phs Group
Happiness score is 46 out of 100
2.9 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

phs Group Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom502 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 502 reviews matching the searchSee all 521 reviews
driverdepotroutewashroomrubbishfinishprogressionearly

Great company to work for

Featured review

phs Group selected this as a representative review
PHS are a great company to work for, they have many benefits that come with working for them including a new perks reward scheme. As i have good management from those above me along with a good planning team my day to day is very organized and well planned out, there are a very few days that dont go to plan, but thats more the tenants fault not being in. Pay is very good, overtime is always available when asked for,

Pros

flexible working hours, car

Cons

none so far
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

8 December 2022
Hello, thank you for leaving us a 5 star review! Great to hear about your experience and this can help others who are looking to join phs Group. Keep up the awesome work. Many thanks - Lara Norris, Resourcing Business Partner.

Very busy, pay is poor

Driving around collecting offensive/hazardous waste bags and sharps bins. Workloads got busier and busier to the point of constant overtime needed to complete the daily workload.
Was this review helpful?

Insights into phs Group

Based on 165 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Fair pay for job
  • Ability to learn new things

Nice job, early start early finish

Great job, just the salary could do with being a little higher. Days are spent driving to premises and changing dirty mats for clean ones and at the end if the day you go back to the depot and unload and reload. Plus lots of lies from a certain manager. my recommendation would be AVOID.

Pros

Take van home

Cons

Too many to list.
Was this review helpful?

Phs Greenleaf in Staines.

It's the worst job I've ever had.The management will be all nice but when you actually start working there you'll see that they're not as they made themselves out to be. They don't have a clue, they'll tell you that themselves. They never want to spend anything, such as buy ton bags or hand tools. I found out it's because the less they spend the bigger chance they'll get their bonus.The machinery is never maintained, the machinery they got me using were like antiques and were putting out dangerous amounts of vibration while they kept brand new machinery locked up in a storage container.You're paid the bear minimum, I was on £10 an hour and was responsible for running their largest and most profitable job.I feel so much better ever since leaving this job.

Pros

You're left alone.

Cons

Terrible management, Poor pay.
Was this review helpful?

Good job just don't get injured.

It's a good job. Just get on with your schedule. Start at your own time to an extent. Can choose your own route. Easy really. I liked it. Return to depot once a week to offload/restock. Keep van at home. Weekend and bank holidays off and a great system for booking holidays. Just don't hurt your back. The bag you carry goes over one shoulder so you can't put too much weight in it. You are just a number and will be replaced without warning if you are off sick for a certain amount of time.
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Terrible

Badly planned routes you will never complete on time. Trying to get any overtime that is owed is a nightmare. No stock in the depot. Moral seems very low. The whole out fit is poorly run. Most of the customers I dealt with have had problems with communication and will not renew the contract

Pros

None

Cons

Poor routes that are impossible to do in an 8 hour day
Was this review helpful?

Uncomfortable environment, bad management

Not a nice place to work you are treated like a child. Managers speak to staff poorly and are deemed as superior. Wouldn’t send my worst enemy there! I didnt enjoy my time at all
Was this review helpful?

I recommend

If u like to work by your own and driving company van ( brand new ) and visit at least 25 sites every day and dont have to pay for fuel to go and back from work ( you taking van home ) this job is for you , i worked there for Coventry office and people there are lovely, management and control office . Very helpful and in most cases job is 7-3pm u can start early and finish early. Van is a nearly brand new and very comfortable really enjoyed to drive. I left because i went for Ambulance but i enjoyed the job .
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

4 January 2023
Hello, thank you for leaving us a 5 star review! Great to hear about your experience and this can help others who are looking to join phs Group. Wishing you all the very best in your new career. Many thanks - Lara Norris, Resourcing Business Partner.

Busy

Some days routes are impossible to complete as overloaded. Doesn't make you feel good when you are having to explain why routes are not complete when its Computer route planning software is rubbish.

Pros

Christmas Hamper basket lol

Cons

London
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

4 January 2023
Hello, thank you for leaving us a review. I will pass on your advice to our Senior Manager team to take onboard. Many thanks, Lara Norris - Resourcing Business Partner

Would be good

Joined the company shortly before MAJOR changes took place (divisions merging), making my manager, who interviewed me, being redundant.Without having enough training and being new to the company I was made redundant too.Felt like I was thrown into a deep water, without being taught how to swim.Found it stressful and not confident in my everyday duties, although being in the sales industry for years back then.New management was micro-managing, which in sales is the worst thing that can happen.Overall my first weeks - YES, then - NO.

Pros

money

Cons

non-supportive micro management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

12 December 2022
Hello, thank you for leaving us a review. I will pass on your advice to our Senior Manager team to take onboard. I would like to discuss your experience in more detail. Please can you contact me directly to discuss. Many thanks, Lara Norris - Resourcing Business Partner

Over worked, no respect for workers

Stay clear unless you like being taken for granted! No work life balance, continually pile work on and unrealistic time to do it in. Yes you can take the van home but if there is an issue with it it’s your responsibility to get it fixed at a designated garage but it’s done in your time! The vehicle in the job ad says you’re given a compact van and it wasn’t! They also say no heavy lifting, again lies!

Pros

Take van home

Cons

Never finish on time, parking can be an issue especially in pedestrian areas, manager likes an audience when someone has a difference of opinion
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

12 December 2022
Hello, thank you for leaving us a review. I will pass on your advice to our Operation Senior Manager team to take onboard. However, if you would like to discuss your experiences, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Many thanks, Lara Norris - Resourcing Business Partner

Stressful, Avoid!!!!

