phs Group
2.9 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

phs Group Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

3.1Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 432 reviews matching the searchSee all 450 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Very stable job

Featured review

phs Group selected this as a representative review
I enjoy a varied work day servicing many different types of businesses ranging from supermarkets to at home beauty specialists and everything in between. We get to take our vans home with us which not only removes the daily commute but also the cost. It is a job that fits well around family life as I am often home in time to pick the kids from school and it is Monday to Friday (no weekends). WickFord is a friendly and helpful depot with help on hand if needed, even when out of the office.

Pros

Being able to take van home

Cons

Sat nav does not always take you to the right place
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

18 January 2021
Hi There - Thanks so much for your feedback, it's great to hear. Taking your van home at the end of each shift certainly does save both money and time - We're pleased to have been able to offer this. The hours of this role are often a big positive for people as you get much of your afternoon/evening with family at home. I'm sorry to hear about the SatNav issue - I'll make sure this is fed back internally.Keep up the great work!Henry FieldResourcing Managerhenryfield@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

ok to work for

I did in enjoy my time there was always kept busy with collecting and cleaning of sanitary bins but due to personal reasons I had to leave company but I would recommend people applying for this company

Pros

got van home.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

5 October 2021
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed working for us and that you would recommend the phs Group to others.Many thanks, Elis CollinsResourcing Managereliscollins@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great job

Reading some of the reviews I can honestly sayI don’t know where these people have worked before.Phs service driver can sometimes be tiring and stressful but name a job that isn’t,I’m really happy with all aspects of the job Work Life balance is fantastic, never work past 4pm mon to Fri,Overtime is available all the time if needed,Management and Staff are really nice,If you’re willing to work hard and put overtime in you can earn good money for a job that is hardly exhausting.I would highly recommend working for Phs.

Pros

Work life balance, work from home

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

10 October 2021
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.It's great to hear that you’re really happy with all aspects of your role and that management and other phs employees are a pleasure to work with. Really lovely feedback to give others an idea of what it's like to work as a Service Driver for phs Group. Many thanks, Elis CollinsResourcing Managereliscollins@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Pressure to achieve targets

Lots of pressure to achieve sales targets in cold calling, hated it, fast staff turn over rate.. put me off working in a call centre for life. Found environment very clicky and back stabbing

Pros

Good wage

Cons

Strict targets on cold calling and sales
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

10 October 2021
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear about your time with us wasn’t positive, this isn't what we would want our colleagues to have experienced. I would like to understand a little more and pass on the feedback.If you would be comfortable giving me more detail on your feedback confidentially, please do email me.Elis CollinsResourcing Managereliscollins@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Abismal

Always chasing your bonus and travel time the company always moving goalposts to help themselves, not interested in staff, morale is very very low and all staff I know are looking for other jobs

Pros

Its a job

Cons

Its a poorly paid job
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

10 October 2021
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. This experience isn't what we would expect for our employees. I'd be keen to understand more about your experience regarding having to chase your bonus and the goal posts being moved.Please contact me with more information so this can be looked into.Best Regards, Elis CollinsResourcing Managereliscollins@phs.co.uk

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

The factory was depressing and Victorian

It was a heavy job heaving dust free mats around whichever installation you were delivering to. One minute it could be an Asda store, the next an engineering establishment. The only thing that I could say was it was up to the individual to work out their journey for the day.

Pros

None

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

10 October 2021
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear about your time with us wasn’t positive. If you're open to sharing more specific feedback, please drop me a message. Best Regards, Elis CollinsResourcing Manager eliscollins@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

No regular routes

Pros Mon - Fri, 1½ pay after 40 hoursCons No set routes so you get sent to places where previous knowledge of the workplace is essential ( large numbers of toilets to find ) if you haven't been there before the customer moans about having to go round with you.The vans and the equipment you are using are old and tired

Pros

Mon - Fri

Cons

Being sent to new sites
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Worst job ever

Really poor place to work, pay is way to low for what you do, Office staff haven’t got a clue what its like on the road, 1 of the office staff is horrible and vile and everyone will no who am on about,

Pros

None

Cons

Really poor pay, The job itself is degrading
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

5 October 2021
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear about your time with us wasn’t positive, this isn't what we would want our colleagues to have experienced. I would like to understand a little more and pass on the feedback.If you would be comfortable giving me more detail on your feedback confidentially, please do email me.Thank you again,Elis CollinsResourcing Managereliscollins@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Pay is way too low for the job,

This is an awfully paid job considering the work you do, and it gets piled on you, the people who do routes need retraining as you are sent back and forth to the same postcodes when access times say you can do all while your their, I changed mine and it was much more efficient then got told we are not allowed to its ridiculous, and hazardous to the point you should get paid more that a checkout operator .

