelled the coffee I had to leave as i actually started to get depressed. The drivers and admin I worked a long side were great people and deserve better and I hope for there sake you sort the poor wages and ridiculous work load issues out . One more issue that made me want to leave was sending you to pubs/restaurants in the middle of the day to service sanitary bins I felt degraded as a person and couldn't put up with it any longer all because someone wouldn't stop messing with access times we spent months amending in our own time to greater the company.

Pros

Van home

Cons

Long hours, no break, really poor wages, forced overtime, really poor route planning
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

18 November 2021
Hi There, Thank you for your feedback. We reply to everyone that leaves a review good or bad, as we won't honest reviews to understand what we are good at and what not so good at so we can take all the feedback on board and make improvements. I'm sorry to hear about your experience and would like to understand a little more about some of the points you have made. Could you please contact me with more information so this can be properly looked into.With regards to pay this is something we have been reviewing and have recently launched new incentives, benefits, career progression opportunities and changed how we route and schedule customer visits. Best Regards,Elis CollinsResourcing Managereliscollins@phs.co.uk

Bad pay hard work

Bad route planning no time to do the job properly always rushing around and the pay for the job is rubbish time and a third for overtime and you have to do it and you have to work bankholidays for normal time

Pros

Nothing

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

18 November 2021
Hello there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear about your time with us wasn't positive, this isn't what we would want our colleagues. We have listened to similar feedback and have made some changes to how we route and schedule customer visits. We have also launched new incentives, benefits and career progression opportunities.If you would be comfortable giving me more detail on your feedback confidentially, please do email me.Best Regards,Elis CollinsResourcing Managereliscollins@phs.co.uk

Washroom

Stay clear off Ballymena depot, worked to the bone. Managers cut corners and only care about stats and it will fall back on you even tho your doing what what your told. Supposed to be an 8 hour day, everyday there’s extra calls put on without being asked just expected to do it. Trying to get the overtime owed paid is a nightmare. Not enough time to complete calls so always running behind. The pay is not great. Do get the van home which saves on costs.

Pros

Van home

Cons

Management, Forced overtime, no breaks.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

21 November 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.This experience isn't what we would expect for our employees. I would like to look into some of the points you have made. Could you please contact me with more information, and I can confirm this will remain confidential. Kindest Regards, Elis CollinsResourcing Managereliscollins@phs.co.uk

Chilled place to work

I work on the besafe side and my honest opinion is it's a chilled relaxing place to work no rushing you leave when you wan and finish when you finish if you need anything the management are on it very professional place to work the only downside is the money could be better but the money could always be better in any job the job is how you make it you interact with people on times most are very pleasant I would recommend this job to anyone who wants a stress free job

Pros

Management .your own van .good team

Cons

Money
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

21 November 2021
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoy working for phs Besafe and the environment provides a great work life balance. Really lovely feedback to give others an idea of what it's like to work within our Besafe division within phs Group.Many Thanks,Elis CollinsResourcing Managereliscollins@phs.co.uk

Please keep away for your own health

At first it seemed ok but after 4 or 5 month it went so down hill your mental health goes worse am warning anyone who thinks of going for a job here it’s the worse decision you could ever make l was off work stressed and depressed.HAS A DRIVER DONT DO IT

Pros

Enforced hours that’s not good

Cons

Awfull company
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

28 October 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.This isn't the experience we would expect for our employees. I'd be keen to understand what changed after 4/5 months as it seems prior to this the role as a driver was okay? Please contact me with more information so this can be looked into.Best Regards,Elis CollinsResourcing Managereliscollins@phs.co.uk

ok to work for

I did in enjoy my time there was always kept busy with collecting and cleaning of sanitary bins but due to personal reasons I had to leave company but I would recommend people applying for this company

Pros

got van home.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

5 October 2021
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed working for us and that you would recommend the phs Group to others.Many thanks, Elis CollinsResourcing Managereliscollins@phs.co.uk

Great job

Reading some of the reviews I can honestly sayI don’t know where these people have worked before.Phs service driver can sometimes be tiring and stressful but name a job that isn’t,I’m really happy with all aspects of the job Work Life balance is fantastic, never work past 4pm mon to Fri,Overtime is available all the time if needed,Management and Staff are really nice,If you’re willing to work hard and put overtime in you can earn good money for a job that is hardly exhausting.I would highly recommend working for Phs.

Pros

Work life balance, work from home

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

10 October 2021
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.It's great to hear that you’re really happy with all aspects of your role and that management and other phs employees are a pleasure to work with. Really lovely feedback to give others an idea of what it's like to work as a Service Driver for phs Group. Many thanks, Elis CollinsResourcing Managereliscollins@phs.co.uk

Pressure to achieve targets

Lots of pressure to achieve sales targets in cold calling, hated it, fast staff turn over rate.. put me off working in a call centre for life. Found environment very clicky and back stabbing

Pros

Good wage

Cons

Strict targets on cold calling and sales
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

10 October 2021
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear about your time with us wasn’t positive, this isn't what we would want our colleagues to have experienced. I would like to understand a little more and pass on the feedback.If you would be comfortable giving me more detail on your feedback confidentially, please do email me.Elis CollinsResourcing Managereliscollins@phs.co.uk

Abismal

Always chasing your bonus and travel time the company always moving goalposts to help themselves, not interested in staff, morale is very very low and all staff I know are looking for other jobs

Pros

Its a job

Cons

Its a poorly paid job
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

10 October 2021
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. This experience isn't what we would expect for our employees. I'd be keen to understand more about your experience regarding having to chase your bonus and the goal posts being moved.Please contact me with more information so this can be looked into.Best Regards, Elis CollinsResourcing Managereliscollins@phs.co.uk

The factory was depressing and Victorian

It was a heavy job heaving dust free mats around whichever installation you were delivering to. One minute it could be an Asda store, the next an engineering establishment. The only thing that I could say was it was up to the individual to work out their journey for the day.

Pros

None

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

10 October 2021
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear about your time with us wasn’t positive. If you're open to sharing more specific feedback, please drop me a message. Best Regards, Elis CollinsResourcing Manager eliscollins@phs.co.uk

No regular routes

Pros Mon - Fri, 1½ pay after 40 hoursCons No set routes so you get sent to places where previous knowledge of the workplace is essential ( large numbers of toilets to find ) if you haven't been there before the customer moans about having to go round with you.The vans and the equipment you are using are old and tired

Pros

Mon - Fri

Cons

Being sent to new sites
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

21 November 2021
Hi there, Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We have taken yours and others feedback on board and have made some changes to how we route and schedule customer visits. Our scheduling team now work on smaller regions which aims for our Service Drivers to be servicing the same properties more regularly, and we are currently changing over our fleet of vans and updating our systems we use. Kindest Regards, Elis CollinsResourcing Managereliscollins@phs.co.uk

Worst job ever

Really poor place to work, pay is way to low for what you do, Office staff haven’t got a clue what its like on the road, 1 of the office staff is horrible and vile and everyone will no who am on about,

Pros

None

Cons

Really poor pay, The job itself is degrading
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

5 October 2021
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear about your time with us wasn’t positive, this isn't what we would want our colleagues to have experienced. I would like to understand a little more and pass on the feedback.If you would be comfortable giving me more detail on your feedback confidentially, please do email me.Thank you again,Elis CollinsResourcing Managereliscollins@phs.co.uk

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at phs Group. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9

Based on 462 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1
Work/Life Balance
2.7
Salary/Benefits
2.8
Job security/advancement
2.7
Management
2.8
Culture

Compare phs Group with

  • Companies
  • phs Group
  • Employee reviews
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?