Used to be a quality service given to customers in a smaller region but now the areas are bigger I’m always getting complaints from customers. I report this daily and rate my route but no change is on the horizon. It’s got worse within the last year and it seems quantity over quality these days for Phs which will be the downfall for loosing long established customers.

Pros

Take the van home and early morning starts

Cons

Planning and schedule routes
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

9 December 2022
Hello, thank you for leaving us a review. I will pass on your advice to our Senior Manager team to take onboard. If you would like to discuss your experience in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Many thanks, Lara Norris - Resourcing Business Partner

Fast paced but fun

i have worked with phs Group for a number of years now in several different roles, all of which have been fast paced, competitive but all the time fun. you get a real sense of belonging within your team. I have learned lots whilst here and have gained some useful qualifications. The workplace environments where i work are friendly and relaxed. One of the hardest parts of the job is when people leave for other employment. The best part of the job is meeting new people/customers.

Pros

Travel
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

8 December 2022
Hello, thank you for leaving us a 5 star review! Great to hear about your experience and this can help others who are looking to join phs Group. Keep up the awesome work. Many thanks. Lara Norris - Resourcing Business Partner

Productive

Management very helpful so far so good with regards to support and also my line manager has grown past my initial expectations also he has no short comings very good relax style of management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

8 December 2022
Hello, thank you for leaving us a review! Great to hear about your experience and this can help others who are looking to join phs Group. Keep up the awesome work. Many thanks. Lara Norris - Resourcing Business Partner Show Less

Well organised company to work for.

I have been very happy with PHS Compliance and the way my career here has started. Right from the phone call from the resourcing team who were very helpful throughout the process to being interviewed by the managers. Phs has many benefits when you are on board for example the perks reward schemes, pensions etc…The way Compliance is coordinated is very good, management are always available to give advice etc, as well as the planning team who organise your days to run as smooth as possible.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

8 December 2022
Hello, thank you for leaving us a 5 star review! Great to hear about your experience and this can help others who are looking to join phs Group. Keep up the awesome work. Many thanks - Lara Norris, Resourcing Business Partner.

Great fun

I've been with PHS now for about 6 months and I really enjoy it. Flexible with working from home but also great with overtime and generally a feel good vive about the entire company.Never a dull day 😁
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

8 December 2022
Hello, thank you for leaving us a 5 star review! Great to hear about your experience and this can help others who are looking to join phs Group. Keep up the awesome work. Many thanks. Lara Norris - Resourcing Business Partner

Great company

Great company, lovely people from far and wide. New challenges everyday. Keeps me on my toes. Good amount of holidays. Pay is acceptable. Everyone wants that bit extra which is normal
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

8 December 2022
Hello, thank you for leaving us a 4 star review! Great to hear about your experience and this can help others who are looking to join phs Group. Keep up the awesome work. Many thanks. Lara Norris - Resourcing Business Partner

Hard job, great place to work

Currently work in the Ballymena depot. Hard job no doubt about it, especially folding the mats. Job is stress free, stick the radio on and get on with it. Manager very supportive and not a bit feared to muck in and help out in the mat washing, cleaning and folding. Job is Mon-Fri with a good take home pay and off every weekend, what more could you ask for. If your lazy this isn't the job for you.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

8 December 2022
Hello, thank you for leaving us a 5 star review! Great to hear about your experience and this can help others who are looking to join phs Group. Keep up the awesome work. Many thanks. Lara Norris - Resourcing Business Partner

Welcoming

PHS has been a very welcoming and supportive company. They have been very helpful with getting me ready for what my job role will entail and have supported me with any questions that I have had.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

8 December 2022
Hello, thank you for leaving us a 5 star review! Great to hear about your experience and this can help others who are looking to join phs Group. Keep up the awesome work. Many thanks, Lara Norris - Resourcing Business Partner

Not hard, just not enough money for the job

Was only at phs for a month or so, it was only meant to be a stop gap. Personally I think the work life balance is good as you can finish early and have weekends and bank holidays off. You’re left alone to get on with it and can go home once you’ve finished your jobs, I like being on the road so that part suited me..the Manager and people at the office are great and help if needed..What Is bad, is the wage for the type of work we do. It should be higher. Initial pay a lot more and I believe phs could too. If it matched that, I’d probably stay. I’m also not happy that vaccines are promised yet not administered before you start out on your own, so I’m not protected from hep b or polio etc and although you take every care, there’s still a chance to be stuck by a dirty needle. it seems like money saving is what they care about as they won’t send one person for vaccines making me feel like my safety doesn’t really matter to phs. It’s a disgusting, smelly, but pretty simple job. Some people enjoy it, but it wasn’t for me

Pros

Weekends, bank holidays off

Cons

Poor pay, no vaccines
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

9 December 2022
Hello, thank you for leaving us a review. I will pass on your advice to our Senior Manager team to take onboard. If you would like to discuss your experience in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Many thanks, Lara Norris - Resourcing Business Partner

Use as a stop gap.This is not a great career move

I would wait look around elsewhere and if there really is no other jobs of interest or available, use this as a stop gap only.No prospectsNo overtimeNo good
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

8 December 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking time to leave us a review.I'm sorry to hear it wasn't the experience we would want and hope for any of our employees. Would you be happy for us to have a confidential chat in order for me to obtain more information so that we can investigate properly. Here is my contact details Laranorris@phs.co.uk , please let me know a convenient time and contact number for me to reach you on. Best Regards,

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at phs Group. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 521 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
2.7 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
2.8 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
2.8 out of 5 stars for Management
2.9 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare phs Group with

Learn about phs Group in popular locations

  • Companies
  • phs Group
  • Employee reviews
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?