Pros

Driving

Cons

Low pay, bad routes, too many calls
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

23 September 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Im sorry your experience doesn't sound like one we would want our colleagues to have. We have a system that is designed to make sure routes are as efficient as possible - It sounds like somethings not worked for you. I would be keen to understand more and pass on the feedback.If you would be comfortable passing on more feedback confidentially, please do email me.Thank you again,Henry FieldGroup Resourcing ManagerHenryField@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Not a good place

Work loads are high and demanding A two tier workforce people on old contracts get all benefits all other contracts no bank Holidays no time off at Xmas no days in leu for working

Pros

Van home

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

20 September 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry to hear that your experience of working with us wasn't what we would have wanted.There may have been some confusion around the holidays/Christmas etc.All members of the phs team receive 23 days holiday plus bank holidays. If you work on a bank holiday, you have that time off at another time. As many of our customers are open on bank holidays, we require our drivers to work on those days, unless specifically booked off. We don't work on Christmas day. This means that you would have 30 days holiday to book throughout the rest of the year.If I've misunderstood your comment, please do feel free to email me confidentially.Thank you,Henry FieldGroup Resourcing ManagerHenryField@phs.co.uk

Jobs at phs Group

See more jobs
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great management.

I loved working at phs. Great management. Lovely coordinators. Helpful team workers. If you get lost someone is a phone call and very helpful team mates.

Pros

Award bonus

Cons

Sometimes takes a bit longer. Traffic etc
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

20 September 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.It's great to hear how supportive the coordinators were in your role, we work hard to create a strong teamworking environment.Thank you again,Henry FieldGroup Resourcing ManagerHenryField@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

It was a good place to work with a good atmosphere.

Everyone was friendly and supportive. My experience was a good one. The department I worked for relocated to Wales. I don’t have anything negative to say about the department I worked in.

Pros

Paid every 4 weeks, Casual clothes day on Fridays and Christmas holidays off and paid.

Cons

It was far from where I lived, but worth the travel.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

20 September 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great to hear about your experience of working with us.Keep an eye on our website for any other roles that may come up you would like to be considered for!Thank you again,Henry FieldGroup Resourcing ManagerHenryField@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Helpful

Helpful and good to work with, a bit of a task, but get used to it after a few weeks. Staff are helpful and forecoming. Thanks for the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

2 August 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. You're right - The role can take some getting used it, it's a fast paced role. It sounds like you have a supportive team around you!Keep up the great work!Henry FieldGroup Resourcing ManagerHenryField@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Poor Management.

If you want to get spoken to like dirt, this is the place for you. The manager needs to touch up on his people skills, as its pretty much non existent.Shame as the job itself is not that bad.

Pros

Take van home

Cons

Management and Pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

2 August 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.This experience isn't what we would expect for our teams. Please contact me with more information so this can be looked into.Thank you,Henry FieldGroup Resourcing ManagerHenryField@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Its a job

Job itself isnt bad. Management have no clue, scheduling might as well be done by nursery kids, it is not a 40 hour contract they have a clause that they can have you working 45hour weeks You dont finish at your door. You finish at your last call which could be 1 hour or more away from your house.And they company can always take the customers side on stuff.

Pros

Can be left to reroute your work

Cons

Unorganised, poor management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

2 August 2021
Hi there,Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'd be keen to understand more about your experience regarding the working hours. We ensure all hours worked are paid, sometimes because of our routes that can involve working over the 40 hours per week.If you're open to sharing more specific feedback, please drop me a message. Thank you,Henry FieldGroup Resourcing ManagerHenryField@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Happy but somethings can be better

Happy with the job, pay and hours. Depot staff make the job better. Only thing I would like to say is that we are not given enough time between calls to do the work. This can be stressful when you have an already busy day and I'm worried I will make a mistake. Overall- decent

Pros

work/life balance

Cons

more time at stops
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

19 July 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - The depot staff really do help to keep morale high, it's great to see that recognized. I appreciate you mentioning the workload, I'll make sure this feedback is passed on. If you want to share more info confidentially please do reach out.Thank you,Kind regards,Henry FieldGroup Resourcing ManagerHenryField@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

good job so far and amazing manager

I have been with the Hayes depot for 2 weeks, the training at the moment is great and I have learned alot. The Depot manager is brilliant and really brings a good atmosphere to the depot. I really have no negative to say really!

Pros

work/life balance

Cons

none!!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

2 August 2021
Hi there,Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review - It's great to hear how well things are going.The depot manager at Hayes is a very popular member of the phs family, his sense of humor certainly keeps the atmosphere at the depot positive!Thanks again! Keep up the great work.Henry FieldGroup Resourcing ManagerHenryField@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

One of the better driving jobs I've had

Really like the early starts and finishes. I get to take the van home so I don't need to worry about wear and tear on my car and I save money!The actual job is decent, get my own route, management are helpful and no weekend working. The only thing to improve would be the salary, I've not had a increase for a long time but I've started but I can make this up with overtime.

Pros

work/life balance

Cons

salary could increase
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

19 July 2021
Hi there,Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, I'm really pleased to hear how well things are going for you. Starting your shift from home is really popular amongst our driver workforce.Keep up the great work!Henry FieldGroup Resourcing ManagerHenryField@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Stressful and clueless

Too many jobs spread out over too big a area for one 9 hour shift, routes never given to you in order so have to sort out in own time, health and safety is rubbish, always working overtime, nothing seems to get sorted.

Pros

Paid overtime

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

19 July 2021
Hi there,Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear about your experience with us - I'd really like to understand more if you're happy to share more? If you'd like to have a confidential chat - Please reach out.Thank you again,Henry FieldGroup Resourcing ManagerHenryField@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Electrician bad pricing scheme

They should stick to cleaning toilets and not attempt electrics. They set up testing electricians to fail , 3phase circuits classed as one circuit and you have to test a minimum of 40 circuits per day to get your lower than average basic rate. Whilst they know full well most standard commercial premises have a 36way DB (not 40 ).so you are set to fail or rush to get to the next site , so you can't test properly, which from my experience they don't.Avoid this company.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

12 July 2021
Hi there,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.I'm sorry to hear your experience of working with us was as positive as we would like. I've passed this feedback onto our phs Compliance team. If there is anything else specific you would like to share in confidence, please do email me.Thank you,Henry FieldGroup Resourcing ManagerHenryField@phs.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great team to work with and relaxed atmosphere.

I have worked at PHS for 15 years now with no intention of moving away. Although, as a service provider, I mainly work alone, the team at Newark are second to non! The manager is great and will listen to any problems you may have and will do her very best to help. The administration team are very good and will help where you need it. The job can be difficult when you first start but the team make the transition easy. Once you have covered an area for a while it gets much easier. All equipment is supplied including uniform and vehicle. The hours can be classed as unsocial but you can start as early as you want. 3am is not unusual but you will only work 8 hours per day. Weekends and bank holiday days are free unless you choose to work them. Getting home around dinner time is fantastic, you still have most of the day to yourself so work/life ratio is perfect.I, personally, can't recommend the Newark Operation enough and highly recommend you apply.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from phs Group

5 July 2021
Hi there,Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review.It's great to hear such positive feedback. You're right - The role gives great work/life balance and allows people to have their afternoons/evenings to spend as they wish. Keep up the great work!Henry FieldGroup Resourcing ManagerHenryField@phs.co.uk

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at phs Group. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9

Based on 450 reviews
5
106
4
91
3
63
2
44
1
146

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
2.8Job security/advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture

Compare phs Group with

  • Companies
  • phs Group
  • Employee reviews
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?